Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

The Allen Sports Bicycle Adapter Bar lets you transform bikes with non-conventional frames. It has a simple design that lets you attach it to any style with ease, creating a top tube. Appropriate for bicycles with a distance of 16" to 27" between seat post and stem, this Allen tension bar has plastic-coated hooks that protect the finish of your bike. Its internal spring makes it a breeze to put on and remove. This bicycle cross bar helps you transport your ride on a carrier if needed. It holds fast once you have your bike in place. The Allen tension bar allows you to put step-through bikes onto a car rack, which typically only holds models designed with a top tube. It also works well for transporting mountain bikes with thick frames that otherwise do not fit hitch-mounted carriers. Quick to install and sturdy as a support, the bicycle cross bar lets you conveniently use an existing rack or acquire one in the style you prefer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(220 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
55
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%217 out of 220reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
55
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent adaptor bar

12/04/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not expect much for the price, but I am surprised with the quality and performance of this product. I highly recommend to anyone needing an adaptor for mountain bikes. The spring action can pinch you if you are not careful when uninstalling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Adaptor Bar

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bar made it a dream to attach to the bike rack. Easy to attach and remove. Looking forward to using it again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

a must have

03/28/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great adaptor bar, however, it's not really made for mtn bikes and girls (kids) bikes because there isn't enough clearance between the bike and the handle bars to affix the bar. It can be done safely though. Just make sure to use the after market straps to keep your bikes together at the bottem and to strap in the top very tightly. I found that if you e-mail "Allen", the manufacturer, they're VERY helpful and you can look up the instructions for these online BEFORE you buy them! Happy biking!
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Does the job

07/14/2014
By ,
Roswell, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never bought the $35 adaptor bars, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I bought 3 of these for the women's bicycle and 2 kids' bikes (16" and 18") and it did the job fine on the women's and 18" kids bike. No sense paying more than necessary.
The adaptor bar was just a bit too long for the 16" kids bicycle - the seat-post wouldn't clear past the opening of the hook in order to secure the bicycle, but I was able to rig something up and used straps to make it work. The instructions do say it needs a minimum of 18" between seat-post and stem, and not 16" as noted in the Item Description. But otherwise it worked perfectly on the 18" kids bike and for anything larger. The bar seems sturdy and secure and it worked well on the 2300 mile road-trip we just finished with bikes hanging on a hitch-mounted bike rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great

06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like it should. A must for any goofy framed or womens framed bike. Just watch your Fingers. Some other brands sell something like it for over 30 dollars. This works just as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Fits on an women's bike to allow it to be racked

10/18/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This adaptor bar loosely clamps around the handle bar mount and the seat post.
One end is a J hook that retains pressure by way of internal springs pulling the hook towards the open clamp end. Once the clamp end and J hook are in position the spring hold the bar in place securely.
I used this bar on an adult Womens bike attached to a rack on the back of a minivan for a trip through Pennsylvania. It held the bike securely and was easy to remove after removing the bike from the rack.
After one trip I would recommend this for use.
Price was inexpensive ($13.97) and delivery time was quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great deal

04/03/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is fine I wish they would carry in our store since most of the new mountain bikes sold need one to use on bike carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

works great

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a great job and is priced nicely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent product wonderful price

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had "no idea" what I needed for transporting our bicycles. The pricing for this device ranged from $13 - $65. This product is doing the job perfectly. We have hauled the bicycles in the mountains and on the freeway. This apparatus fills the bill. It is easy to install. One must be careful of one's hands when removing bicycles. And it helps if the one using the product has "an assisting hand" from another person when attaching the bikes as well as when removing them from the vehicle. I believe that we need to purchase another one, in case we get a 4th bicycle that wants to ride with us on our next bike tour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Good buy

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Love 'em!

05/30/2012
By ,
Treasure Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have large, cruiser-type bikes. The frames are a little different, with extra pieces here and there. I was able to put our bikes (men's and ladies') on our carrier without these adaptors, but it was quite awkward and I could see that I would eventually have scratches and dings. These bars install in about 10 seconds and they greatly simplify the process of mounting the bikes onto the carrier. They are exceptionally strong and easy to use. Now that I have tried them I wouldn't be without them.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Serves its purpose well

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this adaptor to use with my daughter's 26" mountain bike because I needed a solution to mount the bike on hitch and trunk racks. This device has eliminated that particular bicycle transport headache for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Easy way to use bike rack with cruisers

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to order this as my beach cruiser would not fit on my bike rack. Found it easy to assemble on the bike and to remove when riding. Holds securely. Would recommend to all who have a cruiser.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen bike gizmo

10/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, although I wish one of the sides turned 360 degrees. It would be able to adjust to the bike easier that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Not really needed

04/05/2009
By ,
South Central Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is supposed to make a female bike fit an Allen Bike Rack. It does, but you really don't need it. The rack has cradles that twist and can accommodate your bike just fine.
Too bad that Wal-Mart didn't say that in the description.
On the good side, this fits easily and secures the bike well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works great

04/04/2014
By ,
So CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a ladies bike this bar makes all the difference on a bike carrier.
Easy on and off with it's internal spring.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

GREAT FOR BIKE RACK

10/08/2014
By ,
canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its about time for the new style of todays bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Inexpensive and meets expectation

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the least expensive bike adaptor bar out there. Very well constructed and easy to install to the bike. I used it once so far and it is holding up very well with my wife's bike. I first bought one, then got two more for my kids's bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great for bikes without center bar (female bikes).

10/13/2011
By ,
Clifton Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt like I had to buy this affordable accessory in order for bike (no center bar) to be secured safely on my affordable bike carrier by the same manufacturer. Love the price of this item, especially when the manufacturer's price on their web site was set at $30 and I got this at Walmart.com for over 50% less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Did the job well

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Yakima bike carrier and was looking around for their tube top but couldn't find one. I found this one online and picked it up locally. I bought 2 of these to carry a girls and ladies bikes. They performed flawlessly while carrying the bikes on a long road trip - over 1500 miles. They are simple to use and I would definitely recommend them, especially at their price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next