Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Viore Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Viore Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

The Viore 42'' Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV delivers the detail of a full high-definition picture in an attractive design that's less than five inches deep. The tuner can receive conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts where available and unscrambled digital cable channels. Plus, the Viore 42'' Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV has a variety of inputs that make it simple to connect DVD players, camcorders, digital cameras or even a computer. Includes full-function remote control. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Viore 42'' Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.019 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation81%87 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Excellent Buy!

07/27/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A first off is, I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is an excellent buy.
Value - $578 for a 1080P native 42inch? Add free site to store shipping and that's an amazing price! Go Viore and Wal-Mart!
Picture - At first I was kind of unimpressed with the picture; compared to a new expensive Phillips or Sony the contrast seemed weak, grey blacks, dull whites, but simply going through the picture settings made this TV look amazing! 1080P through Blu-Ray is absolutely gorgeous on this TV, Colors are great, Deep blacks, Bright whites, even a 480i standard TV signal looks fairly good on it. One thing not noted is a response time and I couldn't find one anywhere. A couple of tests ran on it rated it on average below 20ms, which is more than fast enough to preventing the ghosting effect on fast images.
Sound - All I'm gonna say is the built in speakers are absolutely amazing, loud, clear, and even nice bass sounds! The disappointment is that there is no fiber-optical audio out. There is digital though (SPDIF) and like I said, the speakers are amazing and you might not even want a system hooked up! It has a "Surround" audio function that when used in gaming systems sounds like you have a 5.1 system.
Features - These are kind of lacking, advanced controls are missing but all of your basics are there. It does include auto volumizing for those nasty commercials that are cranked, and includes XVS, which I'll admit I have no clue what that is. :-D
Overall, a GREAT buy. Dead pixels are random, it happens no matter what brand you get by chance so don't blame a brand, my Viore had NO dead pixels. Normal universal remotes don't seem to really have a great code but I suppose if you wanna blow the money and NEED 1 remote, the expensive LCD ones worked on it, I borrowed a friends and it seemed to auto-find the code for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 2 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

A great buy for the money

04/15/2009
By ,
Somerville, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great TV for the price. I have not heard about this brand, but after reading the previous review, I decided to purchase, so far I am really enjoying my TV. I woud recommend this TV.
The only concern I have is that after you change the station on the TV, the picture is still embedded on the screen, but this goes away in a few seconds, I don't know if this is normal or I need to exchange before the warrenty expire
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Review 3 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

hum!

04/30/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this tv after reading a few reviews and when i got it home hooked it up the first thing i see if red dots about 7 of them the glow vary bright.they said they were dead pixals.well even thought i only paid just under $700.00 for this i dont think i should open a new tv and have dead pixals.Over all the tv is not bad but once you see the red dots your eyes will never leave them.i just packed it back in the box and going right back to walmart to get the sanyo i hear from other poeple there that its only about $120 more has more connections and a better picture.. so if you get this tv good luck and hope you like it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 4 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

too much research

03/19/2009
By ,
chattanooga,tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this tv and have comcast cable (hd digital package). Like another review they have dish and the remote does not work their volume or power, I am having the same problem. It doesn't stop there. I am having a problem getting all of my channels that I subscribe to. I have called the cable company IT they could not figure out problem so they had me trade boxes. I went to cable company switched boxes went home same issue called them back and they could not figure out what the problem could be. I took the box and hooked it up to my other tv and got all of the channels so in the end it is the tv. I have sent Viore and email at techsupport@viore.com and am waiting on response. Their customer support did send email back stating heres a number for parts. Hope thats not an Omen!!! I am hoping since this is a new product the kinks can be worked out. I am on the fence as to "would I recommend this product" I put yes but ummmm lets just see if solution can be made and if I will need to submit another review after I get a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55
03/16/2009
By ,
St Petersburg,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While searching all of the 42in LCD's I came across the Viore 42in.(Never heard of this tv) Reading all of the reviews for the other 42in LCD's I noticed a trend. Some customers liked the phillips,rca,vizio and so on while others hated it.The tv's others hated others loved(You get the point). I noticed there were no reviews on the tv I decided to purchase. Well I am here to tell you that just because you don't know a products name does not mean it it's any good. Right out of the box this tv was wonderful. I didn't really need to adjust it much, but every one do have a preferance on how they want their tv to show. I have a 55in in my livingroom and the regular channels show better on this tv,but I must admit my HD channels show better on my 55in. For the price I would say this is a steal. Its only being a month since I had it though.So far So good. I say try out the tv if you want it,the good thing about it is if you don't like it you can always take it back to our trusty Walmart. Hope this was helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

NICE Value/ Good Quality

04/26/2009
By ,
Hoboken, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice looking set that allows you to use as a computer monitor as well. It has a wonderful picture and a really good sound system. I put it side by side with much more espensive 1080p tv's and it won out over most. The remote is very nice and gives you alot of easy to operate hot button functions. It is also set up for easy wall mounting if you want to go that route. It was a great price on walmart.com and with free site to store I came out will a great price. I only wish they had this brand in a 46" or 47". I have a Viore in a 22" as well and it is a fantasitic TV and was a great deal from Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

great value

09/17/2009
By ,
phila pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i researched lcd's like crazy and decided to go with this one b/c if i didn't like it i knew i could return to walmart, who has stood behind their products before, and this was a great deal. excellent picture, excellent sound, aesthetically pleasing design at a great price. picture and sound rival my more expensive plasma set. only drawback is the set is 71lbs, but this is not much of a negative, as it's fixed properly to the wall at the studs. only one bad pixel on whole field. very happy with product and walmart service was great too, arrived early and female associates helped load it into our truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

A great buy!

02/21/2009
By ,
Festus, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent buy as far as I'm concerned. I researched several models and this one by far is the best value and the quality is great. The Site to Store shipping is also a great feature. The time frame from ordering until I had the TV in my house was 5 days including a weekend. I would recommend this HDTV to anyone looking for a 42" set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Viore review

03/15/2009
By ,
ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not really a bad TV. Price was good. Can't get universal remote to work with TV. Got on web but others are having the same problem. Small red dots on screen when black. Not noticable when watching show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

lc42vf55

03/10/2009
By ,
Collinsville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Picture, sound etc. are very good. The problem I have is that Dish remote will not controll the tv functions {power on/off, mute & vol. Thier help line
says maybe in 30 days or so they will have a code to fix this. The tv is worth the wait but the wait should not have happened. Viore has had this type of problem on other models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

good for the money

04/20/2009
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband is hearing impaired and closed captioning is a MUST for the TV. On the main menu screen, captioning is not accessible because we are hooked up to cable service. Called manufacturer, called cable co, got run-around from both. End result, we have to use 2 remotes and push lots of access menus before the captioning will turn on and off. BIG HASSLE in our family. Also, VIORE doesn't have any code numbers to program a universal remote. We can't use our Digital DVR remote without the VIORE remote to adjust volume, power off & on, etc. ANOTHER BIG HASSLE. The instruction manual is minimally helpful, at best, with barely enough info to get the unit on and off. No other helpful info in it at all. Also, no Customer Service info located in the instructions. Had to look them up on the net to get "contact us" numbers. No info on how to clean screen either. We have a 2 yr old and sticky fingers on the screen are definitely an issue. Read other reviews describing broken pixels, etc. We experienced none of that problem at all. Picture and sound are great, just wish the remote issue could be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55
08/01/2009
By ,
Stuart, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great picture and sound,but having to use two remotes for Direct TV a real pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Viore 42" Junk

09/04/2009
By ,
Buffalo NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Right before opening the box I noticed this was a repackaged unit (not a good sign). Setup was simple enough with all the hookups being well marked. First turn on took awhile for the tv to find all available channels. After first power up had 3 stuck pixels. Two right next to each other in the middle of the screen (not good). Setup menu was easy to get through but would liked to have seen a more complete control set. Only basic controls for color, tint, contrast, and brightness are available. Screen resolutions settings were a joke. Cutting off some of the view in full, theater, or wide screen mode. Standard tv mode left 8" of screen on either side unused. Returned this and got my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

A site to behold!

09/07/2009
By ,
Superior, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a Junior in college, I don't have a lot of money to spend. When I found out that Walmart was selling a 42" television under $600, I was very skeptical. I've never heard of this particular brand, but after searching through the reviews, I decided to take a chance.
First off, I never registered that I bought a 42" television for under $600 that would never possibly fit inside my two-door Sunfire. When I got the television in my apartment, I set it up and it immediately lit up my entire living room!
I saw that from some of the reviews that there was pixel problems (that some of them were shown to be dead), but when I turned the Viore on, there was no problems whatsoever! And this was after a long trip in a truck from Site-to-Store!
Perhaps the only big problem with television is that the remote is hard to work with and there is no universal remote out there yet to re-program. The picture is great on the television from the seat on my couch, but up-close it's fuzzy (so definitely watch it right on the HD channels).
The base is really sturdy and it can also be mounted and works perfectly for any gaming systems, dvd, and blue-ray!
If you want amazing picture, then you probably want to get a mainstream brand. If you want amazing quality for the price, then Viore won't disappoint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Awful

04/07/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this brand!
First of all, the picture wasn't very good, the sound was average at best, and that's not even the best part. The tv worked 3 hours...than the picture burned out for absolutely no reason. Tech support was absolutely no help, and their best advice was to just return it to the store. Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Viore TV

09/28/2009
By ,
Houston TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TV arrived "didn't use Express = Mistake" Audio damaged or non operable, both AV did not function. Request not to return to store call 800 number for support. 800 number disconnected took 3 long hold calls to get through to support which said AV and Sound issues may be due to interoperability of equiment. Waste of Time..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

bad pixel

07/02/2009
By ,
Gloucester, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TV was well packed, well priced, beautiful picture but it had one bad pixel that showed white continuously. Got a 22" VIORE and am very pleased. Bought through site to store and returned to our local WalMart. We are still tv shopping. This was a disappointing transaction.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Good value

09/30/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprised to see such a huge difference between this and olde standard televisions. Screen is huge. Glad I didn't order anything larger. 42 inch screen makes most images life size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Very nice monitor!

05/08/2009
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv to replace not only a small tv but to also replace a broken LCD computer monitor. Checked all the reviews, compaired lots of different brands, and this tv is the one that came out on top. On regular TV the picture can sometimes leave you wanting, but hey, that's what you get for analog signal on an HD tv. Using the HDMI plugs for my Xbox360 does give true 1080p resolution and plays VERY well for movies. I couldn't ask for more as a coputer monitor either. The screen is nice and crisp and keeps up very well with games and general functions. And sound quality is also great. for only being 20 watts a speaker I hardly ever take the volume level over 12 for anything! I've only had this for a few weeks now but over all it's been worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Viore 42'' Class 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC42VF55

Great tv at an unbelievable price!

04/29/2009
By ,
SE Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a replacement for an older model, non-digital set that I'm giving to my mom. The old set worked fine, and I didn't want to spend a lot of $$ on a new one, but I wanted a quality piece of equipment nonetheless. This set blew my expectations out of the water! The picture is UNREAL! Crisp, sharp, with great color and depth. Simply incredible. The sound is fantastic too. I needed to use an add-on sound system with my old set since the speakers were tinny and harsh. The speakers on the Viore have depth and resonance and sound fantastic. The features are exceptional as well with all the programming and personal modifications you might chose to make available with a user-friendly menu.
HIGHLY recommended tv! Tremendous value and a great set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next