Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yard Machines Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Yard Machines Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

The Yard Machines 22-inch 179cc Two Stage Gas Snow Blower is equipped with a 179cc Powermore 4-cycle engine meant to clear light to moderate snowfall on smaller driveways, sidewalks, and patios. The gas engine provides just enough power, performance and durability without the need of mixing gas with oil. This two-stage snow blower first breaks snow and blows it to the discharge chute. It is a self-propelled machine with one single speed. The 180 degree chute rotation adjusts quickly and also resists clogging. The Yard Machines snow blower features snow hog tires for smoother traction and enhanced gripping. The ergonomically designed, easy-to-hold handle makes this Yard Machines 22-inch 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow blower easy to operate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation63%17 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Over 20 yrs and still going strong!

11/27/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had to write a review for this snowblower after reading the bad reviews people have left. I have owned this same exact snowblower that I purchased from Walmart in 1992..yes 1992! That is 21 years. I want to also state that I live in upstate New York where we average 100+ inches of snow per winter and I love this snowblower. It has never failed us. In 20 yrs all we have had to do is replace a spark plug every few years and after maybe 15 yrs and 100s of uses the pull string. I would recommend this too anyone and would buy another one in a heart beat. So judge for yourself not by these bad reviews...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Beware the Oil!

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this snow thrower and used it once today. This is a little workhorse, even tackling 3' snow drifts, patiently. Doesn't like small chunks off ice but throws them anyway. Easy to start and run! Drive is sufficient and chute really throws snow! Walked it into snow covered dirt and acorns and it didn't slow it a bit. Easy to assemble out of box -however- beware engine oil issue!
I read manuals, and checked the engine dipstick before starting. No oil was apparent on the dipstick so I added way too much oil! Tried to,start the engine And it seized up on me in seconds. Why? Way too much oil. The engine oil MTD Puts in at the factory is crystal clear! You can't see it on the dipstick!! Run your finger down and feel if it is oily. If so, add only a tiny tiny bit at a time until oil is at H mark. DO NOT overfill. Do NOT overfill! If you do overfill, drain the oil and refill to proper level and clean spark plug and blower will start after a few pulls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Major Issues

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this snow blower in 2008. It worked great for a few years and then I thought the sheer pins broke as the auger wasn't going. Come to find out the pins are all there, belt is fine, but the gear box was destroyed. I had a local small engine repairman fix it and showed me the vinyl gears that were contained inside. I was surprised to find out they were not metal. About a year later the plastic receiver for the cables busted and would require a complete replacement of the auger cable as the little unit is fixed to the cable. Then as of the other night during a huge winter blizzard, all of a sudden the wheels stopped spinning. Again thinking it was the belt or a cable, it turned out to be the gear box for the drive. At this point I give up and purchased a more solid unit. Hopefully this one will last and doesn't contain plastic/vinyl parts.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Starts 1st Time, Every Time - Highly Recommended

02/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was painless! Home delivery occurred by a polite young driver who was waiting for me at the garage door.
Un-boxing was easy and fast. The "assembly" was also easy and fast - it really is pre-assembled with only the handle extension requiring placement.
I checked the oil level - OK.
Added fuel to the gas tank.
I read the directions - again.
Following the directions regarding choke, prime and pull - the machine came to live on the FIRST PULL!
I am very impressed and will recommend this machine to others.
In Chicago, I thought that my purchase would deflect all SNOW to the Northeast (Boston, etc.).
But, snow is predicted for tonite! I am looking forward to the fun!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Not a bad machine for the price but consider other

02/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this snow blower in 2013 for $588 including the tax. I've used it in different conditions and I would rate it as average. It handles the light dry snow easily up to 12". It does have problems handling any wet snow and the chute has clogs up easily in those slushy conditions. If I had to purchase again I would spend a little more and get more horse power.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Good snow blower

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is just the right size for the side walks and is very easy to handle and has lots of power and easy to start very good snow blower now I will have a fun winter thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Give it a chance, it won't disappoint!

12/15/2013
By ,
Northern IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting? My only problem with this is I didn't buy it five years ago. I went to store to purchase single stage( I didn't want to spend 500-600 ) we got 7-8 inches yesterday and this was last one at store. Not wanting to shovel, bought this. Right out of truck filled with gas, pushed primer 4 or 5 times, started on first pull. WHAT? Plowing down driveway, not throwing snow very far like other review said, tip chute up a bit. Throws snow easily 25-30 feet across my yard. If you need more power than this, you need a 4x4 with a plow. Only downside is it's over $500. - Told my wife I'm actually looking forward to getting more snow!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Not for New England.

01/12/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well on light snow. Constantly jamming with wet snow. Not enough power to throw snow far enough. On heavy snow from plows at end of driveway needs to be manually pushed. The single speed drive does not have enough power to get through the pile. Can only attack the pile by cutting into it a few inches at a time instead of the entire 22" cut. Starts easily. Doesn't use a lot of gas. Transmission slipping after two seasons. Repair costs almost as much as new one. For heavy New England snows this just doesn't make the grade.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

snow bound

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to easily put the few parts together and it started on the first pull. Living in the UP of Michigan is beautiful but we do get a lot of snow. Given the money I spent it has proven to be able to get my job done. Before this machine I had a small electric snow blower and it is still useful for the steps and deck but it just did not handle the ice and snow the way this machine does.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Love it!!

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been the best purchase I've made this year! This little machine has tons of snowblowing power. Easy to use right out of the box. For a 5'2" petite female, this was important. Love it!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Don't Buy

02/06/2010
By ,
Danielson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This snow blower was junk right from the beginning. In the first year i used it once then the pull string seized up and wouldn't start back up. 2nd year used it 3 times on the forth time went to use it and it wouldn't start at all. I took it to the repair shop for the 3rd time in 2 years and the shop said the piston was shot. All i can say is i got a lemon !!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Gets the job done

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own one for five years....purchased this for a gift for my daughter....reliable, easy start, and gets the job done.... Highly recommended !!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

So far so good

01/01/2010
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Haven't had a chance to use it for a heavy snowfall yet, but cleared basic snow well after a 3-4 inch fall. Doesn't handle ice/slush well, but that's not unexpected. The chute is a little flimsy - concerned that it will break in a short period of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Great for our needs

03/07/2014
By ,
Charles Town, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this before the last storm that hit our area. We have an electric snow blower that did well with 20" of snow, but it took a long time to clear the driveway. This time we had 10" and this machine cut through it like a hot knife through butter. It performed as we expected and were very satisfied with it. The only thing I would change is to add a reverse speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Worked so far

01/31/2011
By ,
Gaithersburg, Maryland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Used it in the first snow (1/26/11) and it worked OK. We had a heavy wet snow and the Yard Machine didn't seem to have enough power to throw the snow very far so it had the move the same snow several times. The only bad thing I found was that the second stag blades are made of platic so they where nicked when it picked up an accational rock. However, it was easy to start, and easy to use and it moved 11 inches of wet snow pretty well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

Lasted three weeks before breaking down

02/03/2014
By ,
Galesburg, Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased 1-9-2014 and put it to immediate use clearing my driveway and sidewalk. Started fine and did a good job for as long as it lasted. Worked great four times but halfway through the fifth snowfall in three weeks the blades and auger stopped turning. Checked the four shear pins but they were intact. I suspect an internal belt or something broke so I returned it on 1-29-14, 20 days after purchase.
Our driveway and sidewalks are normal paved surfaces, nothing a normal snowblower shouldn't be able to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

life saver

02/04/2010
By ,
Culpeper,Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My hisband and I have used this snow blower for our business twice this year. It was a really big help. It did not do so well in the slush , but I have not yet seen the first one that does do well in the slush. It is a real back saver. You wont regret buying it. ( It really paid for itself in just two driveways)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

stopped running

12/21/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ran for 2 minutes and then stopped
defeated the purpose of on line ordering and delivery as i had to load it in my car and take it back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower

great snowblower for convenience

01/20/2014
By ,
Pana, Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this yardman snowblower is priced reasonable and is easy to use and received it in a few days. highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Snow Blower
10/21/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this at the end of the year, but I did get to use it in Ohio's winter weather a few times. Performed better than I thought it would. Went through 1.5" drifts with ease. 10" of snow was nothing for it. This was a wet snow. Does the chute need to be cleared out? Yes, but not too much that makes the blower not perform, or annoying. Starts easy. Can't comment to much how long the blower will last, but I didn't buy it for commercial usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next