Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Intex Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Intex Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Make a splash this summer with this backyard swimming pool. It features a 2000-gallon filter pump and a ladder for climbing in and out. Plus, you can start the fun right away — this backyard swimming pool is easy to set up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%98 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

A great Pool !

08/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool was semi easy to set-up ,like all the other reviews , the ladder was horrible ,we invested in a much sturdier one . The leveling of the ground is the hardest thing to get right . We were off on one side 1-1 1/2 inches but it seems to be doing fine so we didn't drain ....the grandchildren and the adults love it . This was our first experience with a pool like this and it has been well worth the time ,money & effort . These types of pool have come a long way! AND YOU CAN'T BEAT THE SALTWATER SYSTEM !!!! It's GREAT!!!! It's bigger than what it looks , and next year we will be going with the 24x52 .... don't hesitate to buy this pool .We went with the lowest amount of salt to start with ,80 lbs and have not had to add any since .It keeps the pool sparkling clear and there is no salt taste . We did take one review's advice and put tile under each leg so the legs wouldn't sink into the ground as we have had a lot of rainy days this summer in Tn. Hope the pics and review helps etc...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

The most BANG for the buck!!!

04/08/2010
By ,
Roseville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pool spring of 2009. I was a little scared at first being it was very expensive at the time. When I got my pool home and set it up which was very easy even my two kids helped out. Within a couple of days it was ready for use and was a great way to keep my kids busy all summer they loved it. We used the heck out of it and it should last a very long time.
The best part about the salt water system was that I did not have to add any thing to the pool, no PH up or PH down, no green algae, no scrubbing and minimal vacuuming and even better than this was the fact that I had no burning of the eyes and no bleaching of swim suits or dry hair, you can even open your eyes underwater with out any problems.
This year I invested in an solar heater for the pool so that we can have a longer season. We cannot wait till the salt is available to purchase so that we can set up the pool and start using it again and of course some sunny days.
We highly recommend this pool to any of you that are not pool savvy it will be the easiest pool to maintain. No need for extra chemicals.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

No Regrets Here!

06/10/2010
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart online was so helpful each time I needed to speak with them regarding delivery and other details. The pool was easy to set up, so easy a caveman could have done it. The salt water system is the way to go. You won't regret it. We bought a sturdier ladder and extra filters and a solar cover to keep the leaves out and keep it warm. VERY IMPORTANT: Level the ground first. Then enjoy!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 4 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

I love it!

08/04/2009
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy. Two months and the salt water remains perfectly clear! I have not needed to do anything...just swim. Absolutely wonderful buying experience!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 5 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Fantastic Pool

07/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this pool up for 2 months and the salt system works perfectly. It is extremely easy to set up. It takes about as much time to put the ladder together as it does to set up the pool. Pay close attention to the instructions and pour in the salt and run the pump for 24 hours before starting the generator. Make sure the salt is totally dissolved. You can buy salt at Walmart or buy salt at any farm store. Ask for livestock salt in a bag. It initially takes 125 lbs of salt to get it started. I have yet to have to add more, and the water is crystal clear and checks perfectly. As the temperature rises run the generator/pump longer. I run mine 5 hours a day. I have it set to run from 7 am to noon. I also ran power to the pool to avoid needing an extension cord. I also have a shower at the pool to help rinse of feet before entering the pool. One thing to remember and I cannot stress this enough. Level the ground! Level the ground!!!!!!!!! It must be level or you will regret it. So spend whatever time it takes to make the surface level. I did not level the surface perfectly but will this fall when I take the pool down. I learned my lesson well. The area must be level.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Pool

06/27/2009
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. Saltwater system is great. I would buy this again
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Awesome!

07/28/2009
By ,
Northern Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are loving this pool and the saltwater system! Pool had one small hole in the side - noticed it after it was filled, but the patch kit works underwater, so we fixed it no problem. Had some trouble with the saltwater system - we used Morton Pool Salt purchased at Walmart, and after running the chlorine generator, our pool water turned yellow. Contacted Intex - they said it has to be 99.8% pure salt, non-iodized. We used the exact same bag they showed in the set-up video - the bag did not say non-iodized. We drained the pool and started over with much more expensive salt from a pool supply store 45 miles away, kind of a hassle, but the water stayed clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 8 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

The good and bad about the pool

05/24/2009
By ,
Northeast Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pool was amazingly simple to put together. I had never put a pool together and this one took two of us a couple of hours to complete to my satisfaction. I had already done the site work and leveled the ground. The pool appears to be real sturdy and well worth the price.
The bad ... we have a small leak in the seam. I have tried to get a hold of the manufacturer both online and via phone line, but still have not made contact with a real person. It's not a bad leak, but it is a leak. I'm sure I'll get a hold of someone next week, but that does aggravate me!
Summary, I would buy another one of these in a heartbeat. We purchased the pool for our youngest grandson, but it looks like we'll use it more than he does!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 9 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Great pool!

05/08/2009
By ,
Del Rio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We placed our pool on a 20X20 ft cement slab in the backyard. It is great! No problems assembying the pool either. The ladder is not too stable at all though.We put the pool out last Saturday and have used it every day since. The water stays quite warm when the sun sets too. I am glad we bought this pool with the saltwater pump. SOOOO easy to keep clean and maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 10 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Customer Service is beyond bad

06/26/2009
By ,
Salem, NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I Purchased this pool on 6/16/09 with very high expectations. The pool is great, very sturdy....with the exception of the broken filter/pump that came with the pool. After SEVEN attempts to get this figured out with the Intex Customer Service Dept, the part has been confirmed as a faulty piece of equipment. According to the representative, the fans on these filters have had issues and they are finding after shipping, etc that they are problematic. No recall of course! So, where do I stand? I am currently 10 days without a filter/pump and still waiting for the replacement. I live in New England so by the time I have the part required to run the pool, the summer will almost be over. Very disappointing to say the least. I would like to recognize the WALMART store Manager in Salem, NH for going out of her way to call the company to help me resolve this problem. Please know that the customer service for INTEX pools could not possibly be any worse. They are not trained properly to answe questions, I found them to be very rude and not willing to help. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told they would call back.....4 times! STILL NO RETURN CALL!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Review 11 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Excellent Pool

07/08/2009
By ,
Dallas, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pool is very easy to set up with just me and a friend it took an hour for pool + filter set-up. The only thing is you must read all the different books for the instructions (1 for the filter, 1 for the pool, 1 for the ladder, etc). There is also a DVD that shows step by step instructions for the filter that was much more helpful than the book.
You will need to level your yard and kill all sod. I ended up ordering 3 cubic yards of sand and made an area 18ft X 18ft to level off. Then put the pool cover that was included over that. It took about 10 hours to fill out of our hose. Be sure to check it every hour because one of our post sank and made it un-level so that was a pain to correct, but it was my mistake.
I bought 3-40lb bags of Morton pool salt to put in as the water was filling then set the filter to run every night for 6-hours. So far every day I test the water and everything is perfect.
The filter is very quiet so noise is not an issue like I thought it would be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

great pool

05/28/2009
By ,
thomas,w.v.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is awesome, very easy to set up for two people, ladder is somewhat shaky, but everything else is well worth the money, love the saltwater filtration system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 13 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Holey Liner

07/11/2009
By ,
Leesville, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We waited 2 weeks for delivery since all stores within 100 miles had no stock. Wanted to be in the pool for July 4. We received it in time, but the liner had holes in it. We found this out after we spent a day putting it together and another day filling it up. So, we lost 5000 gal of water and $90 of salt (we used 1/2 Epsom salts for the health benefits). Contacted Intex, got the run around for 3 days, finally got a number to file it on our 1 year warranty. Before they will send a replacement, we had to cut out the logo, the holes, the drain plug and a 6X6 section of floor and mail it to them in CA. We're still waiting, no pool and out our money. It's been such a disappointment. We were going to patch it and use it until our replacement was sent, but we can't do that with all of the large holes we had to cut in it to satisfy them. It is a nice size, and I'm excited about the salt system, which is actually called a chlorine generator, but their customer service policy is sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Great pool and things to consider

06/15/2009
By ,
Southern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the pool in May '09 after much research. We read all the reviews which were very helpful. The biggest problem was leveling the ground. We spent almost a month on this task and almost gave up. It MUST be perfectly level and it is highly recommended that you dig out the high end and not try to fill the low end as the weight of the pool water can cause loose soil or sand to shift. Our soil was very hard with a lot of clay so we finally found that the rear-tine tiller was most beneficial in loosening and removing layers of soil. The pool was easy to setup! The DVDs are helpful. We ran the filter (not saltwater system) for the first 24 hours after adding the salt and never had a problem with error codes. It was challenging to find pool salt but Wal-mart now carries it in their garden section with the top soil and mulch. We have had water in the pool for a month now and it is still sparkling clean and haven't added the first chemical. You can reuse the filter by spraying it out with a garden hose. We love the saltwater system and highly recommend it. No burning eyes, faded swimsuits or distracting chemical fumes. It leaves your hair and skin so soft and is so much better for you. The cons on the saltwater filter system is the lack of technology. You do have to reprogram it every time the electric goes out and there is not a way to set the time of day that you want it to run. Example: we want it to run from 3am to 9am since you're not supposed to swim while it runs so I have to go out and set it at 3am. Not a huge deal as long as storms do not keep knocking our power out, just a slight inconvenience. It is also unusual to me that you cannot run the filter 24/7. It only runs with the saltwater system (6 hours for us) but evidently that is sufficient because the water looks great and it saves electricity. If not for the nightmare of leveling, I would definitely buy this pool again. Just look for a very level spot!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 15 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

This pool is fantastic!

05/10/2009
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this pool a month ago and this is my 3rd Intex pool. It is by far the best. We spent a couple hours releveling the ground from last year's pool, but I set up the pool myself in about 30 minutes (well, I did have the help of my 3 boys, the oldest being 5). The salt water system is great and it has a much bigger pump than the other pools this size. The water is really soft and no chemicals. Keep in mind you need to buy 125 lbs of salt, but you can get it at the grocery store pretty cheap. It will be quite a while before we grow out of this pool and in Florida, we are enjoying it quite a bit already. I definitely recommend this pool!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 16 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Loving it!!

06/22/2009
By ,
New Iberia, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased product online and had it shipped to store. Very easy process to put the pool and pump together. A couple of tidbits I'd like to share though. The salt needs to be in powder form because the rocks do not evaporate and feels like sand at the bottom. Also, we have to run the pump a little longer than suggested due to the levels not coming out right. The chart states to run it 4 hrs. But we have to run it 5-6 hrs after we use it. Not too much trouble. We set up the pump to run at 1am and check the levels early in the morning. This way we can rerun the pump if need be before the kids get in it. Our pool sits in the open sun so swimming and the heat will change the levels. I would much prefer to run the pump longer than have to add expensive chemicals. The pump is quiet and the water is soft and beautiful. Had this pool up for 2 weeks. Would also suggest putting a padding under the pool before setting it up. Grass does not grow through the padding and the bottom feels bouncy. Also when you walk, the bottom does not dent and stay like it would with sand underneath.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Great Product

07/23/2009
By ,
Sour Lake, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pool on Wal-Mart.com and had it sent to the store. It took about a week and we were so anxious it seemed like forever but it was fast and we didn't have to pay shipping. My husband and I are impressed with how well made the pool is. It is very sturdy and looks even nicer in person. The liner really makes it look nice too with the blue squares instead of just a solid blue one. The ladder is okay for my 5 and 11 year old kids, but is shaky for me and my husband. I wish it was built better but for the price I won't complain. Well I had been debating on purchasing the saltwater system or not and boy I LOVE it. My husband tests water for a chemical plant and he said this is the best thing they have came out with for above ground pools!!! We have a well and the second day we had the pool and the salt started to clorinate the pool was a greenish red color. Turns out we just have a lot of iron in our water and we went to a pool store and bought two chemicals that were about 18.00 each but they were sold in bulk and will last for years! We put a teaspoon of each and the pool is as clear as it was the first day. The side skimmer in the pool is really neat too and works very well. Overrall this has been a wise purchase and would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Great Pool !

06/20/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had a couple of Intex pools over the past 7 years. We got a few years of use from them and outgrew them. The Ultraframe pool is the best Intex product we've had. The frame was easy to set up and is a vast improvement over earlier models. The 2000 gph pump cleans well and the saltwater chlorinator keeps the water fresh and inviting. We've had our pool set up for about two weeks and have not had any problems either with the pool or keeping the water clean. We use a "Catfish" battery powered vacuum for the bottom of the pool that we think is easier to use than the one the pool came with. The filter and skimmer that come with the pool work great to keep the rest of the pool clean. It was easy to order this product through the Walmart website. We used the Walmart shipping program and picked it up at the store so there was no extra charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

Good pool for the money

07/19/2009
By ,
Reading, PA suburbs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The UltraFrame 16' diameter pool is a good value considering it includes a saltwater-based chlorine generator. You need not buy chemicals other than pure bulk pool salt (which isn't the easiest to find, even at WalMart). The pool cannot be set up in 45 minutes as advertised unless the ground on which it is to be placed is almost perfectly level prior to delivery of the pool package...leveling the ground takes quite a bit of time with hand tools and it must be done (as we found out, having to set and fill the pool twice because the ground was not adequately level). Do not add sand or build up low areas...remove soil from the higher areas of your yard when leveling; there's a lot of weight (approximately 22 tons of water in the filled pool) that you do not want placed on top of soft, shifting sand. Once the ground is prepared figure an hour to get it set up. So far, the pool has been a great addition to our backyard...it's nice to have a pool directly adjacent to the back porch. It is taking a little while to settle on the ground we leveled for it, but I am cautiously optimistic that it will settle evenly enough that the pool will be stable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Ultra-Frame All-in-One 16' x 48" Backyard Swimming Pool with Saltwater Pool Filter System

easier said than done

06/28/2009
By ,
hot and dry, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once assembled, the end result is great. I am considering a concrete slab. Several days of soil prep including watering and packing. Even hard packed soil gives. Whether soil or concrete, go to Tractor Supply for a true heavy duty tarp. Assembly is simple, with several sets of hands. Hoping concrete helps with getting the wrinkles out of the bottom of liner easier. Allow two days for assembly, filling, and water treatment. Walmart has available water treatment for hard water. Don't forget this and 120lbs of pool salt. Pump and chlorinator is easy to operate. The ladder is weak and wobbly. I will need to get a new one. The filtering system is excellent. It needs changing every two days. My water source will require a sand filter. Walmart could make available an economical sand filter (without pump). Spend the extra money for this heavier frame pool with salt water chlorinator. Replace the ladder according to your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next