Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

The First Years The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double is both compact and sleek. Its design makes it easy to bring along while on the go. This First Years MiPump is designed to help you breastfeed for longer periods at a time. It is simple, quiet, quick and efficient. With comfortable flexi-fit breast shields, it also provides a soft, proper fit. The double breast pumps have eight different suction pressure levels so you can pick the best one for you. A convenient LED display tells you the current level in use. The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double also has a unique handle that allows you to pump with one hand. While this pump is gentle enough for new moms, it is very efficient and effective. The First Year MiPump is simple to assemble and clean. It can be powered via an electrical outlet or four AA batteries (not included). This double breast pump would make a great gift for a new mom. It is very small and very quiet so only you know it's in use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.697 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(281 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
64
3 stars
23
2 stars
16
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation74%208 out of 281reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
64
3 stars
23
2 stars
16
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Not for long-term use.

12/04/2012
By ,
macomb il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ebf my dd and got this pump as a gift. So I went back to work and had to start pumping multiple times a day every day of the week, at first this pump was great but then it just became weaker and weaker and weaker until it just had hardly any suction left at all, after about 2 months of daily uses. So if your only planning on pumping occasionally this would be fine but I don't suggest buying this for daily use.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Best pump ever!!!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't write reviews but this pump is so great that I had to. I read all the reviews before purchasing this product. My money was a little tight so I had to pick something inexpensive. After reading the reviews I figured why not give it a try. I sent my husband to Walmart to purchase the pump. It was very easy to install, also it comes with a very cute lightweight carrying bag much nicer than the last pump I had which was way more expensive. I can pump bottles very fast as it mimics my sons suction. There are adjustable speeds that you can change to meet the needs of your little one. I did have a problem with the suction going out on one side but I called customer service and they sent me a new motor, tubing, and inserts right away. In the mean time I could still use one side. They made it where I did not have to send the old pump in. I just simply wrote the number they gave me on the pump took a picture and emailed to the email address I was given. Such a easy task great customer service.. I love this pump great product great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Mine stopped working after 4 weeks

01/04/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This pump was not one of the best pumps to start with by any means. It has different speeds that you control with buttons...my old one-a medela...would automatically change speeds and suction levels just as a baby would, to make sure you get the maximum amount of breast milk. All you mommies who have breastfed and had to pump and had a good pump know what I'm talking about. While the description said nothing to inspire my purchase of this product...I was on a budget and this fit within that budget. I'm definitely regretting not waiting until my budget was bigger!! The humidity from pumping breast milk causes condensation within the tubing and causes the device to stop sucking. I have to swing the tubing around like a lasso just to get it to work...but even that is starting not to help. My milk comes out too fast for my daughter so I am forced to pump every feeding, so if you are looking for a pump you plan on using quite regularly...dont waste your money on this thing!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
irvine
very bad
Posted 06/23/2014
I purchased this item $90 at store and it worked just 20 days and after that lost the power I try to exchange it they didn't do it for me I got so angry
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Works great!

09/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a first time mother and I am breast feeding exclusively. The first time I used this product it was about four days after the birth of my son and it was quite painful. I think it was because my milk had not completely come in. It did however, relieve some of the pain from my breast engorgment. A few days later I pumped again and it wasn't painful at all. It took me 10 minutes or less to pump 4 oz. That weekend I used the bottle I had made while we were out of town for a few hours. When I got back my breasts were very full and I pumped 8 oz in about 20 minutes. This product gets the job done. When I return to work I plan on using it at least once or twice a day. I feel that this product will work great. Totally worth the money!! **if you plan on freezing your milk and you are using the Playtex drop-in bottles try the "Playtex drop-ins system breast milk storage kit". You freeze the milk in the drop-ins so it is really easy to use.**
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

awesome pump!

12/20/2010
By ,
Bloomfield, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a learning curve with this thing, don't get me wrong. I tried to use it a couple of times in the first and second week after my son was born, and could barely get half an ounce. This probably had to do with my traumatized nipples; I couldn't handle the higher suction settings due to pain (from my son, not the pump). In the third week however, my supply evened out and I got the hang of making sure it was positioned correctly and BOOM! 4 oz in 10 minutes. I couldn't do that with the Medela from the hospital, that's for sure. My only complaint is that I should have gotten the single pump, because I am too large breasted to use this with both sides. The part that they connect to in order to use both of them is not spaced far enough apart for me. So if you wear more than a C or maybe a D cup, go with the single because it probably won't work for you as a double pump. Other than that, this thing is FANTASTIC. I love the bottle it comes with, as it requires a proper latch-on to get the milk out of it (compression AND suction needed to keep eating). Great product all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+319points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Disappointing Pump given the reviews.

08/04/2012
By ,
Seabrook, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this pump when the Medela pump I was using went out. All of the reviews were positive so I went ahead and purchased. It was disappointing in performance. There is not a let down function, so you manually have to start it slow and then increase the suction. At the highest setting the suction is still lacking, it takes much long to complete a pumping session that with my previous pump and many times even after 20-30 minutes, I do not feel as if the pumping was complete. I also had serious issues with milk being sucked back into the tubes, which resulted in algae growing in the tubes (even though the manufacturer says this can't happen). The tubes can't be taken apart, so there is no good way to clean them. Additionally, it is a fairly loud pump, so you have to be aware of that when you are using it.
It does an adequate job, but many of the promised features did not deliver and although it is a bargain, I don't think it is worth it if you are actively pumping.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Medela vs
Posted 08/24/2014
Okay you are comparing a $70 pump to a Medela, which is the Cadillac of pumps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Went way beyond my expectation

04/07/2011
By ,
Arkanas 71854
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hey alot of people had thier opinion about this product and i take thier opinion pretty serious cause i dont want to mess up on something i bought or something in life.. learn from other people ... anyways.. alot of the opinions make me worry but i bought it and it was great!! my son 9 month and going on 10 and i have used it all day every day and night from every 2 hours for 5 months then every 4 hour for 3 month and these past 2 months i have went to eight and i should have went through about 4 of these machines if i listedn to that women who i talk on the phone about these machines she said that these machine are lnot like the real expensive one and will not stand up to 2 hour pumpin all night and day only made to do it 3 4 time a day well i proved her wrong!!!! i use it all this time and still going but now i am stoppin! weaning.. excellent and went way beyond my expect tation!! here are some helpful hints about this product for you can use it as long as me... clean it routinely like 2 time weekif you want.. make sure that every part it clean toothbrush help to clean it really good..... and let it dry and go by the direction in the package too.... you love it as muich as i do......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+183points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Fantastic Product!

05/30/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had my 4th child, and I always chose to pump exclusively instead of breastfeed. As you can imagine, I've owned many pumps over the years (30 minutes, every 3 hours)! I even had two expensive Medela pumps, but the miPump is the best I've ever owned. At the hospital, the nurses were shocked by how small and quiet it was. That was the first thing I noticed about it as well. The best way to use this pump is to stretch your shirt over it, which keeps it upright and on if you're sitting still. This allows you to type or read a book. The settings are easily adjustable, which is great for various stages of feeding (i.e. just starting out and not needing much suction). I highly recommend this pump! I owned one other First Years pump in the past, and it lasted for a very long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+173points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Nice little pumpo for the money

08/30/2014
By ,
NE Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pump with skepticism because of the reviews. But I could not beat the price and took a chance.
I've been using this pump now for a while with no problems. I am a 38 DD & I use this pump 4 times a day & its gentle on my breast, not leaving them feeling like I was just milked like a cow on a dairy machine. the breast shields are soft & comfortable, It has a gentle suction cycle and it vibrates a little on each pump cycle which I found helps my flow . The battery back up power works great when you can't be near a power source with 4 AA Duracell, I can get about 8 - 15 minute sessions from them before replacing the 4 batteries. The travel bag is very handy for when I have to travel out of the house and need to take my pump with me. I don't use the handle much because I use one cup most of the time to pump one breast while leaving my other breast available for the baby. I clean it with antibacterial soap and hot water by hand and dry it with a soft cloth. Customer service is Fabulous and helpful when I needed a new hose. The Draw back is its not as quiet as the description says and some days I wish it had a few more settings for the suction to pump my breast a little faster. You have to be careful not to get moisture in the hose or it will really mess with the suction. other than that, its a nice little pump for the money and am satisfied with the MiPump
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Saved my life!

01/12/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this pump on my first day back to work because I forgot to take my other pump with me. That day during lunch I manually pumped 7+ oz, because I could NOT have made it until the end of the day. Thank goodness my husband was off and could bring the baby to me 3 hours later to breastfeed. Since I travel a lot for work also, I left this pump at work and took it on the road, while leaving my other one at home for nights and weekends. I breastfed our first child for 15 months and used this pump for 12 of those. I did have a problem with the motor after the first 3 months, but I emailed the company and after troubleshooting failed, they sent me a new one, free of charge. I even loaned it to a friend for a couple of weeks when she left hers at her parents' house (out of town) on accident. She has the same one and used it for both of her kids. I plan on using it for the new little one we're expecting too.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Good Product and works perfectly as described.

01/23/2013
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only big drawback with this product is the handle on which you mount the bottles. So if you're a woman who wears bras greater than size 38-40 that might be a big challenge to have a twin sided breast pump, it might just not work. I wish they instead of a cumbersome handle just had some kind of a stretchable bustier to hold the breast bottles in place, so it would be less tiring continuing to hold on to it. But, the breast pump works as mentioned and in fact since I have started using it, the milk production has increased substantially. For the price it is quite comparable to some other brands like Medela or Avent. It has 8 levels of suction and helps draw out milk in less than 15 minutes if you are using the product correctly. I am very happy with the product and would recommend it any day to any one because it is a gr8 product for a great price. It is also a great for heavy duty use .... have been using this product daily for almost 4-5 times a day apart from my breast feeding sessions to my infant.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Good Surprize

05/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a double pump because I was going back to work. I didn't have the money to invest in an expensive one so I read some reviews and took a chance... This pump gets the job done. It's not outstanding but, this double pump works better than my expensive single pump I bought years ago. It is worth the price. I can get about 4oz in ten minutes. I have to use the higher settings (the low settings are pointless) but I've never used the highest setting. I pump about three times a day and it is still working. Everyone is different but, if you are like me and need something that works and won't break the bank, this will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

The Handle Makes It a Keeper!

08/09/2011
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the mipump because my same pump of the previous model went on the fritz (3 years+ old) and I'm an exclusive pumper. Because I pump about 6 times a day, the handle makes this a life-saver! I can browse on the laptop/etc., help my older kids with stuff, hold a remote, read a book, whatever. I've never used a pumping bra with another double pump but it seems WAY less convenient than this handle. I would give it 5 stars for this feature, except that...
1) I don't love the flanges (sp?). They curl out and just feel weird to me. It works alright, but I preferred the previous design which actually cupped my breasts.
2) I'm finding that the milk is not completely washing out of the filter piece, and now not the bottles either. I think that that has to do with the BPA-free plastic and not First Years' fault, but I'm still left with problem of how to get it totally cleaned.
Because of the handle and durability during frequent pumping, I still recommend this pump. (Oh yeah, and the price can't be beat!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Does not work for large breasts

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first tried this pump I loved it! It has great suction, it's extremely portable and discrete, and it has a hands free option. After my third use, I noticed chafing on my nipple! Because the breast shields only come in one size, the shield was not large enough to pull my entire nipple and areola into the shield.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Works well

08/25/2014
By ,
Saco ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter only uses it a few times a week but it seems to work quickly and easily, much much better than any manual, that's for sure!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

wonderful

07/09/2010
By ,
Cheektowaga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pump works wonderfully! It's great that it's a double pump because it only takes 10-15 mins to pump both breasts instead of 20-30 mins. It's great because the suction is good and I also like that you can up the suction to what feels comfortable to you. The only thing that I didn't really like is the the silicone cups that go on your nipple aren't clear so you can't really see if your nipple is in the center. But that would be my only complaint. Wonderful pump!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

perfect pump

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this pump! I used the hospitals pump while there and this one is just as good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

the only affordable pump that WORKS

02/19/2009
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my miPump! I have been using it daily for over a month with no complaints! With my first 3 kids, I tried every pump even expensive hospital grade pumps, but always ended up having to stop breastfeeding. miPump works better, is MUCH more comfortable, and is smaller and quieter than any other! This is by far the most enjoyable time I've had as a breastfeeding mother - all thanks to miPump!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

I Bought Two

08/05/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In preparation of my second child, i bought this pump. It worked great! I'd pump 12 ounces at a time! That is, until the motor died in less than a month. I thought maybe i just got a bad one or something so in desperation (my boobs were super full) at11 pm, i went out and bought another one. Once again, it was a great pump! Then it went out again. My son is 2 1/2 months old and i bought my 3rd breast pump a few minutes ago because THIS pump failed me not once, but twice. This time i said forget it and just bought a hand pump. At least those always work!
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

GREAT BUY!!!!!!!!!!

04/01/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cuz I did not want to spend too much money on a pump. I have to say I am surprisingly pleased. It works great, easy to clean and quiet. I'm very happy I didn't spend $200-$300 on one of the other well known pumps, cuz this works great. I had one issue with condensation in the tubeing and I contacted the company and they got back to me right away and sent me 2 new tubes. I highly reccomend this pump and this company in general. They are a pleasure to deal with and will definatly be using more of there products. coming from a very pleased first time mom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 251 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next