Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

The First Years The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

The First Years Breast Pump is made for a variety of users, with a compact and sleek look that does not sacrifice strength. Designed to help you breastfeed longer, it is simple, quiet, quick and efficient. These features makes it ideal for when you need to pump away from home. It has a flexi-fit breast shield and eight suction levels to ensure your comfort. The Sole Expressions single breast pump can quickly become your personal favorite. It is simple to assemble and use, even for novice pumpers. The pump has an LED display so you can easily set and watch the suction level. You can use it with a cord or battery. The single electric breast pump comes with a stylish tote for discreet travel use. All components of the item are safe and made with quality for long-lasting performance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
34
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation64%121 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
34
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Lifesaver!

02/10/2009
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The week my daughter was born we were having trouble nursing and I needed something to pump with until we had success. The MiPump was cheap and I figured I would only need it occasionally until we had it down. 2 1/2 weeks later my little one still isnt nursing and im using the pump fulltime, every 3 hours. I am SO thankful I bought the MiPump. Its small and sleek, can run on batteries, I get a good amount everytime and it isnt painful. With my first I had the medela and it hurt! This one is WELL worth the money. I would recommend this to anyone! You cant get this good of quality for this kind of price with any other pump. I cant say enough about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Excellent pump!

03/23/2009
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very shocked that this pump has any negative reviews! It is absolutely wonderful and is helping me produce more and more milk for my baby. The price for such a wonderful pump is amazing. I highly recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Works really well

03/15/2012
By ,
Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this with trepidation , but it works really well the pump settings are a must and the size is really small . I like the battery operation so i can take it anywhere
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Wonderful!

04/06/2009
By ,
Blackfoot, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a breas pump because my baby decided not to breastfeed anymore... and my milk production started to go down.
I believe strongly that breasmilk is the BEST thing that any mom can give to his/her baby. Plus it helps moms to loose those extra pounds.
I had a manual pump and it worked ok. normally takes long to pump etc... therefore I wanted to buy a breastpump and after searching for an electric one on internet and reading previous comments about this product; I decided to buy it at the store.
The same night I tried it... it was just wonderful. It's easy to put together, easy to clean, easy to use, it's not uncomfortable at all, it gives a nice massage while pumping and the most wonderful thing is that my milk production has been going up and up and that is what I really wanted!
I honestly recommend this product. It's really good, good for the price and most important, keep your baby having the most wonderful thing we can give to them...breast milk!
I just love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Great Buy (AMAZING PUMP)

06/25/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the rising cost of everything I decided to fully breast feed child number 4. This thing is Amazing its extra comfy to use. you can start off slow for comfort and speed it up at your convenience so it doesn't hurt. The silicone was a great choice for making this pump you don't even feel it on your breast and Its like a suction cup. I researched a lot and was very skeptical about it since the price was so much cheaper than the big names. but after reading the reviews I only wanted this one. I returned the one I got from my shower after reading the reviews for that one and I am happy to say I'm glad I exchanged it. I also used it with the batteries on a outing to the lake and it works just as good with four AA batteries as with electric. Just FYI I got the single one because I read a review that the double one did not do well for large breasted women. So this was a safe buy since you can not return pumps after they are open.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Conflicted

06/08/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this pump several months before my daughter was due with her third child. After getting home from the hospital and starting to use this pump it was great, worked the way it should but within a week it stopped working. The charger still works but it doesn't turn on. I'm dumbfounded as to why there's not a better manufacturers warranty, I understand why the store doesn't allow returns but the manufacturer should especially when its only been in use for a week!!!! So I bought a different one, hopefully it works a longer than this pump. Very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

EXCELLENT Product

02/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first was looking for a pump I was very skiddish about spending my money because I didn't want to spend it on something that didn't work. Especially since you can't return a breast pump and I don't have money to just throw away on something that won't work. So I went ahead and tried this one and it works GREAT. Works fast for me. Nothing to complain about in my opinion. The suction is something that my mom was worried about because sometimes the suction isn't real good. But I feel like it is for this one. All I can really say is that this is a GREAT pump especially since it's not a hundred dollars or more like most.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

I used this when I breastfed my son

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this when I breastfed my son and it was so wonderful that I bought the same exact kind for a friend. They are so convenient and easy to use and clean. I would watch tv while pumping sometimes and it was just great. I would highly recommend this model to anybody wanting to breastfeed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Bad product, good customer service...

03/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the pump I used it here and there, then it would work only sometimes. I ended up calling and getting a replacement when my baby was only 2 weeks old. 1 week later the suction was getting weak. so here my baby was only a month old and I was on my 3rd pump. There customer service is nice and willing to get me a new one. They wont do refunds though. They expect me to send in the old one, but I don't and shouldn't have to pay for shipping.
Even if it did work,
The pump is a wide mouth so you can't use with regular bottles.
The bottle they give you to pump into only holds 6 oz which is fine in the beginning, but right now I have to empty it after each side.
Don't bother with this product. Spend the extra money and get something that will work. It was so frustrating to go without the pump. Because of its lack of durability I had to give my baby formula.
Save yourself the headache!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

IT GETS THE JOB DONE!

06/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GREAT PUMP TO HAVE FOR FIRST TIME MOMS AND PORTABLE. MY ONLY PROBLEM WITH THE PUMP IS THAT IT IS VERY LOUD.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Great little pump

03/02/2010
By ,
jersey city, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pump is not only affordable, but it's efficient and comfortable. i love love LOVE it! i had registered for a much much more expensive pump and then decided i probably wouldn't need one. when my daughter was born, i changed my mind again and sent my fiance out to the store to get me a pump and he came home with this one. I raised an eyebrow at first and was worried that because it was so affordable it would be painful or slow or have poor suction. QUITE the opposite! it's fast, comfortable, quiet, and i get a good deal of milk in like 5 minutes. i guess the only thing i would change is that the bottle only holds 5 oz and i always have to dump it mid-way and then finish because i get about 6-7 oz from each breast. other than that, no complaints! skip the expensive ones, this one has it all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Ok for occational use

01/28/2011
By ,
Krum, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this because it was the cheapest. You get what you paid for!
Pros: The breast shield is comfortable and it's easy to clean and put together, First Years WILL mail you replacement parts.
Cons: it doesn't last AT ALL! and the parts have to be mailed, so it takes a while to get them if it breaks, I don't have anything to compare it to, but I don't feel the suction is as effective as I would like.
I've been using this for about 10 weeks and the motor isn't working. You can hear it going, but the clicking noise it makes when it's actually pumping isn't clicking because it's not pumping. This was my first week back to work. It was starting to act funny a couple of weeks ago, but I ignored it because I didn't want to spend money on a new (expensive) pump. Today I could tell it's about to die and I've been full all day because I couldn't get it to work. In a 30 minute pumping session, it probably actually pumped 5% of that time. I've called to get replacement parts and I've ordered a different pump by Avent. Theirs can be used manually or electric, so if you do need new parts for it, you can use it manually while waiting for replacement parts. I'll be using the mi pump as a back up. IF YOU CHOOSE TO BUY THIS ONE, ORDER REPLACEMENT PARTS AT THE FIRST SIGN OF A PROBLEM!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Dissapointed

02/04/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this pump after having my son (about a year and a half ago). I really didn't pump that much, only so my husband could feed the baby or relatives and such as I am a stay at home mom. I ended up pumping once a week or so. Not knowing any better I thought the pump worked fine, though it did seem to take a while to pump.
The suction on this pump is horrible!!! It was hardly enough to get any milk and when it did get my milk it was only due to my manipulating the breast! When I could no longer see the milk being expressed I assumed it was because I was out of milk and the pump had done it job...NOT SO! I still had milk the pump couldn't express due to the awful suction quality!
I am now on baby number two (4 months old) and am looking into a new pump since I want to build up a milk supply in the freezer.
Save your money and put it towards a pump that will actually work!!!!!! This pump might get you by in a pinch but definitely NOT for any consistent use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Great product

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked great would buy again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

You get what you pay for

04/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This pump wasn't what I expected at all. After a month it stopped pulling and had to be replaced. I had to put it on the highest setting for it to pull milk out. I wouldn't buy again or recommend to anyone
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Lasted less than 8 weeks

02/06/2012
By ,
ATLANTA,GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so mad that I bought this pump!!! I figured there were more good reviews than bad ones , and the price was great so I went ahead and got it. I could have saved my money. My baby is 8 weeks old today and the pump died on me yesterday, didn't even make it to the 8 week mark. I turned it on, the motor was on but there was no suction whatsoever. I tried turning it off and on several times, checked and re-checked the tubing and made sure that all the parts were on correctly, still not working. So there I was fully engorged, no backup manual pump and basically up the creek without a paddle. Let me add that I made sure to follow the instructions correctly when using, cleaning and storing this pump. I wasn't overusing it (barely using it once a day and sometimes once every other day). This is just a POOR PRODUCT. For the almost 8 weeks that it lasted it was just an okay pump, nothing to sing and dance about. In fact, the suction wasn't strong enough for me and it was noisy but hey, I was willing to work with it for the price I got it at. However now that it has quit on me, I won't be calling the company to get the replacement motor or whatever, I'll just buy a better pump and save myself the headache.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

amazing quality as usual

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works well fits right
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Not what I thought

06/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my daughter and it didn't work well at all! The suction power was terrible! I am researching how I can get a refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Excellent Pump

03/18/2010
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this pump for the past 3 1/2 months and it's great. I borrowed a $200 pump from a friend of mine thinking it would be more efficient, but I didn't get any more milk than I do with my The First Years pump. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years Sole Expressions Single Electric Breast Pump

Unuseful

05/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not wast your money, and refuse I return it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next