Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(357 Reviews) 302
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
111
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation94%335 out of 357reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 260 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
111
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

You get what you pay for...

03/20/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm really disappointed. I'm returning the product today. Everything about it seemed perfect, until... I went to bolt it to my SUV. The non-wobble bolt is not designed properly. The wobble factor is intense and scary; especially when you've spent a lot of money on your bikes and want to ensure they don't become road kill. I even took the rack to my local bike shop and asked for help to secure the rack to my SUV. No matter which way you sliced it, the rack wobbles. Apparently there are no threads inside the hitch connector for the non-wobble bolt to thread into - - ergo it wobbles. It is too bad, because everything else about this product is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

keeper

03/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put this on today and it works like a charm. follow instructions. i had returned two that were 2x as much. very pleased and seems sturdy and prepared for decades of use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
omaha, ne
Fitting questions- any help?
Posted 06/22/2014
Hello, I have been looking into buying this one for a long time. But, I am not sure 100% if this will fit on the Nissan Yuke new model. I went into couple bike stores and they have really good ones. But, over $100 bucks so this one really got my attention! thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

great bike rack and highly recommended

09/03/2013
By ,
washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very well made bike rack that gives any purchaser the security and value of bike racks costing 3 times as much. it mounts easily to my truck hitch without any movement once the pin/bolt has been tighten inside of the hitch. the fold down carrier arms are excellent and the ability to tilt this rack without being required to touch/remove your mounted bikes makes this product a steal for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Bike Rack!

01/29/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rack is just what I need it!. The 3 bikes holds excellent and the anti-wobble screw is excellent! I recommend four your buy. Have used for a month and it's great. You will not regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Top Notch Rack!!

10/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this rack for several months now both on short and long distance car trips. I've nothing to say but good about it. It is well built and loading and unloading bikes is easy and fast. The tie down straps provides a secure platform. I've only put 2 bikes on it so far but carrying 3 bikes won't be any problem.
The ability to lower the rack away from the rear door or trunk without removing the rack from the car is a real plus and takes only seconds. Those who complain about wobble are probably not securing the rack to the receiver hitch properly. I use the 1-1/4 hitch access. The smaller anti-wobble bolt which Allen supplies reduces wobble to a minimum. Just be sure to use the 1-1/4 inch hole on the rack with the 1-1/4 inch bolt. Also ensure that the thicker end of the bolt is pushed all the way through until it comes up against the hitch receiver, then tighten down.
I'm glad I spent less than half on this Allen rack than would have cost me for a Thule or Yakima. It works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Not a bad carrier for the money

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally wanted a 2 bike carrier but after reading the reviews of it I noticed some people had trouble with a draw-tite hitch so I purchased this one instead. Was glad I did. I have a draw-tite 1.25 hitch and after installing it ( which only took 5 minutes or so)there was no wobble what so ever. Someone mentioned make sure you use the right hole and it does make a difference. I used it once so far in the first week I had it and no problems. No problems with the tilt back feature. The only negative things I can think of is there is a bit of rattle because the joints on all 3 connections have a bit of play so maybe a couple washers in the right areas might help. will try it later. Also while I have not tried it but I am not sure 3 bikes will fit comfortably on it. It will hold 2 but I admit I have used only 1 bike on it so far. and that was the basis of the 4 star rating and not a 5 would have done 4.5 if there was an option for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies

06/05/2009
By ,
No. Calif., CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great!
Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed).
The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough.
A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike.
As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing.
From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+254points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Bike Carrier...BUT...

05/30/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated.
My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

First bike rack for SUV

07/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a solid bike rack for our SUV. It was quick to install. The have encountered two minor problems. 1) the pin to keep the unit from rocking or bumping around did not line up- the holes did not align so we just by-passed and omitted (honestly, the rack is solid enough it didn't seem to need it anyway). 2) depending on the type of bike, the rack closest to the rear of the vehicle could be extremely snug and can cause damage (we have mountain bikes and the frames are larger than your standard bike-- the frame of the rack rubs against the bike and scratched/damaged-- we remedied the situation by adding in padding-styrofoam around the bike frame).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Well made bike rack

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't need a bike rack often, maybe 8 - 10 times a year so I really didn't want to spend a lot of money on one. This rack is very well made, it secures the bikes and does not allow them to move around a lot. I use some adjustable straps to provide more security for the bikes but this is something I have always done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Sturdy and Easy

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike rack. Sturdy and good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Walmart let down

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 1 star is for Walmart not the bike rack. I would give no stars but Walmart won't allow that. I'm not sure how great this product is because I'm unable to use it. Walmart delivered the product in a beat up box with numerous holes in it. So it was no surprise that the bolts to put the bike rack together were missing. I'm still waiting for a them to ship another bike rack to me. I'm running out of summer to go on bike rides.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good product for the price

04/14/2011
By ,
Anaheim, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product great price.
Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack
Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good rack at an excellent price.

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike rack required 3 bolts and a couple pins to assemble. The top part of the rack was already assembled to the upper half of the vertical post. The receiver is 1-1/4" on my car and the carrier tightened up nicely with the special bolt and became as solid as can be expected for a hitch this size.
This is a very heavy steel rack and should be quite strong. The key word here is heavy.
Walmart sold this to me for a ridiculously low price. Key word, inexpensive.
I can recommend this "Allen Sports Deluxe 3" to anyone that wants to haul bikes without the cost of a bike store brand. The value of this is more than I spent by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A Great Bike Rack

07/02/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought and returned another carrier that cost almost twice as much and was made of very light gauge tubing. This rack is very well made and solid. Also, the other rack had Velcro straps and I felt the hook and latch would eventually fail as they filled up with road dirt and grime. One other rack I looked at had rubber straps that you had to stretch and hook, difficult for me to do, impossible for my wife. One of the straps on the display unit in the store had already ripped. This unit has an over and under strap like the strap on your helmet. I only needed places for 2 bikes, this unit will accommodate 3 so I don't have to crowd my 2 bikes and have them clanging against each other. This unit will handle a women’s bike without the purchase of the optional cross bar adapter that costs around $25 because the bracket will pivot and fit right behind the vertical tube that holds the seat. This unit will tilt down allowing you access to the back of your SUV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

could be so much better

07/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With very few adjustments this could be a really good bike rack at a great value. Why doesn't the manufacturer put different size metal plates in the box so it would fit different size trailer hitches. Also, the rack closest to the hitch stem is too close and the bike hits the post. These are simple additions and changes that would make this rack perfect. Everyone that uses this rack ends up making modifications.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Hitch Bike Rack

03/08/2011
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The deal is good but the product is made for the tradition mens bike with thin frames. I was able to find an adapter (called a bike beam) that allows womens bikes to fit BUT an added $40.00 for each beam.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sheridan, Or
Allen makes a product that is cheaper....
Posted 05/28/2011
You want the Allen Tension Bar Bicycle Cross-Bar Adaptor costs 16.54 cents from Walmart.com
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

A good value, works well

12/21/2009
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is not a Yakima it is less than 1/3 the cost and fulfills the need for the more economy minded quite effectively. You need to fiddle with it a little bit getting it set up to suit yourself but it is sturdy, rattles very little, and holds my bikes securely in a 1-1/4 hitch. I caution users not to tighten the swing away pivot nut/bolt too tight or it will bind making it almost impossible to get the locking pin in and out. I put a small washer on the bolt, in the gap between the sleeve and shaft, and this made it smooth as butter. I use a cable, run from the safety chain loop on my hitch and through the welded support bracket on the rack, then through the bikes and padlocked back on itself for security. When not carrying bikes I leave it attached to deter rack theft since there is no decent way to secure (lock) the hitch pin anti rattle bolt. I recommend this rack to others and would not hesitate to purchase another should the need arise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Rack Especially for the price

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only spent about $100 (plus expedited shipping) and the rack works well. Tried putting one bike in the middle rack (it is a three bike rack) and the bike surfed/floated up in the wind at 70 mph. It was still well attached, but the riding of the wind caused the bike to float up almost parallel to the highway. Scary. Moved the bike to the rack spot closest to the car and attached the bike with a bungee cord to the rack's vertical post, and it was PERFECT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

No quality assurance testing

06/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Received unit on time from Walmart but product could not be assembled per manufacturers instructions. The holes on the main shaft were drilled at different locations on opposing sides which made it impossible to insert the bolts all the way though without drilling. Manufacturer is sending another. We will have to wait and see if this one will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 303 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next