Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Mainstays Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Add new looks to your sofa with the beautiful Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slip Cover. This slip cover comes in rich black and gives a luxurious look to your room. Made from 100% cotton, you can be assured of the softness and comfort. Also, this slip cover is an addition to any home dcor. Use it with light backgrounds for a more striking look. This machine washable sofa cover is designed to fit furniture, sofa or loveseat, that is 96 inches wide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation74%25 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

LOOOOVE IT

11/02/2009
By ,
Merritt Island, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had received two very ugly free couches, and desperatley needed to cover them with SOMETHING. I was hesitant to purchase a slip cover because I had read that they were difficult to put on, or they appeared sloppy etc..
These worked WONDERS! It was SO easy to put on, and with a few quick adjustments and tucks, I turned these two awful lookin couches into a very cute living room set! I def recommend these to people! The only suggestion I have is to run a steam iron over them before or after you put them on the sofa, because mine appeared very wrinkled. GREAT PRODUCT! and no reason to get the nicer brand, Mainstays worked just fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

great value, looks good, physical labor required

07/25/2010
By ,
Tucson
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
once it's on, it looks great. we have a pleather sofa set that has been peeling but in otherwise great shape. this was the perfect solution. a few drawbacks, however. it took me a good 45 mins from start to finish to get in on. i used bedskirt pins to hold the cover in place... it likes to slip out when you sit on it. i washed and dried it like other people suggested but still had to iron it to get all the wrinkles out. also, if you have pets, i do not recommend this color as it attracts and holds on to pet hair for dear life. all in all, my sofa set looks great now and i barely spent any money making them presentable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

THE BEST!!

12/18/2009
By ,
Visalia,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very scared that this was not going to fit my chunky sofas but they fit like a glove! They were perfect, it does have some stretch to it so it does cover very good and no they are not see through BUT, yes they are very wrinkled and it will show if you do not iron the sides going down the arm of the sofas and in front but as far as the seat part and the arm rest part, they get stretched out and those wrinkles go away but do have the iron ready. I would definitley recommend these to anyone and it is a very good deal at this price, you don't need the pricier ones, these really do work just as good. Hope this helps because I know I ordered mine thanks to these reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Poor quality fabric, poor features

07/23/2010
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this product before I purchased it. Someone had commented that pet hair really didn't stick to it and that was a great feature. Its not true. But I didn't expect this to be true of a black slipcover. The only good thing I can say about this slipcover is that my couch has really wide arms and this slipcover actually fit over them. This slipcover is bad because:
1.it does not stay in place, not enough elastic around the seat part
2.the fabric is soo poor quality - I could see the beige upholstery underneathshowing through
3. Not a good value for the $, the surefit slipcovers are about the same price and have nicer sewing, better fabrics
4. Had a hole in it near the ties in the front.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Looks great, with alterations

02/12/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this product in store to cover a hand-me-down sofa. The slip cover on its own looked a little sloppy, but infinitely better than the couch we had. After about a weed of having to tuck the slipcover back into place after sitting on it, I purchased some inexpensive black fabric that matched the cover and made individual cushion covers and have used a staple gun to keep the slipcover in place over the rest of the couch. This has made the overall look much more elegant. So if you have some time and sewing skills, this is an excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Good Value; Does the Job

07/10/2012
By ,
Manchester, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This slipcover is what I expected. It fits the couch well. It doesn't stay put but I put rolled up magazines (with rubber bands around them) in the crevices of the couch to keep the slipcovers tucked. I bought slipcovers from a different store years ago and the manufacturer actually suggested doing this! The trick works! However if you don't do that or have some other method of keeping them tucked, they won't stay tucked. They wrinkle really badly in the wash but that's also expected of the type of fabric. One negative is that I ordered both the couch and loveseat covers and the colors vary slightly. That's kind of a bummer. But overall I'm pretty happy with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

not so good product

03/15/2011
By ,
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product does not go on the couch as it appears on the front of the package nor does it lay as smooth and the directions were not very helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Good product!

07/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very very wrinkled when I took it out of the bag, but after an hour of ironing it looks great! The ends of our couch are shaped a little differently than the one in the picture so it didn't fit quite as well as that, but we adjusted it and made it fit and it looks perfectly fine. Much better than the ugly cheap thing undernieth! It mostly stays tucked in, one corner keeps coming out but I think I'll just have to adjust it and it will be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

bad fit

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The slipcover did not fit my sofa at all. I had to return it. I was very disappointed. Don't think I will shop at walmart.com much in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

wondeful fit. doesnt collect pet hair.

09/13/2009
By ,
Flowery Branch, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ties on the sides and back so it won't slip. And it has a stretchy band like a sheet to tuck around the seat cushion. Very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Prepare to break out the iron

09/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you get these, make sure you have about an hour to iron before you put them on your sofa! I have never seen such a wrinkled mess. The fabric is really thin and cheap feeling. The overall look is okay. I'm just using them for the couches in the bonus room. If I had purchased them for my living room, I would be taking them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Sturdy, well made, easy to get on and looks good

01/18/2012
By ,
Emmett, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent hours looking at the other department stores in person and on line for the right slip cover for my old sofa. They were all cheap material, the wrong color or WAY too expensive. This cover is a nice weight duck material, much better than other types of slip covers I had seen at this price point and is much less expensive. If I need another slip cover I will go to Walmart first. The price was great and I had it delivered to my door.
This looks great on my sofa. It was a bit of a tug of war to put on the first time because I put it on upside down. Once I got it on the correct way, and all the wrinkles out and tucked in, it looked great. My cats thought so too and promptly jumped up on it and slept. The dogs tried too, but that is a No No!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Very disappointed

03/01/2011
By ,
Morganton, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was definetly a waste of my money. Not only is it really wrinkled, it does not stay on my couch at all. I have to keep readjusting it even with the ties. It catches so much lint and I don't even have any pets. It looks good in the pic, but it's not good for real. Unless you are wanting to put effort into taking care of this, I wouldn't recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Would Recommend

02/28/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The slipcover looks great. You must tuck in cover very tight to ensure that it will stay in place. My son will run and jump all over it, so it does come untucked from time to time. Also, the material attracts cat fur!! I have cats and other than that it's great. The length fits perfectly and the bows are subtle but noticeable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

A Beautiful Cover

09/01/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this for my Granddaughter. She loves it. Has her first appartment and tells me it goes beautifully with her decor. It was a little difficult to get on but it now looks great with a good fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

:(

05/12/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really hoping I would be able to give this slipcover a good review. I've looked forward to it getting here since I ordered it. Well, after ironing and trying to make it look decent on my couch for hours, I must say I am very disappointed. :( It literally looks like I just threw a black sheet over my couch. Too much excess fabric. Maybe it would look better if you have a bigger couch, but as for my needs, it just does not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Great once you get it all situated.

05/28/2012
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was kind of hard to figure out exactly how to put the cover on, and it took my roommate and I a little while to finally get it all on correctly. My couch is also a little taller than what the cover covers, so there's a little gap in the back. The couch is going against the wall, so it'll be fine and not noticeable. I really like the look of the cover though and it seems to say in place very well!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover
09/04/2011
By ,
Temple,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these slip covers!!! They have transformed my sofa.I was contemplating on getting a new sofa but I am glad I did not....saved myself 800.00 dollars by just putting these slip covers on. They were not hard to put on at all. They are thick and you cannot see the old sofa under neath.I am so glad I ordered these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Wouldnt stay in place to save my life

03/13/2012
By ,
Amarillo, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As far as look, it looks good as long as it is in place. However, every day I had to put the cover back into place several times. I would rather deal with my ugly couch than having to fix that thing all day/everyday!! Best to get the 2 piece one and it works better!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Cotton Duck Sofa Slipcover

Great product

07/09/2012
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a sleeper sofa that is difficult to cover and this one did the trick. Easy to tuck fold and custom fit. A great product for a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next