Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ooma Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ooma Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Smart and stylish, the Ooma system partners with your high-speed Internet and your home phones to give you free phone service and exceptionally low international rates. Your one-time purchase eliminates monthly bills for U.S. calling. You'll also get the bundled features at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%45 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Highly endorse this product

08/04/2009
By ,
Northwest Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about how this would perform. I tried MagicJack and the quality was poor and they had no phone numbers in my area. I know some people who've tried Vonage and not only was the sound quality poor and delayed, to pay $25 per month on top of my DSL charges defeats the reason for switching to an Internet phone. With Ooma, DSL or other high speed Internet service is all you pay for after initial purchase. I call people and neither they, nor I, can tell I'm not talking on a regular phone line.
You do have to be careful how you handle getting your phone number moved over to the Ooma service. If your phone number and DSL are on the same billing you need to separate the services before getting your number transferred. They explain everything on Ooma's website.
The only downfall is if you have a power outage. I plan on getting a battery backup system to plug the Ooma and my modem into. Should keep it up and running much longer than if the entire computer were running off of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Stop being so scared to try something new

12/08/2008
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am that guy down the street that is always trying to cut costs everywhere I can. From lowering the thermostat to getting rid of cable, I love to try and find little ways to save money.
-
Well, the Ooma is one of the few devices that you can buy where you will save money and not sacrifice service or quality.
-
The device lives up to it's promise. It simply gives you high quality phone service that is free after you buy the equipment.
-
Nevertheless, everything has it's pro's and con's.
-
------
PROS
-------
* Unlimited Calling in U.S, Caller ID, Voice Mail
* Very Easy to Set Up
* Very durable and well made equipment
* Decent customer support
* The idea appeared well thought out from the service to the product. Everything seems tight and solid.
* Very cool "Ooma Scout" device that comes packaged. It turns your unused in home phone wiring into a data network (similair to the way DSL works) to communicate with your Voicemail, phone lines, etc. Very neat and clever idea.
* Device will pay for itself within about 6-9 months of a standard phone bill.
-
-------
CONS
-------
* How long will Ooma be around? A $250 set of box's is no good to me if the company goes under.
* I keep asking myself "How does Ooma make money?". That question is cute when we ask it about Google because we know they actually do make money. Ooma on the other hand is a baby and is still running off of it's initial investment dollars. To stay afloat they will need to make cash and currently they have a seriously confusing money making model.
* MagicJack, although not nearly as practical as a home phone (you need PC on while using), is even cheaper for a 5 year period. This just goes to show you that there may be better deals yet to come from different companies.
-
Over the years I have tried many different ways to call people: land-line providers, cable VoIP packages, Vonage VoIP, MagicJack, SkyeIn/SkypeOut, ooVoo and a few others. Ooma's voice and reliability is right up there with the land line providers. Very clear and stable.
-----------
Summary
-----------
Money is tight these days and we all need to explore ways to save money. The Ooma device and service are a good way to start lowering some of your bills.
-
New ideas are not without risk, however. You will have to entrust this company and go through the regular pain of switching phone carriers.
-
I remember being terrified when I made my first jump from land-line to the scarry VoIP land when I switched to Vonage. What if my internet goes out? What if the electricity goes out? What if Vonage fails? What if the box fails? After I got ahold of myself I realized everything was ok: I still had phone service and the world had not ended. In fact, VoIP seems to be just as reliable as land line service. This most recent switch from Vonage to Ooma was much less scary and just saved me some moola. Sometimes you just need to bet on the little guys every so often to get any good deals these days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 3 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Too good - but true

11/25/2008
By ,
Danbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are hesitant to buy this product because it seems too good to be true...don't be. Not only do I not spend any money for my home phone service, but my old phone service provider tried to get me back with them and said if they could not beat my monthly fee they would send me a $25 gas card. When they heard of Ooma they could not believe it. Not only is Ooma saving me money, but it also made me $25 for gas. Awesome...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Good for what it does

07/07/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had Ooma for under a month, and seems to work well. I've had similar VOIP services for the last 3 years. VOIP in general has some considerations and differences from POTS (plain old telephone service) lines. As long as you set your expectations accordingly, then you'll be pleased. Considerations:
If your internet connection goes down, so does your telephone.
If you lose power to your home, unless you have a battery backup (UPS), then you lose the phone (unlike POTS service, where power comes in over the phone line). Sometimes there is "tunnel" echoing, which is a problem native to IP telephony. But overall, it's a good system. Looking forward to seeing how it performs over the long haul.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 5 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Best Telephone Service Around!

06/23/2009
By ,
Burnsville, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ooma is a great telephone system! I hooked it up in just a few minutes and it works fine. I get the distinctive Ooma dial tone and I've made several phone calls with perfect voice clarity. I know that some people have rated Ooma with only 4 stars because they have claimed it takes a long time to port their number, but I can tell you from experience (4 years employed at a telephone company) that your landline telephone provider is partly to blame for this (although they may swear up and down they have nothing to do with it). Since I did not keep my old phone number, I was up and running in just minutes with Ooma. I ordered it sent to Walmart and picked it up without a glitch. I had it a week before even opening the package because I was installing some computer equipment at the time. When I finally opened the box, I was in love! Unless Ooma figures out a way to charge me monthly for some trumped-up service, I'm an Ooma customer for life!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Great product!

06/28/2009
By ,
Highland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product quality and sound quality is excellent. The hardware is 'Apple' quality (heavy, sturdy, attractive). The voice quality is as good as our fiber optic Fios land line phone (the best I've ever heard). I'm used to the bells and whistles from another Voip company, so I opted for the Premiere features. With 3 kids, the 2nd line with the Premiere program is a must. For most, the 'free service' with voice mail and caller ID should suffice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

seems to good to be true

12/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For many years I have paid $40+ a month for a land line--with Uuma that has ended. From the moment you open the box you know you have a quality product. The design, construction, operation, stability is first class. Even the packaging tells you this company has spared no cost when it comes to quality. The voice is as clear as the old land line, and the features exceed the land line's. One thing I absolutely love is you can check messages anywhere in the world if you can get get to the internet. Thats right, Ooma sends you an email that someone has left a message and that it is so many minutes and seconds long. You click on that link and hear the message over your computers speakers. Where this is most helpful is while traveling outside the country. And yes that feature is free. My oldest son has the same system at his home and as of yesterday,12/27/09 my youngest son just bought one also. Easy to hook up and easy to use and I am 65 years old. Wth Verizon's DSL 1.5mps download service and a wirelesss router my wife and I can surf the net and talk on the phone with the same speed as before. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Great Home Phone Service

11/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using the ooma hub for about 6 weeks now. So far it works as advertised.
The sound quality is equal to that of our previous land line (through the cable company).
Installation took about 20 minutes and part of that time was rebooting my PC a couple of times.
We recently completed the process of having our existing phone number ported to ooma and that went really smooth. They emailed me throughout the process with status updates. While I was waiting for the porting process, I was assigned a temporary phone number so I could still be in contact with friends/family.
The only difference I've noticed between ooma and traditional land line is there is a 10-15 second delay once a number is dialed to the time it connects the call and starts ringing.
I would highly recommend this device for anyone looking to save some money each month from a phone bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Great Product

03/22/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are really only three "problems" with this unit. Each will be discussed in turn.
Problem 1: This product originally sold for several hundred dollars. After the company lowered the selling price of the ooma (Yes, ooma is spelled with a small "o") core system, the company's sales went through the roof. This, in turn, meant ooma did not have enough employees to handle its customers' phone calls, and a lot of people complained about this problem. You should note that this problem has been addressed! ooma has recently hired a lot of people, and it is no problem to speak to a live person. (I have had to call twice, and each time my call was answered in less than one minute.) ooma's employees do not have an accent, and they are able to solve any problem within a couple of minutes.
Problem 2: People do not follow ooma's instructions when they set up their units. It is not hard to set up the product, but you must follow the instructions exactly as they are written in the instruction manual. (The one exception is that you can use a sling media box to set up the core unit in a place away from your router or gateway.) There is simply nothing ooma can do to alleviate this problem. Its instruction manual is written in plain English. It also has a lot of pictures for those people who do not want to actually read the twenty-page instruction manual.
Problem 3: It takes a full second after I dial all of the telephone numbers before it will actually place a call. Considering the fact that ooma appears to care very much about its customers, I suspect that this problem will be solved in the future. If it does not, I can live with that minor inconvenience since I do not have a phone bill or pay any of the taxes that my landline phone company used to charge me.
I absolutely love this product. I have even convinced other people to buy it. The sound quality is nothing short of excellent. Every single person who has used my ooma system or spoken to me on my system cannot believe how good of a system it is. You absolutely cannot go wrong with buying this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

OOMA Review

09/19/2009
By ,
Monroe,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been planning on purchasing the ooma system for about a year.I currently have Vonage and was looking for a replacment service.I now have purchased the ooma system and have in it installed.I should not have waited so long to get this system.It is amazing.There are some pro's and cons,however there are more pro's then con's
One of the features that I like is when you sign up for the premier service you can foward/Multi ring calls to your cell phone. Overall its a great product and service.Don't wait get it today and start saving
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Muffled sound

06/25/2009
By ,
Boca Raton, Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was expecting much better quality of sound. I use internet calling via my T-mobile UMA phone. Uma calling has been flawless. Since this product is priority wired to the internet, connected via a wired phone, I expected this to be better. Well, it is not nearly as clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 12 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

ooma is great!!!!!

08/06/2009
By ,
red creek ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was nervous about trying this ooma product out.
but after reviewing other peoples insight, I went ahead to buy one. It arrived fast, ooma customer
support was excellent, easy setup, I was very impressed. I had my current number ported, it took about 2 weeks, I was given a temp number in the meantime. the system works excellent, crystal clear.
I use a 6.0 cordless with this and it's just amazing.
It will pay for itself in just 3 months of my regular landline, and then its savings ahead. the money I would of spent on phone service, I will bank for my daughters college education. I would definately recommend this item, it truly is amazing. the cost up front will scare most people, but it's worth every cent. Im very happy. one thing I should note to someone else, if your power goes out, you will not be able to use the phone, I have my cell as my backup though. the ooma also has many free functions like a built in answering machine, caller id
call waiting, special ringtones for each person you store like my grandma rings to the star spangled banner, plus many more features. these are all free. If you want to join ooma premier, for 99.00 a year you can add even more options. I just cant tell people how great this item is. best of luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Just as described...love it!

08/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been watching the reviews on Ooma for a while. It finally dropped to a price that was too good to pass up ($179). The call quality is great. It will pay for itself in 3 months (no more local or long distance charges...or all of those uncontrollable taxes and fees). Setup was easy. The only thing I wish was different is that a lot of the features I like (blacklists, do not disturb, call screening, voicemail forwarding) are only available with Ooma Premier ($99/year). But, since receiving my Google Voice number, I'm using that number with it's options and forwarding to my Ooma number (which I don't give out...Google # was much easier to remember). Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Pratical and easy to use

02/26/2010
By ,
North Augusta, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall I was very pleased with this product. I am not one to jump in and try something new, however
with the steadily increasing cost of AT&T I'm glad I did. After favorable reviews in Consumer Reports and Clark Howard I deceided to give it a try. I have had the system for just over two months
and have had no problems. It was easy to set up
and I even got rid of AT&T. The only problem occurs
if the power or internet shuts down. Voice quality has been very good. The Hub is well designed and easy to use. I use an expandable cordless handset
and have not needed to use the scout. Hopefully the company will be around awhile. One product I have not regretted purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Problem with telcom - but pleased

07/31/2009
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my AT&T Callvantage (which AT&T is retiring this year) with Ooma. It was pretty easy to set up. But, the phone number I selected was a problem. Not with Ooma but with the telcom supplier of that number. I have to say that the customer service at Ooma was terrific and helpful in trying to resolve the issue. The number then started working with calls, from land lines but not with all of cell phone calls. Rather than continue with this problem, Ooma switched my selected number and have had no problems since. Requesting of porting my existing number was real easy and we are waiting on completion of the change.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Not for everyone

07/08/2009
By ,
St. Paul, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you have a security system or a DVR. You will still need to have a land line installed. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 17 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

OOMA Is A+

12/10/2008
By ,
New Paltz NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Free phone service cannot be beat. The call quality is better than Vonage and it uses less bandwidth at the same time. The device is stylish and fits right in as it looks like an answering machine. Everything is great and I'm saving $350.00 a year because I moved from Vonage. I highly recommend this device to everyone that likes to save money. one recommendation: KEEP your landline and reduce it to local calls only so you can still dial 911 like before switching to VOIP. At $230 it is $20 below MSRP so buy it before the price increases again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Great technology, great product!

08/25/2009
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is truly a great product. Simple to set up and use. At little on the expensive side at first, but pays itself off in 3 - 5 months, depending on your phone bill. Wonderful, clear calls. Was apprehensive about the purchase only because of lack of normal 911 connection, but with e911 and 2 cell phones in the house, I felt secure enough for my family's safety to purchase the product. I highly recommend this to anyone who would has a high speed internet connection and would like to eliminate their regular land-line phone bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Ooma's fantastic!

12/09/2009
By ,
Aiken, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little bit nervous buying this replacement for my telephone service. I was using one of those " triple play " services from our cable provider. Well, Ooma is better than our other service which was, I admit, pretty darned good. But it cost $35 a month. Ooma is free after your purchase. I opted to pay another $99 for a second line, a free port of my existing telephone number, and additional features. I couldn't be happier.
Call quality is better and features are way better. This is almost a no-brainer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Ooma VOIP -Free Home Phone Service with Unlimited US Calling, Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, & Voicemail with No Monthly Fee

Amazing all around phone service

09/15/2009
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using Vonage (another Voice over IP service) for 6 years. I have been very happy with it, and the quality has been good. However at $35 per month, I couldn't help but wonder if Ooma would be comparable.
Ooma outshines Vonage in every category.
Quality is superior (in fact it is the best quality phone service I have ever used or heard), people ask me what kind of phone I'm using because I sound so clear.
Voicemail is great. I can use the Ooma device itself to check messages, I forgot how easy an old answering machine was to use compared to voicemail. I can also check messages through the online site called Ooma Lounge, and unlike vonage, I can play the messages right there, I don't have to download the sound file and they play it, very nice. Plus I can check it through any phone (including my Ooma phone) similar to standard voicemail. Easy, simple, amazing.
Ooma Lounge is quick and easy. Not as cluttered or slow like Vonage, TMobile, AT&T or Verizon. Makes it fast and easy to use, and the Call Logs show the Name right on them, which is very nice.
I've been using Ooma for 3 weeks, and don't have anything to complain about. I've told my friends and family about it, my parents are already using Ooma and they love it also. Which makes calling them crystal clear, they sound as if they are in the same room, not 6 States away!
Non of the Ooma Premier features tempt me, so I am just using the free service, and it is absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend Ooma to anybody, and everybody with High Speed Internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next