Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Sunpentown Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Maintain the moisture level of any room with the Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350. Its sleek finish and modern design complements most types of home decor. The compact dehumidifier uses Peltier (Thermo-Electric) technology to provide whisper-quiet operation, ensuring that you are not distracted while at home or work. The transparent water tank holds up to two liters of water, so you do not have to worry about frequent refills. The indicator light turns on when the water tank is full and the dehumidifier automatically turns itself off when the tank is empty for added safety. The compact design of this no-vibration dehumidifier makes it a great choice for nurseries, small bedrooms, basements and closets. In addition, the convenient handle on this Sunpentown dehumidifier makes carrying and transporting from room to room easy. Optimized for hassle-free operation, this unit does not require a refrigerant or compressor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.576 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
43
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation71%112 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 110 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
43
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

product returned

05/07/2012
By ,
Olathe, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
while attractive in appearance and size, this dehumidifier failed to remove any water froom the air in 36 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Clearing out Humidity from a workroom

10/06/2014
By ,
Weaverville, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a workroom in a finished basement that is about 7' high by 28' long and about 5' wide, or close to 1,000 cubic feet located off an entertainment room with a closed door that has a vent.
After about five days the generous water tank is already half full, the unit very quiet and uses no compressor or coolant. It is thin so it fits almost anywhere. And it has a hide-a-way handle for easy movement to a bathroom sink for simple water removal. What's not to like with a price of around $59.
We had bought two crystal static dehumidifiers for $28 each that have a window that turns pink when the crystals have soaked up all the water allowed, the units then required to plug into an AC outlet to change the crystals back to blue. In that 24 hours period, which is what you need for a deep blue color, the units get almost hot seeming to use a lot of electricity to get the water out. While it said the crystals lasts for thousands of charges, they turned pink within three days. So out of four days, they are only working for three.
The Sunpentown Mini SD-350 on the other hand works 24x7 and uses a low amount of electricity for what it does with the rating of a 60-watt filament light bulb.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Does the job

05/08/2013
By ,
Fall River, Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this dehumidifier given its inexpensive price and diminuitive size. However, I was pleased when I saw the amount of water being drawn from the air every week in the collection tank. The disadvantages include typical thermoelectric electricity inefficiency (compared to refrigerant systems# intirinsic in the design used with this dehumidifier #and ones like it# and the small drain hole that makes it difficult to remove 100% of the water in the collection tank. But, for the price, you REALLY can't beat this unit for controlling the humidity in small to medium sized rooms. I use this unit in a utility room that sits on a concrete slab that is always pulling moisture into the air from the ground beneath the foundation and #with the way it has been performing) I predict it will prevent mold from growing in that space. Buy a WalMart warranty with it....cheap insurance in case you have problems; WalMart Product Assist is great when it comes to making good on warranty claims.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Skepical at first, but it does the job

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$50, I wasn't expecting a epic gallon a day water removal. I think some people that get the machine "think" it should be that way but, as my friend who is the store manager of the Super Walmart told me "you get what you pay for", so if you don't get the Frigidaire $200+ machine..I would not complain
With that said, I am VERY pleased with purchase, I was not expecting a $200 machine that removes a gallon a day, I get about 10oz a day removed from my daughter's damp bedroom.
Very, Very, light, nice look to it, does not look out of place with all her other "stuff" teens have in their room, no noise at all....highly recommend for small bedrooms, but nothing really larger AS it says in ITEM DESCRIPTION.
.....and NO..I didn't get paid to write this, matter of fact I returned a item last month..just want to give credit where credit is due.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

REALLY Got My Money's Worth!

07/05/2014
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this dehumidifier's performance! I was having some dampness issues with my basement and needed a compact, affordable dehumidifier. Does this little sucker ever fit the bill! It is very quiet but efficient, and you can't beat the price. I wouldn't recommend buying just one for dehumidifying your entire home, but I would recommend getting a few and placing them in different rooms. One works very well in a small space--a bathroom or half of a large basement, for example. I would definitely recommend this product and may buy another in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD 350 Does the job

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a small dehumidifier meant to be used in small space and if used in a small space it works great. Low profile so it doesn't take up a lot of room. I used it in the bathroom and it does a good job. Easy to empty and tucks up close to the wall. I like it. On this product I'd have to say my name is ToniIsHappy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

This is my second unit and I can't do without one.

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My bathroom is very humid and my shower curtain mildews and towels don't dry. With this unit running everything stays dry. In the short time since it arrived it is nearly full of water. It does a great job for the money and its size. I had the old one for more than 3 years. It still works except the AC adapter doesn't work and I couldn't find any replacement on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

For small rooms

05/23/2014
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This worked well in my indoor porch. Although, it made a loud rattling noise. I will exchange it for another, as I really like the compact size and look. The fill tank is very easy to remove and empty. The battery pack (for the plug in) does get rather warm, but I think that's normal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Waste of money...

09/18/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in a small single dorm Room in UF. The humidity levels are really high due to different factors such as : old building design, window insulation problems, and an old central AC that does not work efficiently. I borrowed two types of Dehumidifiers for my room. the first one worked very well; then I borrowed the mini dehumidifier that my friend bought recently in wallmart; I let the mini-dehumidifier work for 8 hours, and when I checked the humidity levels I did not noticed any difference!!!
I have a digital Hygrometer that helped me take temperature and humidity levels. When I took the humidity levels of my room while the mini-dehumidifier was working, nothing change!!! the humidity levels were still the same after 8 hours!!!!!
This mini-dehumidifier is very inefficient; it does condensates water at a very low rate,but it allows humidity to build up continuously.
Finally, I just want to say that the humidity level control of this mini-dehumidifier is really poor!
please hire better Engineers!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Great product

07/19/2009
By ,
Saint Cloud, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mini dehumidifier works great! I think the reason why some people have had problems is due to receiving a defective unit.
We use it inside a small bedroom and it works really well at removing water from the air. The unit does not put out too much heat (a wonderful feature when using it on hot summer days).
The noise level is similar to a small fan running. You notice it at first right after turning the unit on. But you get used to the sound so quickly that it's easy to work comfortably or even take a nap close to the unit while it's running.
In the future we'll be purchasing a second unit for the bathroom. We highly recommend this mini dehumidifier to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

A wonderful product.

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not disruptive as I had feared and has collected cups of water in about only ten days. Nothing in my new room is damp now and it takes up very little space in order for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Small and quiet.

10/21/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this product in a small pantry in the basement under the front steps of the house. It is very quiet, easy to empty and takes up very little space. I have been very happy with it's performance so far!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Works Great!

05/29/2009
By ,
Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lived in an older building, so it tends to get muggy at times. I bought this item after reviewing tons, and I absolutely love it! It is my first dehumidifier, but I noticed a difference in my bedroom the very first day. Over the weekend, it even got really full so I know it's doing it's job. My room is a larger sized bedroom (16 x 12 maybe?), I'm thinking about buying another to put in the common area:) It's a mini, so I am not sure how it will do in a bigger room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+152points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Poor excuse for a dehumidifier

10/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried it for two weeks. For one week in my bedroom, it removed approximately one thimbleful of water in spite of the fact I have mildew around the inside of my windows, and have a hot shower in the master bath, daily.
The second week, I tested it in a storage room where a larger, 30-pint dehumidifier was filling with water every four days! Again, this one pulled only about a thimbleful of water from the air. I am returning it. Not worth the price, even if free!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Great for really small spaces

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No major negatives for this product. However, I didn't realize that it was only for small or tiny spaces. It collects water fine, but is not powerful enough to drop the humidity in my 10x12 bedroom below 80%.
I've owned the unit for one week and the power supply does get rather warm. I'm not unhappy with this dehumidifier, but it is not powerful enough to do what I need done; I want the humidity level to drop to 60%.
Again, great price for a great unit for very small spaces, but that's about all I would recommend it to be used for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

nice ...

10/18/2014
By ,
Choteau Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the style - and the length of the cord -
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Great for price

09/14/2014
By ,
New Windsor, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for a small room, it helps with the musty odor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Small Dehumidifier

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for a small dehumidifier to put in my barn in the tack room. My tack room is about 8'x6' and a lot of my leather tack was molding. I left the door open for a few wks hoping that would stop the problem but it didn't. All the dehumidifiers in Walmart and Lowes were for large homes and the cheapest one was $150. I found this one on Walmart.com and after reading the reviews thought I would try it. It shipped fast and after using it for 2 wks the tack is still clean and dry. I get about a cup of water out of it every day. I am satisfied with it so far. I also ordered a hygrometer to keep a check on the humidity but for some reason it has shipped but hasn't arrived.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Had to return

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ran for 2 wks in a room of about 300 sq ft had less then 1/2 cup in it and humid level in the 60's.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Not doing the job for me.

07/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not really happy with this device because it isn't pulling the moisture out of the air in the tiny room it is housed in. I have a cellar area underneath my front stoop and there is a lot of moisture in the air in there. My old dehumidifier of a different brand and type, took out tons of water out of there and this new one has been running for a week now and still hasn't filled the tank once and it is a small tank. I can feel tons of moisture still in the air and not happy with the product. I also think that when I go to empty this tank, the drain hole is RIDICULOUSLY small. Poor design.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next