Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Average Customer Rating:
4.408 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(360 Reviews) 305
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
210
4 stars
112
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation94%338 out of 360reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 260 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
210
4 stars
112
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

You get what you pay for...

03/20/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm really disappointed. I'm returning the product today. Everything about it seemed perfect, until... I went to bolt it to my SUV. The non-wobble bolt is not designed properly. The wobble factor is intense and scary; especially when you've spent a lot of money on your bikes and want to ensure they don't become road kill. I even took the rack to my local bike shop and asked for help to secure the rack to my SUV. No matter which way you sliced it, the rack wobbles. Apparently there are no threads inside the hitch connector for the non-wobble bolt to thread into - - ergo it wobbles. It is too bad, because everything else about this product is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

keeper

03/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put this on today and it works like a charm. follow instructions. i had returned two that were 2x as much. very pleased and seems sturdy and prepared for decades of use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
omaha, ne
Fitting questions- any help?
Posted 06/22/2014
Hello, I have been looking into buying this one for a long time. But, I am not sure 100% if this will fit on the Nissan Yuke new model. I went into couple bike stores and they have really good ones. But, over $100 bucks so this one really got my attention! thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

great bike rack and highly recommended

09/03/2013
By ,
washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very well made bike rack that gives any purchaser the security and value of bike racks costing 3 times as much. it mounts easily to my truck hitch without any movement once the pin/bolt has been tighten inside of the hitch. the fold down carrier arms are excellent and the ability to tilt this rack without being required to touch/remove your mounted bikes makes this product a steal for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Bike Rack!

01/29/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rack is just what I need it!. The 3 bikes holds excellent and the anti-wobble screw is excellent! I recommend four your buy. Have used for a month and it's great. You will not regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Top Notch Rack!!

10/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this rack for several months now both on short and long distance car trips. I've nothing to say but good about it. It is well built and loading and unloading bikes is easy and fast. The tie down straps provides a secure platform. I've only put 2 bikes on it so far but carrying 3 bikes won't be any problem.
The ability to lower the rack away from the rear door or trunk without removing the rack from the car is a real plus and takes only seconds. Those who complain about wobble are probably not securing the rack to the receiver hitch properly. I use the 1-1/4 hitch access. The smaller anti-wobble bolt which Allen supplies reduces wobble to a minimum. Just be sure to use the 1-1/4 inch hole on the rack with the 1-1/4 inch bolt. Also ensure that the thicker end of the bolt is pushed all the way through until it comes up against the hitch receiver, then tighten down.
I'm glad I spent less than half on this Allen rack than would have cost me for a Thule or Yakima. It works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Not a bad carrier for the money

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally wanted a 2 bike carrier but after reading the reviews of it I noticed some people had trouble with a draw-tite hitch so I purchased this one instead. Was glad I did. I have a draw-tite 1.25 hitch and after installing it ( which only took 5 minutes or so)there was no wobble what so ever. Someone mentioned make sure you use the right hole and it does make a difference. I used it once so far in the first week I had it and no problems. No problems with the tilt back feature. The only negative things I can think of is there is a bit of rattle because the joints on all 3 connections have a bit of play so maybe a couple washers in the right areas might help. will try it later. Also while I have not tried it but I am not sure 3 bikes will fit comfortably on it. It will hold 2 but I admit I have used only 1 bike on it so far. and that was the basis of the 4 star rating and not a 5 would have done 4.5 if there was an option for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies

06/05/2009
By ,
No. Calif., CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great!
Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed).
The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough.
A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike.
As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing.
From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+254points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Bike Carrier...BUT...

05/30/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated.
My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

First bike rack for SUV

07/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a solid bike rack for our SUV. It was quick to install. The have encountered two minor problems. 1) the pin to keep the unit from rocking or bumping around did not line up- the holes did not align so we just by-passed and omitted (honestly, the rack is solid enough it didn't seem to need it anyway). 2) depending on the type of bike, the rack closest to the rear of the vehicle could be extremely snug and can cause damage (we have mountain bikes and the frames are larger than your standard bike-- the frame of the rack rubs against the bike and scratched/damaged-- we remedied the situation by adding in padding-styrofoam around the bike frame).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Bare Bones functionality - works well

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comparing this rack to a Thule or a Yakima, it's well worth the $79 price. Those others may have a few more bells and whistles, but you pay dearly for them, like 3 to five times more.
The Allen rack does not have a built-in lock, and the bikes are only attached to the rack at the top.
At speeds of greater than 65 mph, my bike started to raise up and grow wings, which made me wonder if I could ever really take it out of my local area without using a bungee cord or something to secure it from raising up at high speeds.
Adding a locking cable, and securing the bikes for higher speeds with a cord of some kind, I would still highly recommend this rack as an alternative to the higher priced brands.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great product at an even better price!

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friend got one and so I looked it up and I had been thoroughly impressed with the quality but had no idea how affordable these are. Bike rack is very sound and doesn't even wobble a bit! I live the design that prevents the holders from sliding back and forth. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good product for the price

04/14/2011
By ,
Anaheim, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product great price.
Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack
Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A Great Bike Rack

07/02/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought and returned another carrier that cost almost twice as much and was made of very light gauge tubing. This rack is very well made and solid. Also, the other rack had Velcro straps and I felt the hook and latch would eventually fail as they filled up with road dirt and grime. One other rack I looked at had rubber straps that you had to stretch and hook, difficult for me to do, impossible for my wife. One of the straps on the display unit in the store had already ripped. This unit has an over and under strap like the strap on your helmet. I only needed places for 2 bikes, this unit will accommodate 3 so I don't have to crowd my 2 bikes and have them clanging against each other. This unit will handle a women’s bike without the purchase of the optional cross bar adapter that costs around $25 because the bracket will pivot and fit right behind the vertical tube that holds the seat. This unit will tilt down allowing you access to the back of your SUV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

great product

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this rack with a mitsubishi eclipse and it works great. I have an 1 1/4" reciever and the wobble free bolt works as expected. I also love that the rack can be folded down and just left om the car out of the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Hitch Bike Rack

03/08/2011
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The deal is good but the product is made for the tradition mens bike with thin frames. I was able to find an adapter (called a bike beam) that allows womens bikes to fit BUT an added $40.00 for each beam.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sheridan, Or
Allen makes a product that is cheaper....
Posted 05/28/2011
You want the Allen Tension Bar Bicycle Cross-Bar Adaptor costs 16.54 cents from Walmart.com
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A good value, works well

12/21/2009
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is not a Yakima it is less than 1/3 the cost and fulfills the need for the more economy minded quite effectively. You need to fiddle with it a little bit getting it set up to suit yourself but it is sturdy, rattles very little, and holds my bikes securely in a 1-1/4 hitch. I caution users not to tighten the swing away pivot nut/bolt too tight or it will bind making it almost impossible to get the locking pin in and out. I put a small washer on the bolt, in the gap between the sleeve and shaft, and this made it smooth as butter. I use a cable, run from the safety chain loop on my hitch and through the welded support bracket on the rack, then through the bikes and padlocked back on itself for security. When not carrying bikes I leave it attached to deter rack theft since there is no decent way to secure (lock) the hitch pin anti rattle bolt. I recommend this rack to others and would not hesitate to purchase another should the need arise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Nice Rack no pun intended

11/16/2009
By ,
Poway, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works as expected. It doesn't have the convenience options that a Thule or better brand would but great deal for the money. I put at least 1-2 bikes on there twice a week and no problems or worries. Straps have held strong, 2 months now. Only issue is that i have a 2" mount and you have to use the no-wobble bolt, works great but that makes it permanently attached for the most part because of the locking threads on the nut. If you try to use something else to secure it suchas a key locking-bolt for security purposes, it will wobble in the hitch. Great deal for the money, get what you pay for and then some! Ride 20" mountain bike fram, hardtail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen 3 Bike Rack VS Bell 2 Bike Rack

10/17/2011
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Allen bike rack will hold 3 bikes, where the Bell will hold 2. We only have 2 bikes to haul, but considered the Allen 3 Bike Rack simply to try and space our bikes further apart, so they didn't rub each other. The Allen Bike Rack is a much taller rack which places the bikes further up into the back window of our SUV. We found it harder to load the bike at the higher level (due to our height and weight). The Bell allows the bikes to be a lower level, not affecting the view out the back window as much, plus easier loading. Its true what other reviewers are saying about their concern on the receiver of the Allen 3 Bike Rack. The Allen Rack receiver has rounded corners instead of being squared off. Both the Allen and Bell Bike Rack will fit a 2" or 1 1/4" hitch. Both racks have spacer parts to leave on for the 2" hitches or remove the spacer for them to fit the smaller hitch. There tends to be some play in the connection of the Allen Receiver, due to rounded corners (where the Bell receiver is square and leaves no play). The Allen Receiver has to be installed and removed with 2 tools. Plus, the Allen uses a bolt that only slides into the side of its receiver with a nut screwed onto it. The No Wobble Bolt that Allen provides does take almost all of the play out of the rounded corner receiver. However, you have to be careful putting their bolt in the correct hole. There is a larger hole in the receiver for a larger bolt intended for the 2" hitch. The smaller hole intended for a smaller bolt is meant for the 1 1/4" hitch. We mistakenly slid the smaller bolt into the larger hole and the play was horrible. Trial and error, we found the problem. The Bell Receiver has a threaded hole in the receiver and a bolt that screws into it and then a nut that screws onto that. Bell includes 2 factory made tools in their packaging. It only takes ONE tool to install the nut, but they provide you an extra tool for another vehicle in case you switch the rack back and forth between vehicles. Takes a little more fumbling to install the Allen Bike Rack with the two tools, but overall its almost the same amount of time to remove either rack. The Allen Bike Rack has straps that feed back through a latch (much like a motorcycle helmet) to strap down the bikes, where the Allen 2 Bike Rack uses latches with velcro straps. Both racks pivot and both racks lay down the bike holder arms when you aren't transporting. While the Allen Bike Rack has used heavier steel (maybe because its meant to hold more weight), the Bell Bike Rack looked overall better to us. The Allen Bike rack will hold up to 100 pounds and its suggested you put the heaviest bike closest to the vehicle. The Bell Bike Rack will hold up to 70 pounds. The width of the arms that you feed the bikes onto varies on both units also. With my husband's bike, it was almost a tight fit on the Allen Bike Rack. The arms on the Allen are 16" wide to feed the bike up and onto. The Bell Bike Rack arms were 14" wide. For the Approx. $21 difference between the prices of the Bike Racks (with the Allen 3 bike rack being lower) AND with us only needing a rack to hold 2 bikes....we decided after comparing both units side by side, we were more impressed with Bell 2 Bike Rack and it fit our needs much better. Hope this review helps!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Well made bike rack

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't need a bike rack often, maybe 8 - 10 times a year so I really didn't want to spend a lot of money on one. This rack is very well made, it secures the bikes and does not allow them to move around a lot. I use some adjustable straps to provide more security for the bikes but this is something I have always done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

For those that have wobble issues on 1.25" hitch

08/16/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So when I received this bike rack and assembled it, everything felt pretty solid. Pretty impressed with the quality. If I didn't read other reviews here, I wouldn't even know that it was made in China.
I installed it onto my 1.25" hitch receiver and boy did it wobble! So much so that I contemplated shimming it or even returning it. Then I read one reviewer here that explained that there were two different holes in the rack where you can fit either the 1/2" or 3/8" bolt that are both included (there's actually 3 holes in the rack, the biggest fits the 1/2" bolt for 2" hitches; the medium sized hole fits the 3/8" bolt for 1.25" hitches; and the smallest hole I'm not sure what that's for). It is important to note what I mentioned previously in parantheses, because I see a lot of reviewers complaining about wobble and I think using the wrong bolt for the wrong hole is the reason.
After using the 3/8" bolt on the medium hole on my 1.25" hitch, there is no wobble at all and it feels pretty solid. Would give 5 stars, but the spacers between bike straps are made of cheap plastic and prone to cracking, and the straps could have been more convenient and quick to load/unload with a velcro type design like found on the Bell brand racks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 306 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next