Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Average Customer Rating:
4.396 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 334
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
228
4 stars
118
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation94%364 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 267 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
228
4 stars
118
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

great bike rack and highly recommended

09/03/2013
By ,
washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very well made bike rack that gives any purchaser the security and value of bike racks costing 3 times as much. it mounts easily to my truck hitch without any movement once the pin/bolt has been tighten inside of the hitch. the fold down carrier arms are excellent and the ability to tilt this rack without being required to touch/remove your mounted bikes makes this product a steal for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

keeper

03/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put this on today and it works like a charm. follow instructions. i had returned two that were 2x as much. very pleased and seems sturdy and prepared for decades of use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
omaha, ne
Fitting questions- any help?
Posted 06/22/2014
Hello, I have been looking into buying this one for a long time. But, I am not sure 100% if this will fit on the Nissan Yuke new model. I went into couple bike stores and they have really good ones. But, over $100 bucks so this one really got my attention! thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Bike Rack!

01/29/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rack is just what I need it!. The 3 bikes holds excellent and the anti-wobble screw is excellent! I recommend four your buy. Have used for a month and it's great. You will not regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Top Notch Rack!!

10/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this rack for several months now both on short and long distance car trips. I've nothing to say but good about it. It is well built and loading and unloading bikes is easy and fast. The tie down straps provides a secure platform. I've only put 2 bikes on it so far but carrying 3 bikes won't be any problem.
The ability to lower the rack away from the rear door or trunk without removing the rack from the car is a real plus and takes only seconds. Those who complain about wobble are probably not securing the rack to the receiver hitch properly. I use the 1-1/4 hitch access. The smaller anti-wobble bolt which Allen supplies reduces wobble to a minimum. Just be sure to use the 1-1/4 inch hole on the rack with the 1-1/4 inch bolt. Also ensure that the thicker end of the bolt is pushed all the way through until it comes up against the hitch receiver, then tighten down.
I'm glad I spent less than half on this Allen rack than would have cost me for a Thule or Yakima. It works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies

06/05/2009
By ,
No. Calif., CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great!
Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed).
The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough.
A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike.
As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing.
From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+270points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Bike Carrier...BUT...

05/30/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated.
My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Not a bad carrier for the money

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally wanted a 2 bike carrier but after reading the reviews of it I noticed some people had trouble with a draw-tite hitch so I purchased this one instead. Was glad I did. I have a draw-tite 1.25 hitch and after installing it ( which only took 5 minutes or so)there was no wobble what so ever. Someone mentioned make sure you use the right hole and it does make a difference. I used it once so far in the first week I had it and no problems. No problems with the tilt back feature. The only negative things I can think of is there is a bit of rattle because the joints on all 3 connections have a bit of play so maybe a couple washers in the right areas might help. will try it later. Also while I have not tried it but I am not sure 3 bikes will fit comfortably on it. It will hold 2 but I admit I have used only 1 bike on it so far. and that was the basis of the 4 star rating and not a 5 would have done 4.5 if there was an option for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

3-Back Rack Carrier

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's very convenient for me and it does the job. I do like it. I no longer have to place our bikes inside the back of my utility vehicle to travel to and from the bike trail. Big thanks!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen 3 bike carrier

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one. Ex wife got the other one. Both work excellant. Like that rack will fold down with bikes off. Easy to secure to hitch. Highly recommend. Also would not be easy to steal unless they have wrenches.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier

06/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked around for a used bike rack to attach to my Acura SUV, RDX 2015. But none of the bike racks I saw were worth getting. I have a 2" receiver in my trailer hitch. The bike rack is well built (no complaints) for the money. I have read that the spacing of the bikes mounting bars are too wide or too narrow and mounting some bikes is difficult. I have a Electra men's cruiser with wide bars, and a Meade Lady's bike. I am glad I got the 3 bike carrier. If you use your imagination, you can mount any bike on this rack. I use bungee cords with hooks for extra protection and mount the lady's bike on the first location closest to the rear of the SUV and mount the men's bike in the furthest point, and opposite to the handle bars of the other bike. Tie the wheels to each other so they don't swing back and forth when moving. Even though, the hitch pin is time consuming due to the nut you need to torque, it gives me adequate protection and the rack doesn't move. The 2" hitch has 5/8" dia. pin, while a 1 1/4" hitch has a 1/2" dia. hole. The pin that comes with the rack for my 2" hitch really does the job of not moving. all together I use four bungee cords and feel confident I can travel cross country with this. Bottom line is, use your mechanical aptitude and imagination and after some trial and error with different mounting configurations, you will master the right way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

good for the price

06/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it works good, no concerns, there are better ones for twice the price, it does fine by me
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

BEWARE!

05/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This DOES NOT work on a 1 1/4 hitch .
when you connect it to a 1 1/4" hitch, it will sway alot.
Using the bolt will not help it.
Sure it will hook up to a 1 1/4" hitch, BUT, the holes do not line up correctly that you have to back it out to the next whole.
When tightening it down with the so called " anti-sway bolt (which is a total joke), the rack moves around alot.
Maybe will work on a 2" hitch, but NOT a 1 1/4 hitch.
BEWARE!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Father's day!

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hubby has recently taken up biking with some friends. Hes been moving stuff in/out of his truck bed for hia bike; fustrating. I decided to get the 3 bike carrier because we're about to have a baby....symbolism: spot for papa bear's bike,momma bear's bike, and baby bear's bike. He really likes it.
Easy to assemble, works well. He just wished it came with a wing nut so he could more easily remove it from the trailer hitch when not in use. But overall...5 stars!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good product for the price

04/14/2011
By ,
Anaheim, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product great price.
Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack
Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A Great Bike Rack

07/02/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought and returned another carrier that cost almost twice as much and was made of very light gauge tubing. This rack is very well made and solid. Also, the other rack had Velcro straps and I felt the hook and latch would eventually fail as they filled up with road dirt and grime. One other rack I looked at had rubber straps that you had to stretch and hook, difficult for me to do, impossible for my wife. One of the straps on the display unit in the store had already ripped. This unit has an over and under strap like the strap on your helmet. I only needed places for 2 bikes, this unit will accommodate 3 so I don't have to crowd my 2 bikes and have them clanging against each other. This unit will handle a women’s bike without the purchase of the optional cross bar adapter that costs around $25 because the bracket will pivot and fit right behind the vertical tube that holds the seat. This unit will tilt down allowing you access to the back of your SUV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Bike Rack For the Price.

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Checked some reviews and the bike rack was rated "best buy for it's price range". Have not been disappointed so far. Very sturdy construction, nice and snug in the 2" received on my truck so there is very little movement. Does the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Very good bike rack

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. Installation directions very easy to follow. Made minor modification with a cloth and duck tape because first bike does smack up against bar. Padded the bar and now it works great. Extremely happy with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Easy to put on car. 3 bikes fit perfect.

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A good value, works well

12/21/2009
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is not a Yakima it is less than 1/3 the cost and fulfills the need for the more economy minded quite effectively. You need to fiddle with it a little bit getting it set up to suit yourself but it is sturdy, rattles very little, and holds my bikes securely in a 1-1/4 hitch. I caution users not to tighten the swing away pivot nut/bolt too tight or it will bind making it almost impossible to get the locking pin in and out. I put a small washer on the bolt, in the gap between the sleeve and shaft, and this made it smooth as butter. I use a cable, run from the safety chain loop on my hitch and through the welded support bracket on the rack, then through the bikes and padlocked back on itself for security. When not carrying bikes I leave it attached to deter rack theft since there is no decent way to secure (lock) the hitch pin anti rattle bolt. I recommend this rack to others and would not hesitate to purchase another should the need arise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great product for the price

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are better bike racks out there. For the price and free shipping, this can't be beat.
I gave it 4 stars because I have a bigger bike and it slides horizontally. A bungee cord fixed that.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 335 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next