Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Average Customer Rating:
4.287 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(376 Reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
113
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation90%340 out of 376reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
188 Questions | 220 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
113
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Good, but...

07/26/2009
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my SUV, a 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. My truck is listed on the box as a vehicle this rack fits.
Well, it does - but only if you hook it onto plastic pieces which is unacceptable by both my standards and the manufacturers.
In the end, I had to get a little creative. I ran the straps through the glass on the lift gate (opens separately) and used o-type connectors to bypass the hooks and tie the straps directly to the anchor points in my bed. For the bottom strap, I removed the hook and ran the strap through the tie down loops on either side of my hitch receiver.
If I had to do it again, I would still buy it though. The construction is much better than I anticipated and even though the installation was not as simple as I'd hoped it would be, mine is the exception, not the rule.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Just what we needed!

07/03/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The images on the instruction sheet didn't exactly match the product, but I was able to figure it out pretty easily. I don't know if the carrie would be sturdy enough for a long-distance trip, but it's great for in-town. We use it to carry a 16" BMX-style bike with training wheels and a 24" women's hybrid. I've attached pictures of the back of the box showing what models the carrier will fit, but I don't know if the resolution of the uploaded photos will be high enough to actually read online.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

2 Bike Carrier

04/23/2009
By ,
St. Louis, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is without a doubt, the easiest & quickest way to carry a regular boys bike. Now, if you have a girls bike, a mountain bike, or something without the usual flat horizontal crossbar from seat to front end of frame, you'd better put your thinking cap on.
Otherwise, I can have the 10 spd loaded & secured & ready to drive off in less than 4 minutes (inludes putting the rack on the car)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB
08/27/2012
By ,
Stillwater, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From Stillwater, OK to Duluth, MN and back. About 2000 miles. Two bikes - mountain and heavy cruiser. NO problem!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N. CA
Type of vehicle
Posted 04/08/2014
Don't know what kind of vehicle you own. Do you think this would work for an older model Camry trunk? (1991 DL)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Worked Great on My MonteCarlo

08/18/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price worked great on My 2004 Monte Carlo with a low spoiler on the trunk. I't wouldn't work if My spoiler flared up like the new style. Easy to put on and take off.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Works Well - but tough to install

06/11/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions for this are terrible. No photos and difficult to understand the steps. I found a video on YouTube which helped tremendously. The shipping was SO fast. I was shocked when I came home a day later and found it had delivered. Way to go Walmart.com!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

sturdy but has its limitations

03/26/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is only made for for Plain Regular bikes
If you have a cruiser or a bike with wide bars.. your gonna have trouble
I tried loading my cruiser on the rack, and because the bar was too wide it didnt sit in the holder too good...and as i tried it tighten down the buckle it broke -
Note:- the Buckles (that hold the bicycle down) are made of plastic.
Its real easy to install ...and i did it without any trouble having never installed one before
2 - be very careful if you have a spoiler
I have a 2004 corolla with a factory spoiler and the rack took some of the paint of....you might want to put some tape on the point where the rack touches it or something like that
Hope this review was helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+181points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Great Bike Rack

06/22/2010
By ,
North Bethesda, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review Date: June 22, 2010
I decided to finally buy a bike so I can enjoy the outdoors. To transport the bike, I did ALOT of research on the different bike racks available on the market. I looked at bike racks at Walmart, Sports Authority, Dicks Sporting Good, REI, and local bike stores in the D.C. area. I also looked at the different web retailers and the comments section on Amazon, eBay, Walmart.com, SportsAuthority.com, and others.
After this pretty extensive research, I decided on the Allen Deluxe 2-Bike carrier that I bought via the Site-to-Store option on Walmart.com. Total price (including tax and Free shipping to store) = $39.96. First off, that is the least expensive bike rack you'll find.
I received the rack a week after placing the order.
Installation of the rack is SUPER EASY.
It is stable against the trunk (I own a 2002 Dodge Stratus sedan), with nice cushions to protect the paint on the car. (make sure to pull the straps tight) Yet it is still very light weight.
I bought a bike at Walmart and it took virtually no time at all to secure the bike to the bike rack. I drive daily on I-270 in the D.C. area, about 32 miles each way to and from work, and the bike doesn't move at all.
Best of all, as soon as I find someone who'd like to bike as well, the rack has plenty of room to accommodate their bike.
I'd absolutely recommend this bike rack for everyone.
Hope this helps!
Regards
Shankar
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

One tough bike rack.

05/28/2009
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this model initially because it was the least expensive, one on the site. When it arrived though, I was immediately impressed with it's construction, and fit. This bicycle carrier is really easy to install, and remove. Make a few slight adjustments, and its ready to go. It holds the bike firmly in place, I use a rifle cable lock around the front wheel and frame to hold the wheel straight and keep it off my taillight but that's the only problem I had with it in the 4 times I've used it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Works well

06/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 94 Camry with a spoiler on the trunk lid. I was concerned the carrier would not fit over the top of the spoiler and I was right-it doesn't. It does, however fit BETWEEN the spoiler and trunk lid, near the rear edge. The grey pads on the upper arm of the carrier are just small enough in diameter to squeeze into the gap, while the top straps just clear the top of the spoiler. I am able to snug down all the straps and anchor the carrier very well to the car. I'm confident that it will support my bike(s) adequately. The directions mention that the two arms that hold the bike itself are supposed to be slightly above horizontal, but don't discuss why. I think it may be just to increase ground clearance for the bike's wheels. While the bikes do sit a little low with the carrier mounting position on my car, I'm not too worried about scraping them. I will be checking the clearance when entering parking lots, etc. to see just how close it is, but it should be ok. The carrier seems sturdy and is well-built.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Great Bike rack

10/11/2014
By ,
Tipp City, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this bike rack.. it is sturdy and has allowed us to get back to bike riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Great Product, just not for certain bikes...

04/08/2010
By ,
TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this product to carry two mountain bikes on my car. Was very easy to install and seemed very sturdy. However, I didn't realize until I got it that it could not be used with my mountain bikes. There is no place to hook the bikes on due to the way their frames are made. Wish the manufacturer would have specified what types of bikes this carrier worked with instead of saying "accomidates a wide range of bicycles"...overall its a great product, just be aware that it does not fit some of the mountain bikes, particarlly the NEXT mountain bikes like I have. Sadly, had to return the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not compatable with certain bikes?
Posted 06/19/2011
I wanted to find out what kind of bike you have that wasn't compatable with this rack. I have 2 men's mountain bikes that I want to transport. I don't want to buy something that doesn't work and go through the hassel of returning it. Any in put will be appreciated.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Very nice product!

06/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We travelled about 700 miles at 55 to 65 mph with this bike carrier and didn't have any problem! I am impressed with the quality and price. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Good & Sturdy

09/18/2011
By ,
Milford, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This carrier is well made/strong with good sturdy materials. It stays in place and keeps my bike in place w/ minimal movement (even when riding on the highway... though I stayed to the low end speedwise when driving down the highway with it... was worried about wind/drag/etc.).
The instructions that came with this carrier however... left a little bit to be desired. They are not 100% clear about how you should assemble the carrier for the first time prior to use... and also some of the pictures/diagrams for how to secure it to your car were kind of vague/unclear.
Luckily I had seen a video here on the Walmart Website (I think it was linked from youtube) on how to secure it to my car (which has to use an alternative method to attach the straps, since I Have no metal to clip the lower metal bracket to behind my rear bumper).
All in all though, this was a good buy, and a great value for the money (much less expensive than I'd seen the same model sell for at a sports equipment store)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Incredibly well built

03/28/2009
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the few extra dollars. No plastic connectors to break. This looks like it's built for years of service. Easy to attach, even on a hatchback. The ship to store was fast and easy, too.
Great experience. It was exactly what I wanted... and a hundred dollars less than a comparable one at my local bike shop. Yeah, Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Better than expected

09/13/2009
By ,
Chicago area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At about $40 it was a great value and yet really performed. We took it on the interstate with no problem. It goes on/off quickly and we are able to use it on multiple cars, SUVs, and a mini-van.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Great complement to buying a bike.

09/05/2010
By ,
South-central AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love bike riding, however, I'm not comfortable riding alone--my riding partner lives 20 miles away, so having a car carrier for my bike was critical. I bought this one in store and am very pleased with it. If you're concerned whether this rack works with your car--you can confirm this on Allen's website before making this purchase--just go to www.allenracks.com. I'm highly pleased that the bike is secured on the rack and the rack causes no damage and is easily installed/removed from the car (I have a P.T. Cruiser). There is no drilling or bolting involved--this works entirely on straps that are secured by tension. It takes me roughly 15 min. to install the rack and bike on the car, which I feel is very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Good value for the money

06/12/2009
By ,
Lawrenceburg, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent entry level bike carrier priced to please. It is not quite as stable as a bike carrier with 4 -6 straps, however they also cost 2 - 3 times as much.
It is easy to mount to my Ford Escape and I am able to transport two bicycles without any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Good Value Good Performance

10/14/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Usage:
I attached this to my 2005 Honda civic and it performed well on a 150 mile round trip carrying a 26" mountain bike. The rack was exactly where I installed it when I reached my destination with no slack in the straps. My only concern was that the side hooks would stay in place, because the civic has minimal support there. But it held.
Installation:
The spring arms that support the top horizontal piece require a bit of oomph to put it the holes the first time and you'll have to make use of your body weight. Place the rack on the floor, stand over it, and press with your palm close to the end. Also, be sure you get the side straps to the outside of the rack.
Improvements:
If I were to improve this, I'd include an extra hook for the bottom of the car. The one included is a flat hook, like the ones that go over the trunk. However, the bottom/under carriage hook on the civic is better suited for a hook shaped like an open end eye bolt. Therefore, I took off 1 star.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier, Model 102DB

Exactly what I wanted at a great price

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a lightweight easy to install bike rack, this was perfect, the price was ideal and it went on very easy and there is enough padding on the parts that touch my car that I don't have to worry about damage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 317 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next