Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lasko Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Lasko Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

The Lasko Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812, is an affordable and effective heating solution that takes electric heat to another level. This innovative heater is ingeniously engineered with a heat regulation system that automatically adjusts the heat output as the temperature of the room changes so you can stay comfortable at all times. This Lasko electric heater also offers consistent electric heat output, maintaining an ideal room temperature. Other features include a 360 degree tip-over switch for added safety and an illuminated switch for easy operation even in dark areas. With a space saving, yet sleek design, the automatic heater can be placed anywhere in the home or office. Maintain your comfort level when the temperatures start to drop with this durably made heater. It is ETL-listed so you can be assured of its long-lasting safety, superior performance and exceptional quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
38
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%93 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
38
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Really like

12/13/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this little heater. We have a fairly large living room with high ceilings and it does take the chill off and make it comfortable. And it's not expensive to run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Glad It's Still Available

10/16/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Lasko air-flow heater. The first one, after yeoman duty for four years, has petered out. That is, it still works, but gives out very little air. I have cleaned--what I can--of the vents, but space heaters have a limited lifespan. I am grateful my first Lasko air-flow lasted as long as it did.
I have unfortunately been living in apartments which do not have heat. I live in a cold climate, the winters here are cold. I am completely dependent on space heaters. My first Lasko was used 24 hours a day for four winters. I think I got my money's worth with that first heater. I expect this one, which is the identical model, to last as long.
It shuts itself off if it overheats, like if a blanket should drop on it, which I have done. Yes, really. Great, great safety feature.
I am so happy that Lasko still makes these wonderful heaters. Walmart has them at the best price anywhere online (I have been searching and checking). Walmart sells this Lasko at a very affordable price for a workhorse heater.
I like the way it looks too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Misleading Description

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The heater works well but the online description is a little misleading. I interpreted the description "This innovative heater is ingeniously engineered with a heat regulation system that automatically adjusts the heat output as the temperature of the room changes so you can stay comfortable at all times." to mean the unit had at least the ability to shutoff at a user adjustable temperature. This is not the case, it is always running and only switches from high to low heat at a user settable temperature. Other than my misunderstanding of its temperature control the unit works well.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

it puts out a lot of heat for its size.

11/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heats the floor too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Good quality, solid construction.

10/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This heater initially did not do the job. For the first two days I owned it, it was only lukewarm. However, after that (and the heater was "broken in") it warmed up considerably. I think it may be likely that owners may have to keep the temp on the maximum setting. The construction is all metal, which is a plus. I give this heater four stars only because it could be a bit hotter. It will only really heat a mid-size (maybe 10x11') room.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Excellent Space Heater from Lasko

11/06/2014
By ,
Baltimore MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Lasko model 5812 for about 2 weeks now. It rests very stable on hard surfaces. Has a warm and hot setting. Use the lower setting most times. Unit is mostly made of metal box and seems pretty sturdy. The high setting puts out a lot of hot air, but I only use that setting for short times. For the money, it is a good bargain. Fan makes average sound. I can sleep with it easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Customer

11/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The heater is a good heater for a small area it I have found if I try to heat large areas it will not do more than like kitchen and living room if they are corned off from other rooms. The heater is quite but the fan does run the hole time the heater is on even after the temp is reached the fan runs so this will run up electric bill
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

just what i wanted

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater works perfectly in my second bedroom. It is quiet and warms up a cold room quickly. I don't like to put it on the carpet because the heat blows out the bottom which concerns me. Maybe it's just me being overly cautious. Other than that it is the best little heater I have owned. Including the much more expensive.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

second one

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This company makes great heaters.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Good value for the price

12/06/2008
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I have purchased 4 of these heaters over a period of about two years or so, and three of them are still going strong. One stopped working after the first year. We have found that these heaters heat smaller rooms better than large ones. On really cold days or nights, it's best to turn them on at least an hour before you want to enter the room. I really like the fact that it has an automatic tip over switch. It came in handy when one of our dogs decided to use our living room as a race track. It turned off automatically before the heater hit the ground. After using two of the heaters this past month on medium heat, we noticed that our heating bill increased by about $100. I'm not sure if this is attributable to the wattage use or the fact that it just seems a little colder out this year. Also, the heater in our master bedroom has tripped our circuit and shut itself off on at least two occasions when my husband has increased the temperature from medium to high heat. So I do like the safety features that these heaters have. I also like the fact that you can push the heater out of the way due to its relatively small size. Its portability is really convenient. It's a good value overall, and it has worked better than some of the oil-filled heaters that tend to be more expensive and that take much longer to heat. I am pleased with our purchases overall. It would be nice if it had a timer. If you keep it on overnight with the door shut, the room gets really hot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Awesome

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted, it blows good, not like the cheap fan heater I had before. I was surprised to see it was all metal, not plastic. It is sturdy and hot, I use it to blow heat on myself but it will heat a room as I have used it in the bathroom while bathing my dog and it got very toasty in there. Walmart has byfar the best price, I used ship to store and paid 40 bucks. The dial is ALWAYS turned to its lowest setting as it get very hot when turned up. The only thing I would change is its color, I wish it came with options, I would choose black.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Best money I have ever spent!

09/21/2011
By ,
Upstate / Fingerlakes, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First thing I was GREATLY surprised and pleased by was how fast Walmart and FedEx shipped my order! YAY FOR WALMART! I received my package a full TWO DAYS EARLIER than the earliest expected received date! But now on to the review..
For those of you considering other heaters, DON'T!! This heater is hands down the best money I have ever spent! My fiance and I just moved into a 1000 sq ft trailer on private land that is heated ONLY by fuel oil. Between upstate NY fall and winters, the prices of fuel oil these days, and the fact that trailers are NOTORIOUS for not holding heat; this can be a very expensive bill. We were looking at supplementing with electric heaters to try and cut our bills a bit. We have the small Sunbeam heaters at work so we knew they heated well but ONLY in small spaces, so we were looking at having to buy multiples and spending almost the same amount of money as if we were to heat with fuel oil alone. I stumbled across this heater and decided to take a chance based on others reviews. I've had this heater for just over an hour and already our whole trailer is comfortably toasty! The money I saved on buying this one heater rather than multiple smaller heaters or using only fuel oil was well worth the chance I took. I am absolutely in love!
If you are reading these reviews and wondering if it is worth the chance, TAKE IT! By all means, take it! You won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Good for very small unit

10/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a heater that had a low blower to warm my feet. This is great for that while I am at the talble reading. It will heat up a small room fast, but I don't use it in bedroom because it is noisy for sleeping. It is good if you want a quick heat in a small area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

money well spent

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying a mobil home over the summer ( central air and heat was included ), as cold weather started to get near we found that the heat did not work. Now Christmas is just around the corner. Bought two of these heaters and can't say enough good about them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Excellent heater

12/05/2008
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater almost two years ago, and it works better than two other larger ones we have. It is a powerhouse that keeps going. You'll need to keep the fan area clean, as the top vents pull air in to blow out the bottom vents. I think I had to clean it out once or twice in a year. The larger heaters we have only heat and run for a few minutes and then cut off for what seems like a very long time. On the highest setting, this little heater will run continuously. The only problem I have is that I was stupid and sold the thing at a garage sale. I will be going to purchase another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Heats Very Large Room In 5 Minutes

03/10/2009
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The size of the heater will discourage you. The price of it is exceptional because it goes for double and above at any other retailer. It is easiest to operate. It has a 3 prong plug so be prepared. The on and off switch is the only thing that shuts off the heater; that protective feature if tipped over works proficiently. If that happens in the process of carrying it tilted, position it and leave it be then turn it on and it should operate properly. You can position it against a wall unlike most other heaters that have to have a 3-foot radius of space. The heater adjusts automatically to the temperature in the room, but it is favorable to check and adjust the dial until you hear the click. It has a convenient (built into the body of the heater) handle to carry sufficiently. Keep the grate free from lint and debris using a dry lint-free cloth as preventative maintenance. The flow of the heat/air is located at the bottom so it flows to the floor. The room it is used for is over 17-feet by 21-feet (got tired of measuring) and is not well-insulated and the heater was turned on and dialed to highest and door closed and went downstairs grabbed a juice-box for toddler and returned and the room was uncomfortably warm; dialed down the heater until the click and toasty has been the experience ever since. Michigan on day/night 3 below, the heater does this room well. Continuous running of this heater does not cause any hinderance. My toddler got curious and passed it and said "hot" and never goes near it unlike the other heater. But I do not suggest that you stand in front of the heater even if you can stand the flow of heat. When running, the body of the heater does stay cool to the touch, but always carry it by the handle for safety purposes. Also when on, the noise is quiet and not bothersome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

EXCELLENT GARAGE HEATER

01/22/2009
By ,
Kenner La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one in 2 of 2006 and I bought this second one to assist the other one.
A single one will heat a 10.5 ft. x 25 ft garage that has air leaks to 68 degrees farenheit and maintain that temp as long as the heater is on mid to high level. The outside temp can be 35 or in the 20's and the single heater will keep 68. Two of them if you like the area warmer will definitely do the job.Be careful because temp can get 80 or higher with 2 of these heaters.
If heater fails to turn on try shaking the heater because the tipover does get stuck at times. All in all I highly recommend the Lasko Model 5812 Automatic Air Flow heater
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Warms me up!

02/10/2009
By ,
columbus, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my apartment, it gets very cold in the winter time. It is fairly small, but it really heats it up in no time so I don't think it would have much trouble with a larger space. It is pretty quiet also. I like the fact that once you get comfortable, you can turn the knob down and it will automatically regulate to keep your room at that temperature. All in all, I have really enjoyed it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Very happy I bought it

12/18/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, pretty quiet and is very light to carry from room to room. Glad there is a handle in the back also. One star for Walmart shipping - they didn't bother to put the item in a shipping box for protection and privacy and also the shipping label and invoice were put right on the box the heater came in. Just glad this wasn't supposed to be a Christmas present or I would of had to return it because of the label stuck on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

It just never stops blowing!

03/06/2010
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have given this heater a top rating, but one feature about it, I highly dislike. It never stops running. Although it has a thermostat, it keeps blowing as long as the switch is on. I think the heater quits blowing hot air, and adjusts to a lower temperature; however, it keeps blowing. When a room gets to the desired temperature, I want the heater to stop blowing. It's also pretty noisy. But, it does warm a small area quickly, which I like. The tip-over feature works well -- which is an excellent safety feature. I just wish the noisy thing would shut off when the room reaches the desired temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next