Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mace Security Mace Wireless Home Security System

Mace Security Mace Wireless Home Security System

Give yourself peace of mind and secure your home from theft and burglary with the Mace Wireless Home Security System. This system is easy to install and can store up to five phone numbers. Advanced motion detectors are a major part of this sophisticated system. The door and window sensors activate the alarm and call your phone and additional emergency contact numbers. The Mace home security system activates when triggered by the opening of a door or window or when there is motion. It is compatible with 14 different wireless accessories and includes a remote control featuring a panic button that also helps in arming and disarming the security system easily. The wireless security system comes with an A/C adapter for continuous power supply under normal circumstances. It also includes a set of batteries that supplies charge in case of a power outage. The main unit features indicator lights for power and low battery levels as well.
Average Customer Rating:
4.255 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation90%87 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
140 Questions | 322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

great product A+++++

09/11/2010
By ,
fort dodge,ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the mace security system about a month ago,I hooked it up in less than an hour.Pretty easy instructions to follow,it comes with one door/window sensor and one motion sensor,and 1 keychain remote,i hooked up the door/window sensor with no problems,i dont have any use for the motion sensor,would have been nice to have 2 door/window sensors,I have bought 2 more door/window sensors since then and they are very easy to sync up with the base unit,the local alarm on the sensor units themselves are not very loud but the main alarm is quite loud.If wanting to buy addtional sensors,i would buy off of wal-mart.com or ebay,do not order directly from the mace website,they charge double if not more than that per sensor.Also,programming is quite simple and if the alarm is activated in can call up to 5 numbers,this option works very quickly,about 30 seconds after alarm i get a call right on my cell phone,pretty nice.I work graveyard and this gives me a piece of mind when my wife and kids are home and i am at work.I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Great system for the price

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The system was easy to set up. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. I had my system set up and ready to test within 30 minutes. Be aware that you do have to have a land phone line for this system to operate. The only thing that could be improved on is the recording speaker. It seems to be low grade. When the system calls your loaded numbers, it plays the message that you recorded. The play back quality is not good and if you didn't know already know what the system is saying, you may not be able to understand it. There is no option to repeat the message. But even with that flaw, I would definitely recommend this product. I had purchased one to see if I would like it. I liked it so much that I purchased another for my daughter.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Does everything it claims to!

12/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product on sale for $79. At that price I was skeptical that it could do what it claims. Set up was easy. Programming was easy. After setting up by following the directions I started testing. The system triggered by the motion detector just how I expected. The door sensor worked perfectly. The alarm is loud enough to scare anybody. The system called my cell phone just as expected. I have tried all the options with the cell phone over and over and everything works just as they claim. I was able to monitor, broadcast, arm, disarm and end the call. I was able to call the system and do all the above also.
The only thing I don't like is the door chime in home mode is too loud to use in the office to let us know there are people around.
I have bragged about this product to different businesses and home owners that I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Everybody should own one

03/23/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Mace Security System is such a great product. It eliminates monthly and maintenance fees that alarm companies charge. Also most alarm companies cannot use the VOIP home phone service but this system works great with Magicjack. Just pay the reasonable annual price for the phone number and really the only thing I have to pay is for the internet service. It's also very easy to add the coverage of the system by programming new motion detectors and window sensors. Now every possible entry point in my place is protected. I had a few false alarms a couple months ago due to a fly that got inside and the system alerted me so I could call the police to check on it. To keep an eye on the inside, I purchased two wireless ip cameras. I haven't had any more alarms, but if it is triggered somehow, I will be able to view inside from any internet connection to see if the police need to go or not. The included remote is also handy. I just press the button to arm the system before I leave or go to sleep and I have peace of mind. The only problem I have is that I used to be able to arm or disarm the system from my cell phone but I'm unable to now. I haven't troubleshooted this yet but I'm sure it can be fixed. My system hardly goes off so this is not really an issue at all. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Awesome!

11/12/2013
By ,
Uniontown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you read all the manuals and experiment with it for a day or so...you will find this system as good or better than any service because they use the same technology and put a name on it and bill you...all you get is a call center, a service contract and installation fees which cost much more than the system...The sensors will pick up small pets but they do provide targeting shields to better aim the sensor at doors and windows...you may have to pretend to be a cat to get the proper target area you need...and they work every time. Before I used the Targeting Shields I set the system to call my Cell when triggered...I was sure the cat would set it off and while at work...I received about 40 calls...so target with the shields and experiment. I have also purchased an 8 channel Swann Security Camera System for perimeter...I am a happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

A product better than expected.

04/09/2009
By ,
Indio, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, good price (lower than the factory), expandable (up to 14 sensors), reliable (tested many times, and no false alarm till now).
For a system of a professional security co., when alarm triggered they'll call you to ask if you are home or need they call the police. The Mace system can call you then you can choose from 1. listen through the phone to hear what's happening; 2. use the phone to warn the intruder with the loud-speaker of the Mace system; 3. or call the police, your neighbor....just the same, no matter you get the information from a security co such as ADT or from a DIY system such as Mace. So if we can do it by ourselves, easy and cheaper, why should we pay monthly charges?
Highly recommend. Have bought extra sensors from Wal Mart to expand the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+228points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Really Wireless or does it connect to a landline?
Posted 06/29/2012
I just received one and it states a landline is required! Now, how is that wireless?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Excellent Product!

08/15/2010
By ,
Lexington,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this system after a door salesmen from APX came and put they're product in our house. The offer was good ($45per mth.), BUT! we had to be roped into a 4 YEAR contact. We had 3 days to decide, and they would refund our money. My wife and I were very uncomfortable with this contract. Then my wife said, can you do it cheaper? I said, give me 4 hours and $100. I purchased the Mace system and and a couple extra sensors, it does almost everything there's did except a back lighted touch screen. No contract, no getting a city permit (which they don't tell you) for the alarm. And I like that I can decide when to call 911 (no charges for false alarms,usually $50 a pop). AND the system they installed, the network people could listen into my house at anytime. That is unsettling and creepy. I love my Mace. Art from KY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Two way voice
Posted 09/22/2012
APX (now Vivint), or any other company that offers two way voice for that matter, cannot listen in whenever they feel like it. When the system is triggered (burglary alarms, tamped alarms, fire alarmS, ETC.) they can listen in and speak to you. However with durress codes and sometimes panic buttons they cannot talk (them talking would give away the fact you used a panic device). They can only listen in if the system has been triggered.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Exceptional Quality

07/25/2013
By ,
Elkton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system is everything it is advertised to be. I am a beginner and not very technical and I did not have much trouble to get it started and working. When I did hit a road block, I called Tech Support and a nice guy, Mick, helped me through the difficulty. My problem was operator error and nothing wrong with the equipment. The motion detector was placed 75 feet behind my house in my shed and it worked perfectly. I also ordered two additional motion detectors to cover the inside of the garage and the dining/living area. Only one key remote was included so I will be ordering a few more. They are so handy and include a panic button. The system called my cell phone in the trial run and I am very pleased with this product. Best of all, no ongoing monthly charges. Thanks for an excellent product and well priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Very good product

11/03/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I was a bit sceptical at first, but after installing the system (5 motion sensors and one door sensor) it works better than I imagined!
The fact it calls me on my telephone first and then the other 4 numbers I programed makes it a plus.
I have a door sensor at least 300 feet from the control panel and it doesn't have any issues.
Improvements would be to have a backlight on the LCD screen, because it's somewhat difficult to see, and on off button on the motion sensors. I simply pull the battery out of my bedroom sensor when I want to turn the system on at night while I'm sleeping.
Would be nice to have two remotes instead of the one they send, but I was impressed by the range of the remote.
I really don't think anyone could go wrong, it's a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Impressed

11/24/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all of the reviews for DIY home security systems, and ended up purchasing this one. It was a very easy setup. A little time consuming, but no stress. I couldn't find anywhere whether this would work if you do not have a landline, as I do not. It will sound a high pitched alarm if armed and a door or window is opened. If in the "home" mode a nice door chime sounds if the door or window is open. A huge plus, because I have a two year old. As I mentioned earlier, I do not have a landline phone, so it will not call anybody if the system is triggered. I am a stay at home mom, and I rarely leave the house, so this works for me. I have peace of mind now at night, when my husband is away on business and don't wake to every little sound, because my alarm didn't sound!!!! If I had one complaint, it isn't as loud as I hoped. It will make your ears ring, but I was hoping for a louder more disorrienting sound. Has a backup battery in case the power goes out. FYI Never let your potential burglar know what kind of alarm you have, I didn't use the "mace" warning window stickers it came with. I ordered ADT ones from ebay as well as 2 yard stakes. 110 Decipals LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Great system! But animals set off motion sensor!

09/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this alarm system about two months ago to keep my teens in the house and their friends out!! Works great - to a point. It seems we have a family of bunnies living under our deck (that is monitored by the motion sensor). These cute bunnies are setting off the sensor in the middle of the night. Maybe 5 times in the last 2 weeks. We have to get these bunnies relocated ASAP and close off their entrance under the deck. Other than this, I do have piece of mind that my kiddos are tucked nicely in their beds! I figure if the bunnies set off the sensor, surely the teens will. (At least the rain doesn't set it off!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Care-giver's and entire family's!! A must have!!

02/14/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a care-giver who takes care of my mother, this Security system is excellent for so many reason's #1. you can have the system Armed when you are not home and if someone brakes in, it will call you cell phone and you call Police or your next door nieghbor, that is cool and no monthly service fee's!! #2 if I am out to do daily task's, it helps keep my mother in who at times has left the place and we almost lost her due to her illness, so wether you have a loved one who has Altimerze? or just is elderly, this is an extra percaution and something good for peace of mind! Grate product!! We have friend's who saw ours and bougt as well.
Modern tech, it's so cool!!
Antonio
Disneyland area!
California
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Love it!!

05/04/2009
By ,
Inland Empire, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was just what I was looking for. The price was great. The product works very well. I was concerned because of my plaster walls whether or not the base unit would "see" all my door alarms. I installed the base and all door and motion sensors on my two story home. It took about two hours and was sooo easy. Programmed the base unit to contact my cell and neighbors phones. Love the key chain remote. Highly recommended to anyone who needs some kind of security at a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Great Home Security System!

09/16/2012
By ,
Binghamton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Security System so far. It was easy to install, easy to set up, & easy to use. I love that it has all the features of a high priced system, without the monthly bill, or hidden fees. You pay for the System & that's it! You can program up to 5 different phone numbers, set a "siren" alarm or set it on "silent", it has a "panic button", & a fair amount of other features. When the alarm calls the numbers programmed, there are 4 different prompts you can use: Monitor Room (listen in from the phone), Broadcast Into Room (be heard on the intercom of the system), End Call, or Disarm System. I also suggest, if you have animals, to install the Motion Detector Sensor(s) high enough that it won't detect the movement of your animals. I have cats, so I installed the Motion Detector Sensor(s) about 4ft high, & haven't had any issues with the cats setting them off.
**The only complaint I have, which is definitely minor, is the LCD display on the unit does not light up. So, seeing it in the dark would probably prove to be difficult.
Other than that, I am BEYOND SATISFIED with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

good and bad

09/24/2010
By ,
Oreogn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buying the thing was easy. Picking it up wasn't. The darn Walmart door alarm kept beeping. Installation was easy. Programming the thing was difficult. Getting it to learn additional sensors was difficult. You have to get creative and go beyond the lousy instructions. The 20 second recording time is NOT enough to get a meaningful message off to police. Now that it's working, it will do the job. The sensors are VERY VERY sensitive to the slightest movement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

I don't like a pig in a poke!

08/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Three problems:
1) What's in the box should be obvious and easly available.
2) I strongly considered buyimg until I got tired of trying to figure out just what I was buying.
3) Don't bother coming back to tell me the info is there. The problem is where!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Great Product

06/06/2010
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I took 2 days to install, because I like to take my time. I could probably install another one in 2 hours. Reading the manual was the hardest part. But once you try all the setup steps it gets easier. As someone else said do not follow the way the instructions says to leave a message on page 2 step two #3, The correct instructions are on page 6 under telephone controls. Someone had asked about hooking up an external alarm. In the control unit are screw tabs for setting up an ext siren. You will probally need some electrical experience to make it work, such as a relay to activate an ext siren, but I am going to give it try later, I am also go to wire a relay that will turn on security lights in my garage and around the perimeter of the house. I am also going to add a video camara that will begin taping when the system is triggered. This will be my own design. The reason for this is because when the cops show up and no one is there they can't do anything unless they have a video. So as you can see I am serious about protecting my home and holding the theives responsible!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

Easy to install and does the job for much less!

01/23/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an incredibly easy to install alarm system at a very low cost. It should save my thousands over the next 3 to 5 years in expensive alarm monitoring cost's alone. I was able to install it myself in less than one hour and believe me my wife can tell ya I am not the handyman type around the house. It was also very easy to program with mine and my wife's cell phone numbers and let me tell you when the alarm goes off, it call's my cell number within 2 seconds, it's that quick!
Overall I am very happy with this system and for the ease and low cost of adding more sensors to the system itself. The ONLY complaint I have is in the design of the main keypad box, the main power cord and the telephone line are plugged in at the top of the box which requires for these two cords to be alittle unsightly by having to run them along the top of the box unlike other alarm systems where the cords come in from the bottom. I know that sounds minor but it is alittle ugly! Other than that you cant go wrong with this system!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

home security

03/03/2011
By ,
St. Joseph, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Alarm does exactly what it says it does. I did have trouble activating it by phone, it was no big deal tho. It comes with a remote that arms or disarms it. I had one incident so far, and the Alarm called my cellphone rite away. I didnt want to add a land line and pay tha extra money a month so I bought a Magic Jack for $20 a year, this Alarm works good with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mace Wireless Home Security System

I recommend it, but, only if you have a LAND LINE

09/24/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recently purchased this product online, after opening the packaging I became disappointed when I noticed on the back; REQUIREMENTS: Land Line with "Tone" Dialing. We no longer have a land line, & prefer it that way, our home computer's are "wireless" & I'm not interested in getting "Magic Jack". The product marketing is deceiving because, 1) it's NOT mentioned in product details, 2) it's NOT on the front of packaging, 3) on the front it reads; "WIRELESS HOME SECURITY SYSTEM, Calls Your Cell Phone" & other details except "LAND LINE REQUIRED". I just checked to make sure I didn't miss that valuable information, it's not there, however, found it when searching the Q & A's. In my opinion that's not where one should find product details. I will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
911
Posted 11/29/2012
Hoping you don't have to dial 911 for an emergency. All cell calls go to Highway Patrol and can take as long as 30 minutes to get help. From advise of ER Personnel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next