Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Average Customer Rating:
4.401 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(304 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
95
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%285 out of 304reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 223 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
95
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

keeper

03/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put this on today and it works like a charm. follow instructions. i had returned two that were 2x as much. very pleased and seems sturdy and prepared for decades of use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

great bike rack and highly recommended

09/03/2013
By ,
washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very well made bike rack that gives any purchaser the security and value of bike racks costing 3 times as much. it mounts easily to my truck hitch without any movement once the pin/bolt has been tighten inside of the hitch. the fold down carrier arms are excellent and the ability to tilt this rack without being required to touch/remove your mounted bikes makes this product a steal for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Bike Rack!

01/29/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rack is just what I need it!. The 3 bikes holds excellent and the anti-wobble screw is excellent! I recommend four your buy. Have used for a month and it's great. You will not regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Top Notch Rack!!

10/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this rack for several months now both on short and long distance car trips. I've nothing to say but good about it. It is well built and loading and unloading bikes is easy and fast. The tie down straps provides a secure platform. I've only put 2 bikes on it so far but carrying 3 bikes won't be any problem.
The ability to lower the rack away from the rear door or trunk without removing the rack from the car is a real plus and takes only seconds. Those who complain about wobble are probably not securing the rack to the receiver hitch properly. I use the 1-1/4 hitch access. The smaller anti-wobble bolt which Allen supplies reduces wobble to a minimum. Just be sure to use the 1-1/4 inch hole on the rack with the 1-1/4 inch bolt. Also ensure that the thicker end of the bolt is pushed all the way through until it comes up against the hitch receiver, then tighten down.
I'm glad I spent less than half on this Allen rack than would have cost me for a Thule or Yakima. It works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies

06/05/2009
By ,
No. Calif., CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great!
Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed).
The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough.
A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike.
As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing.
From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+234points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Bike Carrier...BUT...

05/30/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated.
My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Works great for the price

04/04/2014
By ,
So CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wish it was lighter in weight. A bit lighter than my old carrier though. Folding arms are great for safety and storage. Our 3 bike model would be hard pressed to actually carry three bikes. Works nicely for two and they don't hit each other. Three bikes may not fit at all and if they do they will rub and hit each other. All said though, it is a good value and it is well made.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great rack for the price

04/15/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy. Compared to much more expensive brands, this is a good quality rack at a good price, in my opinion. I only use it for two bikes but it has always been my preference to go up a size on bike racks. When not in use, and folded down, it does make some noise but I've heard that most do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Perfect for my needs

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little rack. Works just as they said in the description. I do wish it could be taken off the hitch receiver easier ( has a locking nut), but other than that, very nice, especially for the price. Even shipped to Alaska, which many places seem to think is in a foreign country.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Delux 3 Bike Rack Carrier

04/04/2014
By ,
Salem NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Allen bike rack and took a chance on the quality of the rack at the great price I paid. I am more that satisfied with both quality and price. The Allen rack has features and quality that racks twice the cost don't have. My bikes will be held firmly and safely while being transported on the Allen rack. If you are looking for a bike rack for your SUV hitch then you need to check this rack out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good product for the price

04/14/2011
By ,
Anaheim, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product great price.
Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack
Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A Great Bike Rack

07/02/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought and returned another carrier that cost almost twice as much and was made of very light gauge tubing. This rack is very well made and solid. Also, the other rack had Velcro straps and I felt the hook and latch would eventually fail as they filled up with road dirt and grime. One other rack I looked at had rubber straps that you had to stretch and hook, difficult for me to do, impossible for my wife. One of the straps on the display unit in the store had already ripped. This unit has an over and under strap like the strap on your helmet. I only needed places for 2 bikes, this unit will accommodate 3 so I don't have to crowd my 2 bikes and have them clanging against each other. This unit will handle a women’s bike without the purchase of the optional cross bar adapter that costs around $25 because the bracket will pivot and fit right behind the vertical tube that holds the seat. This unit will tilt down allowing you access to the back of your SUV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A great bike rack at a reasonable price

03/07/2014
By ,
Salem, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rack met and exceeded my expectations without breaking the bank. Why spend $200 or more when this rack is available. I wanted something that is simple, takes up little room when not in use and carries my bike securely. This does it all. I have only hauled the bike on a short trip around town so far, but found it easy to use, secure and well designed. One thing I was concerned about before purchasing that was not clear in the literature, is how the crossbar mounting point handled cables running along the crossbar. There are grooves in the crossbar support for cable clearance. I can recommend this rack without reservations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Affordable Bike carrier

03/22/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product matched description and I have already taken my bikes on a little trip. The carrier performed well and it is super easy to put them on and off the carrier. Time will tell how this holds up over time. I am a weekend rider and am sure this will get lots of use. Price was great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Sturdy Construction that should last

03/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found a double receiver hitch and will now be able to connect this bike carrier between my tow vehicle and my pop-up camper trailer. We will now have the ability to take our bikes on camping trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Hitch Bike Rack

03/08/2011
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The deal is good but the product is made for the tradition mens bike with thin frames. I was able to find an adapter (called a bike beam) that allows womens bikes to fit BUT an added $40.00 for each beam.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sheridan, Or
Allen makes a product that is cheaper....
Posted 05/28/2011
You want the Allen Tension Bar Bicycle Cross-Bar Adaptor costs 16.54 cents from Walmart.com
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A good value, works well

12/21/2009
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is not a Yakima it is less than 1/3 the cost and fulfills the need for the more economy minded quite effectively. You need to fiddle with it a little bit getting it set up to suit yourself but it is sturdy, rattles very little, and holds my bikes securely in a 1-1/4 hitch. I caution users not to tighten the swing away pivot nut/bolt too tight or it will bind making it almost impossible to get the locking pin in and out. I put a small washer on the bolt, in the gap between the sleeve and shaft, and this made it smooth as butter. I use a cable, run from the safety chain loop on my hitch and through the welded support bracket on the rack, then through the bikes and padlocked back on itself for security. When not carrying bikes I leave it attached to deter rack theft since there is no decent way to secure (lock) the hitch pin anti rattle bolt. I recommend this rack to others and would not hesitate to purchase another should the need arise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Nice Rack no pun intended

11/16/2009
By ,
Poway, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works as expected. It doesn't have the convenience options that a Thule or better brand would but great deal for the money. I put at least 1-2 bikes on there twice a week and no problems or worries. Straps have held strong, 2 months now. Only issue is that i have a 2" mount and you have to use the no-wobble bolt, works great but that makes it permanently attached for the most part because of the locking threads on the nut. If you try to use something else to secure it suchas a key locking-bolt for security purposes, it will wobble in the hitch. Great deal for the money, get what you pay for and then some! Ride 20" mountain bike fram, hardtail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

For those that have wobble issues on 1.25" hitch

08/16/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So when I received this bike rack and assembled it, everything felt pretty solid. Pretty impressed with the quality. If I didn't read other reviews here, I wouldn't even know that it was made in China.
I installed it onto my 1.25" hitch receiver and boy did it wobble! So much so that I contemplated shimming it or even returning it. Then I read one reviewer here that explained that there were two different holes in the rack where you can fit either the 1/2" or 3/8" bolt that are both included (there's actually 3 holes in the rack, the biggest fits the 1/2" bolt for 2" hitches; the medium sized hole fits the 3/8" bolt for 1.25" hitches; and the smallest hole I'm not sure what that's for). It is important to note what I mentioned previously in parantheses, because I see a lot of reviewers complaining about wobble and I think using the wrong bolt for the wrong hole is the reason.
After using the 3/8" bolt on the medium hole on my 1.25" hitch, there is no wobble at all and it feels pretty solid. Would give 5 stars, but the spacers between bike straps are made of cheap plastic and prone to cracking, and the straps could have been more convenient and quick to load/unload with a velcro type design like found on the Bell brand racks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Substantial and economically sound (2) bike carrie

03/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy assembly-light but substantial. I have never found, including the highly priced Thule Vertex 5, a carrier that handles the advertised number of bicycles gracefully. You just don't want to crowd expensive bicycles together. This rack is terrific for a two bike weekend jaunt. Inexpensive-easy to manage, and the ability to fold it down and get at the trunk or cargo bay. A winner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next