Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

This classic three-shelf bookcase provides ample storage space for your books, collectibles and office supplies. Two adjustable shelves let you customize this bookcase to meet your storage needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation59%17 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

you gotta do your homework

04/03/2009
By ,
baltimore,md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK,heres the deal...I thought about buying this bookshelf.I mean come on ,this is walmart,they got the best deals.A bookshelf for $20.What's the catch/ So I read the reviews.They were kind of mixed.So reading the not so favorable ones,I knew now what I was getting into.This is going to be one of those pressboard deals that made china famous.So heres what you got to do...just reinforce the corners with corner brackets,dont pull it around on carpet and dont get it wet.If you do these simple things I guarantee you will have a nice looking bookshelf for just $20.Thanks again walmart.I will be back.........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 2 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

CHEAP AND A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!

09/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because i thought it would go great in an actual bookshelf spot in our home.. I thought the price was great and cheap. YES YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! I assembled this myself and yes, I know how to assemble things. (BEDS, DRESSORS, TABLES, CHAIRS) and the instructions were backwards! I had to take it back apart and then the PLASTIC screws would not come out! It states on the instructions to not use a power tool bc it can ruin the furniture and I didn't. I used a Phillips screwdriver. The plastic screws would not even budge and the silver screws TORE and RIPPED THE WOOD. It looked horrible! I can't believe how easily the wholes would EXPAND AND TEAR! This was a waste of time waiting on YES I asked a store clerk if they had any in stock andshe got it off the truck for me. And a waste of money. I 'm taking it back tomorrow!!! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND EVER BUYING THIS! There's a reason it states ''the easily tear of furniture'' on the instructions for a reason... DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

you get what you pay for.

05/15/2009
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this shelf. it was easy for my bf to put together and looks great in our nursery. we didn't want to spend big bucks on a shelf for a baby's room we would only be putting decorative toys and her board books on.
my bf had this same shelf in his old apartment for years without any problems in his bathroom. he kept small hygene items and towels on it and it worked swell.
don't expect to put heavy items on this shelf or for it to look like you got it at ethan allen. if you have great expectations for a shelf that costs 20 bucks you are the one with an issue, not the product. it is what it is for the right price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 4 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak
05/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before i brought this product. I had my doubts. however i decided to buy anyway. After receiving the product, even though i have seen better in this category, but this product is totally worthy of the price and more. the quality is not as bad as many other said. its sturdy and easy to assemble. I'm a gal, i have no problem put it together myself alone. it's a great addition to the study. really like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Poor, poor, poor

02/07/2009
By ,
Pacific Northwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these Home Trend bookcases expecting them to be like the other 8 Sauder ones I had purchased at my Walmart store last year. However the experience was not the same, and I would never buy another Home Trend product. One of the two bookcases arrived with a tear and dent in the packaging, and consequently one of its sides was broken at that place, plus other areas where there were large chips out of the particle board and laminated covering. The other bookcase had two minor chipped areas, but I used it anyway. The assembly instructions did not make sense, and it took a long time to assemble. Unlike Sauder, Home Trends does not stabilize the unit at all holes and uses flexible plastic connectors. The particle board is very inferior compared to Sauder (coarse, not well-packed, crumbles easily) and when I went to hammer the last connector it just went right through the side. The nails to put the backing on were too thick and caused further chipping, so I used some thinner brads that I had. Wound up with a bookcase that has many chips, a hole in the side, and using my own nails for the backing. The shelves are somewhat thinner than Sauder and because of the poor quality particle board (lighter, coarser, more air spaces) they sag. NEVER buy this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

You get more than what you pay for

10/08/2012
By ,
RGV, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look, if this is the kind of money you're spending on a bookshelf, don't expect it to perform as well as others. That being said: we've got 3 of these in white, and 3 of the taller versions in black. They are (usually) completely filled with books, so they hold a lot of weight. They've held up for 3 years, through one move, in the process of another one, and they show no signs of falling apart. I expected one or two years tops. They aren't the prettiest, but that's not why we bought them. If you're getting something this cheap, don't expect it to be heavy duty without a little help. If you're just gonna display knickknacks, these should work right out of the box. If you're loading them up with books, the shelves will sag after a while, but we remedied that by screwing a 2x4 vertically across the center of the back, and attaching some L-brackets to it underneath each shelf (through the cardboard backing, into the 2x4), so the middle of each shelf has something to rest on. You could also replace the folded cardboard backing with thin plywood or hardboard if you want. We've made some cheap reinforcements for these cheap bookshelves, and they hold up just fine. If that's too much work for you, spend some more money on your shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Garbage

11/21/2012
By ,
Shelby, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never, ever write negative reviews but this bookcase is so bad I just had to do it this time. First of all I'm very experienced at assembling furniture. I've assembled chairs, cabinets, other bookshelves, a table, and an electric fireplace. Some were frustrating but very doable. First of all this is compressed wood. I expected that however when I opened the box one piece was already broken. I determined it wasn't a major piece so I decided to continue to assemble it since the other parts seemed to be okay. First of all, the locks for the bolts don't lock. The pegs won't stay in the holes, and the entire thing wobbles. I finally got fed up with the included hardware and decided to use wood glue and the nails to put it together. You have to use fairly small nails or the wood will split. I think part of the problem is these have been sitting on a shelf somewhere for too long and the compressed wood has gotten so dry it won't hold up to anything larger than a nail like I used. I'm also going to brace the corners to make it more stable. It's not that I'm unable to afford a better bookcase. It's just now become a quest to make this one work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 8 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

terrible

03/19/2009
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this shelf in black, two times... I returned the first one after getting very frustrated trying to put it together with the terrible instructions that come with it. Different pieces (nails, fasteners, or whatever you would call them) broke, kick plate broke, and particleboard chipped like crazy. Not one to give up, I returned it and got another to start over. I got it together quicker, but each time I hammered one side, the other side would come apart. Back and forth... finally after turning the shelf over to get a different angle I saw why that was happening. The particleboard had chipped to the point that whatever I had nailed in had chipped out. What a mess!
Now I am returning this 2nd one and going for the Sauder shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 9 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Worth the price and then some

03/22/2009
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought two of these (in black). We have an infant daughter, so obviously stability was a big issue. I managed to put both together in about 20-30 minutes. There were a few extras as far as hardware goes, so that was great. Obviously, it's not a solid build, like you'd get buying a solid oak bookcase, but this is pretty great for the price. Sharp-looking and able to fit a good portion of our books. I don't know how well a taller bookcase of the same material would be, the ones we've gotten are a little shaky (not this brand, though), but in this short, compact build, it works well. Light enough that I can move it around with little difficulty, but heavy enough that I don't have to worry about our daughter pulling it down on herself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

A Great buy!!!

03/04/2009
By ,
Aliso Viejo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bookcase! I purchased this bookcase for my son's room to keep all his small reading books. It looks great and it's sturdy. It was easy to assemble the instructions are pretty clear. There was one part that was a little tricky to me because I had to angle the screwdriver to screw the sides but after you screw it in the sides are secure. I am going to buy another bookcase in white for my daughter's room. You can't ask for a better price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

good for the price, but don't expect solid oak

05/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this for about a year. Putting it together was ok, but it helps if you've put this kind of thing together before and know how to be careful about splitting the board. I was a bit dissapointed in the ugly cardboard backing that has visible folds in it, but unfortunately it's necessary for stability.
Once carefully together it's not bad. I wouldn't sit on it, but for a temporary fix or something you only need in an out of the way place it'll be fine for a few years.
Just be aware that for less than 20 bucks, it's impressive to get something that stands up! If you want something that will be passed down to your grandchildren and be moved to 10 different houses then be ready to shell out a few hundred bucks at a real furniture store!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Good little bookcase

03/25/2013
By ,
Leesburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My and my husband have owned many of these over the course of 12 years of all sizes. I have had none break on me or fall over (we do secure to wall though). The only issue is it is made of particle board and laminate...not real wood so the shelves would warp under the pressure of heavy books sitting on it for many years. I just bought two for a craft desk I am making out of them and got a nice piece of wood for the top and secured it with brackets (too thin to screw together really without splitting the particle board). Works great with no issues whatsoever. It supports my sewing machine nicely. I will continue to purchase these for our needs as they come up. Good product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Great Value

03/16/2009
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookshelf is a great value. I've had mine for several years now and have moved it several times to different apartments. It has held up very well and is very sturdy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Works for the price

09/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For a 15 dollar bookshelf, this unit is a good purchase as long as you're not planning to load it down with oversized college textbooks. It's not the most stable of bookshelves, and I found the back panel a little annoying because the creases were quite noticeable and it didn't fit entirely over the back of of the unit. I'm pretty sure the stability issues are due in part to both the middle shelves being adjustable, and I ended up making the bottom-most shelf permanent, easy with a few nails and some glue, to make it a bit more stable. Creases between the boards were also glued and a few corner-reinforcing brackets added, but if this is more work than you're looking for it's a good bookshelf just after assembling. I tend to do this with a lot of my furniture, so please don't feel that adjustments like these are absolutely necessary.
The instructions can be a little confusing at first, but as long as you make sure you have all the necessary parts before you start and you don't try to rush through it, this shelf is easy to assemble for one person in a matter of a half hour. Some of the fasteners are a little confusing to figure out, but if you're patient and don't try to force them into submission it's doesn't need to turn into a bigger issue than it is.
I bought the shelf in Alder rather than Oak, since I have a lot of darker wood patterns around my apartment, and with two in my living room and one in my bedroom they're very nice additions and replacements for the plastic shelves I had before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Not durable at all

04/14/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book shelf is trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 16 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Black 3 shelf bookshelf

04/11/2009
By ,
OKC, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son & I put the first bookshelf up okay...the directions were a little hard, but we figured them out. It looks okay, but I wouldn't move it too many times. We went & bought another one, but received no directions with this one, so we can't put it up. This is a problem when buying this kind of furniture. Either you get no directions or parts are missing or broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak
01/08/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bookshelf for my mom for Christmas. She uses it for her 22' flat screen tv and pictures. It looks great in her room with all her pictures and tv. It is a good item for its price. It took no time to put together and wasn't too heavy. She ended up getting another one to put her porcelain dolls on so obviously she was pleased enough to buy another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Flimsy!

03/05/2009
By ,
Marshall, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This practically fell apart as soon as I got it together as the chipboard was so flimsy. I bought this and it cost about $25 at the time; for the current $19 price it might be an okay temporary shelf, but not something permanent, especially in a high-humidity area as the veneer starts bubbling up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

Great starter bookshelf.

11/27/2011
By ,
Jamestown, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bookshelf and put it together myself. Very easy even for a woman to put together. It has worked great for putting books on it. I have moved mine with it being full of books. Held up fine. Still trying to find 4 more of this bookshelves to buy. They are great for the price and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for 3-Shelf Bookcase, Oak

You get what you pay for

06/22/2009
By ,
College Station, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does what I need it to. It holds books. It also takes some time to put together, and is not very sturdy. This is actually the second one I bought because the first one fell apart. It is cheap, and will hold books. But, if you are looking for quality, do not get this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next