Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kitty City Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Kitty City Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

The Kitty City Sleepy Corner promotes healthy exercise and prevents boredom and destructive behavior. Plus, it provides a comfy sleeping space.
Average Customer Rating:
3.184 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation46%17 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

What a waste...

01/19/2011
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product for our 2 1/2 year old Persian who is not a very big girl (weighing only 6.5lbs).
First off, it was easy to put together, however the end result is flimsy by itself which is how we purchased it. We wanted to put this in a corner in our downstairs living room to give her a place to hide-a-way except, she hardly fits! Secondly, the crinkly material its made of is noisy and she hated it from the second she got in. We put a blanket in there to see if that would be less noisy for her but she has refused to acknowledge it. Today, 3 weeks after purchase, I notice she is in there except, upon further inspection, she has apparently decided the only thing its good for is a litter box. I can't blame her, the material does sound EXACTLY like the crystal litter we use :(
Overall not happy, and now have to throw away, a complete waste!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Not for cats, maybe for kittens

12/16/2013
By ,
San Diego County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My experience with this was when we were fostering rescued kittens. It's not very sturdy. The hanging balls were the first to go, and I'd recommend removing those at once, throwing the strings away, and letting them just roll the balls around, although if a ball gets stepped on by a person it's history.
The rest of this item is not very durable even with small kittens using it. I would not buy it again, but we needed something to keep some kittens occupied and an extra place for them to nap, temporarily, so it worked out alright.
The biggest annoyance was that the parts don't connect together permanently, and it kept collapsing, so we had to reassemble it once or twice a day. Eventually one of the supports broke and we could no longer use it, but by that time the kittens had new homes, so it went into the trash.
The collapsing nature of it would make me definitely hesitant to add on components, and this is definitely not for a full grown cat or even a kitten over twelve weeks or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Important to know how/where you'll use it.

08/03/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these for our cattery residents in a Pet Adoption Center. Our cats are crated half of a 24 hour day. In their kennel/crate (3x6) this is perfect! *** FIRST & A MUST *** Use Glue when you assemble! EVERYBODY !!! I zip tied them in the corners up off the slide out bottom tray for easy clean. Be sure to support by placeing linens,bedding, rugs etc. beneath for support & cushion for lower hidey hole. This corner utilization for where they bed allows for so much more usable space in that rectangle area they have 12 hours a day. I have used parts of extra (female) connectors supplied to support bottom curve tube to better support the top tube for our medium to heavy cats w/zipties & placed/spaced to both sides of (lower) entry opening. I use the extra tubing or poles that's supplied for connecting to other units for this. Our PAC cats Love Love Love these. These are a small corner of their world that belongs only to them. *** BE SURE TO WAIT 24 HOURS AFTER CONSTRUCTING FOR GLUE TO DRY/CURE ! If you crate, don't hesitate !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Flimsy at best

10/13/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as part of a system. I wanted to build the Combo #9 from the kittycityusa.com website. There's a total of 9 modules in this combo pack, this being one of them. I ended up spending nearly $180 for everything. The only instructions I had for building the whole combination unit was a 13 minute video with no audio on their website. You have no idea where the parts they're using are coming from. After 2 hours I finally got it put together. I could tell the individual units were lightweight and flexible but I hoped as I put it all together they'd reinforce each other. When it was finished it was still so flimsy my cats were terrified of it and wouldn't use it. The one time one of them got near the top he fell through because the only thing holding that part together was a strip of Velcro. It might be ok for kittens or VERY small cats, but no way a 15-20 pound cat will enjoy this thing. It rattles and shakes and slides across the floor every time they touch it. Returning to store!
One additional note on this particular item: This thing needs a more solid floor. There's no support under the fabric floor and it flexes and stretches when your cat walks on it. My cats were never comfortable with it and I couldn't get them to spend any time in the thing. Waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Awesome!

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product, especially for how cheap it is. Two toys, a scratch post, the inside and top for my kitten to climb on just for $20? That's a steal. Plus this brand offers multiple items to combine this with that I'm looking forward to using in the future.
For the reviews saying this comes apart easily . . . I've had a bar pop out on occasion when my kitten is being rough. But it snaps back in. It's really easy to put together so I have no issue with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Good

07/04/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The frame slides together and if cat is rough it can come apart - also needs to be anchored - will fall when cat tries to jump up on it - need to tape down part with ball hanging from it because it will come off and cat would like better if string longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

cool kitty

06/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my kitten just loves it . was trying to get in it before had it together. she is all over it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

too lightweight

06/27/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sleepy corner is decent size, made of nice material, well constructed, but much too lightweight to stand on its own. It tips over very easily.....you have to have it attached to other units of Kitty City, or you will be very disappointed....and kitty too!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

My cat seems to like it

05/12/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
He hides there and knows it's his space.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Cat loved it!

02/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked up the Sleepy Corner at my local Walmart this weekend to give to my parent's cat to use. The setup was really simple, I almost didn't even need the instructions.
Abu took a little while to get used to it, but before long he was playing with the ball toys and doing some scratching on the scratching post (not in the picture on this site). He liked lounging on top of the unit, as well as taking a nap inside as well.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Too Wobbly For My Kitten

05/17/2014
By ,
Vallejo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to get something for my new kitten. I saw this and thought it would be awesome because, as she gets bigger, I can add on to it. I built it and she showed interest in the scratcher and the toys, but wouldn't go near it on her own once I'd built it and put it in a corner (for a little extra support). I was trying to teach her to like it and set her on the top where a cat's supposed to be able to lay. It was super wobbly! And she doesn't even weigh two pounds! It may work better if it's connected to other Kitty City pieces, but if you're planning to buy this as a standalone piece, it's not particularly strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Falls Short of Recommendation

04/21/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I purchased "Sleepy Corner", I had great expectations. I liked the fact that this unit was part of a modular system which could create a whole world of possibilities for expansion by adding simply adding more units. Unfortunately, "Sleepy Corner" is too light and top- heavy to be satisfactory as a stand-alone unit. Our 13 lb. cat tipped it over on his first attempt to get on the top perch. Although I believe this system has potential, some design changes are clearly needed to make this particular unit fully useful and worthy of recommendation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Not sturdy at all..

03/13/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not even the smallest of my three cats get much use out of this because it falls over or breaks apart whenever they go inside or on top of it.. definitely spend the extra money for something more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture
06/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have six kittens just 6 weeks old. They love all the kitty city products we have so far. The products are easy to assemble, sturdy, and well made. I would highly recommend these products to every cat owner.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Works for what I bought it for.

10/02/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this "sleepy corner" to attach to the top of my Kitty Mansions cat tree/condo/whatever because I noticed as my cat got older she liked to go into boxes and dark places more, which she didn't enjoy when we bought her the unit. it works well for her. now she has a little "house" to sleep in on the very top of her tree. I am thinking about buying more modules to expand her current cat condo. However, for what you get I really think they should lower the price to $10 per module. They are not very sturdy at all and the cost to create an entire cat condo would end up being more than a well made and very sturdy Kitty Mansion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

WASTE OF MONEY

12/20/2013
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Every time cat attempts to scratch on rope side, it flips over and scares cat away. This was a waste of money for me.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Doesn't meet expectations

05/02/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this piece to go with 3 other pieces in the kitty city line. I was very disappointed when I opened the box as I thought the bottom part on the inside would be made of fabric like the white part on the opening that you see in the picture. The bottom and front is made of tent like material and the sides are mesh material. The top of it has the white fabric.
Now I'm not sure why they would put the better fabric on the top of this structure instead of inside it on the bottom?
Aside of that the top part is not sturdy enough to support an adult cat as the curved bar at the top bows down when a cat lays on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Not sturdy, cheap plastic

03/15/2011
By ,
Fort Hood, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have 3 very active cats and they love all the types of toys. We got this since it has their fav kind of scratching material (the rope/twine or whatever the correct name is) and also doubles as a little bed, well dont get me wrong the cats loved it at 1st but the base has these round circular thin plastic "feet" and they broke from the cats knocking it over when they tried to jump on it (we have it on hard flooring so that may be why they broke), and when the cats scratch, the whole thing just tumbles over, they still try to scratch it thought. We just keep all their little toys in it now!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

Not good for standalone

09/29/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on a limited budget and thought this would be good for my cat. Unfortunately, it should never be sold as a standalone product. Tipped over when my cat tried to use the scratching post. Then it tipped over when he stood against it to see what was on top. He has never gone near it again! What a waste of money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kitty City Sleepy Corner Cat Furniture

'Kitten'City

05/13/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is deffinitly not a good product. On the box it looks like it'll be sturdy and not made of tarp-like material. Well, its flimsy and its held together by VELCRO and a couple pipes. Deffinitly not even worth $20. My cats made the velcro come undone when they got on the top so now they wont get on it or in it or anywhere near it. Its got to be made for kittens or really small cats. They should put a weight limit on the box so I could have bought a product that would suit my cats better. Im deffinitly taking this product back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next