Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Techni Mobili Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Techni Mobili Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Add some convenient storage space to your home office with this rolling file cabinet. The lockable design accommodates standard letter-sized folders in the lower file drawer. The filing cabinet is available in gray or wood-grained laminate finishes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%55 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Are we there yet?

11/17/2012
By ,
Lansdowne, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this file cabinet because I wanted something that would fit into a small space and keep my papers organized. This desk fit my needs perfectly. The look of the desk for the price can't be beat. My only complaint is the time it took to put it together. Before you start, make sure you have a couple of hours. If it's a day you're in a hurry, DON'T start, wait until you have the time. It took me a few hours just to put the top drawer together. Plus, it took me approximately 3 days to put the rest of it together because it was such a slow processs. Don't get me wrong, I love the cabinet, just not the length of time it took me to put it together. One other note, you will have to get a "hanging file folder frame" (got mine from staples) to accommodate standard size folders which fit 8 1/2 x 11 inch paper. Get the one that fits 14"-18". A bigger file folder frame will not fit. I didn't realize this until I put the cabinet together. Overall, I am happy with this purchase, but this is just some FYI.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

awesome!

06/24/2009
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i've been looking for a nice sized home office file cabinet for weeks now and I happened to come across this one. I was on the fence but while I was looking into it, someone posted saying how great it was so I decided to get it. I am so happy I did! Not only is it really attractive, but it's solid. The color is a really nice dark grey and I was really impressed with the quality. I usually do not shop at Walmart because of that but I am truly happy with my purchase. On the down side, it can't be found in stores so in the off chance its defective you have to take it back (mine was not and the set comes w all extras pieces). Also, it is truly a pain to put together. It took a combined effort of compitient people (one who builds furniture for a living) almost 3 hours! The whole thing needs to be built, the body too. It all can be done by hand so if you don't have a drill don't worry. One bonus: it has adjustible width file rails for normal or legal size. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Nice matching file cabinet.

04/04/2014
By ,
Jackson, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to pair with a Techni Mobili desk. This was much cheaper than either Amazon or eBay. It was pretty easy to put together, but you'll want an electric screwdriver (not a heavy duty one or you'll damage it) and a soft mallet (not a hammer). Assembly time about 75 minutes. The lock is more decorative than functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

A great product

03/27/2014
By ,
marlette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new file cabinet was easy to put together and it is solid love the glass shelf drawers work great and it rolls around easy even on carpet the key lock wad very easy to install also
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Nice

01/18/2013
By ,
Metairie, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This file cabinet is nice enough to use as a living room sofa end table. I bought 2. The glass makes it modern looking. The charcoal finish is very close to black. I love the extra area under the glass for storage like remote control, portable phone, eyeglasses, etc. The top drawer is pretty deep and can store alot. Bottom file drawer is letter size with supplied letter size hangers. Legal size hangers are not supplied for front to back legal size folders. Legal folders, front to back, may be hard to get the folders out because the drawer does not extend all the way out.
I would have given it 5 stars, but using the predrilled holes, the drawer positions did not come out perfectly straight. You have to tweek the drawer slides to have the drawers line up correctly. The directions for the u shaped hardware that locks the bottom drawer was missing from instuctions.
One cabinet took 3 hrs. without help from anyone. There is a matching desk that you can purchase. Wish it would hold the weight of a flat screen tv and I would buy that too. Other high end merchants carry this table but for more money than Walmart $79 plus tax. It's a great purchase, and I'm very happy after about 2 weeks using it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Perfect

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This file cabinet looks great and is just the perfect size. All of the tools are included in the box including the necessary screw driver and wrench..it did take over an hour to put together but it was just me. I would recommend this to anyone. Looks very nice and definitely a great deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

A good file cabinet

02/15/2011
By ,
Ellsworth, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This file cabinet is perfect for my small work space. It fits under my desk which makes it very accesible while I'm working however it's attractive enough to use as a stand alone piece of furniture. It's very well built. The drawers slide smoothly and the bottom rollers make it easy to move even on carpet. My only complaints are that it took half a day to assemble and the tools that were provided are useless. You really need a power drill/driver to assemble it. Also, even though I followed the assembly instruction exactly, I have not been able to get the lock to work. Overall, it's a very nice file cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Just plain awful...

12/25/2009
By ,
Washington DC area
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This completely came apart and unbolted after everything was assembled! I've assembled many pieces of furniture around the house so I'm quite competent in doing this and I even followed the instructions without any problems, but the quality of the wood was so poor that the sides came undone once finished. I read other reviews where it was mentioned that assembly took quite a long time and I would have to agree....it took me a ridiculous 4 hours (even having assembled many pieces of furniture in the past). The back was very flimsy and the material was not at all durable. The locking mechanism also only worked for the top drawer when it was supposed to work for both drawers. The only pro was that the end product did look great, but since there were far more cons it wasn't worth keeping it. I will be searching for another file cabinet that will suit my needs.
Happy holidays!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Good Buy

02/23/2014
By ,
San Jose, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike some responses I found the instructions verygood. It took me 3.25 hours to assemble. There were a couple small holes that didn't line up directly but you could still put the screw in. There is two rails that you install to hang your folders on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Nightmare!

02/02/2011
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product looks beautiful when finished, however... putting it together was RIDICULOUS! Power tools a MUST!! Also, step one there were no holes drilled to complete the step. Step two the pre-drilled holes were WAY off, and things continued to get worse from here. The bar in the bottom drawer that the hanging file holders are supposed to hang from, one bar is extremely warped and the other won't stay in because they drilled the holes wrong, making this product useless as a file cabinet! Don't waste your time on this file cabinet, physically go to a store and buy a model that is already put together!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Tedious to assemble.Parts don't align.

11/12/2013
By ,
Bradenton Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor illustrations on directions. Parts do not align so with each step alignment problems are increased.
I had to return.
I have put together items before with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Great for printer & filing

12/19/2013
By ,
St-Albans, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serves several purposes..filing cabinet & printer table and place to put blank paper. Sturdy, well put together, easy instructions, just took a bit more time to assemble than initial thought..but worth it. Has a front center castor to prevent cabinet, when drawer is full & open, from tipping over. Good all around laminate & a nice tempered glass top-plate .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Filing Cabinet

02/09/2009
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is much more attractive than a metal file cabinet, and the assembly instructions were very good. The quality of the assembled product isn't as good as I had hoped -- the drawers don't slide very smoothly. It had a flaw in one of the pieces where the pressed wood was split, but it was in a place where I could glue and clamp it, and the assembly wasn't affected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes
04/02/2012
By ,
Sanford Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It matches my glass desk that I bought from Walmart .I like the modern design. Just noticed my desk has the Techni Mobil logo on it. I needed something simple and functional that didn't take up too much space. Keeps my papers organized and a drawer for things that would end up on the desk top. The printer fits perfectly on the glass shelf on top. The finish is a covering over wood but it looks nice and the drawers have a solid wood feel. As far as putting it together it was pretty easy except I made a few mistakes and had to take it apart and put it back together. Also put the roller guides on the wrong way but those were my mistakes. Just be patient, once it's together it's great. I didn't install the locking mechanism so I can't comment on that. Added a picture of my desk and you can see where the printer sets on that stand in the corner. Moving it gave me room for some pictures and other things Both products are a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Great look and packing was exceptional

01/08/2014
By ,
Muskegon, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was packed exceptionally and how it looked really good. The set up was horrible the holes didn't line up and some of the holes were covered by finish paper so very hard to put together. The lock didn't work for me
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

worth the cost

01/01/2014
By ,
High Point, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a bit hard to put together for me, but my son had no problem
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Functional and Nice to Look At

03/28/2011
By ,
Pearland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this file cabinet as both an accent piece in my extra bedroom and to serve as a file cabinet. It locks (if you have it put together correctly). The glass top is raised so it is almost a display shelf with a glass covering which I find very cool. The mottled black color and brushed silver detail is quite classy looking. If you are seeking a ton of file storage this cabinet is NOT for you. It has only one drawer on the bottom that fits standard files but the files in the back are impossible to reach so you can't pack your files in too tightly. It is nice to have the small drawer atop to put a few folders in or perhaps pens, pencils or what have you.
Assembly is TOUGH and time consuming. If you are looking for a hour long or more project then great. The instructions are somewhat detailed but other parts are indiscernible.
The finished product is sturdy (pull out file drawer has a third wheel castor on the bottom) and aesthetically pleasing. It's a bit pricey when compared to the standard metal file cabinets but it's the extras that make the product stand out!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

excellent

12/02/2013
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It cabinet is very nice. and fits well in small spaces. It was shorter than mt computer desk but still looks very nice and easy to access while sitting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Are you kidding me????

05/17/2013
By ,
Tarzana, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Assemble and Impossible are the same words for this beast. The instructions are Horrible and this comes in 1000 pieces... IF you buy this be prepared for a 6 hour assemble, I thought IKEA was bad but THIS tops Ikea! Plus the "prebuilt" holes do not line up and they give you a screwdriver that a 4 year old could use... Obviously NOT a great idea here, take it from me! I am still waiting for the "assembly help" team to call back...
In buying this? I say: JUST SAY NO!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Techni Mobili Rolling File Cabinet with Glass Shelf, Multiple Finishes

Excellent Quality/Great Price

07/01/2011
By ,
Laguna Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to give this file cabinet 5 Stars for quality and ease of assembly.
No problem with assembling this puppy.
As other reviews stated it looks better than expected.
I had a small problem with the locking mechanism at first, (the bottom drawer wouldn't lock), but I was able to 'cure' it by simply lowering the catch at the side of the drawer.
I had another small problem with some drag on the top drawer. The lock fitting on page 4, #23C of the Assembly Instructions was too close to the side of the drawer. I ground off about an eighth of an inch and viola, the drawer opens and closes smoothly.
All in all I'd say this was a good purchase and one you should consider.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next