Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartyKat Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

SmartyKat Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

SmartyKat chickadee chirp bird-sound toys are sure to hit a high note with any cat. The cute catnip-filled chickadee bursts into song with a push of a paw, providing hours of pounce-worthy fun for cats. Refill with SmartyKat Certified Organic Catnip for everlasting fun.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%14 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

lots of fun

01/25/2009
By ,
gary, indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my dog sammie just loves his "birdie". he won't go anywhere without it. it just fits in his mouth. he is only 12 lbs. so he is a little guy. when the battery goes out, so does he. he just mopes around until a new "birdie" appears in a plastic walmart bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Fantastic Pet Toy

12/29/2008
By ,
New Bedford, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was visiting a friend with my Shih-Tzu and he found this toy which belonged to their cats. He wouldn't put it down and they let me take it home for him. He loves this toy better than all his others and carries it in his mouth where ever he goes. If I don't catch him with it when he goes out for his "duty" and he forgets to bring it in I have to go looking for it later because he cries that he can't find it.
This definitely makes a great small dog toy as well as a cat toy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

If you can find this toy, BUY it!!!!

03/15/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this as a new toy for a newly adopted 7 mo. old kitten. WELL, not only does he just LOVE it, but the two older (read more jaded) kitties are intrigued by it as well.
Our kitten fetches it and hides it so that only he knows where it is. He carries it around in his mouth. After about a month, Kitten dropped it in his water bowl. It seemed "lifeless". We were distressed! We just knew we had to find another Chickadee. I set the drowned Chickadee on top of the clothes dryer and after some hours it was "raised from the dead!"
We were over joyed.
Next, when we were traveling halfway across the US in an SUV with 3 kitties, we admit, we did get tired of the chirp, in spite of it's automatic shut off, which our kitten figured out within minutes of having it. So, we thought we would just subdue the sound for the last leg of the drive, by putting it in a suitcase. Not good. Chickadee's chirp bit the dust.
Now, I am in a desparate search for a replacement.
The only reason I gave this toy a 4 out of 5 stars overall, is that it would benefit from having a hard "sound proof" box for storage. Without it any movement sets the chickadee to chirping again, and it sometimes wakes a sleeping kitten, which is never a good thing!
Great toy! Next time, if I can find another one, I will find a hard padded box for it's storage, for night time or travel, or any other time we want to not hear the chirp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

My cat adores this!

02/24/2010
By ,
Wiscinsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little huntress wannabe like mine will go crazy for this little gem. Indoor cats need all the exercise they can get, and there's nothing I like better than something she can play by herself with, to get us off the hook on the interactive-required stuff once in a while.
I had one that stopped working, and I just fumbled around inside through the little velcro catnip pocket and pressed on the cube-ish sides of the mechanism until I found a spot that seemed to turn it back on. Otherwise, these get a lot of use-and-abuse. My cat loves it when I put one under a blanket and make it 'chirp,' also. she pounces on it repeatedly!
HIGHLY recommended unless you have a timid cat.
The first one I got had the little tab removed, and it chirped all the way home, and I was sure it would drive us humans crazy, but surprisingly it doesn't. She's just so much fun with it, it's entertaining for us, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Chickadee Chirp

06/01/2010
By ,
Erin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cats LOVE this toy! We bought it for the kittens, but the 10 year old cat likes it just as much as they do. They have to wait their turn! The sounds are very realistic. We aren't always sure if it's a bird outside or the toy until we look around to see if someone is playing with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Chickdee Chirp

11/20/2009
By ,
Whitehall, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kittens love this toy! One has learned to fetch with it. Too bad the Walmart I found it in ran out...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

save your money

11/02/2009
By ,
utica, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this toy and within ten minutes of my cat playing with the toy it stopped chirping. I read the reviews and assumed I must have gotten a dud. I bought a second today and this one lasted an hour and now it has stopped chirping as well. The cat loved it but unfortunately now has two very expensive pieces of fabric.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Cats go crazy over this

02/03/2013
By ,
Aberdeen, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cats go crazy over this toy and are constantly playing with it, carrying it around the house thinking they actually caught something. I'm surprised the cherping hasn't died out yet. The only con is that they love it so much that they like to play with it at night and try to bring it to me while I sleep, so I get woken up from the cherping. I have to hide it at night so I can sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

So cute

02/18/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cats love both this toy and the birdy boing toy that is this bird toy on top of a spring and with a feather tail.
I'm not usually a fan of noisy pet toys but even I love the sound these toys make! The chirps are soft and realistic. The sound sensor is also very sensitive which the cats love. If they bump it as they walk by it starts to chirp and they get all excited! The batteries also seem to last forever. We've had this toy for 3 months and it hasn't died yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.
01/03/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My cats are indoor/outdoor cats and they LOVE to stalk the pigeons outside. So, i thought they would love this, however, they figured out the noise wasn't real pretty fast. While they do play w/it, I don't think it's the noise that entices them. They like it like their other toys that they can sink their claws and teeth into. But they ignore the chirping when I try to trick them. It does function properly tho and is well made. Indoor cats might like it even more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

A Must Have Toy

08/31/2012
By ,
Grand Saline, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this for my 2 rescue kittens. They are now 8 weeks old. They absolutely love this chirping bird. It is the main toy they play with amongst their various mice, balls and other toys. They love that it chirps when they bat at it or pounce on it. They also pick it up by the tag or the tail and carry it around. It has a place in the bottom to put catnip if you like. It velcro's shut.
This is an absolute MUST HAVE for anyone with a cat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Cat & Dog love it!

12/30/2008
By ,
Land of Enchantment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 5 month old kitty and she absolutely loved it and would carry it around with her but then our Jack Russell took a liking to it too but was a little too rough with it and it stopped working after a couple of weeks but the kitty still enjoys it (when she hasn't lost it). I had to make sure to put it up before bed otherwise it gets a bit annoying since it chirps whenever it moves around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

PATHETIC!

01/20/2012
By ,
Cuba City WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This toy didn't even last 24 hrs before it stopped chirping.
I bought it with the pull tab in it still, and out of all the toy's I've bought in the past for my cats, this was the worst. This is the 2nd one I've bought, thinking the first may have been flawed.
What a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Best cat toy ever!!

12/28/2008
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat Felix got this toy for Christmas and he absolutely LOVES it. He plays with it more than any other toy. It's really great to play fetch with, too. And it's not really annoying to hear at 6:00 in the morning. Definitely worth the five bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Great Toy

01/22/2013
By ,
Houston,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this toy for my kitten and she loves it. I think that a cat at any age would be interested in this toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smartykat: Chickadee Chirp Cat Toys, 1 ct.

Tiggerina Loves it!

04/26/2012
By ,
Oakland, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still chirping after over a week. While it may be wise to put it away at night so you can sleep, it is an awesome toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.