Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

These Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges are an exceptionally comfortable pair of patio lounges. They fit perfectly near any swimming pool or garden area. Constructed of sturdy steel, and finished with a flagstone powdercoat, these outdoor chaise lounges will last a long time. You can adjust the backrest of the double chaise lounge to suit your comfort needs or let it lay flat. Each Mainstays lounge requires a space of 3 by 7 feet. The height of the chair is less than 40 inches. This chaise lounge furniture is made with polyester fabric and includes a PVC coating that dries quickly. It is also stain-resistant. Assembly is required. See coordinating Sand Dune Collection pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.711 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(277 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
92
3 stars
42
2 stars
19
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation77%210 out of 274reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 77 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
92
3 stars
42
2 stars
19
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Very nice chaise lounges for the price.

12/22/2012
By ,
wnter haven, florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice chaise lounges for the price. We love the color and how sturdy they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Great purchase!

08/14/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this set! They are comfortable loungers, which accommodate a 5'8" female and a 6'4" male! They were EASY to assemble and have been thoroughly enjoyed by us as well as numerous friends this season! The "set" is placed near our waterfront channel patio....see our pictures! We enjoy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Poor design means laying flat is painful

06/26/2014
By ,
Middlefield, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought these mainly because I wanted a chaise that would lay completely flat. Unfortunately, the design used actually raises the "back" portion of the chair about 1.5" above the bottom - making it uncomfortable at best when lay on your back - and virtually impossible to lay "face down".
Otherwise the chairs are decent. I can see that over time the "pinched" design of retaining the fabric is going to result in the fabric tearing away, but for now it's fine. In short - the heavier you are the shorter you should expect these to last (I am 6'3" / 220#)
Assembly was not hard - some of the alignment was a little off, but nothing that wasn't easily overcome with a slight amount of force. I don't foresee the caps and plugs provided staying in place for long as the chair ages, but at least they included. I did not need any tools beyond what was included. I had both chairs together 20 minutes or so.
I'd still recommend them for the price - but it's really sad to see that with just a little more effort in the engineering the design could have been such that the chairs lay COMPLETELY flat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

design flaw

05/27/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
these chairs have a design flaw. when you try to lay them flat, there is a 2 inch step between the seat and the back. the tabs that hold the back should have been welded on the underside of the bar and not the top. You will not be able to lay flat on this chair.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Decent enough for the money

05/29/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Needed to replace two rickety old plastic chaise lounges, and these are fair to good. One of the legs didn't fully attach, as a welded section partially covered the hole that a bolt was supposed to go into (yikes). Also, getting the legs properly attached and aligned so that all feet on each of the legs were flush with the ground is unnecessarily difficult. That said, I'll bust out the drill and fix the partially-covered hole on my own versus dealing with a new leg being sent to me -- which smells like a hassle waiting to be had. Overall, good-looking, clean lines and far better/preferable to chaise lounges that require cushions which get funky and gross over time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Mainstays Chaise Lounge

06/09/2010
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After extensively researching available lounge chairs at local stores and online sites, we found Walmart Online had the superior deal. You know how the product always seems to look better in the picture, well, we were very pleasantly surprised at the quality, the attractive look and the durable feel of the Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges. We found matching Mainstays Sand Dune patio chairs and glass top tables at the store. I would recommend these chairs to anyone looking for a quality product at a reasonable price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Good Value and Comfortable for price

08/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The assembly was not the easiest to do since the holes for the bolts did not meet for one of the legs. My husband had to use his full strength to bend it and then I put in the bolt and tightened it. You definitely need 2 people to assemble and patience. The second chair was much easier to put together. All in all the chairs are comfortable and sturdy although the arms become very hot on an Arizona summer day. For the price they are excellent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Great Buy

08/08/2011
By ,
South Brunswick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was very skeptical when I saw the price. Easy to assemble. Liked it so much I bought 4 more.
I now have on order the Bistro set and two umbrellas.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Great value for the money.

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just picked up and assembled four of these chairs this past weekend. So far so good.
Assembly took a little longer than I thought it would, but everything needed for assembly was in the box... not additional tools needed. While they can easily be put together by one person, assembly goes much quicker with two.
Can't attest to longevity since they are so new, but they are comfortable and seem sturdy enough to last a long time. I have them on un upper deck of a NJ shore home that gets a lot of afternoon sun, combined with salt air. This combination quickly ate through the bungy cord attaching the seat to the frame of the last chairs I had there which cost twice as much as these chairs. So, I will be happy if these last even a couple of seasons.
Color is perfect and blends in with existing tables I have from previous set.
To store them when not at the shore, I brought them into the house and stacked them. Could have easily stacked them right on the deck and covered them to reduce over-exposure to the elements (sun, rain, sea gulls, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Light and easy to move

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at several different types of lounge chairs and considered the all metal style but could see that I would need to also purchase pads for them (added expense). These have a mesh that you can use as is or throw a towel over. They dry quickly not holding any water. They are lightweight enough for moving around and winter storage. I like the adjustable back that makes it easy for laying on your stomach or sitting up for reading. The chairs were not available in my area so I went with the free ship to home option and they arrived ahead of schedule! The only complaint is that one armrest leg on each chair does not meet the ground. It is assembled where all the holes are and it doesn't affect the sitting of the chair, it's just visibly noticeable. This is not something that I complained to the company about since they still sit fine and operate properly. Overall very satisfied with product, I would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

value chairs

06/21/2010
By ,
West Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My chairs were exactly what I expected. Not top of the line outdoor furniture, but well worth the price I paid. Be careful when assembling, do not tighten any screws until you get them all in place. I purchased 2 sets(4 chairs). Of the four, one did not line up as easily as the rest. It was a bit of a pain, but not impossible. I read reviews before I purchased these that stated that the chairs did not actually lay flat. This is because the pivot point of the back of the chair is on top of the main bar of the frame. If you are a "princess and pea" type, this may bother you. I did not find it uncomfortable. I saw similar chairs at other retailers with the same issue. All in all, great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Great value

06/17/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We really are enjoying these chairs. They were very easy to put together and are very comfortable. The only downside is that they do not lay flat - there is about an 1 inch difference when you put the back down. Otherwise for the price and looks you can't go wrong!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

It's a decent set

06/23/2014
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would not buy again. To start, the box it came in was huge and pieces were not wrapped up properly and they came scratched. There are also paint chips on one of the chairs. As far as assembly goes, the holes didn't line up on one of the chairs and it was impossible to get one of the screws in. Also one of the hinge pieces was bent, crooked or not welded correctly which made it very difficult to connect the parts. The other chair was fine and easy to put together. As others mentioned, when fully reclined there is a gap between the seat and back, and back piece is about 2 inches higher than the seat so it's not entirely easy to lay down on your stomach. Overall it's average. Once it was put together it looks ok but if I had the money I would spend a little extra to get a better set. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Outstanding Value

06/30/2012
By ,
Toms River, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The chairs were very easy to assemble (50 y.o. woman assembled on her own). They are very comfortable and look beautiful. Some reviewers erroneously stated that there is a bar that cuts across the lower portion of your back...the bar rotates people! You need to twist it into position so that it adds support to the fabric but doesn't dig into your back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Comfortable Lounge Chairs

07/02/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these lounge chairs! Very easy to put together. Only took my daughter and I about half an hour and it looks great in my backyard! It totally completes my furniture set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Sand Dune Chaise

05/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love these chairs!!! Putting them together was a bit unnerving....I found that 3 of the holes did NOT line up therefore it required me to use a power drill in order to finish the assembly. That being said the only down side was the amount of time involved in assembly. After finally getting done enjoyed sitting down and relaxing. Looking forward to enjoying these for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2
06/06/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These chairs are sturdy and the price is good. We ordered 2 sets. After putting the first set together we returned the other set to our local Walmart. Reason - the first set gave us so much trouble in assembly. The holes did not line up and it took 2 people 2 days to get them put together. Redrilled and forced them together. Manufacturing problem! I would not recommend these to anyone because of our troubles. I read a review before I ordered them where someone had the same problems but I just thought they might have gotten a bad set. Kept the set we put together because it was too difficult to take them apart to put back in the box. So that's my review. I would have paid more for them to ship assembled but that wasn't an option.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Quality chairs for the price but tough to assemble

06/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These chairs are of fantastic quality for the price! They are nice, sturdy metal (no cheap plastic parts) and they look and feel great. They would generally be very easy to assemble but in my case, the holes on the arm assembly didn't line up to the body perfectly so it was very difficult to get that part to come together. I had to put all the screws in about 1/4 of the way and then pull a lot of tension on the arm to be able to make the holes all line up. Without that, it would have been a snap, so I guess it's just luck of the draw. My suggestion is to take both sets of the arm pieces out of the box first and compare them both to the 2 different frames and see which matches the closest. Otherwise, we are very happy with these chairs and it was still worth it for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Very difficult to assemble

06/01/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The lounges arrived on time, in a huge box left at my front door. We had to open the carton there since it was too heavy to move. My husband, who is very handy and has many major construction projects to his credit, had a very hard time with this assembly....much of which had to be done with the lounges upside down, making it impossible to see and line up the screw holes. The Allen wrenches , which were provided, could not clear the legs to make a complete turn and kept coming out of the notches in the screws. Simply put, assembly was miserable. They look fine now and are exactly as pictured. Color is also good, as shown. I just do hope they perform better than the assembly process was. NOTE: I did not see anything in the ad mentioning " assembly required".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Sand Dune Chaise Lounges, Tan, Set of 2

Nice chair

07/21/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 and they seem to be holding up well. Nice to recline on too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next