Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

The Allen Sports Bicycle Adapter Bar lets you transform bikes with non-conventional frames. It has a simple design that lets you attach it to any style with ease, creating a top tube. Appropriate for bicycles with a distance of 16" to 27" between seat post and stem, this Allen tension bar has plastic-coated hooks that protect the finish of your bike. Its internal spring makes it a breeze to put on and remove. This bicycle cross bar helps you transport your ride on a carrier if needed. It holds fast once you have your bike in place. The Allen tension bar allows you to put step-through bikes onto a car rack, which typically only holds models designed with a top tube. It also works well for transporting mountain bikes with thick frames that otherwise do not fit hitch-mounted carriers. Quick to install and sturdy as a support, the bicycle cross bar lets you conveniently use an existing rack or acquire one in the style you prefer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
167
4 stars
63
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%238 out of 241reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
167
4 stars
63
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent adaptor bar

12/04/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not expect much for the price, but I am surprised with the quality and performance of this product. I highly recommend to anyone needing an adaptor for mountain bikes. The spring action can pinch you if you are not careful when uninstalling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

solid bar

07/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This adaptor bar is required if you have a ladies bike and wish to mount it on your trunk mount bike rack (I have a 2-bike rack made by Allen, which appears to be a great product). Fortunately, I was able to buy it at Walmart, which was much cheaper than other vendors. I read the other reviews about the bolt breaking, but it looks very sturdy and thick enough to withstand the weight of the bike. The bar is also easy to install; it doesn't require much pressure to slide it open and attach one end to the seat post.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Does the job

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid, convinient, affordable and does the job
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Bicycle Adapter Bar

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I traveled with my new bike and was very worried it would fall off the rack because of its' position. When I arrived at the home of my sister, she said told me about this bar. So we went online and found it at her local Walmart. Now the bike sits straight on the rack and could be more easily secured to the rack. A must have for a womans bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent Quality Bike Adapter Bar

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality and easy to use. What is the absolute best is being able to order it on line and pick it up at Walmart's CS desk - no wait and no hassle! And, the price is the best - after searching the web!
Highly recommended at Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Love 'em!

05/30/2012
By ,
Treasure Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have large, cruiser-type bikes. The frames are a little different, with extra pieces here and there. I was able to put our bikes (men's and ladies') on our carrier without these adaptors, but it was quite awkward and I could see that I would eventually have scratches and dings. These bars install in about 10 seconds and they greatly simplify the process of mounting the bikes onto the carrier. They are exceptionally strong and easy to use. Now that I have tried them I wouldn't be without them.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great

06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like it should. A must for any goofy framed or womens framed bike. Just watch your Fingers. Some other brands sell something like it for over 30 dollars. This works just as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works as described

06/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well for my LLBean bicycle. It may causes scratches to bike pole underneath the steer, but as heavy metals squeezing against each other, it is inevitable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works good

06/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pull action from the Spring is sometimes stuck , I used it for Sports Bike
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

a must have

03/28/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great adaptor bar, however, it's not really made for mtn bikes and girls (kids) bikes because there isn't enough clearance between the bike and the handle bars to affix the bar. It can be done safely though. Just make sure to use the after market straps to keep your bikes together at the bottem and to strap in the top very tightly. I found that if you e-mail "Allen", the manufacturer, they're VERY helpful and you can look up the instructions for these online BEFORE you buy them! Happy biking!
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great concept

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have installed it on a ladies Beach cruiser multiple times, and it works flawlessly. Both front and back attachment points are coated to prevent scratches to the bike. Well built with a high tension spring with enough stretch for various bicycles missIng a true horizontal cross bar for rack or carrier mounting.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great deal

04/03/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is fine I wish they would carry in our store since most of the new mountain bikes sold need one to use on bike carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works as advertised

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works well for bike that cannot fit onto a traditional car carrier for lack of horizontal bars (Beach Cruisers/BMX style). Two downsides....bar will not work on larger gooseneck handlebars often found on BMX bikes and it will scratch your handlebars some with the pin that attaches the bar. A little foam placed around it can help with this though. Other than that they seem durable and function as promised. Used them to haul bikes from Michigan to Florida with no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Good price but...

05/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't use on a pricey bike if you worry about scratches. Metal end will scrape the handlebar neck unless you add a pad yourself.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

good buy

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well... Solid and great price! Fits my needs well. I have it for a 60lb electric bike... Works as described.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Good short distance adaptor

05/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This adaptor works well for short distances. It is quick and easy to install and remove from the female bicycles. The adaptor does rub and bobble up and down somewhat at the seat post. I have used it about a dozen times and it holds my wife's bike in place but I am beginning to see some wear around her seat post. Also, the bar requires some force to extend it, but the more you use it the less you have to pull it in order to attach. The cost is reasonable and I would definitely recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Well made and easy to use

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made and easy to use -
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Does the job

07/14/2014
By ,
Roswell, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never bought the $35 adaptor bars, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I bought 3 of these for the women's bicycle and 2 kids' bikes (16" and 18") and it did the job fine on the women's and 18" kids bike. No sense paying more than necessary.
The adaptor bar was just a bit too long for the 16" kids bicycle - the seat-post wouldn't clear past the opening of the hook in order to secure the bicycle, but I was able to rig something up and used straps to make it work. The instructions do say it needs a minimum of 18" between seat-post and stem, and not 16" as noted in the Item Description. But otherwise it worked perfectly on the 18" kids bike and for anything larger. The bar seems sturdy and secure and it worked well on the 2300 mile road-trip we just finished with bikes hanging on a hitch-mounted bike rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great item

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this a few times this year and enjoyed it, it is built nice and strong. At first I was afraid my bike would not even hold, but it did. Took a little getting used to it for when you first use it, only reason why is because each bike is different. I haven't used it on long trips, just local, but I look forward to being impressed with it as I already enjoy the quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 211 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next