Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yard Machines Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Yard Machines Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

The Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two Stage Gas Snow Blower is equipped with a 179cc 4-cycle engine meant to clear light to moderate snowfall on smaller driveways, sidewalks, and patios. The gas engine provides just enough power, performance and durability without the need of mixing gas with oil. This two stage snow thrower first breaks snow and blows it to the discharge chute. It is a self-propelled machine with one single speed. The 180 degree chute rotation adjusts quickly and also resists clogging. The Yard Machines snow blower features snow hog tires for smoother traction and enhanced gripping. The ergonomically designed, easy-to-hold handle makes this Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two Stage Gas Snow Blower easy to operate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation61%11 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Over 20 yrs and still going strong!

11/27/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had to write a review for this snowblower after reading the bad reviews people have left. I have owned this same exact snowblower that I purchased from Walmart in 1992..yes 1992! That is 21 years. I want to also state that I live in upstate New York where we average 100+ inches of snow per winter and I love this snowblower. It has never failed us. In 20 yrs all we have had to do is replace a spark plug every few years and after maybe 15 yrs and 100s of uses the pull string. I would recommend this too anyone and would buy another one in a heart beat. So judge for yourself not by these bad reviews...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Give it a chance, it won't disappoint!

12/15/2013
By ,
Northern IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting? My only problem with this is I didn't buy it five years ago. I went to store to purchase single stage( I didn't want to spend 500-600 ) we got 7-8 inches yesterday and this was last one at store. Not wanting to shovel, bought this. Right out of truck filled with gas, pushed primer 4 or 5 times, started on first pull. WHAT? Plowing down driveway, not throwing snow very far like other review said, tip chute up a bit. Throws snow easily 25-30 feet across my yard. If you need more power than this, you need a 4x4 with a plow. Only downside is it's over $500. - Told my wife I'm actually looking forward to getting more snow!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Not for New England.

01/12/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well on light snow. Constantly jamming with wet snow. Not enough power to throw snow far enough. On heavy snow from plows at end of driveway needs to be manually pushed. The single speed drive does not have enough power to get through the pile. Can only attack the pile by cutting into it a few inches at a time instead of the entire 22" cut. Starts easily. Doesn't use a lot of gas. Transmission slipping after two seasons. Repair costs almost as much as new one. For heavy New England snows this just doesn't make the grade.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Don't Buy

02/06/2010
By ,
Danielson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This snow blower was junk right from the beginning. In the first year i used it once then the pull string seized up and wouldn't start back up. 2nd year used it 3 times on the forth time went to use it and it wouldn't start at all. I took it to the repair shop for the 3rd time in 2 years and the shop said the piston was shot. All i can say is i got a lemon !!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

So far so good

01/01/2010
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Haven't had a chance to use it for a heavy snowfall yet, but cleared basic snow well after a 3-4 inch fall. Doesn't handle ice/slush well, but that's not unexpected. The chute is a little flimsy - concerned that it will break in a short period of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Lasted three weeks before breaking down

02/03/2014
By ,
Galesburg, Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased 1-9-2014 and put it to immediate use clearing my driveway and sidewalk. Started fine and did a good job for as long as it lasted. Worked great four times but halfway through the fifth snowfall in three weeks the blades and auger stopped turning. Checked the four shear pins but they were intact. I suspect an internal belt or something broke so I returned it on 1-29-14, 20 days after purchase.
Our driveway and sidewalks are normal paved surfaces, nothing a normal snowblower shouldn't be able to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Worked so far

01/31/2011
By ,
Gaithersburg, Maryland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Used it in the first snow (1/26/11) and it worked OK. We had a heavy wet snow and the Yard Machine didn't seem to have enough power to throw the snow very far so it had the move the same snow several times. The only bad thing I found was that the second stag blades are made of platic so they where nicked when it picked up an accational rock. However, it was easy to start, and easy to use and it moved 11 inches of wet snow pretty well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

life saver

02/04/2010
By ,
Culpeper,Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My hisband and I have used this snow blower for our business twice this year. It was a really big help. It did not do so well in the slush , but I have not yet seen the first one that does do well in the slush. It is a real back saver. You wont regret buying it. ( It really paid for itself in just two driveways)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

great snowblower for convenience

01/20/2014
By ,
Pana, Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this yardman snowblower is priced reasonable and is easy to use and received it in a few days. highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Have had mine 18 years and love it

01/04/2014
By ,
st louis mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not certain about the poor reviews , I can tell you this after 18 years I have changed the oil 1 time and broken 2 sheer pins hitting newspapers that were buried , plus gas used .. total expense. I would not give this up unless I move to Florida or Arizona .
It does not do well in the super wet slushy snow but will easily handle a normal 6-12 in snow with no issues . if someone stole it I would buy the Exact same .. dont need elect start
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
10/21/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this at the end of the year, but I did get to use it in Ohio's winter weather a few times. Performed better than I thought it would. Went through 1.5" drifts with ease. 10" of snow was nothing for it. This was a wet snow. Does the chute need to be cleared out? Yes, but not too much that makes the blower not perform, or annoying. Starts easy. Can't comment to much how long the blower will last, but I didn't buy it for commercial usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Great for our needs

03/07/2014
By ,
Charles Town, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this before the last storm that hit our area. We have an electric snow blower that did well with 20" of snow, but it took a long time to clear the driveway. This time we had 10" and this machine cut through it like a hot knife through butter. It performed as we expected and were very satisfied with it. The only thing I would change is to add a reverse speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

stopped running

12/21/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ran for 2 minutes and then stopped
defeated the purpose of on line ordering and delivery as i had to load it in my car and take it back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Snow shovel

12/06/2010
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to try this out after our first snowfall. I was very dissapointed. It did not throw snow very far at all maybe 2-3 feet. It was as if the auger could not push the snow into the thrower. It would just pile up infront of the auger as it pushed the snow out of the way. I wasn't trying to move very much snow either maybe 4 inches. It does come with a handy little plastic stick but that was about the only thing usefull on it. I took it back to the store they were very nice about returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
12/30/2012
By ,
Chardon,Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this thrower 2 yrs ago it soaked in oil and was told nothing could be done . Cute does clog often. Just now went to start it for 5th time in 2 yrs and pull cord broke. Does not start easily either.
It is a lemon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Will not start

03/12/2014
By ,
Duncansville,Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Went to start this and nothing. Upon further review I found out the primer hose has a hole in it. Called Yard Machine and they said they will send me another hose to install. Why should I have to do this?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Pretty good

01/06/2014
By ,
Indianapolis
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had no problems with this blower during the four seasons of use. My only complaint is the self-propel could move at a quicker pace. My suggestion for Yard Machine is to upgrade this machine to multiple self-propel speeds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Yard Machines 22" 179cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5