Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Generic Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Bring home the classic looking Set of 4 Shaker Dining Chairs and transform the look of your dining hall. These set of 4 dining chairs are a modern take on the traditional slat back Shaker style furniture and would make any table look great. Made from the best quality rubber wood, these espresso finish dining chairs are sturdy and reliable. These chairs with a unique slated back are comfortable and spacious. With a rich espresso finish and an eye-catchy design you would be proud to pass on to these chairs to the next generation. A matching table is also available (sold separately) for these Shaker style chairs. On the whole, it is a complete package with looks and quality.
Average Customer Rating:
3.551 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
55
3 stars
25
2 stars
25
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation68%134 out of 196reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
55
3 stars
25
2 stars
25
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Don't buy this product

12/13/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality. Shipped poorly. Hard to put together. Cheap construction. Won't last. I returned them. One good thing. Easy return policy. Bought different ones. Item number below in picture. Much better chair for same money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Everything I Expected...

01/05/2012
By ,
Havelock, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really nice set for the price. It was everything i thought it would be. It's simple, and i think its pretty sturdy. I seen people complaining about there not being enough hardware, well there was more then enough hardware in my set, it came with lots of extra parts. The chairs did take some time to put together but no big deal. They did not crack or splinter like i thought was going to happen. Overall i think this is very simple and sturdy and cute. And the color is just how it looks Espresso.. If you expect anything more then what this looks like then buy something more expensive, this product is well worth the price!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Literally fell apart.

07/08/2013
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had these chairs for about 3 months. Out of the blue today, one pretty much disintegrated. I mean chair seat detached, leg broke off, another leg snapped in half. Waste if money especially considering how hard they were to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Looks GREAT and nice size

11/15/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this about two weeks ago. When we got it there was a piece missing from one of the chair but my husband was able to use a little wood glue and it worked fine. Was a little upset about it though. Other then that all the chairs and table look great and are very durable! They look more expensive then they are so it was totally worth the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Great Value!!!

11/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this set of chairs and the matching table as my first dining set. The chairs arrived in dozens of small pieces, so assembly took quite some time and became a bit frustrating. However, once assembled the chairs look elegant and amazing! The espresso color matches other pieces of "espresso" furniture I had purchased from other stores. The set looks classic and sophisticated. Much nicer than what I was expecting for the price! They do not look cheap at all!! Great set for anyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Great Buy!

03/10/2010
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the Shaker Dining Chair Set with the Matching table. With The price being around $200 I wasn't sure if it was going to look as nice as it did online. It looks great in our dining room and it's way better quality than expected for the price. I'm very happy with my purchase!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Easy assemble

10/09/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thec chairs took the longest to assemble but after u finish the first one its pretty easy. The only downside is the instructions r pictures only.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

PEEERFECT!

08/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, I NEVER review things, but all the reviews on this site made me finally break down and buy this table for so cheap without looking at it, so I am returning the favor.
First, ordered the table and chairs, and both were here within the week.
Assembly, I'm a female college student who can't even name the tiny tools that were provided with the table and chairs to assemble them and I had the table together in 5 minutes (it literally took longer to unpackage the entire thing than put it together) and the chairs the first one took me about 30 minutes because I accidentally had one piece backwards. The other ones I knocked out in about 15 minutes each, and that was with the TV on. Oh and I did this entirely by myself.
Looks, it looks beautiful and is perfect for the small dinning area in my apartment. There are a few spots on the chairs (if you get up REAL close) where the finish isn't PERFECT, but whatever to me it looks AMAZING, and for only $179 (table AND chairs) even better. I was scared it would look too cheap but to my surprise it doesn't. Definitely a step up from IKEA's dining options and surprisingly also WAY cheaper. I might decide in the future the get some cushions for the chairs, but I feel it might make it too grandma, I like the modern simple way it looks just the way it came!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Commerce, Tx
floor to seat
Posted 06/27/2013
Hi,
I'd like to know how many inches it is from the floor to the top of the seat. (where you sit) I'm not getting a clear picture from the dimensions they give.
Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Very nice

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs go better with my table than the chairs that came with it. They bring out my table, and are comfortable to sit in. A bit frustrating to put together, but well worth the money. My family loves them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Too small

11/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok so the matching table it's extremely small, so guess what? So are the chairs. They are nice looking and sturdy but they are small.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

The worst chairs I've ever bought!

10/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These chairs are awful. The directions are extremely unclear/confusing and the quality of the wood is terrible. On top of that, some of the components to the chair had drill holes in the incorrect places. In the directions, you are supposed to screw the bottom of the chair to the legs. I was surprised to find that the drill holes were about six inches off of where you're supposed to screw in the screws. So I had to resort to using wood glue to attach the chair bottom to the base. That didn't hold together at all either.
All in all, extremely disappointed with the chairs that I received. You can't even put them together properly!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Exceptional Value

10/30/2009
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No offense to Walmart, but I wasn't expecting a lot with assemble-yourself furniture. These chairs far exceeded my expectations. While they took a while to assemble, they are sturdy and very nice. Friends were shocked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Great value, troublesome delivery

09/30/2010
By ,
Waltham, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The set looks nice and the chairs are comfortable. Delivery took a long time, table got lost in transit, and arrived about a week after the chairs. Some of the bolts to assemble the chairs were defective. Emails about this problem have remained unanswered, so we have not been able to assemble all chairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
upstateNY
HELP!!! Instructions assembly eeded!
Posted 05/28/2011
My box with the dining chairs did not include the assembly instructions. Can someone post them please?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Missing an entire set of hardware

12/05/2013
By ,
Celebration, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally purchased this set after seeing the same set at a different store for higher. It took me forever to put the chairs together: even Jesus of Nazareth as a carpenter would've had a difficult time with these chairs. At the last chair, I looked into the hardware box and realized there was no more pieces, absolutely none! I contacted the company @replacementparts@buylateral.com 3 days ago and have yet to receive a response, even though they guarantee they will- after reviewing your e-mail concern, respond and get your items out in 2-3 business days. Four days down the road and I still have only three chairs at my "miracle" set table, here I come Home Depot. This is a warning. Though they are beautiful, they are a complete Monet pasted together in a Kindergarden class, looks can be deceiving. DO NOT BUY THESE CHAIRS. BOTTOM LINE.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso
09/08/2011
By ,
Los Angeles. Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a mom with three boys and I needed to replace some fabric made chairs that my boys really destroyed. I need something easy to clean, saw these and thought they would be great for temp. chairs until my boys got old enough to eat and drink food better. Anyway, I was very surprised how great they looked for the price and because it's Walmart. There easy to clean, durable and stylish, better than the pic looks. A little tedious to put together, but nothing a big, strong and patient husband can't do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

ugh

10/07/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Horrible to put together. If you don't mind alot of hard work and sore fingers they are really nice when their done. Instructions were awful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

works if you aren't picky

05/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product arrived 2 days after I ordered it. 3 pieces were damaged (scratches and big color mismatch) and some of the wood was darker than others, so if you are picky about having a uniform color, don't go for this. for my damaged pieces, i emailed the address given to me at in the instruction manual, with a picture of the pieces that were damaged and mis-colored. I gave them the part number as well. I got a reply that same evening, and 2 days later I received the replacement parts.
They gave me extra pegs and washers, so I kept thinking I was missing steps. Chairs were very easy to assemble and are sturdy. Make sure the frame is straight before you nail on the seat; I had to unscrew one of my seats to realign it before nailing. There are no premarkings on the seat to let you know where to nail, but you can easily adjust/center the seat and nail down.
Advisable to get seat cushions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso
01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs are terrible to put together!! Took almost 5 hrs to put together with assistance. The bolts and screws are tough to line up and easily strip if not careful. However.. when the chairs and table are together the piece looks great. Chairs are very sturdy and nice looking overall. Compliments any small space well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Great addition to a rehab counter height table

06/05/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this set to go with my counter height table that I cut down because my husband did not like the tall look. I, on the other hand, did enjoy the high table, but we'd just had twins and my son (three years old at the time) was very clumsy. So I cut the table and found these chairs to match. The only thing I have to do now is get two more as my table seats six.
The chairs were very easy to assemble. The finish is very durable with three children. The sturdiness is okay, you get what you put into it;if you put it together sloppy, it will be sloppy. But as a military mom, we tend to move a lot and being able to simply take the chairs apart and put them back together in less than an hour is great for me. They clean up very easily. I recommend felt pads for the bottom of the chairs if you have hard wood floors like we do. It makes it easier to glide across the floor without applying tension on the chairs or scratches on your floors.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shaker Dining Chairs, Set of 4, Espresso

Attractive & Sturdy

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought these chairs and matching table for my son's new apartment. They are sturdy and attractive. But the assembly was a little tricky, and doubt that 1 person could successfully put them together without help. Caught a sale, so price point was pretty good! Overall, would purchase them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next