Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Hoover Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Designed to achieve a cleaner clean, the Hoover Platinum Lightweight Upright Vacuum with Canister picks up more dirt and dust in a single pass than most upright vacuums. The lightweight, compact design makes it easy for you to maneuver and to transport it from room to room. With direct air flow technology and Hoover's patented Windtunnel Technology, this canister vacuum cleaner removes even stubborn dirt from your carpet in less time by its direct air flow. It features a HEPA bag that traps 99.97% of allergens, dust, and pollen that are less than 0.3 microns in size air quality. This canister vacuum with HEPA filter features illuminated in-Handle controls for easy use. This canister vacuum cleaner comes with a portable canister and tools, including detachable shoulder strap, dusting and furniture brush, crevice tool, and bare floor brush. The portable canister in this vacuum cleaner provides easy floor to ceiling cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(448 Reviews) 399
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
93
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation90%400 out of 444reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 231 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
93
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Never worked

01/19/2010
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spent alot of time researching this product and when I purchased and got it home it never ran properly. Each time I would start it up and started to vaccum my carpet it woudl shut down. What a disappointment!! Returned it and went and bought a Dyson for $100.00 more and I LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM
12/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased vacuum from walmart on line it worked for 6 months.Its been in the shop for 4 months.Called hoover" it takes day for that ".Parts are on order..next month parts are on order..GET THE PICTURE..Stay away from this product and company...
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM
06/25/2012
By ,
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had to take it in for repair after the first use because it would not go from high to low, when Hoover repair finally returned the repair mans call, they only said it was very sensitive, handle could be replaced but it would probably do the same thing. Guess I just should have asked for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

High/Low Switch Issue - Don't Buy It

08/14/2012
By ,
Rock Tavern, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read Consumers Reports and usually agree with their recommendations. This vacuum was highly recommended so we bought one. It was very lightweight (which was good), it had decent suction (which was OK), but it had a problem switching from High to Low via the switch mounted on the handle just below the power button.
No problem, returned it and got another one -- same issue. Just like the first unit, the switch was intermittent -- sometimes it worked, mostly it didn't.
Hoover has an obvious design issue here. We ended up with a Dyson - significantly more but what a machine...
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Wrong product sent

01/09/2014
By ,
Aledo, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes, I ordered the UH30010COM, but Walmart sent the wrong vacuum. They sent a vacuum worth $150 less than the one I ordered. The only good thing about it is that I was able to return it to my local store for a cash refund.
I went to the Hoover website and ordered the UH30010COM from Hoover, and the correct product arrived today. It's everything my wife expected.
I've been ordering from Amazon for several years, and have probably ordered around 40 items from them. Interesting that they've never messed up a single order.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NWA
Poor rating
Posted 02/18/2014
Why rate the vacuum a 1-star when your complaint is with the store?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM
02/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read many reviews before buying this vacuum. From reading the reviews it sounded like this was such an amazing, great value! I did see a few comments about the small handheld vacuum that weren't so good! Listen to them! I have no idea why anyone would keep this vacuum. It is very annoying to not have onboard tools. The small vacuum literally hurt my ears as well as my kids! It sounds like an airplane going off. It was double the work and hassle of a regular vacuum. The large vacuum works ok, nothing spectacular. It is really the small over the shoulder vacuum that makes this a joke. For all the noise it makes you would think it would lift the carpet off the ground, but it barely picks up half the dirt. I really don't know why they are selling it! Especially for so much money! I ended up returning it to walmart (they were very good about the return). I bought a eureka with onboard tools that was 80 dollars and it works a hundred times better!
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

dissapointed

12/30/2009
By ,
NJ Land
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was very dissappointed. Worked ok on regular carpeting but the sensor that supposedly adjusts from one floor surface to another simply does not work. Looks nice...would have enjoyed the cannister vacuum... but returned it for a less expensive Hoover Windtunnel that works much much better for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Electrical Problems

08/27/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the vacuum for 2 weeks before there was a problem with the electrical. There were spark-type flashes coming from the base and then it just stopped any suction and would not work. In addition the bags are much more expensive than other bags so overall I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Not what I hoped for

11/22/2010
By ,
Weston,FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read all reviews, saw it was rated well on consumer reports. Hoped all the bad reviews were wrong... but they weren't. It doesn't clean well, I hate using the old fashion mop but this steamer really didn't cut it for me. It just overall didn't clean well and I read all the instructions... so its not me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM
12/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used canister vacuums for 45 years. I was tired of dragging the canister around, so decided to buy an upright. I picked this vacuum, because it was lightweight and had the canister. First the vacuum works very well, but is hard to push on thick carpet. I have to put it on low speed to make it easier to push. It also eats throw rugs. I have to put it on low speed and turn it off each time I come to the edge of the rug, so it won't get caught in the vacuum. The canister is very unhandy. I tried to use the shoulder strap, but it just kept falling off. When cleaning under furniture, I have to put the canister on the floor, and it keeps tipping over as I use it. The hose and the wand should be longer. I'm used to cleaning under a king size bed, and this does not go far enough. I also have problems with the attachments falling off.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Vacuum cleaner

10/09/2012
By ,
Doylestown , Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I rate this vacuum as a cheep nock off of the Oreck. And I returned that vacuum in a day. The little vacuum with the tools is useless. It flies all over the place when you are trying to use it. The vacuum itself isn't completely useless, it does get up against the walls. A good vacuum has to have good suction and a good roller brush. I have children, pets and a husband. So that is a lot of foot traffic and pet hair. So this vacuum does not hold up to a busy family standards. Especially if you have to vacuum the same spot a few times. If you don't have a high traffic family you might like this vacuum. Because it's light and you don't need to use the tool much. But it you need a good vacuum this isn't the vacuum for you. I already opened and used the vacuum I'm not sure if I can return it. I would love to get a different vacuum because I don't want to be stuck with a INFERIOR vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Ineffective for plush carpet

12/01/2013
By ,
Littleton, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The automatic height adjustment does not work if you have plush carpet. I was completely unable to move it across my carpet and had to return the vacuum the next day. It would probably work okay if you have a low and short carpet.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Don't buy if you have thick carpet

01/05/2014
By ,
Olney MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice vacuum cleaner, if you DON'T have thick pile carpeting. Beater bar does not automatically adjust as stated.
Vacuum shuts down automatically on thick pile, high quality carpet.
I don't recommend. This is major flaw. My opinion, purchase a vacuum where you can individually adjust the height of the beater bar.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
From HooverUSA01/07/2014
Hi Debbiecc, it sounds like the high suction power is pulling the nozzle base down to the carpeting. This can restrict airflow to the motor and cause it to overheat. Try setting the suction control (on the handle grip) for low suction and you should notice significant improvement in your Hoover's performance. Let us know if you need any more help. We are always here for you!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Great,too many pieces- Too much for a busy mom!

07/29/2010
By ,
KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first got this vacuum, I was so excited. I did all the research, read all the great reviews, and was ready to go. The machine looks great! I know, sounds silly, but it does matter. It is so light as well. The machine works well, but I got to where I really did not like that the two parts were separate. The fact that the canister and attachments were separate made it very easy for me to only do half of my vacuuming at one time. I didn't want to put one part up and get the other part out to use the canister to finish on my vinyl and the bathrooms. I like the idea, but it just wasn't practical for me. But, if you are up to that part, this is a great unit. I liked that it reached really high and was easy to carry around the little canister. I ended up taking it back. I figured I spent too much money to not really use it! This just wasn't the right vac for a busy mom with 2 kids. Vacuuming should be quick and easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Too soon to know

12/21/2010
By ,
bergen county, nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have only used this vacuum a few times. I am happy with the results so far. However, it is too loud. Also the canister doesn't hold all the tools and there is no way to secure the hose for easy storage. In general I am happy with the results I have gotten so far. I like the look of the unit and would likely recommend it. Great price and the shipping charge could not be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

A great picker upper

01/11/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like this product. Th vacuum is self propelled and has hi and lo suction setting. The portable unit is great on stairs. The units look sleek and not heavy at all. I likethe product and don't mind that I have to pull out the portable unit for stairs and upholstery. The only thing that bothers me is finding the replacement bags. I can't believe a company like Hoover cannot keep stock of the bags. I was disappointed that Walmart does not sell the bag yet it sells the vacuum. I've gone on line to amazon and other stores but the bags are backorderd. A real bummer. BTW. The portable unit is a different bag type than the upright. I'd give this a better rating if I can find the bags.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Hoover Platinum Upright Vacuum

01/12/2011
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Definitely lighter weight than most vacuums cleaners. Although I knew there were no onboard tools I kind of miss having them there. I now need to switch to the smaller vacuum if I need to vacuum a tight spot. I also don't feel like it sucks as strongly as my old cleaner (Eureka) but it still does a reasonable job. The smaller hand-held vacuum seems designed for sofas, drapes etc. as it sucks with less force than the upright vacuum. I like having the shoulder strap attachment to free up both hands. It took me a while to figure out where the clip went for the extra tools. I spent ages looking at the upright when it belonged on the hand-held. I didn't see it on the instructions.
I bought this Hoover because it was recommended by Consumer Reports as an excellent product. I think it's reasonably good but feel it is overpriced at $200. Also disappointed not to find the bags, Q, I, at my local Walmart store. I'll need to order them online.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

I was disappointed

10/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Since I was looking for a great vacuum that was small and lightweight, I thought I had found the perfect one. I loved the size, weight, look and feel. The small handheld vac worked very well, but the upright vacuum did not adjust to my carpet height as it should, and does not have a manual adjustment. It worked great on my berber carpet, however I could barely push the vac on the rest of them. Unfortuanatly I had to return it because of that issue.
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Ease of Use, Size & Weight
Cons: Design
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM

Low Pile Carpet ONLY!

10/23/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Walmart offers this vacuum for a great deal compared to other retailers, I was very disappointed that this vacuum did not work on our frieze carpet! It was extremely difficult to push on the carpet, I even had my husband try it out and it was difficult for him to push. I contacted Hoover and they informed me that this vacuum is not intended for frieze and/or shag type carpets and recommended a different model, I wish I would have contacted them to begin with to save me from a return at Walmart! I wish that this information would have been included in the product information - I think a lot of people would find that helpful!
This vacuum was so appealing based on the weight, the warranty and lifetime belt. I was extremely disappointed that this wasn't a keeper. This vacuum would work great for a low pile carpet and appears to have great suction! I tried this on my tile floor and it worked pretty good on that! I did not try the canister since the vacuum was a no go for me so I can't comment on that.
I wound up with the Hoover Windtunnel MAX Bagged Upright - UH30600 (recommendation from Hoover), it's not as solid as the Platinum model but it works on my carpet. Side note, I "test drove" the Hoover self propelled bagged upright and that seemed too heavy.
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Size & Weight, great bags, warranty, lifetime belt
Cons: not for high pile carpet
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum, UH30010COM
11/13/2011
By ,
Oxford, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value for upright vacuum, but the smaller vacuum isn't.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 320 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next