Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

The First Years The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

The First Years miPump is compact and sleek without sacrificing strength. The compact design makes it easy to bring on-the-go in a stylish tote for discrete travel. Designed to help you breastfeed longer, miPump is simple, quiet, quick, and efficient. Best of all, the comfortable, flexi-fit breast shields ensure soft, proper fit and eight suction pressure levels with LED display ensures your comfort as you pump. The miPump Double Breast Pump includes a unique handle which allows you to pump with only one hand, giving you the freedom to multi-task while pumping. The miPump is simple to assemble and to use. Electric or battery operated and uses a 4AA battery which is not included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(269 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
50
Customer Recommendation74%198 out of 269reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 144 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
50
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Good Surprize

05/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a double pump because I was going back to work. I didn't have the money to invest in an expensive one so I read some reviews and took a chance... This pump gets the job done. It's not outstanding but, this double pump works better than my expensive single pump I bought years ago. It is worth the price. I can get about 4oz in ten minutes. I have to use the higher settings (the low settings are pointless) but I've never used the highest setting. I pump about three times a day and it is still working. Everyone is different but, if you are like me and need something that works and won't break the bank, this will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Mine stopped working after 4 weeks

01/04/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This pump was not one of the best pumps to start with by any means. It has different speeds that you control with buttons...my old one-a medela...would automatically change speeds and suction levels just as a baby would, to make sure you get the maximum amount of breast milk. All you mommies who have breastfed and had to pump and had a good pump know what I'm talking about. While the description said nothing to inspire my purchase of this product...I was on a budget and this fit within that budget. I'm definitely regretting not waiting until my budget was bigger!! The humidity from pumping breast milk causes condensation within the tubing and causes the device to stop sucking. I have to swing the tubing around like a lasso just to get it to work...but even that is starting not to help. My milk comes out too fast for my daughter so I am forced to pump every feeding, so if you are looking for a pump you plan on using quite regularly...dont waste your money on this thing!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Works great!

09/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a first time mother and I am breast feeding exclusively. The first time I used this product it was about four days after the birth of my son and it was quite painful. I think it was because my milk had not completely come in. It did however, relieve some of the pain from my breast engorgment. A few days later I pumped again and it wasn't painful at all. It took me 10 minutes or less to pump 4 oz. That weekend I used the bottle I had made while we were out of town for a few hours. When I got back my breasts were very full and I pumped 8 oz in about 20 minutes. This product gets the job done. When I return to work I plan on using it at least once or twice a day. I feel that this product will work great. Totally worth the money!! **if you plan on freezing your milk and you are using the Playtex drop-in bottles try the "Playtex drop-ins system breast milk storage kit". You freeze the milk in the drop-ins so it is really easy to use.**
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

awesome pump!

12/20/2010
By ,
Bloomfield, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a learning curve with this thing, don't get me wrong. I tried to use it a couple of times in the first and second week after my son was born, and could barely get half an ounce. This probably had to do with my traumatized nipples; I couldn't handle the higher suction settings due to pain (from my son, not the pump). In the third week however, my supply evened out and I got the hang of making sure it was positioned correctly and BOOM! 4 oz in 10 minutes. I couldn't do that with the Medela from the hospital, that's for sure. My only complaint is that I should have gotten the single pump, because I am too large breasted to use this with both sides. The part that they connect to in order to use both of them is not spaced far enough apart for me. So if you wear more than a C or maybe a D cup, go with the single because it probably won't work for you as a double pump. Other than that, this thing is FANTASTIC. I love the bottle it comes with, as it requires a proper latch-on to get the milk out of it (compression AND suction needed to keep eating). Great product all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+316points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Saved my life!

01/12/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this pump on my first day back to work because I forgot to take my other pump with me. That day during lunch I manually pumped 7+ oz, because I could NOT have made it until the end of the day. Thank goodness my husband was off and could bring the baby to me 3 hours later to breastfeed. Since I travel a lot for work also, I left this pump at work and took it on the road, while leaving my other one at home for nights and weekends. I breastfed our first child for 15 months and used this pump for 12 of those. I did have a problem with the motor after the first 3 months, but I emailed the company and after troubleshooting failed, they sent me a new one, free of charge. I even loaned it to a friend for a couple of weeks when she left hers at her parents' house (out of town) on accident. She has the same one and used it for both of her kids. I plan on using it for the new little one we're expecting too.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

12/22/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this pump after I returned the rental medela pump to the hospital. It worked just fine at first and I was pumping 6-10oz a session 4 times a day. Not too bad! Then on the 4th month my supply dropped down to half when I pumped. I was taking fenugeek, watched out for anything that would drop my supply, kept drinking plenty of fluids, and pumping to increase my supply 5-6 times a day. With all of that, my supply STILL dwindled. so it was obvious something was up with the pump. I knew i was pumping all the way to completion but still after pumping 20-30 minutes I was somewhat engorged. I've been having my 5 month old nurse after each pumping session because this pump was not draining all my milk and it got VERY uncomfortable. Im pretty disappointed that we spent the money on a pump which only lasted 4 months. I could have put it towards a better pump that would have lasted much longer. DISAPPOINT.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Disappointing Pump given the reviews.

08/04/2012
By ,
Seabrook, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this pump when the Medela pump I was using went out. All of the reviews were positive so I went ahead and purchased. It was disappointing in performance. There is not a let down function, so you manually have to start it slow and then increase the suction. At the highest setting the suction is still lacking, it takes much long to complete a pumping session that with my previous pump and many times even after 20-30 minutes, I do not feel as if the pumping was complete. I also had serious issues with milk being sucked back into the tubes, which resulted in algae growing in the tubes (even though the manufacturer says this can't happen). The tubes can't be taken apart, so there is no good way to clean them. Additionally, it is a fairly loud pump, so you have to be aware of that when you are using it.
It does an adequate job, but many of the promised features did not deliver and although it is a bargain, I don't think it is worth it if you are actively pumping.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Went way beyond my expectation

04/07/2011
By ,
Arkanas 71854
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hey alot of people had thier opinion about this product and i take thier opinion pretty serious cause i dont want to mess up on something i bought or something in life.. learn from other people ... anyways.. alot of the opinions make me worry but i bought it and it was great!! my son 9 month and going on 10 and i have used it all day every day and night from every 2 hours for 5 months then every 4 hour for 3 month and these past 2 months i have went to eight and i should have went through about 4 of these machines if i listedn to that women who i talk on the phone about these machines she said that these machine are lnot like the real expensive one and will not stand up to 2 hour pumpin all night and day only made to do it 3 4 time a day well i proved her wrong!!!! i use it all this time and still going but now i am stoppin! weaning.. excellent and went way beyond my expect tation!! here are some helpful hints about this product for you can use it as long as me... clean it routinely like 2 time weekif you want.. make sure that every part it clean toothbrush help to clean it really good..... and let it dry and go by the direction in the package too.... you love it as muich as i do......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Fantastic Product!

05/30/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had my 4th child, and I always chose to pump exclusively instead of breastfeed. As you can imagine, I've owned many pumps over the years (30 minutes, every 3 hours)! I even had two expensive Medela pumps, but the miPump is the best I've ever owned. At the hospital, the nurses were shocked by how small and quiet it was. That was the first thing I noticed about it as well. The best way to use this pump is to stretch your shirt over it, which keeps it upright and on if you're sitting still. This allows you to type or read a book. The settings are easily adjustable, which is great for various stages of feeding (i.e. just starting out and not needing much suction). I highly recommend this pump! I owned one other First Years pump in the past, and it lasted for a very long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+167points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

The Handle Makes It a Keeper!

08/09/2011
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the mipump because my same pump of the previous model went on the fritz (3 years+ old) and I'm an exclusive pumper. Because I pump about 6 times a day, the handle makes this a life-saver! I can browse on the laptop/etc., help my older kids with stuff, hold a remote, read a book, whatever. I've never used a pumping bra with another double pump but it seems WAY less convenient than this handle. I would give it 5 stars for this feature, except that...
1) I don't love the flanges (sp?). They curl out and just feel weird to me. It works alright, but I preferred the previous design which actually cupped my breasts.
2) I'm finding that the milk is not completely washing out of the filter piece, and now not the bottles either. I think that that has to do with the BPA-free plastic and not First Years' fault, but I'm still left with problem of how to get it totally cleaned.
Because of the handle and durability during frequent pumping, I still recommend this pump. (Oh yeah, and the price can't be beat!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Great product and price

04/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Good Product and works perfectly as described.

01/23/2013
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only big drawback with this product is the handle on which you mount the bottles. So if you're a woman who wears bras greater than size 38-40 that might be a big challenge to have a twin sided breast pump, it might just not work. I wish they instead of a cumbersome handle just had some kind of a stretchable bustier to hold the breast bottles in place, so it would be less tiring continuing to hold on to it. But, the breast pump works as mentioned and in fact since I have started using it, the milk production has increased substantially. For the price it is quite comparable to some other brands like Medela or Avent. It has 8 levels of suction and helps draw out milk in less than 15 minutes if you are using the product correctly. I am very happy with the product and would recommend it any day to any one because it is a gr8 product for a great price. It is also a great for heavy duty use .... have been using this product daily for almost 4-5 times a day apart from my breast feeding sessions to my infant.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Very happy so far...

01/24/2014
By ,
Kearney, Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very satisfied with my purchase so far. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I have only been using it for 3 weeks now. But it works wonderfully and is very easy to pack up and travel with if needed. I use mine everyday to pump at work and it is quiet and easy to use. The cleaning process can be a pain because you are suppose to boil the valve parts after EVERY use. Which seems like way too much work. (It's hard enough to wash it every day after work, especially when you have a million other things to do!) But over all, I do recommend this product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

GREAT BUY!!!!!!!!!!

04/01/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cuz I did not want to spend too much money on a pump. I have to say I am surprisingly pleased. It works great, easy to clean and quiet. I'm very happy I didn't spend $200-$300 on one of the other well known pumps, cuz this works great. I had one issue with condensation in the tubeing and I contacted the company and they got back to me right away and sent me 2 new tubes. I highly reccomend this pump and this company in general. They are a pleasure to deal with and will definatly be using more of there products. coming from a very pleased first time mom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

wonderful

07/09/2010
By ,
Cheektowaga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pump works wonderfully! It's great that it's a double pump because it only takes 10-15 mins to pump both breasts instead of 20-30 mins. It's great because the suction is good and I also like that you can up the suction to what feels comfortable to you. The only thing that I didn't really like is the the silicone cups that go on your nipple aren't clear so you can't really see if your nipple is in the center. But that would be my only complaint. Wonderful pump!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

works great

04/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this for 3 weeks now. It works great! I have pumped up to 12oz with it in one sitting. I use it multiple times a day. I have a lansinoh pump as well and this one works much better. I don't even use the lansinoh pump!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

the only affordable pump that WORKS

02/19/2009
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my miPump! I have been using it daily for over a month with no complaints! With my first 3 kids, I tried every pump even expensive hospital grade pumps, but always ended up having to stop breastfeeding. miPump works better, is MUCH more comfortable, and is smaller and quieter than any other! This is by far the most enjoyable time I've had as a breastfeeding mother - all thanks to miPump!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Good for the price.

02/13/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this item hoping it would boost my milk production. I could not afford an expensive pump. I tried a manual pump first which did not work well. This pump did get my milk flowing. When you open the package, all the attatchemtns are a bit overwhelming but once it is put together, it is fairly easy to use and move around. This pump is fairly compact and the bag is great. It is very quiet compared to the medela. The T-Bar is great to use because it leaves a free hand; however, it is akward and takes some getting use to. I wish this pump offered more suction power. I have large breasts and have to use the highest power. If there was a stronger power, I think I would get more milk. I think this would work very well if you have smaller more firm breasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Great Company!

03/13/2014
By ,
Shoreview, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pump 2 years ago with my last baby. Worked well for the price never had any issues with it. I am now expecting again so I contacted The First Years about ordering replacement plastic parts. I asked them how much they would be and where to order them. I received an email back saying they were shipping me the parts I was inquiring about for free and they should arrive in 5-7 business days! Great customer service!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years Breastflow MiPump Double

Great pump

11/27/2010
By ,
Fort Irwin CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the T bar takes some getting used to, the pump has great suction. The cons to the product are you cant buy replacement parts for it or at-least I have had trouble getting parts to it. The pump does collect water in the line which can burn out your pump if you are not careful in order to fix that problem you simply have to run the pump disconnected from the bottles for a couple of mins after pumping to prevent water in the tubes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 239 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next