Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

The carry arm spacing of this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs. This Allen Sports Bike Carrier features a patented tie-down cradle system that individually secures and protects bicycles. The 4 Bike Carrier carry arms fold out of the way when not in use and the rRack tilts back for easy lift-gate access. Plus, the Allen Sports Bike Carrier has a no-wobble bolt that eliminates movement of rack inside of hitch. All retainer clips are attached with lanyards to prevent lost parts. With a black powder-coated finish, this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch requires minimal assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.475 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(301 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
93
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation95%286 out of 301reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
93
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

returned the product

10/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No where in the ad or description of the product did it say "not intended for use on any trailer."
Yet once it arrived, there it was written clearly on the front of the box. I am glad I did not need a rack immediately. As a result I spent an addtional $75 and got a rack worthy (read heavy duty) to mount on the rear of my fifth wheel.
I returned the product.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Great Bike Rack

04/03/2011
By ,
Arvada, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike rack met all my expectations from previous reviews I read prior to purchasing. I can still open my rear window on my Yukon without tilting the rack. The only option this rack does not have that I actually wanted was rubber tie-downs instead of the straps. For the money invested, this is a nice and functional rack!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

BUY this rack AWSOME RACK

04/08/2013
By ,
houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Allen rack and again awsome rack now we have an SUB and this was my first brand choice this rack is easy to place in hitch did have to drill the hole bigger on the rack but it was worth the extra work the price is amazing and love love all the features you can bring the arm down when bikes are off rack and th awsome part is that you cam tilt the rack over to open the back door when bikes are off perfectly built sturdy stron and not heavy at all im 42 and i have mounted this by my self REMEMBER larger bikes go first straps are fine but make sure you buy a long cable to wrap you bikes together so they wont be atolen you can buy cable cheap at harbor freight stores lock is cheap as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo, MI
Your Opinion
Posted 02/22/2014
Your pictures look great in your opinion can you fit 2 adult bikes and 2 kids bikes with training wheels? It looks like a tight squeeze for the three bikes. I would love to hear back from one mom to another:)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

It works great but I modified it slightly ;)

10/03/2010
By ,
Larkspur, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike rack is great. It does everything I need but since I am a mechanic I decided to improve it. I did not like that it uses a bolt and nut to secure it to the hitch and of course it is not a 5/8" hole. Therefore, I drilled out the hole to 5/8" on each side with a uni-bit so I could use my standard locking hitch pin. I also snaked a coiled cable lock through the fold down mechanism in order to lock my bikes to the rack. Last but not least I use a small strap on each bike to tie the front wheel off to the frame of the bike in order to keep the front wheel straight and keep it from spinning. You may have noticed that I am using a not standard bike on the rack. So far it is fine and rides even.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

I used it with 3 bikes worked great!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked great but you do want to bogy cord it to the up right frame so you don't get bikes rocking back and forth. I do recommend a bike lock, I put it around all bikes and hitch.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Nice rack

07/23/2013
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace our massive Thule rack that held only 2 bikes. This is a great sturdy rack. We transported 2 adult bikes on a 2 hour drive for its first use and had no problem. Easy to put together and install into hitch. Read the instructions for how to mount a ladies' bike by twisting the mounting grip; it can be done without purchasing the optional bar. A great product at a great price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Excellent bike rack!

04/19/2014
By ,
Rockville. MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits well to my 2' hitch. Well built. Easy to mount to your car. I haven't used it with 4 bikes, but it seems to work. I'm very pleased with this item.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
1 1/4"?
Posted 06/10/2014
is this compatible to my 1 1/4"
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Great system.

04/19/2014
By ,
BROOKLYN,NEW YORK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the system is strong and good.
I have only one problem and that is that the first bicycle with metal sticks and grater and me painting new bike.
otherwise very good system and strong
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Had one bike on it for a week going everywhere!

05/20/2014
By ,
Dracut,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2009 Toyota rav 4 it has a right side hinge rear door with spare tire on it. First good thing about this rack is that it doesn't hit the spare cover and the pivot pin can be removed with bikes in place such that the door can be swung opened about two feet allowing access to stuff in back.
Since my kids will not be as careful, I cable tied some pipe insulation to the rack where the door hits to act as a bumper.
After a week I thought how it would be good if the empty bike rack could pivot all the way to the ground and allow the door to open fully.
The fix is simple; I stopped at a welding shop and had them make one saw cut to the bottom of the main vertical tube. The cut is at the contact point of the pivot tube and 2” receiver bracket. A small triangle of metal approximately (45 degree by 1/4 deep) is removed allowing the tube to pivot past its normal stop point. The tube is still strong and I painted it so it will not rust. My brother has a Honda CRV with a swing door and he just bought this rack too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Great Product, but be careful

11/07/2009
By ,
winston-salem, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this rack in July to carry 4 bikes while on vacation. We drove approximately 2000 miles and we never had a problem until the last 100 miles. We stopped to take a break and I noticed that the safety latch that keeps the pin keeping the rack from folding down had broken. The pin had slipped halfway out and we almost had a disaster. I decided to purchase a Thule to replace the Allen rack and guess what; Thule has the same latch system. The Thule has a solid vertical support bar that makes it a little more stable, but other than that, it's basically the same rack. I would still recommend this rack to anyone that asks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UTUADO
great product..too expensive in PUERTO RICO STORE
Posted 03/11/2012
I PAID $119.00 AT HATILLO STORE IN PUERTO RICO......WHY? I HAD TO REAJUST THE PIN WITH A BLACK METAL SCREW, FOR SAFEKEEPING, THE PINS AND THE RETAINER ARE NOT 100% SECURE. NOW I JUST TAKE THE SCREW OUT AND THAT IS ALL.
PAID TOO MUCH.......
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

BUY IT!

06/07/2009
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried this product, because of the price, would be junk. I researched bike racks with the same features for triple the price, but took the chance on this model. I was pleasantly surprised to see how sturdy it is. I made sure to use it before writing the review. I put it on my hitch myself (no man required!) I am very happy with it and even happier to have the extra $ in my pocket that I saved by taking a chance on the less expansive bike rack!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Just assembled , easy

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just opened the box and put it all together, didn't take too long and it was easy to figure out , seems sturdy and worth the price , can't wait to mount on my SUV...may the bike riding begin
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Allen 4 bike rack

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and sturdy bike rack for a good price. Spaces in between bike slots are good enough for mountain bikes compared with yakima and thule.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Bicycle carrier that fits in a 2" trailer hitch

10/18/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2"Hitch is a good addition to my transportation inventory.
The rack was purchased for $77.13 and arrived quickly. Its assembly was quick and easy.
I was concerned that it may jiggle in the hitch receiver but the bolt that mounts the rack to the hitch (instead of a pin) has a sleeve that pulls the rack tightly to the hitch. The rack was very secure on the hitch with no motion detected at all.
I used the rack to transport two adult bicycles for a short vacation. One was a womens older style that had a Bicycle Adapter Bar to allow it to mount securely to the rack. I mounted the men's ten speed closest to the rack mast and then the womens bike in the Racks 3rd cradle in reverse orientation from the men's bike to eliminate the interference of the handle bars.
The racks rubber cradles hold the bike frame without chance of scratching the paint. The retaining straps are easy to thread and pull tight causing the bike to become quite secure to the rack.
I used some (3) 12" bungee cords to hold the wheels/ Handle bars in position and eliminate any swaying of the lower frame/wheels. The bikes were quite secure on the rack and were not scratched (that I can see). I did notice the front sprocket of the 10 speed has scratched (rubbed) the sticker on the carrier mast-I don't consider that a problem after 600 miles of travel.
The rack has a pin that can be removed to allow the rack to swing down and allow clearance of the Dodge minivan rear door to open and close without removing the bikes or the rack. This feature could allow you to mount the bikes to the rack without picking them up but pushing the rack up into position and installing the tilt pin might be considered difficult. (Just remember to close the hatch door before mounting the bikes to the rack -its easier that way).
I would highly recommend this rack for one or two bikes. I would think it would be good for the full loading of four bikes - but I haven't loaded it up with four bikes -yet. I believe it will do nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Great buy for the money!

10/06/2014
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used it for the first time on a 6 hour drive, with 4 bikes. It worked perfectly. It is designed for mountain bikes, so a cruiser doesn't fit the greatest, but it will work. The pull straps have a plastic buckle that are, well, plastic. I cranked on one when I loaded, and it must have been cold, and it broke. (I noticed someone else complained about this.) A couple drops of superglue and it is all good. They just need to be snug anyway. Worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Excellent rack for the price

05/17/2009
By ,
Oakland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I initially bought a flimsy rack that is a clone to the Bell rack they sell at Walmart or Target. It developed a hairline crack at the knee joint between the post and the bike carrier arm the first time I used it. Luckily I was not on the freeway where I could have caused a terrible accident. As a structural engineer, I made some calculations and determined that 1.25" x 1/16" tubing is stressed too highly. I would suggest not buying a 4-bike rack for 1.5" receiver. The stresses are simply too high, and the consequence of failure could be a serious accident in addition to losing bikes.
The Allen rack is approximately twice as strong (section modulus) as the Bell rack, being made of 2"x 1/16" square tubing, assuming the steel grade is the same. It easily supports me (150 lbs) with very little deflection. After buying the rack, I saw on the internet that one reviewer said his Allen rack failed when one of the 3/8" bolts shear off. It was not this rack, but a previous design. This concerned me, so I made a structural calculation on the rack and the 3/8" pins. The most highly stressed pin, the pin holding the knee joint between the post and bike carrier is well under the allowable stresses. The weakest component is the tearout stresses through the hole that that pin goes through. Although it would seem it would be prudent to make that stronger, that part is still 66% of the allowable stress. Not sure why they cheaped out on a little bit more steel.
I would suggest checking the pins regularly for nicks and cracks, since the stress concentrations would severely weaken the pin. Maybe buy some extra pins from Allen so that you wouldn't be tempted to use a damaged pin. Also, install the rack so that the bolts are tight and the threads are outside the faying surfaces. Bolts are weakest at the threads due to high stress concentrations.
Functionally, this rack is good. I agree with the other reviews.
Some racks are a lot more expensive and is better quality and has more features. But the most import criteria in my book is that it is structurally sound. This Allen rack fits that bill for structural strength and a good balance between function and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+231points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch
08/08/2010
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the product but there was one small issue, my SUV´s 2" hitch is a bit deep and the bike rack's reach is quite limmited (I guess they wanted to save a couple of inches of square tubing).
The result was that I had to buy a $40 dollar 2" extension.
Make sure that your hitch is fluch with your bumper, otherwise you are in for a surprise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Nice bike rack. I'm glad I got it.

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this item for several reasons. I needed a 4 bike trailer hitch rack. This particular rack had good reviews and it had a great price with free shipping.
When I received the rack I was impressed with its appearance. It seemed to be just what I wanted.
During assembly I encountered a serious problem. Step 2 of the instructions instructed me to insert the carry arm assembly into the upper portion of RR post, lining up the two holes. This was impossible to do because the holes did not line up. If I aligned the upper holes the bottom holes were off by half of the diameter of the hole making it impossible to insert the required bolts. I returned the item to Walmart with no problem. I notified the Allen Sports Co. and they assured me that I experienced an exceedingly rare event. Since I liked the rack so much, I reordered it. When the second rack arrived I assembled it with no problem. All holes aligned perfectly. The rack looks great and will meet my needs. I do have one comment. It would be nice to have adjustable quick release buckles on the cradles rather than the attached straps that must be threaded and unthreaded through each buckle when loading and unloading the bikes. If you have 4 bikes loaded you must thread and unthread 8 separate cradles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Good product for the money

09/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good deal for the money. Easy to put together. Used it for a local camping trip and only put 3 bikes on it. My 4th bike is a full size female bike and I figured out how to put it on the rack (once I got home). Drove about 15 miles on the freeway and side streets and the rack looked nice and stable. Straps did a good job holding down the bikes. The bolt used to attach to the hitch is threaded so it's kind of a pain to attach / detach. Other than that, not complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Excellent Product!

10/17/2010
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike carrier and was amazed at how easy it was to install. It is equally easy to load bikes onto. You do NOT need to purchase the extra converter piece just because you have a women's bike. I can load the bikes onto the carrier and be on my way in minutes! Very sturdy too! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next