Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swim Time GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Swim Time GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

If you are tired of a cold swimming pool then this Swim Time Solar Pro Pool Heater is for you. Add weeks to your swimming season, and swim in a warmer pool during the season. Solar energy is magnified through the clear lens of the Solar Pro Pool Heater and captured by black, coiled hoses that carry pool water. The solar-heated pool water is circulated back to your pool by your own pump and filter system. Swim Time Solar Pro Pool Heater fits any size above ground pool. Link more than one heater together in a series to deliver additional solar heat (bypass kit required, sold separately). The Above-Ground Pool Solar Heater is easily installed and fits either 1.25-inch or 1.5-inch fittings. Put this cost-effective solar dynamo to work for your pool this season. Comes complete with two flexible hoses, two clamps and a protective cover.
Average Customer Rating:
2.967 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation53%16 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

I like it

07/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my 18' round pool for 20 years, and it has been shaded by a maple tree all that time. I am torn between love of my pool, and love of that tree.
I have previously owned two of those big 4'x20' black rubber solar heaters. I also paid $500 to have a platform erected to hold them up at an angle towards the sun. Worked fine, but neither one of them lasted more than one season without springing an irreparable leak. Due to age and arthritis, they were a painful challenge to put away for the winter.
So this year I bought one aquaquik. During the one week that we had Sunshine, I feel it added one degree/day over what I would normally get without any heater. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used double clamps on the connections; and I have not had any leaks.
I like the fact that it has it's own stand to prop it up, and that it will be easy to carry it to the basement for the winter.
I plan to buy another one and hook them up in series. And Walmart, can I buy some sun to go with it??
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Highly Impressed

06/17/2009
By ,
Joliet, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I also decided to buy this product, despite some of the negative reviews. I figured it couldn't hurt, and if it didn't work we could always just return it to a store. I WILL NOT be returning the solar heater. It is awesome! After the first day we installed it, it raised the water temperature four degrees and has continued to keep it at that level or higher. We live in the Chicago area where we've had unseasonably cold and wet weather-most people have not even used their pools yeat, and our 24 foot above ground is four solid degrees warmer than both neighbors. I plan to purchase another unit to hook on for even warmer water. We had no problems with the piping or fits, just take your time and put it together right. My initial concern was how long I'd have to run the filter to see an increase in temperature. I think we ran the filter for about five hours in the middle of the day and saw the increase of four degrees. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Don't Waste Your Money!

04/27/2009
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased 3 units and after 24 hours one broke and drained pool below skimmer and pump was running dry. I unhooked the one and shipped back to walmart and rehooked back up the other 2 and after 4 days another one busted and drained the pool and was running the pump dry again. They would break seal betwwen the bubble and the base and drain the pool. After that I sent all 3 units back for refund, they almost cost me a pump not to mention I had to refill the pool back up with cold water everytime one busted, so it defeated the purpose of even having a heater!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

It works!

06/14/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a 24 ft. round above ground pool. I read all the reviews and despite the negativity, took a chance. I've had it for 2 weeks now, not one leak, and the water coming into the pool is warm. Believe me, I'm no rocket scientist, but the other people having difficulty with this product make me wonder. I did put on extra clamps at all connections just to be safe. The clamps cost a couple bucks at the hardware store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools
06/13/2013
By ,
Canton, OH.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok people, read some bad reviews on this heater but, for 100 bucks thought I give it a shot. Heater arrived packed well to prevent damage to it. I hooked this up to a my jacuzzi pool filter pump which is rated .7 HP. When installing the in/out hoses be careful and dont over tighten the hose clamps, remember the adapters are only plastic and overtightening could crack them. Installing was quick and really simple and its been 3 weeks now and not a leak anywhere. The heater is in full sunlight and has pop up legs on one side to angle it into the sunshine. On the first day I installed it, which was a bright and sunny day, it brought my water up 4 degrees in about 6 hours. I have to say Im impressed after 3 weeks. Good product at a good price, Thanks Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Better than expected-Warmest pool ever

06/23/2009
By ,
Huntley,Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We price shopped these everywhere online and found Walmart to be only a few dollars higher than Sam's Club., but it 'd be easier to return if it was junk so we ordered one. After only 3 days hooked up and in the Chicago burbs we've had terribly cool weather we just got our first 80 degree day 5 days ago and our first 90 degree day yesterday. That said, our pool in 3 days has jumped from 78 to 85 to 90 today our warmest ever in 6 years!! We usually top out at 85 in the middle of July. So I'm gonna give this a huge thumbs up. It's small and easy to hook up, BUT you do need to double check the connections. Many online reviews said it leaks at the connection and ours did too. I got flex pvc(because we needed 20 feet to get this in the sunny side) and the connections is much better than the crummy pastic hose that's standard with filters. I guess for the price you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Aquaquik working so far

05/26/2009
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Today is May 26, 2009. I live in Northern NJ. We opened our 21ft. round above ground pool on May 18.
It’s only been about a week, but the solar heater appears to be working. Our pool water is warmer than usual at this time of year. When we opened the pool the water temperature was 58 degrees. Over the past week it peaked at 72. We had a few sunny and 80 degree days last week and Memorial day weekend, though the nights have been cool which obviously reduces the water temperature overnight. We do have a lot of trees around the yard, so the pool only gets sun from 12;30 to approximately 6:00 pm. We do not use a solar cover. On 2 days where I closely monitored the water temperature, it jumped about 4 degrees from morning to end of day.
Set up
Our pool filter is located on the shady side of the pool. Purchased 2, 24ft. sections of standard 1 ½” filter hose to connect the solar unit in a sunny spot. Checked stores for black, but had to settle for beige hose. Initially, I connected the extended filter hoses directly to the unit. Had trouble with some minor leaks, and used 2 hose clamps at each connection. A few days later disconnected the unit and started over. This time I used the long and short supplied black hoses to connect to the unit, than connected the black hoses to the long filter hoses (nice tight fit). For all connections, used 2 standard filter hose clamps to ensure no leaks or accidents, and would recommend using the 2 clamps at each connection. Using the long hoses, the pressure through the hoses is fine, the return back into the pool is same as if it were a 4 foot hose directly from the filter. The water returning into the pool feels slightly warmer that the pool water, and the long return hose is slightly warmer than the feeder hose from the filter to the unit. The solar unit is quiet, you can barely hear the water running through it.
In summary, so far we are satisfied with the solar heater. We are looking forward to see how it performs when the NJ weather warms up in June and July, and when the nights will be warmer to help reduce the overnight loss in water temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Follow Up to Previous Post

06/02/2009
By ,
Mentor, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As I stated and to be fair, I am updating my product review. I was the guy with the pinhole leaks.
I called the numebr on the Owners manual. I expected a hassel with some sales rep, but instead I had Paul. By far the best customer service experience I have ever had over the phone with ANY company. I told Paul the issue, and without question, he is sending me a new one to my home.
So, would I recommend this product: Yes...it works and if there is a "craftsmanship" issue, the company stands by their product, which not many people do these days...kudos to Game/Aquaquik.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

the Solar Heater for my Above-Ground Backyard Swim

04/08/2014
By ,
Vallejo, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product two years ago with the hope of warming my 10 foot diameter backyard above-ground pool for the summer. It was not hard to set up, although I had to go and purchase an extension hose as the one(s) included are only about six feet long each. I have to say that I BARELY noticed any warm up at all, even after weeks of use. Maybe 2-3 degrees, IF that! The price, I suppose, is worth it, but I would not recommend that anyone buy this product with hopes of COMFORTABLY warming the pool whatsoever! I think that if you were to buy a 25-50 foot length of garden house and lay it in the sun, it would work WAY better than this product does with a lot less cost...the simple matter is one of physics:
the coiled length of hose provided inside this heater does not provide enough surface area to adequately warm a swimming pool more than 2-3 degrees. SORRY!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Glad I ordered it even tho the reviews were mixed

06/03/2013
By ,
Western, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a big review reader after reading many of the mixed reviews on this heater I figured for the 100.00 its worth taking the gamble on. Worse case I wld have to return it. We opened our 18 round pool on May 27th temp was 65 ..My pool is covered by large Oaks & We don't get full sun til 12:30 in the afternoon we always use the solar cover which helps some but even on the hottest days our pool never toped over 78... We live in western Mass. on Thursday we turned on the pump & after reading the reviews we did add clamps on we still sprung a leak my husband used some electrical tape which did the trick. the filter ran friday, sat & by sunday our pool toped out @ 78 we put the solar cover on @ night so we would loose heat during the night. Now were hoping to invest in a 2nd heater... This is great I'm glad I ordered it & can't beat Walmarts price along w/ shipping site to store
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Not worth it

10/14/2009
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have known this was too good to be true. It was decently priced and compact, exactly what I was looking for. However, we used it for the entire summer, and I didn't see any change in the water temperature. Then at the end of the season, the hose busted and created a huge mess and loss of water.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

NO Problems

06/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We live in Northern NY where the weather has been horrible, rainy, cloudy, and no sun... yuck!
We hooked ours up the last part of May. we have seen an improvement in temp. We have had no leaks or complaints thus far...
However, our pool is located in trees where we only get sun for part of the day.. My husband bought longer hoses and we move it in the morning and in the afternoon to get full sun exposure. It is light weight and easy to move.... He also bought smaller clamps to clamp the hoses down... We will be getting at least another one of these heaters...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Design has flaws!!!Save your money!

06/28/2009
By ,
Bensalem. PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered two. Started leaking around the mold seams 2 minutes after the pump was turned on. Easily sent back and a new one arrived a week later. Hooked both back up again...new one leaked at the seams immediately when the pump was turned on. Left one on...one hour later my back yard was flooded again. This time the mold expanded and then cracked.....Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Waste of money

07/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this product for our 8 foot Intex pool. The heater does not help at all. We monitor the water temperature with a thermometer, but we haven't noticed any increase in temperature after running the heater for hours every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

uhoh!

08/10/2009
By ,
racine, wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke within 30 minutes. I read all the reviews before buying and bought 2 anyway. Oh, No! It blew the covers off and would have emptied the pool if I weren't standing right there. Nice idea, poor design.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools
06/29/2009
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
they didnt give you enough rubber gaskets for the houses but we compremised by using the plastic cupling inside our white hoses that came with the pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

What went wrong?

06/24/2009
By ,
Swartz Creek, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our second solar heater has sprung a leak. The first one lasted about 2-3 weeks and started spurting from between the base and the spiral hose. The second one has not even lasted a week and is leaking from the same place. We have a 18'/8000 gal pool. We only use one just to get the chill off the water. Are we doing something wrong or is our punp too strong for this solar heater? We are puzzled. It works well if it would just last longer. Have a call into the company, had to leave a message.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Too expensive, but it works ok.

06/23/2009
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read all the above reviews plus I did several days of research online to find out that Walmart had the best price for this item. $129 is still a lot of money for this product, and I would have never bought it if it hadn't been a birthday gift. As I am writing, the product went for sale for $99, which really is the cheapest you will find online.
First of all, don't get fooled by the word "solar". Don't expect this to run on a solar panel that converts the sun energy into powering a light bulb. This item is pure and only molded black plastic, that when the sun hits it, it gets warm and therefore, it warms the water that runs through the sprilal tubing.
Also, it says it it cost effective as it doesn't require any power. This is not true. It will only work if it is hooked to your pool's filter. I mean that the filter needs to work in order to circulate the water. No problem if you have your filter going 24/7, but some people with smaller pools or inflatable pools might chose to run their filters just a few hours a day, or maybe it's a small pool with no filter at all.
We ended up purchasing an outdoor timer, that makes the filter, and therefore the solar heater, run from 10:30am to 4:30pm, when the sun is at its warmest.
Also, we've had this for about 3 weeks now, and we have a leak between the filter pipe and the heater that we haven't been able to fix. It's just a few drops so it is not a huge deal, but the leak is there, and for $129 worth of pure plastic, I thought it was worth mentioning.
Finally, keep in mind that if there is no sun, or if there is partial sun, the unit will not get warmed up, and therefore, the water circulating through will be cold. When it's hot outside and lots of sun, the water gets warm on its own anyway.
We also have a solar cover (looks like bubble wrap) and that helps too and it is much much cheaper.
So in the end, I am partially happy with the product. I trully want to believe that it has raised the pool temperature a few more degrees, but I don't know for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Aquaquick Universal Solar Heater

05/15/2009
By ,
Livonia, Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to return them. They were leaking at the hose connection due to the pressure of my pump. It was not something I could adjust, it was the design of the unit. I dont think they are made for large pools. If you have a small Intex pool it would probably be okay.
I dont know if they will actually heat your pool because I was not able to them.
I do know the price is very good. The pool store sells them for $199.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GAME Solar Pro Pool Heater for Above-Ground Pools

Piece of junk

06/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I gave the other poor reviews of this product the benefit of the doubt and tried it anyway. What a waste of time! It is made of nothing but molded together black plastic that water from your filter runs through. My husband set it up and it immediately leaked. The clear plastic cover also warped and did not fit following set up. I do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next