Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Average Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%161 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

LOVE LOVE LOVE this swing.

03/29/2009
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought it about a week ago but my husband just put it up yesterday. It took about 3 hours more or less to put together but it was well worth it. The price just doesn't compare to others at other stores. You can't beat this price and the swing is very very comfortable to say the least. I love it and can't wait to use it all summer long. My two year old also loves it and almost fell asleep as we rocked him on it. I love that it comes with two pillows as well. I would very much reccomend this swing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

3 seater Patio swing with Canopy

08/22/2009
By ,
Amarillo, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this is a very good bargain. The only thing I don't like about it is the canopy material slides into the poles instead of being velcro'd on the poles to make it easy to take off for cleaning or storing for the winter. I had a hutch built over the swing so I can leave it all together year round and use it on pretty days during the winter time. Check out my photo of it all. My little pug/chihuahua dog loves to swing in the swing too. I have rope lights across the hutch to light up the area when I am swinging. This is an awesome buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Great Outdoor Relaxation!

03/29/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This swing was everything and more I expected it to be. It is solid made with very comfortable seats cushions. I love the canopy and the UV protection is great since I'm a skin cancer surviver and can enjoy being outdoors without worry of sun. The only negative thing about it would be how long and complicated it was to put together. But, the instructions were precise and all the parts were labeled and organized, so my very talented husband was able to tackle the job with my assistance in about 5 hours! Well worth the work!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

I LOVE THIS SWING!!!!

05/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This swing is awesome! It is a cinch to put together especially because all of the parts are labeled! Assembling took two people at times, but the total assembly time was less than 2 hours.
It's very comfy and relaxing, I just love it! I do tuck the pillows behind the cushions when I go in at night just in case it's windy. Don't want them to blow away! :-)
Some very cool features:
the canopy adjusts (perfect for just the right shade)
the bed feature (my kids love this)
very sturdy (look at other swings and they are just held up there with S hooks, this thing is secrurely bolted all the way!) according to the instructions, it will hold over 700 pounds!
one of the best things...when it rained and the cushions got all wet, I was afraid that it would take forever to dry..but it didn't! Ex. it rained all night, and then by morning, it was dry! I don't know how this is possible, and I really don't care...I just love it!!!
This swing is awesome, you'll love it!! Totally worth the $$.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Love it !

06/18/2009
By ,
Martins Ferry, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We shopped around for several different swings before making a purchase. We wanted a solid frame that looked nice and had a higher weight limit. This looks great on our patio and is used alot. It was not easy to put together and the cross-reference chart of nuts and bolts was crazy but once it is done it is worth the work. We had severe storms with high winds and hail last night and it held up great. Make sure to bring in all cushions and pillows before rain though because I was disappointed to find out that the top canopy is not waterproof. The rain poured through the canopy but it dried out fine the next day. I found a zipper up cover on line for this item that I will purchase. We are totally satisfied with this product and would recommend it to our friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Wonderful Swing.... Hard to Assemble

03/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, the swing is BEAUTIFUL. It's very smooth and very comfortable. I love the pillows. Everything is very comfortable. The fabric seems to be pretty water resistant. After a heavy rain storm, the cushions were dry in no time. The only drawback is assembly. It wouldn't be so bad if the pieces were separated. All of the screws and bolts and nuts are in a plastic container and they're "numbered" but you still have to refer to another chart to know what they are. If the pieces came separately in little plastic baggies or something, that would be SO much easier. My husband ended up having to make some of the holes bigger on the smaller washers with his drill to make them work where they were supposed to. There weren't enough of the larger washers and too many of the smaller ones. It took him about 2 hours to put together. It was a pain... but it was definitely worth it! Wonderful product! And I've seen the swing covers at my local Wal-Mart store for $17 and I'm buying one this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Well Designed Swing

05/07/2009
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is well built, sturdy and worth the 178 dollars. You need to follow the assembly instructions carefully. DO NOT take the screws out of the blister pack. Cut and take what is needed for the step you are doing. The assembly instruction refers to a part number which will not match the blister pack. You need to refer to the assembly instruction chart and then pick the part. For example it will say bolt 39, which will be M8*50 in the assembly parts list. You then go to the blister pack and look for M8*50. It is no big deal, but dont take all the parts out of the blister pack.
The instructions goes from step 1 to 18 or so, but each page has step 1 to 5 on the sketch. Again, no big deal but follow that carefully. They have numbered the part and put stickers on the big tubes etc.
The English on the instruction have improved considerably from previous Chinese made products.
It took me 4 days (about 8 hours) to put it together and we just finished. Good luck, great value.
Dave
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

perfect

02/10/2009
By ,
Gibsonton,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we got this yesterday. easy to put together, great to sit outside in the shade while dogs play in the yard, perfect outside at night in front of the firepit, 3 people fit with no problems. GREAT VALUE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 9 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing
02/25/2009
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It only took a couple of hours to assemble the swing. One feature my 10yr old enjoys is the reclining position. He says it feels like a bed outside. We had shopped around a while for a swing that would be comfortable and within our price range. We got exactly that with this product. We would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 10 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

You get what you pay for...

03/08/2009
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When doing the installation, you will go back and forth between the guide (numbers for nuts and bolts) and the box with the nuts and bolts which does not have these numbers but descriptions. Works but it would have been much easier if the numbers were on the box with the nuts and bolts as well.. Some holes were not drilled correctly and where you fasten the canopy, the wholes drilled for the screws were too big. the middle rod for the canpy is made out of two pieces that you need to put together like camping gear and then put a screw through it. That does not fit very well and the middle sacks and does not look very good. resolved it by a lot of tape on the one rod to make then fit more tightly. Besides that, it looks nice and seems to be decently made.
Too bad Walmart did not offer a cover for it, but maybe it is just too early in the season.
Looking at the price paid and the fitting problems, I am not sure if I would buy it again (at least not for $178).
Tom
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Great swing

04/24/2009
By ,
Fort Worth TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several swings in the past and this is the best one of them all, it swings like a glider so the swing has less tilt then swings that pivot from a single point, and the construction is more solid then others. I really like this swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Courtyard yard swing

05/17/2009
By ,
Kenosha, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is not to bad for the price. But beware of there assembly instruction, the way it reads something got lost in the translation from Chinese to English.
The hardware blister pack does not have corresponding numbers or bolt length that would be more than helpful. Some of these bolts are only 3/16" difference in length. So, if you don't want to be putting this thing together and find out your missing the right one or close to it, you can do what I did. I went to the hardware store and bought 3 different lengths of 1/4" bolts and nuts (SAE of course). Oh, yea, there was also the issue of the main upright cross pieces. The assy' didn't even list the center support foot and the one included in the blister pack is an 1/2" short of touch the ground (usless).
I have put a lot of different kits together in my years but this has to be one of the WORST ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS yet.
YOU WILL NEED PATIENCE (lots) for this beauty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Assembly Nightmare

05/17/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to rate this swing as 'poor' so far. It seems to be well made in general but the assmebly is an absolute nightmare. I am mechanically inclined and have assembled everything from gazebos to a variety of furniture. I found the two 'top beam heads' (parts 1 and 2) tubes welded together at the bottom, thus making it impossible to slide them onto the 'rear upright' supports and 'middle upright support' (parts 5 and 8). Believe me, you'll know if you run into that problem as it's not something you will forget quickly. Unfortunately, that is only at Step 3 meaning that I'm out of luck until the manufacturer is back in their office. That leaves me three days to get a replacement part and finish assembly before our garden event. If I ever get to finish the assembly and try the swing, I may upgrade my rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 14 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

wow! LOTS of pieces!

04/17/2009
By ,
Akron,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have admired the swing sets at local stores for some time.....found this set at my local Wal-Mart & ordered it. Came in ONE LARGE box that required 2 MEN to lift in my car!! Not a good sign!
After opening the box, I found Lots and Lots of pieces to put together......the instructions are too small of print so had to get my reading glasses....then found the instructions not as clear as I had hoped.
I do have to say all the support pieces are HEAVY DUTY steel and solid and the connectors (nuts, bolts and washers) are also good quality brass or stainless steel. The cushions are beautiful and the canopy is stitched nicely....I like the fact that the instructions did caution to remove the canopy in high winds so it would not be dameged.
On the scale of putting it together, for me (female) it is a tedious task but worth it. For man who is mechanically handy, it would probably be a piece of cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

the price is right

09/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a 52 yr. old widow who purchased this glider/swing for my patio. I was afraid I would need help to assemble it but I was able to do it by myself. Having a helper would have made it a little easier, though. Took me about 3 hours total.
Complaints: The print on the instruction sheet for the bolts part numbers is so small that it's difficult to read-even with glasses!
Also, there's one step left off of the instructions that, luckily, I caught. (Step 4-shows part #43 in the illustration, but doesn't state it in the instructions)
And the packaging for all of the hardware is extremely difficult to open (hard plastic) and all of the parts tend to mix together. Separate packing would have been easier.
All in all, if I can do it just about anyone should!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Great Swing!

06/08/2009
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great swing. It took my husband and I about 90 minutes to put it together (maybe less than that). The directions are complete, although the print is VERY small and many of the part numbers are difficult to read (mainly the bolts and nuts etc; all of the metal structural parts are clearly labeled). The swing has a lot of extras- 2 pillows, arm pads, folds down to lay flat, and nice cushions, which are 3 separate seat cushions. Having 3 separate cushions will make it much easier to replace them when they wear. Our old 2 seat swing wore quickly in the cushion and the canopy and it was impossible to find the right size cushion for the seat (and impossible to find a replacement canopy for the top). And it is long enough for someone of my height (5'4") to stretch out completely!
I chose the cheapest shipping, which was still over $20, and it was supposed to arrive in 10 days. To my surprise, it arrived ONE day after I got the shipping notice! Not sure if that is because we live in the Los Angeles area, but I am really glad I didn't pay for expedited shipping!
Overall, this swing can't be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

swing review

06/03/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing, given its excellent reviews. My 6 yr. old twins and I sat on it at the store several times, and were so excited about it we had to get one. So we got it, and I decided I would put it together myself. The last time my husband and I put together something like this, we almost had to go to counseling. So anyway, I feel pretty stupid because I can't understand how all of these people who reviewed the chair put it together in two hours. I think it must have taken me, um, maybe 8? The directions are very frustrating, and all of the bolts have these horrible numbers like M6-5678048475, and if you accidentally use bolt M5-23626362636 instead of M5-675845347, the whole thing is, well not going to happen. I did it though, my husband had to tighten everything since my hands were so blistered and sore from the bolt/nut thing. And I only almost started to cry twice. But my whole family can now sit on the chair. And it is really comfortable. So I would definitely say buy it, but maybe the nice people at Walmart can build it for you. And I believe the plastic washers and screws are not labeled correctly. But I don't care anymore, but that almost gave me a nervous breakdown.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

You'll Love It!

09/15/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting a patio swing for a very long time, but all the ones I looked at were either too expensive or not of good quality. To my SURPRISE I saw this at the store I COULD NOT believe the price and the quality was so much better then most :) The weight limit is 700 lbs which is nice...the cushions are plush and it even came with two pretty pillows...I love my swing and it looks just like the picture :) If you're looking for a nice quality swing for a great price this is it!!! Oh and it took my husband and my brother two hours to build...not too bad :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Guardian Angel helped me find this

04/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't tell you how many websites I went to and how long I researched porch swings. Anything I liked was out of my finance catagory plus they were all 2 seaters.
Then tonight I went to WalMart late at night. Eleven o'clock actually for groceries. Well I was so tired but I thought, ok..I'll walk to the Garden Dept. to see what they may have. Once I sat in it I said this is the one! I don't care how long it takes to put together, This is first quality and design at a price that is very affordable for all you get.
I read all the reviews here and it was good because there are alot of suggestions on how to assemble without getting frustrated. Number bags/screws etc and make it a fun project. The end will be worth it. I just know my Guardian Angel led me there, and...the gentlemen that helped me tonight were angels also. I'm happy :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Mainstays Sand Dune 3-Seater Swing

Looks great but...

05/30/2009
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The swing looks great and took a few hours to put together. After one week outside, it is rusting. It is in the open without covering and it did rain on it once but that should not happen after one week. The canopy already has the rust stains running down the fabric. If you are planning on putting this in the yard, don't waste your $. It needs to go in a screened area or under cover. This should be stated clearly in the description. I'm very sad about this purchase. It was my Mother's Day Gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next