Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

The Black & Decker Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925 will save you time and money by allowing you to diagnose codes yourself instead of going to a mechanic. This car auto-diagnostic tool provides in-depth access to engine light information online, so it can instantly let you know if it is okay to continue to drive your vehicle. When a problem is fixed, the automotive diagnostic tool turns the check engine light off without you having to visit a mechanic. It stays current with all diagnostic codes. All you need to do is take your unit to a computer to perform in-depth code diagnosis.
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%23 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

B&D OBDII Reader

04/11/2009
By ,
Belleville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are like me and keep your vehicles well beyond the warranty expiration a tool like this can really be handy. There are over 200 causes for a check engine light. Some serious, some spurious, and some in between. It is nice to know which type you are dealing with. I have been looking for something like this for quite a while. Most of the offerings were well over $200. When I saw B&D had this one for under $100 I snapped it up. The only reason I don't give it a 5 star rating is that it gives you no option to look up manufacturer specific codes on line. That would be a perfect addition to this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 2 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Pure Awesomeness

05/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tool is something everyone should have. It does exactly what it is advertised to do. It is one of the best investments I have ever made. I think this tool should be included when you buy a car. So if you have car problems...which everyone does... I think you should have the smart scan in your glove box or trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 3 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Excellent

07/02/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Piece of cake to use, worth every penny. I quit playing the game of taking my car in everytime the light came on years ago when I overheard a GM service manager tell one of his mechanics,"Reset the light and charge him an hour labor. That light is set to go on automatically after the warranty expires." Now I can do it and feel safe thanks to this product because it tells me if the problem is serious or dangerous to drive my vehicle with the check engine light on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Review 4 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

inefficient

12/09/2009
By ,
EG,RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned this item after investigating other simular products. This product only scans a minimum amount of data,others display the OBDII codes and give definitions of exactly what is wrong and scan for CAN which all newer cars have,
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 5 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

good for diagnosing

06/19/2009
By ,
Eureka, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the tool is good, but the infomercial is not like what is shows. Nobody knows the cable type to be use to be connected to computer as what is shown in the box and the video. Their promotion is good and too much that their tech don't know what they are showing the public. I called them and no one knows the answer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 6 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

B & D Car Diagnosis Tool

03/23/2009
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my husband who had previously tried another brand diagnostic tool which didn't work properly. We used the tool to diagnose a problem with our vehicle just days before driving to Florida. We were able to repair the car ourselves, save money and trust our vehicle as we journeyed on our vacation. We would recommend this tool to anyone who repairs and tinkers their own vehicles. It also reinforces and confirms diagnoses done at auto repair shops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925
05/21/2009
By ,
balto md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this scanner does not work on all cars
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-10points
Review 8 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

code scanner

09/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my scanner for about one month and used it twice. It is very easy to use and seems to be pretty accurate. My only complaint is that you have to buy additional software to use it with your computer and they don't tell you that up front. Othr than that 2 thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Great shipment time

07/06/2010
By ,
Pikeville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gift was purchased a few days before Father's Day for my father and arrived with standard shipping 3 days before expected!!
As for the actual product, my dad loved it and said it was great! Would DEFINITELY recommend this and Wal-Mart online!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Great Product

03/23/2009
By ,
Newport News, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plugged it, turned it on in seconds showed me the number for my particular trouble. Went to the enclosed users manual and Bingo found out exactly what was wrong with my car. Can you believe it a product that really works B&D strikes again...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925
06/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it on a 99 Buick And it worked GREAT.Showed the code and was pin point perfect.After repairing the problem,I used the tool to erase the code with no problem encountered,it did what it said it would do.Yes I would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Useful product

02/28/2009
By ,
Towson, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 11 year old scans the codes for me and looks them up. It's that easy! My regular mechanic charges $65 to run a scan, so it almost pays for itself with the first use, not to mention avoiding the hassle taking the car in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Amazing

03/31/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works exactly as advertised. It paid for itself in one use. It is so simple that you can hook it up and reset the check engine light in less than a minute. It is built good and has a 2 year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Black and Decker Smart Scan

03/31/2009
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to have around in case a car panel light goes off. You can find out what codes mean before you go to the mechanic. You can also clear a light in case you have to go through inspection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

good scanner

03/31/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i,ve used 2 times was able to clear the codes easily.when it displayed one of the codes it displayed an 800# to call for explanation when i called the# it was the wrong#
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Exactly what i needed

06/03/2009
By ,
Brewster, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is the perfect gift for any car lover or enthusiest. though you may not use it often, when you do, it comes in handy. it is a perfect tool for the garage
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 17 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925
10/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very easy to use and does everything advertised. I could not be happier with a product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Excellent product

06/05/2009
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use, results display within minutes, very easy to clear codes. Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925

Works great!

08/25/2009
By ,
Ukiah, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'll be pleased with this OBD-II reader.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 20 for Black & Decker - Smart Scan Car Diagnostic Tool Model #AD925
04/03/2009
By ,
Hamlin NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Codes could use a expanded explanation
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next