Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

The Allen Sports Bicycle Adapter Bar lets you transform bikes with non-conventional frames. It has a simple design that lets you attach it to any style with ease, creating a top tube. Appropriate for bicycles with a distance of 16" to 27" between seat post and stem, this Allen tension bar has plastic-coated hooks that protect the finish of your bike. Its internal spring makes it a breeze to put on and remove. This bicycle cross bar helps you transport your ride on a carrier if needed. It holds fast once you have your bike in place. The Allen tension bar allows you to put step-through bikes onto a car rack, which typically only holds models designed with a top tube. It also works well for transporting mountain bikes with thick frames that otherwise do not fit hitch-mounted carriers. Quick to install and sturdy as a support, the bicycle cross bar lets you conveniently use an existing rack or acquire one in the style you prefer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%187 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent adaptor bar

12/04/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not expect much for the price, but I am surprised with the quality and performance of this product. I highly recommend to anyone needing an adaptor for mountain bikes. The spring action can pinch you if you are not careful when uninstalling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Does the job

07/14/2014
By ,
Roswell, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never bought the $35 adaptor bars, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I bought 3 of these for the women's bicycle and 2 kids' bikes (16" and 18") and it did the job fine on the women's and 18" kids bike. No sense paying more than necessary.
The adaptor bar was just a bit too long for the 16" kids bicycle - the seat-post wouldn't clear past the opening of the hook in order to secure the bicycle, but I was able to rig something up and used straps to make it work. The instructions do say it needs a minimum of 18" between seat-post and stem, and not 16" as noted in the Item Description. But otherwise it worked perfectly on the 18" kids bike and for anything larger. The bar seems sturdy and secure and it worked well on the 2300 mile road-trip we just finished with bikes hanging on a hitch-mounted bike rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Easy way to use bike rack with cruisers

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to order this as my beach cruiser would not fit on my bike rack. Found it easy to assemble on the bike and to remove when riding. Holds securely. Would recommend to all who have a cruiser.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Did the job well

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Yakima bike carrier and was looking around for their tube top but couldn't find one. I found this one online and picked it up locally. I bought 2 of these to carry a girls and ladies bikes. They performed flawlessly while carrying the bikes on a long road trip - over 1500 miles. They are simple to use and I would definitely recommend them, especially at their price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works like a charm***********************

07/12/2014
By ,
ATASCOCITA,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get it now, very effective and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

it does the job

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install once you figure out where to place it and Unlock the pin. Be careful with your fingers and the spring
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Avoiding stress!

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent bar and quality from China
(unfortunately) I hope that internal spring stays torqued!!
Stress free for girl style bikes when placing on bike rack...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Good quality

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not sure how anyone is making money on this product. It is sturdy and effective for a really low price. Works on both my wife's bike and my daughter's. I have no complaints and was pleasantly surprised buy how strong and well built this thing is. I see no reason to spend more than twice this price on a Thule or Yakima product. Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great price and works just like the expensive ones

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Yakima bike rack and instead of getting the expensive additional part we tried this first and it worked awesome. If you want to save some money this is worth it!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works for me

05/28/2014
By ,
Redwood City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This saves a lot a hassle when loading a woman's bike onto a car bike rack. It's incredibly easy to put on and take off. Great price and great value! I just may order one for my husband's bike, too, since his bike is an odd shape. Thanks for just a great deal, Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works great

04/04/2014
By ,
So CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a ladies bike this bar makes all the difference on a bike carrier.
Easy on and off with it's internal spring.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

a must have

03/28/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great adaptor bar, however, it's not really made for mtn bikes and girls (kids) bikes because there isn't enough clearance between the bike and the handle bars to affix the bar. It can be done safely though. Just make sure to use the after market straps to keep your bikes together at the bottem and to strap in the top very tightly. I found that if you e-mail "Allen", the manufacturer, they're VERY helpful and you can look up the instructions for these online BEFORE you buy them! Happy biking!
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Good for it's purpose.

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
May have gotten a 5, but the yoke is a little wide for the pin. My husband needed to press it together to make the pin go all way through, and the spring retainer also had to be bent closer together to fit in the corresponding groove. Otherwise it is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Worked great on Yakima rack

05/26/2014
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this for my woman's bike on a Yakima hitch rack. Worked great for the 600 mile round trip.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

great invention!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This worked great on both my kids' bikes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Very good adapter

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good, easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great

06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like it should. A must for any goofy framed or womens framed bike. Just watch your Fingers. Some other brands sell something like it for over 30 dollars. This works just as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

exxxxxcellent

06/18/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does the job of keeping your bikes secure and costs less then Amazon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works as it should at a good price

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for my daughters bike when we go camping. Works great. Do the research and you will see that this bar is about half the price of all the other bars out there. Not sure why anyone would buy one of the other ones at twice the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

great

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next