Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Allen Sports Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

The Allen Bicycle Adaptor Bar lets you transform bicycles with non-conventional frames. It has a simple design that lets you attach it to any frame style with ease. Great for bicycles with a distance of 16" to 27" between seat post and stem, this Allen tension bar has plastic coated hooks that protect the finish of your bicycle. This bicycle cross bar helps you carry you cycle on a carrier if needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.671 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%156 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Excellent adaptor bar

12/04/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not expect much for the price, but I am surprised with the quality and performance of this product. I highly recommend to anyone needing an adaptor for mountain bikes. The spring action can pinch you if you are not careful when uninstalling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works great

04/04/2014
By ,
So CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a ladies bike this bar makes all the difference on a bike carrier.
Easy on and off with it's internal spring.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

It works as advertised

04/16/2014
By ,
Leesburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this bar with my TREK Superfly and it works perfectly. I first install the pin side around the front post and cover the post with cloth so there is no metal on metal scratching. I then pull the tension out and hook it over the seat post. I was worried that the bar would ride up against the bottom of my seat as I drove on dirt roads but the adapter always holds fast and never moves.
I use this with the Allen 4 bike rack that goes on my trailer hitch of my pickup. The combination works great. This was a great value on Walmart, less expensive on Walmart than it was on Amazon.
Thank you!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Perfect

04/22/2014
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It allows you to put step through bikes on a bike rack on the car. Works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great for carrying bicycles with odd-shaped frames

04/19/2014
By ,
manassas, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an inexpensive but effective solution that works well in transporting our mountain bikes with thick frames that would otherwise not fit in hitch-mounted bike carriers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

a must have

03/28/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great adaptor bar, however, it's not really made for mtn bikes and girls (kids) bikes because there isn't enough clearance between the bike and the handle bars to affix the bar. It can be done safely though. Just make sure to use the after market straps to keep your bikes together at the bottem and to strap in the top very tightly. I found that if you e-mail "Allen", the manufacturer, they're VERY helpful and you can look up the instructions for these online BEFORE you buy them! Happy biking!
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great

06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like it should. A must for any goofy framed or womens framed bike. Just watch your Fingers. Some other brands sell something like it for over 30 dollars. This works just as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works great!

03/13/2014
By ,
Holland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The adaptor was the perfect solution to transporting my bike on a hitch bike rack. It's simple and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great deal

04/03/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is fine I wish they would carry in our store since most of the new mountain bikes sold need one to use on bike carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Love 'em!

05/30/2012
By ,
Treasure Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have large, cruiser-type bikes. The frames are a little different, with extra pieces here and there. I was able to put our bikes (men's and ladies') on our carrier without these adaptors, but it was quite awkward and I could see that I would eventually have scratches and dings. These bars install in about 10 seconds and they greatly simplify the process of mounting the bikes onto the carrier. They are exceptionally strong and easy to use. Now that I have tried them I wouldn't be without them.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Not really needed

04/05/2009
By ,
South Central Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is supposed to make a female bike fit an Allen Bike Rack. It does, but you really don't need it. The rack has cradles that twist and can accommodate your bike just fine.
Too bad that Wal-Mart didn't say that in the description.
On the good side, this fits easily and secures the bike well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Great for bikes without center bar (female bikes).

10/13/2011
By ,
Clifton Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt like I had to buy this affordable accessory in order for bike (no center bar) to be secured safely on my affordable bike carrier by the same manufacturer. Love the price of this item, especially when the manufacturer's price on their web site was set at $30 and I got this at Walmart.com for over 50% less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works well

11/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd give it 5 stars, but the pin side is are metal, which I was warned would scratch my bike. I used one layer of duct tape to create a bit of a barrier. Much easier to transport my bike now so I'm happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Works as avertised

01/23/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bar is exactly what I need to carry my wife bike on the bike carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

problem solved!

10/28/2013
By ,
hamburg ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a hard time getting my bike to stay on the bike rack securely and this solved the problem!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Easy to Use - Well Made

09/15/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this in combination with an Allen 3-bike rack on the spare tire of my 2006 Honda CRV. It's quick to attach and very sturdy. While it is likely theoretically possible to put a women's bike directly on the rack, this attachment made it slick. My only small concern is that the u-shaped end should have the rubberized coating like the hook end. I'm a little concerned it may scratch the bike with repeated use. I may look for something to pad it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Item works as advertised.

09/28/2013
By ,
Piscataway,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a mountain bike or ladys bike and having a hard time putting it on the rear bike rack.
this is the item you need. works great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Perfect Item

12/16/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bicycle adapter is well made (HD) and it works great with my Buyers rack. Very easy to install and remove. Parts a rubber coated and will not damage the bicycle frame. Good buy and priced right at $14.99. I think you will like it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

Fit Issues

08/04/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought it fit well on my friend's bike with the exception that it could have fit around the handlebar post more snugly. They could have either made both ends of the bar the same spring operated expander or used some rubberized material on the handlebar post end so it grips better. But all-in-all I carried the bike on a rear mounted bike rack for a couple hundred miles without incident.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar

this was perfect

12/11/2013
By ,
Butte Valley , Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was just right for making my roommates bike fit better on my allen bicycle carrier because her bike doesn't have a center bar
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next