Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DeLorme DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

DeLorme DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

The Earthmate GPS PN-20 is a high-sensitivity, bright-color-screen handheld GPS that offers an unrivaled selection of display options. Special options include up-to-date topographic maps, NOAA nautical charts and four types of aerial imagery. The Earthmate GPS PN-20 is WAAS-enabled, waterproof to IPX-7 standards and comes in a rugged, impact-resistant rubberized case. It fits easily in the palm of the hand and weighs just over five ounces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.232 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%60 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Watch Out!

12/31/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a MAC computer user & this product's software / topo maps do not work on a MAC computer unless you add the MS Window's operating system to your computer at a cost of $200! I returned my PN-20 & purchased a Garmin unit!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Fragile

06/22/2009
By ,
Truxton, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent a lot of time doing research for a handheld gps. I have lots of experience with others and I wanted a unit that I could carry with me for geocaching with my son and for in the car for maps. This was one of the only units out there that would accomplish this task and the price was right. No store carries this model so I had to order it online. The unit is rather easy to use but the driving directions are completely off the wall and useless. I have had this item for less than 3 months and I carry it not in my purse, but in a diaper bag that does not get tossed around but stays in my car 90% of the time. The outer screen that makes it water resistant shattered. I could understand if I was camping or threw it, but I kept it in a clean dry bag with diapers and clothes and it still broke. I called the company and for $47 I can mail it to them and get it fixed. It was suppose to come with a 1 yr warranty but since this damage is not normal damage, then it is not covered.
I will never buy a Delorme product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 3 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Poor Product

06/29/2009
By ,
Naples FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult to use..Poor instructions, just a overview no detail. DeLorme web site gives a great overview of marine maps BUT it's it does not come with marine maps.Why?? It comes with a SD card BUT no instructions on how to load or use it. They have a tech support, group no 800 number, BUT they do not provide any info on detail use. My wife & I brought a twin engine boat from the Detroit River to Marco Island, FL in 1991 useing a campass & Loran-c with no problems. that trip would be impossible with the DeLorne PN-20
I returned this product, I'ts useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 4 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Big Dissapointment

06/27/2009
By ,
Miami, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I fish the canals and bays in Miami. I spend a lot of time on Google Earth planning my next outing. I saw the PN-20 would overlay sat photos and I thought this was just what I needed. Well, imagine Google Earth on a screen the size of your thumb. There is no practical application for this product. If you try to ride a bike, or drive a boat while looking at this screen you will get hurt fast. The software (topo 8) was slow and clunky. The directions were pretty poor, there was no flow to the directions. It took me three nights to get the first map on the unit. You actually have to click little squares about the size of a city block and download them onto the unit, FOR EACH TYPE OF MAP. The downloads are very slow, it would take a week to do all the types of maps just for S. Florida. I felt like I got sucked into a really good high school science project. Neat stuff, just not at all usable. I have about 12 hours and a $30.00 non refundable subscription in this. Go buy a Garmin.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

GPS PN-20

07/13/2009
By ,
Washington State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Instruction "manual" is a joke. It assumes you know all about related topics and does not go into proper detail on how to ACTUALLY start using it. Manual looks like it was written by someone who was trying to impress you with vague instructions. It is like a maual teaching you how to drive saying, Start car, press gas pedal, drive. No matter how good it may or not be, you will not learn how to use it unless you have a degree in electronic engineering. Buy a Garman 60X or the like. Much easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 6 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

DeLorme Earthmate GPS

01/07/2009
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas because he is an avid hunter. He was happy when he opened it and saw what it was. He kept trying to use it and figure it out for about a week and all he got was frustrated and mad. I finally decided to send it back because my husband says it was just to complicated to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 7 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Not what i thought it would be

04/29/2009
By ,
Atlanata
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too Slow, way too slooow, should have spent the extra money and purchased pn-40. Also the Topo 7 map is not up to date on address or streets.
Don't waste your money on the MapLibrary $29.95
The SD card reader they send will not read a 8gig SDHC card , it says SDHC on the reader but no go, it will read or write a 1 gig or 2 gig but not a 8 gig card. Purchased a Targus reader at wal-mart works great $14.95.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

downloads extremely complicated

08/11/2009
By ,
maryville,tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owners manua/ instructions are some of the worst I have ever encountered. No logical order. Assumes intimate knowlede of the product straight out of the box. After 16 frustrating hours of trying to select and load maps I boxed it up and returned it. Back to paper map and compassl It would probably been worth the price if it had instructions that could be followed step by step with examples.
I had already returned a Garmin after finding I had to purchase another $100 of maps to get it to work any where close to reasonable mapping. I give up on GPS. Just not worth it for the average person. Cost can not be justified. Just another drawer gaget.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

could be better if DeLorme wasn’t holding back

08/08/2009
By ,
Western US
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This review is written in the context that I have owned 4 handheld GPS’s, I also own a TomTom for the car. I also own and use DeLorme mapping software for a year previously to purchasing the PN-20
I should state that I’m always disappointed when any software directs you to make additional purchases, such as in the Topo software provided with the PN-20. I understand the need for updates in mapping software, however topographical features change very little over time. I expect to be able to pay for a product and use it up front. If this is possible with DeLorme’s Topo software I have yet to find a way to do this, nor do I have any plans to pay any fees into the distant future.
I’ve read other reviews stating how hard it was to load maps into the PN-20 but thought I would have an advantage since I’ve used DeLorme Street Atlas USA 2008 for more then a year and used it to load maps into my Palm. Not so and how disappointing.
My PN-20 came with a set of 4 “Regional Maps” DVD (not to be confused with the “Topo USA” DVD) that where very easy to load onto an 8 gig SD card. I was able to fit 5 large states on the 8-gig card. The definition of “regional maps” is not defined but appears to be more geared to street mapping rather then topo, showing everything from residential streets to the Interstate freeway system. Although this provided turn-by-turn directions in the PN-20, it has not been able to find one address I’ve entered, not one, including my house. The PN-20 is able to provide turn-by-turn directions to “point of interest.” Again, how disappointing.
Oddly – you are not able to load maps into the PN-20 from DeLorme’s Street Atlas USA 2008 (purchased separately by me) and found a statement to this effect in the Street Atlas USA 2008 help section. What’s up with that DeLorme, you should treat your customers better then that, considering the customer that purchased your software above and beyond what was provided in the box of the PN-20. To add salt to the wound – it was through the Street Atlas USA 2008 whereby I first learned of the PN-20. But wait, pass the salt again,,, the maps I loaded into my Palm from Street Atlas USA 2008 are able to find all my addresses, including my house. Wow my Palm can do what the PN-20 can’t, do I dare say it again, how disappointing.
I should say at this point that DeLorme’s Street Atlas USA 2008 and Topo USA are able to import waypoints from other GPS devices and also use those GPS to collect data to run mapping and routing, including from my Magellan Explorist 210. Okay DeLorme, finally – thumbs up.
For the money I like PN-20 unit itself. I would have liked to see a future that could organize waypoints better. Show by symbol would be nice, although there is the ability to show waypoints at a predefined magnification on the map. The ability to save sets of waypoints in separate files seems to be missing.
The PN-20 replaces my Explorist 210, so this is quite a step up for me. It’ll no doubt be a better hiking companion then the 210, but could be better if DeLorme wasn’t holding back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

delorme pn20

11/26/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
too slow for what we need does what it says it will do but returned for the pn30 much quicker awsome product line from delorme
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Frustrating

06/01/2009
By ,
New Mexico
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found the Interface to confusing. Satilite images not of the quality I expected, and not all areas available for download for New Mexico. Sent it back, looking for a more user freindly GPS unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 12 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Works for me

11/10/2009
By ,
Little Rock, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased the delorme PN20 from walmart.com. Outside and with wide-open sky the PN20 would show a track of several hundred yards, wandering up to a half mile while sitting on a wall. I tried it out along the Arkansas river- again wide open area, and the PN20 would lose reception. When it loses
reception, the PN20 seems to assume you are continuing in a straight line at a constant speed. Therefore by the time it re-acquires satellites, it
thinks you are a half-mile away and shows you jumping back to your current location at high speed. It also adds and extra mile to your track by doing
this.
I searched online for other reviews and forums- found several that had the same experience as I did, but more people said that theirs worked ok. Since I had purchased from Walmart, I returned it for refund and then ordered another of the same. This time the PN20 worked as expected.
It works well enough for recording my track but there are large errors in elevation. (I see the similiar errors with other GPS's). It maintains
reception most of the time in our Arkansas forests, but couldn't receive through thick Hawaiian rainforest (puu-ohia to manoa falls), or deep
valleys (Hemmed-in-Hollow on Buffalo National River).
This is the low-end version of their GPS so it can't be compared to the PN40, but low cost was my aim. I already had used the Delorme TopoUSA
and liked that the PN20 comes with the latest TopoUSA and that the maps can be loaded into the PN20. The biggest deficiency for me is that the track storage is limited to 10,000 points. That works fine for one day where I can upload to a laptop and continue, but I couldn't record ten days on the trail at Philmont except with very coarse resolution. I thik it also has other storage limits that I haven't discovered.
I do recommend it as a low-end way to have a hiking GPS with nation-wide topographic maps included.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Review 13 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Great, but complicated

01/20/2009
By ,
Eastern CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great gps once you figure out how to use it. The software is very complicated and you really need to read the manual to figure it out. It took us a full weekend to really get started with it. Now that we know the basics I think its great and would definitely purchase it again. First time you turn it on it takes about a half hour to get a 3-d fix, but once you get it the first time it only takes about a minute every other time, we can even use it for driving, went on a 4 hour trip and got there using it no problem the only thing I didn't like is it doesn't list exit #'s just the name of the road your taking, but it still worked out great. We did receive a flawed sd card and reader but walmart was great about taking care of the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Delorme Earthmate pn20

03/04/2009
By ,
Parker Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i really enjoy the pn20, its a great product and easy to use. although i am not to satisfied with the aerial imagery i downloaded with the $100 gift certificate, used 60 of it recieved the files found out the pictures are from 94-95 and one area is almost 40 miles out of place. needless to say i dont recomend the aerial imagery but everything else is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Works great for Geocaching

04/29/2009
By ,
Tillson, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Selected this product based on price and included software and features. Our primary use is for geocaching. DeLorme seems to be very active in developing products for that hobby. Since purchasing there have been two new firmware (Beta) that have increased the units geocaching support.
When I received the product the included 1GB SD card was defective. It was not a big deal since I have several others. I am sure if someone that did not have extras. It would have been a real problem. since I was not in a rush I emailed DeLormes support and they sent out a replacement with any problems.
After using the GPs for almost a month now I tend to take it with us everywhere we go. This unit is not designed for routing on the road. It can do it and includes all the required maps for the US that I need. But the routing takes very long to perform. And, the audio alerts are so low that you could not really hear them in the car with the radio on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20
04/28/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good features, installation was not intuitive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Best handheld GPS

01/22/2009
By ,
Doniphan, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the DeLorme PN-20 after a lot of shopping and also after purchasing another brand which I was not at all satisfied. Being a bit hesitant I went on and purchased this unit. For the price compared to other units I was very pleased. This GPS unit has done everything I had exected it to do and more. For the price it is a great unit and in my opinion, possibly the best GPS on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Great Value for this GPS

05/04/2009
By ,
Silverton, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DeLorme PN-20 is great for geocaching. This product came with everything you need to get started. It is pretty easy to use, but the instruction manual that comes with it is pretty basic. Go to YouTube and view the video and download the more complete on-line manual from DeLorme website for more detailed instructions. If you have any nerdy tendencies you should be able to figure this GPS out. I wouldn't reccommend using this as a car navigation tool - the screen is too small unless you have a navigator reading it for you. But it is perfect for handheld operations like bicycling, kyacking, fishing, geocaching, hiking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Great Value

01/30/2009
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been shopping for a GPS for over a month and ran across this great deal!! I took the manual out and read it cover to cover before ever unpacking the unit and was able to load my maps and use on day #2. Found my first GeoCache! I did not find this very difficult to use, but maybe reading the manual first helped. You are not going to beat this value, the Topo USA is $99 alone! Plus the SD card and read, it's like getting as GPS for $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

A Good Value

03/16/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although the PN-40 is an improved version of the PN-20, if you do not need the speed and some of the added capabilites, this product is a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next