Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DeLorme DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

DeLorme DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

The Earthmate GPS PN-20 is a high-sensitivity, bright-color-screen handheld GPS that offers an unrivaled selection of display options. Special options include up-to-date topographic maps, NOAA nautical charts and four types of aerial imagery. The Earthmate GPS PN-20 is WAAS-enabled, waterproof to IPX-7 standards and comes in a rugged, impact-resistant rubberized case. It fits easily in the palm of the hand and weighs just over five ounces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.232 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%60 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Frustrating

06/01/2009
By ,
New Mexico
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found the Interface to confusing. Satilite images not of the quality I expected, and not all areas available for download for New Mexico. Sent it back, looking for a more user freindly GPS unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 42 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Great Bargain!

06/02/2009
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for less than 1/2 price from last year. For $10 more I was able to upgrade maps to Topo 8.0. Upgrade mail-in card included. Must buy within 6 month of new release (10 days ago) to get upgrade. Works great. Will never need trail maps again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 43 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Best value for geocaching!

06/03/2009
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the company itself, the Delorme PN-20 has evolved. Unlike many other makes/models, the Delorme team is constantly raising the bar on the performance and features of their devices. Periodically those developments are passed on to the consumer in the way of "firmware" revisions which are easy to download.
I have been using the PN-20 for about 4 months now and absolutely love the performance and custom geocaching features it provides. Besides allowing me to go "paperless", I can use the unit to both "drive" and then "hike" directly to the cache. After finding (or not) the cache I can immediately record my Find or DNF in "Field Notes". After a day of caching those same notes can be accessed directly via the internet and the PN-20 for a quick and accurate recording of the days activities. Too cool!
With the coupons, the 1G SD card, the USB/SD reader,cable, coupons and upgrade coupon (good for 6 months for the latest greatest TOPO maps).... the value cannot be beat!
In the field the PN-20 has never let me down. It is both rugged and weather resistant and performs well under various weather and terrain conditions.
I did add a military grade screen protector (I do go down some mean trails) and I also purchased a generic auto/12v USB power adapter to use while driving, just to save the batteries for the woods.
Thanks to the great programming and constant upgrades from Delorme I am spending way less time on the keyboard and more time on the trails!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 44 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Use it all the time

06/07/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product at a great price. It comes with a card inside you can send in for Topo Maps 8.0 for 9.95 which is S&H. You can also pay $29 for unlimited downloads of specialty maps for one year which is great. All the special maps can transfer over to the GPS Unit. There are only 3 things that could use improvement. First is the redraw speed of the map on the GPS unit (it is fine for me because i use it for hiking not driving). Second is that you can not enter coordinates into GPS unit itself. and third on the back of unit where it connects to cord for computer does not have a cover. Look up unit on youtube to see what i mean. Other then that its a great product with great software
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 45 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Good cheap GPS

06/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried all gps in this price range. DeLorme is easy to use and has the best display. Good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 46 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Fragile

06/22/2009
By ,
Truxton, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent a lot of time doing research for a handheld gps. I have lots of experience with others and I wanted a unit that I could carry with me for geocaching with my son and for in the car for maps. This was one of the only units out there that would accomplish this task and the price was right. No store carries this model so I had to order it online. The unit is rather easy to use but the driving directions are completely off the wall and useless. I have had this item for less than 3 months and I carry it not in my purse, but in a diaper bag that does not get tossed around but stays in my car 90% of the time. The outer screen that makes it water resistant shattered. I could understand if I was camping or threw it, but I kept it in a clean dry bag with diapers and clothes and it still broke. I called the company and for $47 I can mail it to them and get it fixed. It was suppose to come with a 1 yr warranty but since this damage is not normal damage, then it is not covered.
I will never buy a Delorme product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 47 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Works Great for Geocaching

06/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this product for a short time only, I got it
for geocaching only, I did recieve topo 8 maps, and
1GB card and card reader, computer cable. and a
$40 map certificate for onling map downloads. It is a Paperless geocaching. I would recommend this unit to anyone wanting to by at hand held on a budget but wants top of the line features.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 48 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Big Dissapointment

06/27/2009
By ,
Miami, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I fish the canals and bays in Miami. I spend a lot of time on Google Earth planning my next outing. I saw the PN-20 would overlay sat photos and I thought this was just what I needed. Well, imagine Google Earth on a screen the size of your thumb. There is no practical application for this product. If you try to ride a bike, or drive a boat while looking at this screen you will get hurt fast. The software (topo 8) was slow and clunky. The directions were pretty poor, there was no flow to the directions. It took me three nights to get the first map on the unit. You actually have to click little squares about the size of a city block and download them onto the unit, FOR EACH TYPE OF MAP. The downloads are very slow, it would take a week to do all the types of maps just for S. Florida. I felt like I got sucked into a really good high school science project. Neat stuff, just not at all usable. I have about 12 hours and a $30.00 non refundable subscription in this. Go buy a Garmin.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Poor Product

06/29/2009
By ,
Naples FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult to use..Poor instructions, just a overview no detail. DeLorme web site gives a great overview of marine maps BUT it's it does not come with marine maps.Why?? It comes with a SD card BUT no instructions on how to load or use it. They have a tech support, group no 800 number, BUT they do not provide any info on detail use. My wife & I brought a twin engine boat from the Detroit River to Marco Island, FL in 1991 useing a campass & Loran-c with no problems. that trip would be impossible with the DeLorne PN-20
I returned this product, I'ts useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 50 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

very good product for the money

07/05/2009
By ,
New Bethlehem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hunting for a gps that was cheep and would be great for geocatching but did not wish to spend much money. This unit is packed with maps and can do more than I was expecting it to do from measuring property lines and finding bench marks to just taking a road trip it covers all of that and is not hard to use as well. It even gives you the best time to fish or hunt as well it was way more then I was expecting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 51 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Love it!!

07/11/2009
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying a gps unit as we didn't have a lot of money to spend on one but still wanted to get the most out of what we did have. I mainly use this unit for geocaching and it is great! I have just recently started using it to route my way to caches or to get me home when I've gotten lost going to garage sales! I like that the buttons are on the front panel rather than the sides where you hold the unit. The fact that the topo maps come with the unit are a great deal plus I got $140 worth of gift certificates for more maps that I haven't even needed to use yet! My dad is a Garmin user and has spent hours on the phone with customer service for his gps and he says that their topo maps are worthless. I haven't had a single problem with my Delorme and I have been using it daily since the beginning of April.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

GPS PN-20

07/13/2009
By ,
Washington State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Instruction "manual" is a joke. It assumes you know all about related topics and does not go into proper detail on how to ACTUALLY start using it. Manual looks like it was written by someone who was trying to impress you with vague instructions. It is like a maual teaching you how to drive saying, Start car, press gas pedal, drive. No matter how good it may or not be, you will not learn how to use it unless you have a degree in electronic engineering. Buy a Garman 60X or the like. Much easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 53 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Great product

07/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this primarily for geocaching. It is a great value for any use, though! Great product, lots of features at a value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 54 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Delorme GPS handheld

07/26/2009
By ,
Lodi, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very simple but complete handheld GPS unit that performed very well both on the water and on the road. Simple commands and useful add-on maps come with the package making this a complete ready-to-use item from the start.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 55 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Extremely Powerful for the Price

07/31/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this GPS an Excellent rating because if you are expecting more than this for Walmart's price ($147), you probably won't ever be happy.
The GPS comes with Topo U.S. 8.0 which is the newest version of Delorme's topo maps. It gives you pretty detailed maps for the whole of the USA, which is quite a deal, given the price. The software is semi difficult to figure out, especially if you are sending stuff to the GPS, but it is quite powerful. Difficulty of use isn't that bad for me because I enjoy fiddling with things. I would by far rather have all the power than a really easy interface.
I really like the color screen on the device which can be read without back light during the day. The screen handles direct sunlight so well that the back light is really only for insufficient light, the way it should be.
One negative is that the screen updates quite slowly. I'm guessing that the upper models are quite a bit snappier. But again, you didn't pay for the top of the line if you got this.
The GPS itself is very easy to use. But, you have to use the GPS in conjunction with the software to be able to do a lot of things you would like. For example, you can't enter addresses directly into the GPS. That is probably my biggest complaint, but I really didn't get it for addresses or driving anyway. However, if you do find a waypoint for where you want to go (it stores tons of points of interest like restaurants, stores, parks, etc) it calculates a driving route.
If you really want to make a route using an address you can create a waypoint for the address on your computer and send it to the GPS.
Pros:
Great color screen that often requires no backlight to be seen during the day
Very powerful software with GPS
Lots of POI (points of interest) stored on the GPS, helps you find all sorts of things
Great price
Battery life has been good for me
Cons:
Can't enter addresses directly into the GPS
Software is a little difficult
Screen updates slowly/infrequently
Can't give feedback:
I can't speak to the products durability because I have not had it very long
All in all, if you are tight on money, want the most possible features, and don't mind figuring things out a little on your own, this is an excellent buy. Just make sure you know what you are getting it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Review 56 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

could be better if DeLorme wasn’t holding back

08/08/2009
By ,
Western US
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This review is written in the context that I have owned 4 handheld GPS’s, I also own a TomTom for the car. I also own and use DeLorme mapping software for a year previously to purchasing the PN-20
I should state that I’m always disappointed when any software directs you to make additional purchases, such as in the Topo software provided with the PN-20. I understand the need for updates in mapping software, however topographical features change very little over time. I expect to be able to pay for a product and use it up front. If this is possible with DeLorme’s Topo software I have yet to find a way to do this, nor do I have any plans to pay any fees into the distant future.
I’ve read other reviews stating how hard it was to load maps into the PN-20 but thought I would have an advantage since I’ve used DeLorme Street Atlas USA 2008 for more then a year and used it to load maps into my Palm. Not so and how disappointing.
My PN-20 came with a set of 4 “Regional Maps” DVD (not to be confused with the “Topo USA” DVD) that where very easy to load onto an 8 gig SD card. I was able to fit 5 large states on the 8-gig card. The definition of “regional maps” is not defined but appears to be more geared to street mapping rather then topo, showing everything from residential streets to the Interstate freeway system. Although this provided turn-by-turn directions in the PN-20, it has not been able to find one address I’ve entered, not one, including my house. The PN-20 is able to provide turn-by-turn directions to “point of interest.” Again, how disappointing.
Oddly – you are not able to load maps into the PN-20 from DeLorme’s Street Atlas USA 2008 (purchased separately by me) and found a statement to this effect in the Street Atlas USA 2008 help section. What’s up with that DeLorme, you should treat your customers better then that, considering the customer that purchased your software above and beyond what was provided in the box of the PN-20. To add salt to the wound – it was through the Street Atlas USA 2008 whereby I first learned of the PN-20. But wait, pass the salt again,,, the maps I loaded into my Palm from Street Atlas USA 2008 are able to find all my addresses, including my house. Wow my Palm can do what the PN-20 can’t, do I dare say it again, how disappointing.
I should say at this point that DeLorme’s Street Atlas USA 2008 and Topo USA are able to import waypoints from other GPS devices and also use those GPS to collect data to run mapping and routing, including from my Magellan Explorist 210. Okay DeLorme, finally – thumbs up.
For the money I like PN-20 unit itself. I would have liked to see a future that could organize waypoints better. Show by symbol would be nice, although there is the ability to show waypoints at a predefined magnification on the map. The ability to save sets of waypoints in separate files seems to be missing.
The PN-20 replaces my Explorist 210, so this is quite a step up for me. It’ll no doubt be a better hiking companion then the 210, but could be better if DeLorme wasn’t holding back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 57 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

downloads extremely complicated

08/11/2009
By ,
maryville,tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owners manua/ instructions are some of the worst I have ever encountered. No logical order. Assumes intimate knowlede of the product straight out of the box. After 16 frustrating hours of trying to select and load maps I boxed it up and returned it. Back to paper map and compassl It would probably been worth the price if it had instructions that could be followed step by step with examples.
I had already returned a Garmin after finding I had to purchase another $100 of maps to get it to work any where close to reasonable mapping. I give up on GPS. Just not worth it for the average person. Cost can not be justified. Just another drawer gaget.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 58 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

great unit with great maps

08/22/2009
By ,
oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first gps i have owned. I have used many other units but found this one meets my needs. I use it for Geocaching and hunting. The maps that come with the unit are the best I have seen. The capabilities of the unit make it a very good value. This unit has far exceeds my expectations. Far better unit than a comparable priced Garmin. The setup is easy and quick. With in 20 minutes I had topo and street maps loaded and ready to go. I was using the unit geocaching within the first hour and the unit guided me to the cache quickly and easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Great value

08/27/2009
By ,
New Hampshire
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Originally bought the PN-40..had problems with it and returned it. Glad I did the PN-20 does everything I need for geocaching. Don't see the need for the PN-40 now compared to the 20.
Great value for the money. Like the paperless caching, just download the update from delorme.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 60 for DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20

Good GPS but Maps Need Better Instructions

09/01/2009
By ,
Oswego, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item solely for my Geocaching adventures. I was drawn to this model because I had heard very good things about the Delorme brand GPS for Geocaching. Pretty much everyone said good things about it on the Geocaching site. I really wanted the newer PN-40 model which has the electronic compass feature and faster load times, but didn't want to spend twice as much as the PN-20. I decided on the PN-20 but when I received it, I really struggled with the map installation process. I found the map software extremely frustrating, even though it comes "free" with the unit. All other manufacturers provide only a base map and then you have to spend extra money for the topo or other maps. The $150 price was excellent for what you get, but in the end I ended up returning this for a Garmin 60CSx instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
41-60 of 65 total reviews