Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Sunpentown Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Maintain the moisture level of any room with the Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350. Its sleek finish and modern design complements most types of home decor. The compact dehumidifier uses Peltier (Thermo-Electric) technology to provide whisper-quiet operation, ensuring that you are not distracted while at home or work. The transparent water tank holds up to two liters of water, so you do not have to worry about frequent refills. The indicator light turns on when the water tank is full and the dehumidifier automatically turns itself off when the tank is empty for added safety. The compact design of this no-vibration dehumidifier makes it a great choice for nurseries, small bedrooms, basements and closets. In addition, the convenient handle on this Sunpentown dehumidifier makes carrying and transporting from room to room easy. Optimized for hassle-free operation, this unit does not require a refrigerant or compressor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.528 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation70%101 out of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

product returned

05/07/2012
By ,
Olathe, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
while attractive in appearance and size, this dehumidifier failed to remove any water froom the air in 36 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Does the job

05/08/2013
By ,
Fall River, Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this dehumidifier given its inexpensive price and diminuitive size. However, I was pleased when I saw the amount of water being drawn from the air every week in the collection tank. The disadvantages include typical thermoelectric electricity inefficiency (compared to refrigerant systems# intirinsic in the design used with this dehumidifier #and ones like it# and the small drain hole that makes it difficult to remove 100% of the water in the collection tank. But, for the price, you REALLY can't beat this unit for controlling the humidity in small to medium sized rooms. I use this unit in a utility room that sits on a concrete slab that is always pulling moisture into the air from the ground beneath the foundation and #with the way it has been performing) I predict it will prevent mold from growing in that space. Buy a WalMart warranty with it....cheap insurance in case you have problems; WalMart Product Assist is great when it comes to making good on warranty claims.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

REALLY Got My Money's Worth!

07/05/2014
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this dehumidifier's performance! I was having some dampness issues with my basement and needed a compact, affordable dehumidifier. Does this little sucker ever fit the bill! It is very quiet but efficient, and you can't beat the price. I wouldn't recommend buying just one for dehumidifying your entire home, but I would recommend getting a few and placing them in different rooms. One works very well in a small space--a bathroom or half of a large basement, for example. I would definitely recommend this product and may buy another in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Not doing the job for me.

07/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not really happy with this device because it isn't pulling the moisture out of the air in the tiny room it is housed in. I have a cellar area underneath my front stoop and there is a lot of moisture in the air in there. My old dehumidifier of a different brand and type, took out tons of water out of there and this new one has been running for a week now and still hasn't filled the tank once and it is a small tank. I can feel tons of moisture still in the air and not happy with the product. I also think that when I go to empty this tank, the drain hole is RIDICULOUSLY small. Poor design.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

For small rooms

05/23/2014
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This worked well in my indoor porch. Although, it made a loud rattling noise. I will exchange it for another, as I really like the compact size and look. The fill tank is very easy to remove and empty. The battery pack (for the plug in) does get rather warm, but I think that's normal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Waste of money...

09/18/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in a small single dorm Room in UF. The humidity levels are really high due to different factors such as : old building design, window insulation problems, and an old central AC that does not work efficiently. I borrowed two types of Dehumidifiers for my room. the first one worked very well; then I borrowed the mini dehumidifier that my friend bought recently in wallmart; I let the mini-dehumidifier work for 8 hours, and when I checked the humidity levels I did not noticed any difference!!!
I have a digital Hygrometer that helped me take temperature and humidity levels. When I took the humidity levels of my room while the mini-dehumidifier was working, nothing change!!! the humidity levels were still the same after 8 hours!!!!!
This mini-dehumidifier is very inefficient; it does condensates water at a very low rate,but it allows humidity to build up continuously.
Finally, I just want to say that the humidity level control of this mini-dehumidifier is really poor!
please hire better Engineers!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Great product

07/19/2009
By ,
Saint Cloud, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mini dehumidifier works great! I think the reason why some people have had problems is due to receiving a defective unit.
We use it inside a small bedroom and it works really well at removing water from the air. The unit does not put out too much heat (a wonderful feature when using it on hot summer days).
The noise level is similar to a small fan running. You notice it at first right after turning the unit on. But you get used to the sound so quickly that it's easy to work comfortably or even take a nap close to the unit while it's running.
In the future we'll be purchasing a second unit for the bathroom. We highly recommend this mini dehumidifier to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Had to return

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ran for 2 wks in a room of about 300 sq ft had less then 1/2 cup in it and humid level in the 60's.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Works Great!

05/29/2009
By ,
Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lived in an older building, so it tends to get muggy at times. I bought this item after reviewing tons, and I absolutely love it! It is my first dehumidifier, but I noticed a difference in my bedroom the very first day. Over the weekend, it even got really full so I know it's doing it's job. My room is a larger sized bedroom (16 x 12 maybe?), I'm thinking about buying another to put in the common area:) It's a mini, so I am not sure how it will do in a bigger room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Good for Small Area

07/21/2009
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using it in an alcove within a larger office. It has dropped the humidity by 10 - 15%. The noise is fairly low and I have had no trouble with the 12V transformer. Nice design and it does what it says.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

great for small spaces

06/08/2009
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my room, which is about 17' X 17' because I was having allergy issues due to the humidity and couldn't sleep well. In order to get the best sleep, I have to keep the dehumidifier near my bed. This product is definitely for small spaces, such as closets or smaller rooms than 17' X 17', but it definitely works in its surrounding area. I saw and felt results within the first hour it was running. It is a little louder than I expected, but it's white noise, so it's okay. It has a great design so it looks cute and doesn't look odd in the room. So far so good so I definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Terrible room dehumidifier

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This dehumidifier barely pulls any moisture at all out of the air. All I wanted was something for a small bedroom. It has been running for a week in some humid weather and the small tank is far from needing to be emptied. I'm returning these
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

great little dehumidifier

12/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great little dehumidifier. I had one for years in my trailer. Does a great job and is quiet and uses very little power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Good for the proper application

10/11/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using this in my small (8x10) workshop which is outdoors separate from the house and requires reducing humidity due to tools and bicycles stored out there. It puts out some heat so that needs to be considered (for a living space) but otherwise there is always water to discard and the humidity level is lower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Perfect solution

02/01/2011
By ,
Siloam Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had water oozing from the ceiling and walls of our master closet, mold, mildew, ruined boxes and clothing: a disaster. We repainted with mildew resistant paint, but still had that water dripping from the ceiling and running down the walls. The attic was dry and clear. We ordered this product and within 12 hours, the closet was dry. It works wonderfully. We have had no more problems with mildew or moisture since. It was an answer to prayer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

its what u pay for

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its ok nothing to special
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

This dehumidifier works, but...

06/24/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier for a well insulated, 12' x 7' room in my basement (with a door). The dehumidifier ran for several days, and did collect some water in the tank, but the humidity didn't decrease (I have a humidity indicator). I tried it in an upstairs bedroom (9' x 10') and it worked OK, but didn't collect much water. If you have a closet or small bedroom this dehumidifier might be OK, but it just is too small for most jobs. It is well made and easy to drain the water from the large tank.
I returned it to Walmart for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Don't waste your money

07/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are looking to buy this for a small bedroom, don't...on a scale of 1-10 I would rate it a 2. My humidity level in my bedroom without it was around 75, with it, it was about 70.
I returned this and bought a 20 pint and within an hour it took it down to 48% humidity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Worths it value

06/12/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price is a terrific item. I have been using this item, with no problems, for up to 8 continual hours, when I decide to turn it off, y collect a lot of humidity. probably about a cup every 8 hours, it is worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Works great in bedrooms

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this, the humidity in my room was making my sheets and clothes feel damp and I couldn't stand it. Now EVERYTHING is dry and it absorbs so much moisture out of the air for me. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next