Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

The Allen Sports Bicycle Adapter Bar lets you transform bikes with non-conventional frames. It has a simple design that lets you attach it to any style with ease, creating a top tube. Appropriate for bicycles with a distance of 16" to 27" between seat post and stem, this Allen tension bar has plastic-coated hooks that protect the finish of your bike. Its internal spring makes it a breeze to put on and remove. This bicycle cross bar helps you transport your ride on a carrier if needed. It holds fast once you have your bike in place. The Allen tension bar allows you to put step-through bikes onto a car rack, which typically only holds models designed with a top tube. It also works well for transporting mountain bikes with thick frames that otherwise do not fit hitch-mounted carriers. Quick to install and sturdy as a support, the bicycle cross bar lets you conveniently use an existing rack or acquire one in the style you prefer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%198 out of 201reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent adaptor bar

12/04/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not expect much for the price, but I am surprised with the quality and performance of this product. I highly recommend to anyone needing an adaptor for mountain bikes. The spring action can pinch you if you are not careful when uninstalling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Does the job

07/14/2014
By ,
Roswell, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never bought the $35 adaptor bars, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I bought 3 of these for the women's bicycle and 2 kids' bikes (16" and 18") and it did the job fine on the women's and 18" kids bike. No sense paying more than necessary.
The adaptor bar was just a bit too long for the 16" kids bicycle - the seat-post wouldn't clear past the opening of the hook in order to secure the bicycle, but I was able to rig something up and used straps to make it work. The instructions do say it needs a minimum of 18" between seat-post and stem, and not 16" as noted in the Item Description. But otherwise it worked perfectly on the 18" kids bike and for anything larger. The bar seems sturdy and secure and it worked well on the 2300 mile road-trip we just finished with bikes hanging on a hitch-mounted bike rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Easy way to use bike rack with cruisers

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to order this as my beach cruiser would not fit on my bike rack. Found it easy to assemble on the bike and to remove when riding. Holds securely. Would recommend to all who have a cruiser.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Easy to use

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is easy to use and much cheaper than the same item in a bike store. The only design flaw is the metal to metal contact between the pin and the steering column. Everything else is rubberized. I put a piece of electric tape on the pin which is thin enough to fit through the hole, but rubbery enough not to scratch the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Love it

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love no more awkwardness when transferring my bike and so affordable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

good price

08/19/2014
By ,
uppper michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for one of our bikes. We only tried one time, it worked pretty good. But we still use some robes to tie the side which was attached to the seat, because we were worried if the road got too bumpy, the seat might get loose and the bike could fall off the car. Anyway, that is just our worries.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Served its purpose for a youth mountain bike

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installation ON THE BIKE was easy. It was installation on the bike rack which proved difficult. Be sure to measure the distance between the arms of the bike rack and the distance from the bike seat post to the handle bar post on your bike. The bike measurement should be larger than the outside distance of the rack arms. Our bike measurement was within the dimensions given in the product description but the distance of the arms of the bike rack didn't allow only the adaptor tube to sit in the rack cradles. The U-shaped end and the Hook-shaped end would rest on the cradles. I was able to manipulate it to function appropriately (see below). I drove over 600 miles (some twisty roads) without incident. The price was good compared to Thule or Hollywood Rack adaptors. The longevity of the product is still to be tested.
To get around the bad position, I installed the U-shaped end around the handle bar post as instructed, hoisted the bike onto the rack, let the seat rest on the rack arm for support as I positioned the adaptor tube near the handle bars to lay in the cradle with the bottom end of the U-shape on the outside edge of the cradle. I pulled the hook-shaped end farther than the seat post, lifted the seat end of the bike so I could get the hook-shaped end on the seat post and position the tube to rest in the rack cradle. Not easy but doable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Metal Pin can cause damage

08/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The construction of the beam allows metal on the beam to be vibrate against the metal of the bike. The user must cover the bike post or the beam pin with cushion to avoid damage. The manufacturer should have resolved this prior to marketing the product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Did the job well

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Yakima bike carrier and was looking around for their tube top but couldn't find one. I found this one online and picked it up locally. I bought 2 of these to carry a girls and ladies bikes. They performed flawlessly while carrying the bikes on a long road trip - over 1500 miles. They are simple to use and I would definitely recommend them, especially at their price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

First time user

08/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to simplify transporting my wife's bike on the front of our 5th Wheel trailer. First trip was 6 hours of highway travel and no issues. The pin to secure it around the gooseneck of the bike is a good design. Pretty good spring tension in the bar makes it easy to install and secure. I have already recommended it to our neighbor who has a similar issue with their daughters bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works like a charm***********************

07/12/2014
By ,
ATASCOCITA,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get it now, very effective and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

a must have

03/28/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great adaptor bar, however, it's not really made for mtn bikes and girls (kids) bikes because there isn't enough clearance between the bike and the handle bars to affix the bar. It can be done safely though. Just make sure to use the after market straps to keep your bikes together at the bottem and to strap in the top very tightly. I found that if you e-mail "Allen", the manufacturer, they're VERY helpful and you can look up the instructions for these online BEFORE you buy them! Happy biking!
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent Product!

08/07/2014
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these adaptor bars for use on bikes that Wal-Mart sells, the cruiser type women's bikes. The installation is very simple, my wife and 15 year old daughter have no problem putting these on themselves. The bars worked perfectly with my Yakima bike rack. I would recommend these to anyone over the other bars out there that cost twice as much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Perfect

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great everything. Fast delivery, and item exactly as described.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Easy to use

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bar was half the price of the one at the bike shop. Very easy to use and makes loading up my bike so much easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Exactly what we needed.

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't find at the local stores. The site to Store service is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great Product

07/29/2014
By ,
Morristown, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was exactly what was needed. If you are putting your bike on a hitch mounted bike rack, and your bike frame isn't wide enough to put it on the rack, This is exactly what you need!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great

06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like it should. A must for any goofy framed or womens framed bike. Just watch your Fingers. Some other brands sell something like it for over 30 dollars. This works just as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works great

04/04/2014
By ,
So CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a ladies bike this bar makes all the difference on a bike carrier.
Easy on and off with it's internal spring.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

It was just what I needed

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying it on line was easy enough and it was cheaper than the local bicycle shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next