Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(351 Reviews) 296
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
111
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%330 out of 351reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 256 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
111
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

You get what you pay for...

03/20/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm really disappointed. I'm returning the product today. Everything about it seemed perfect, until... I went to bolt it to my SUV. The non-wobble bolt is not designed properly. The wobble factor is intense and scary; especially when you've spent a lot of money on your bikes and want to ensure they don't become road kill. I even took the rack to my local bike shop and asked for help to secure the rack to my SUV. No matter which way you sliced it, the rack wobbles. Apparently there are no threads inside the hitch connector for the non-wobble bolt to thread into - - ergo it wobbles. It is too bad, because everything else about this product is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

keeper

03/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put this on today and it works like a charm. follow instructions. i had returned two that were 2x as much. very pleased and seems sturdy and prepared for decades of use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
omaha, ne
Fitting questions- any help?
Posted 06/22/2014
Hello, I have been looking into buying this one for a long time. But, I am not sure 100% if this will fit on the Nissan Yuke new model. I went into couple bike stores and they have really good ones. But, over $100 bucks so this one really got my attention! thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

great bike rack and highly recommended

09/03/2013
By ,
washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very well made bike rack that gives any purchaser the security and value of bike racks costing 3 times as much. it mounts easily to my truck hitch without any movement once the pin/bolt has been tighten inside of the hitch. the fold down carrier arms are excellent and the ability to tilt this rack without being required to touch/remove your mounted bikes makes this product a steal for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Bike Rack!

01/29/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rack is just what I need it!. The 3 bikes holds excellent and the anti-wobble screw is excellent! I recommend four your buy. Have used for a month and it's great. You will not regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Top Notch Rack!!

10/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this rack for several months now both on short and long distance car trips. I've nothing to say but good about it. It is well built and loading and unloading bikes is easy and fast. The tie down straps provides a secure platform. I've only put 2 bikes on it so far but carrying 3 bikes won't be any problem.
The ability to lower the rack away from the rear door or trunk without removing the rack from the car is a real plus and takes only seconds. Those who complain about wobble are probably not securing the rack to the receiver hitch properly. I use the 1-1/4 hitch access. The smaller anti-wobble bolt which Allen supplies reduces wobble to a minimum. Just be sure to use the 1-1/4 inch hole on the rack with the 1-1/4 inch bolt. Also ensure that the thicker end of the bolt is pushed all the way through until it comes up against the hitch receiver, then tighten down.
I'm glad I spent less than half on this Allen rack than would have cost me for a Thule or Yakima. It works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Not a bad carrier for the money

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally wanted a 2 bike carrier but after reading the reviews of it I noticed some people had trouble with a draw-tite hitch so I purchased this one instead. Was glad I did. I have a draw-tite 1.25 hitch and after installing it ( which only took 5 minutes or so)there was no wobble what so ever. Someone mentioned make sure you use the right hole and it does make a difference. I used it once so far in the first week I had it and no problems. No problems with the tilt back feature. The only negative things I can think of is there is a bit of rattle because the joints on all 3 connections have a bit of play so maybe a couple washers in the right areas might help. will try it later. Also while I have not tried it but I am not sure 3 bikes will fit comfortably on it. It will hold 2 but I admit I have used only 1 bike on it so far. and that was the basis of the 4 star rating and not a 5 would have done 4.5 if there was an option for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

First bike rack for SUV

07/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a solid bike rack for our SUV. It was quick to install. The have encountered two minor problems. 1) the pin to keep the unit from rocking or bumping around did not line up- the holes did not align so we just by-passed and omitted (honestly, the rack is solid enough it didn't seem to need it anyway). 2) depending on the type of bike, the rack closest to the rear of the vehicle could be extremely snug and can cause damage (we have mountain bikes and the frames are larger than your standard bike-- the frame of the rack rubs against the bike and scratched/damaged-- we remedied the situation by adding in padding-styrofoam around the bike frame).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies

06/05/2009
By ,
No. Calif., CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great!
Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed).
The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough.
A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike.
As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing.
From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+249points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great Bike Carrier...BUT...

05/30/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated.
My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

excellent accesory for the bike

07/28/2014
By ,
tampa Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The rack is solidly and precisely built. It fit my 1 1/4" hitch perfectly with no rattle. It is over-engineered to hold three bikes with no challenge to the carrier at all. The tilt feature is also very clever and very useful. It's one of the best items I've picked up in quite a while. Now I camp from the sedan as I always had, but I can take my mountain bike along for some extra fun. Good product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Seems like a quality product.

07/23/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this several times already since receiving. Seems to be well made and sturdy. You will need to purchase some type of stabilizer straps to secure tires. Bike do wobble a little, but that is without any stabilizer straps and I imagine some wobble is to be expected. Bikes are secure in the rack as we travel to and from our destination. It sure beats loading 2 to three bikes in the bed of the truck. I have only used it with two bikes so far and function is fine. Three bikes will be snug, but should work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Can't beat it for the money, works great

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only have one issue with is bike rack, I have no problem with it holding my mountian bike or my sons BMX bike but when I was trying to place my wife's mountian bike on the bike rack it would not hold it. I'm not sure if it's due to that it's a woman's bike and that the top tube is really close to the bottom tube but it just won't fit I had to place my wife's bike in the back of the Nissan pathfinder I did not want to but had no choice. The Allen sport rack is well built and looks good and does the job for my bike and my sons bike, however I'm going to have to search for one that will accommodate my wife's bikes. I will keep this one for the boys weekend out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Excellent Rack Especially for the price

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only spent about $100 (plus expedited shipping) and the rack works well. Tried putting one bike in the middle rack (it is a three bike rack) and the bike surfed/floated up in the wind at 70 mph. It was still well attached, but the riding of the wind caused the bike to float up almost parallel to the highway. Scary. Moved the bike to the rack spot closest to the car and attached the bike with a bungee cord to the rack's vertical post, and it was PERFECT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good for the price.

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought we could get by with the 2 bike rack. But the load limit for the two bike rack was not enough for our bikes. The only difference from the two to the three bike rack that I see is the bars for the bike are closer together than on the two bike rack. The way the rack is set up though you could not get three bikes on this rack without having the bikes hitting together when traveling. Overall the rack is good for the price. We also had to get the bar for hanging my wife's bike on the rack as it would not fit over the bars of the rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Great rack

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rack for the price. Very sturdy and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Strong and sturdy

07/27/2014
By ,
Ft Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this product. Rack's easy to assemble. Light enough to carry and easy to store. Both hitch sizes are snug in the receiver. Not sure a locking pin is available for the smaller hitch size. Tilt feature allows lift gate access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Very Nice

07/19/2014
By ,
Grand Blanc, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this bike rack and am very happy with it. It goes together quickly and is very sturdy. Two minor things: 1) you have to bolt it on to your hitch receiver which requires two 3/4" wrenches to put on and take off and 2) It uses straps to hold your bike on to the rack. I find they can get loose as you drive and should be checked. Neither one is a big problem and I am very happy with the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Awesome!

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install (Allen.com has a great tutorial video) and this hitch bike rack is really sturdy. It's the second one we've bought (two different cars) and we have used the first one for a year, even travelling long distances cross country, over mountains and on ferries and never had a single problem. Very sturdy and great value for the price (please don't raise the price!) Plus the rack unhooks and leans forward so you can open your hatchback. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

Good product for the price

04/14/2011
By ,
Anaheim, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product great price.
Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack
Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 3 Bike Rack Carrier for 1 1/4" & 2" Hitch

could be so much better

07/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With very few adjustments this could be a really good bike rack at a great value. Why doesn't the manufacturer put different size metal plates in the box so it would fit different size trailer hitches. Also, the rack closest to the hitch stem is too close and the bike hits the post. These are simple additions and changes that would make this rack perfect. Everyone that uses this rack ends up making modifications.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next