Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lasko Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Lasko Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

The Lasko Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812, is an affordable and effective heating solution that takes electric heat to another level. This innovative heater is ingeniously engineered with a heat regulation system that automatically adjusts the heat output as the temperature of the room changes so you can stay comfortable at all times. This Lasko electric heater also offers consistent electric heat output, maintaining an ideal room temperature. Other features include a 360 degree tip-over switch for added safety and an illuminated switch for easy operation even in dark areas. With a space saving, yet sleek design, the automatic heater can be placed anywhere in the home or office. Maintain your comfort level when the temperatures start to drop with this durably made heater. It is ETL-listed so you can be assured of its long-lasting safety, superior performance and exceptional quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.284 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
35
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%81 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 55 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
35
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Really like

12/13/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this little heater. We have a fairly large living room with high ceilings and it does take the chill off and make it comfortable. And it's not expensive to run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Good value for the price

12/06/2008
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I have purchased 4 of these heaters over a period of about two years or so, and three of them are still going strong. One stopped working after the first year. We have found that these heaters heat smaller rooms better than large ones. On really cold days or nights, it's best to turn them on at least an hour before you want to enter the room. I really like the fact that it has an automatic tip over switch. It came in handy when one of our dogs decided to use our living room as a race track. It turned off automatically before the heater hit the ground. After using two of the heaters this past month on medium heat, we noticed that our heating bill increased by about $100. I'm not sure if this is attributable to the wattage use or the fact that it just seems a little colder out this year. Also, the heater in our master bedroom has tripped our circuit and shut itself off on at least two occasions when my husband has increased the temperature from medium to high heat. So I do like the safety features that these heaters have. I also like the fact that you can push the heater out of the way due to its relatively small size. Its portability is really convenient. It's a good value overall, and it has worked better than some of the oil-filled heaters that tend to be more expensive and that take much longer to heat. I am pleased with our purchases overall. It would be nice if it had a timer. If you keep it on overnight with the door shut, the room gets really hot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Excellent heater

12/05/2008
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater almost two years ago, and it works better than two other larger ones we have. It is a powerhouse that keeps going. You'll need to keep the fan area clean, as the top vents pull air in to blow out the bottom vents. I think I had to clean it out once or twice in a year. The larger heaters we have only heat and run for a few minutes and then cut off for what seems like a very long time. On the highest setting, this little heater will run continuously. The only problem I have is that I was stupid and sold the thing at a garage sale. I will be going to purchase another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Heats Very Large Room In 5 Minutes

03/10/2009
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The size of the heater will discourage you. The price of it is exceptional because it goes for double and above at any other retailer. It is easiest to operate. It has a 3 prong plug so be prepared. The on and off switch is the only thing that shuts off the heater; that protective feature if tipped over works proficiently. If that happens in the process of carrying it tilted, position it and leave it be then turn it on and it should operate properly. You can position it against a wall unlike most other heaters that have to have a 3-foot radius of space. The heater adjusts automatically to the temperature in the room, but it is favorable to check and adjust the dial until you hear the click. It has a convenient (built into the body of the heater) handle to carry sufficiently. Keep the grate free from lint and debris using a dry lint-free cloth as preventative maintenance. The flow of the heat/air is located at the bottom so it flows to the floor. The room it is used for is over 17-feet by 21-feet (got tired of measuring) and is not well-insulated and the heater was turned on and dialed to highest and door closed and went downstairs grabbed a juice-box for toddler and returned and the room was uncomfortably warm; dialed down the heater until the click and toasty has been the experience ever since. Michigan on day/night 3 below, the heater does this room well. Continuous running of this heater does not cause any hinderance. My toddler got curious and passed it and said "hot" and never goes near it unlike the other heater. But I do not suggest that you stand in front of the heater even if you can stand the flow of heat. When running, the body of the heater does stay cool to the touch, but always carry it by the handle for safety purposes. Also when on, the noise is quiet and not bothersome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Best money I have ever spent!

09/21/2011
By ,
Upstate / Fingerlakes, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First thing I was GREATLY surprised and pleased by was how fast Walmart and FedEx shipped my order! YAY FOR WALMART! I received my package a full TWO DAYS EARLIER than the earliest expected received date! But now on to the review..
For those of you considering other heaters, DON'T!! This heater is hands down the best money I have ever spent! My fiance and I just moved into a 1000 sq ft trailer on private land that is heated ONLY by fuel oil. Between upstate NY fall and winters, the prices of fuel oil these days, and the fact that trailers are NOTORIOUS for not holding heat; this can be a very expensive bill. We were looking at supplementing with electric heaters to try and cut our bills a bit. We have the small Sunbeam heaters at work so we knew they heated well but ONLY in small spaces, so we were looking at having to buy multiples and spending almost the same amount of money as if we were to heat with fuel oil alone. I stumbled across this heater and decided to take a chance based on others reviews. I've had this heater for just over an hour and already our whole trailer is comfortably toasty! The money I saved on buying this one heater rather than multiple smaller heaters or using only fuel oil was well worth the chance I took. I am absolutely in love!
If you are reading these reviews and wondering if it is worth the chance, TAKE IT! By all means, take it! You won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Warms me up!

02/10/2009
By ,
columbus, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my apartment, it gets very cold in the winter time. It is fairly small, but it really heats it up in no time so I don't think it would have much trouble with a larger space. It is pretty quiet also. I like the fact that once you get comfortable, you can turn the knob down and it will automatically regulate to keep your room at that temperature. All in all, I have really enjoyed it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

EXCELLENT GARAGE HEATER

01/22/2009
By ,
Kenner La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one in 2 of 2006 and I bought this second one to assist the other one.
A single one will heat a 10.5 ft. x 25 ft garage that has air leaks to 68 degrees farenheit and maintain that temp as long as the heater is on mid to high level. The outside temp can be 35 or in the 20's and the single heater will keep 68. Two of them if you like the area warmer will definitely do the job.Be careful because temp can get 80 or higher with 2 of these heaters.
If heater fails to turn on try shaking the heater because the tipover does get stuck at times. All in all I highly recommend the Lasko Model 5812 Automatic Air Flow heater
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Wonderful heater

03/31/2010
By ,
Laurel, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this heater to replace an old one. This heater is so much more than expected! It warms my bedroom with no problem, even when temps are in the teens. It is so quiet, you forget it is running. My Power bill actually decreased after I started using it. I would recommend this heater for any one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Very happy I bought it

12/18/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, pretty quiet and is very light to carry from room to room. Glad there is a handle in the back also. One star for Walmart shipping - they didn't bother to put the item in a shipping box for protection and privacy and also the shipping label and invoice were put right on the box the heater came in. Just glad this wasn't supposed to be a Christmas present or I would of had to return it because of the label stuck on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Great Product

03/04/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these portable heaters. The heater in our house quit in the middle of the coldest winter we have had in a long time. We had some nights in the lower 20's & it snowed a little. We used these 2 heaters to heat the whole house. Our house is 2000 sq ft. They kept us very warm & boy did it cut down on our power bill. We will most likely use them again next year and not use the central heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

It just never stops blowing!

03/06/2010
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have given this heater a top rating, but one feature about it, I highly dislike. It never stops running. Although it has a thermostat, it keeps blowing as long as the switch is on. I think the heater quits blowing hot air, and adjusts to a lower temperature; however, it keeps blowing. When a room gets to the desired temperature, I want the heater to stop blowing. It's also pretty noisy. But, it does warm a small area quickly, which I like. The tip-over feature works well -- which is an excellent safety feature. I just wish the noisy thing would shut off when the room reaches the desired temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Brings heat into a small room FAST

12/12/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does not heat up the large sized room too quickly, but in small and average sized rooms, it's very quick. I was disappointed that the dial doesn't give very much control as to how much heat is produced. In effect, when it's cold, I turn it on. When the room is toasty, I turn it off. I would rather keep it on and have it on at a lower setting, but this product is unable to do that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812
11/27/2011
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Lasko 5812 ceramic heater several years ago at a Walmart store while on an rv outing and needed a heater to warm my rv when it was not too cold and I didn't want to light my gas furnace. The heater adequately heated the 29 ft rv with no trouble. The one thing I didn't like was that the fan motor never turns off. Later I came to like this feature because other in- expensive heaters were quite noisy when coming on and shutting off, waking me up. After researching the heater and learning how it works, I liked it more. I now use it near my computer desk to warm my feet and the area around the desk. It makes much more sense to pull cold air in from the top and put it out at the floor. Thats where your feet are and warm air rises. Needless to say, when I wanted another heater I went to looking at Walmart for the Lasko 5812 and found none there or any where else. I finally found one on line and ordered it. Likely I will order another. These heaters can compete with the infrared heaters that sell for hundreds more. They are noisier but not that much. For the money I have no trouble with the noise. I have always promptly received orders from Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Not what I expected at all.

01/20/2009
By ,
Eldred, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's probably my fault that I didn't read the details carefully enough, but this heat is much smaller than I expected. I gave it a try, but it just didn't put out enough heat for any of the rooms in my house. I live in 100+ yr old Victorian and the rooms are pretty big. I would have put it in one of the bathrooms, but the manual specifically said not to use it in bathroom or laundry room. I couldn't tell for sure I think it was hairdrier style heater which means it's got a thin metal coil in it. They don't retain heat well, and can easily over powered in a drafty room. Your money would be much better spend on ceramic or quartz heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Good Value for Money

03/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heater was priced right, works well, good size & shape & heats up a small room very well with door closed. I have to shut it every now and then room because gets too warm.
Only negative is it's designed so thermostat clicks on & off but heater stays on...so I'm not sure what purpose thermostat serves. It has anti-tip safety feature. Definitely worth the money. I'd buy another if I needed one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Good value product

02/22/2011
By ,
West Point, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been very pleased with the heater. We wanted it because of it's continual fan - we needed it for white noise purposes as well as keeping the room warm. It doesn't regulate the temp as well as we would have hoped, it just keeps getting warmer and warmer. But it keeps our big rooms very comfortable, and has decreased the amount of time our furnace runs. AWESOME!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

OK for the price...

01/04/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for... no auto shut off, no remote control, a bit too noisy for me, my room size is average 10 X 12, heater too small to warm room up adequately... returned heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

The Best Heater Ever

03/24/2010
By ,
Belleville,Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater can really kick out heat, and it doesn't take a long time to heat a full room.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

Perfect for small room and cold feet

11/07/2013
By ,
Dublin, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite its retro look, the Lasko 5812 is probably the best small space heater you can buy at this price point. I've had it for several weeks now and it warms my 200 sq/ft home office and adjoining bathroom in just minutes after turning it on. Its best feature is that the warm airflow is at floor level, keeping your feet nice and toasty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lasko Electric Automatic Air-Flow Heater, 5812

I like it

02/27/2009
By ,
northern kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well. Only complaint is that it doesn't have a fan only mode, just heat modes. Excellent value, would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next