Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SmartyKat SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

SmartyKat SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Keep your furniture safe and your cat satisfied with the Smarty Kat ScratchNip Scratch Mat. This mat allows your cat to freely scratch and roll around. This cat scratcher contains certified organic catnip that drives cats wild. This sisal mat is ideal for cats, as it can hold up to scratching. This mat can be rolled up when not in use. Cats will be drawn to the SmartyKat ScratchNip Scratch Mat due its refillable catnip attraction system pouch. They will also enjoy playing with the snap-in toy that is included with this cat scratcher. Keep your cats healthy, entertained and content with this sisal mat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation78%7 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Not for large cats

12/24/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My two Cats have shreded this mat in just a few days. It comes apart like if you unravel a sweater. The Older Sisal mats always lasted a year or more before showing some wear and shedding fibers. I have always mounted them to a wall in 2 places and at the top of the stairs.
The old ones have been in place 3 years, They have been replaced after they began to wear. My cats never come up the steps or down without using the one in the hall. They love being praised, but that one after 2 months is junk, Have to find stronger ones or purchase a small sisal rug and cut and bind them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Ok, but has some issues

07/08/2013
By ,
SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 12 week old Siberian kitten, so I did not use the catnip. He certainly enjoys it, but it has a couple issues that bothered me. First off, the way it is rolled in the package creates two crimps in the mat. For a week and a half, I used 2 heavy books to roll back so I could flatten it out. This worked to some extent, but it still does not lie flat. Secondly, my kitten loved the little feather clip on toy, but it practically falls out of the holder. Took my kitten about 5 seconds to pop it out and get it stuck under the sofa. So, while my kitten likes to scratch the mat, it won't lie flat and the toy does not stay in the holder. It wasn't terribly expensive, which is the only reason I gave it an "average" versus "fair" review.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

My cats won't stay off of it!

02/10/2014
By ,
Bangor, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I nailed this product to the wall of my house, and both my cats (2 years old and 10 months old) will not stay off of it! I bought this product to keep them from scratching the furniture and since I go this product they haven't left one mark on ANYTHING! I actually bought a second one the next week and nailed it above the first one so they have a little climbing gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Cat loves it!

10/23/2009
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I started taking it out of the box, my cat ran in and was going crazy.. just over the cardboard because of the smell of the catnip. She loves this, wouldn't leave it alone for the first hour. She kept rubbing her head against it and scratching it.. problem, it scratched up her chin and it started to bled =/. But now it's healing and she still sratches and uses it everyday!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Cat Scratcher

05/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Toy does not stay attached
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Pretty much useless as a scratcher

12/05/2010
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cute scratching mat but absolutely useless for its stated purpose. My two boys a large (19 and 22 pounds) and all they can do is lay on the thing, maybe get a face rub now and then.
Unless nailed to a wall or mounted on a heavy board, this item is useless for scratching. It's so light that it simply slides around the carpet.
Not pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

My cat luvs this better than any I ever bought

11/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally! An affordable, sensible scratch mat that doesn't leave cardboard all over the floor and attracts my cat many times a day! She has stopped sctratching on the furniture too. I say it's worth a try at this price. It's not verticle, but my cat seems to not care, and she has done verticle stratching in the past. It comes with plenty of catnip to pour into the pocket on the back of the mat. I'm very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

Love this mat!

10/27/2012
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mat is made well. Last a really long time. My two cats have used it for three years, and this is this is the replacement for it. Well made. And it is not carpet, so my cats won't thinks it "ok" to scratch the normal carpet. And yes, when this wears out, we will buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SmartyKat ScratchNip Mat

It's Helps Some

01/22/2013
By ,
Houston,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to keep my cat from scratching plugs out of the carpet. She will scratch it but still is plugging the carpet. But just not as much....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.