Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Sunpentown Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

The ultra modern Sunpentown SD-350 Mini Dehumidifier is designed to maintain the humidity in your room. Its sleek finish and modern design will complement any room. This SD-350 Mini Dehumidifier uses Peltier (Thermo-Electric) Technology to provide whisper quiet operation. The transparent water tank can hold up to two liters of water. The indicator light turns on when the water tank is full and the dehumidifier automatically turns itself off. The compact design of this no vibration dehumidifier makes it ideal for nurseries, small bedrooms and closets. In addition, the convenient handle on this quiet dehumidifier makes carrying and transporting easy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation71%94 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

product returned

05/07/2012
By ,
Olathe, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
while attractive in appearance and size, this dehumidifier failed to remove any water froom the air in 36 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Does the job

05/08/2013
By ,
Fall River, Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this dehumidifier given its inexpensive price and diminuitive size. However, I was pleased when I saw the amount of water being drawn from the air every week in the collection tank. The disadvantages include typical thermoelectric electricity inefficiency (compared to refrigerant systems# intirinsic in the design used with this dehumidifier #and ones like it# and the small drain hole that makes it difficult to remove 100% of the water in the collection tank. But, for the price, you REALLY can't beat this unit for controlling the humidity in small to medium sized rooms. I use this unit in a utility room that sits on a concrete slab that is always pulling moisture into the air from the ground beneath the foundation and #with the way it has been performing) I predict it will prevent mold from growing in that space. Buy a WalMart warranty with it....cheap insurance in case you have problems; WalMart Product Assist is great when it comes to making good on warranty claims.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Great product

07/19/2009
By ,
Saint Cloud, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mini dehumidifier works great! I think the reason why some people have had problems is due to receiving a defective unit.
We use it inside a small bedroom and it works really well at removing water from the air. The unit does not put out too much heat (a wonderful feature when using it on hot summer days).
The noise level is similar to a small fan running. You notice it at first right after turning the unit on. But you get used to the sound so quickly that it's easy to work comfortably or even take a nap close to the unit while it's running.
In the future we'll be purchasing a second unit for the bathroom. We highly recommend this mini dehumidifier to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Works Great!

05/29/2009
By ,
Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lived in an older building, so it tends to get muggy at times. I bought this item after reviewing tons, and I absolutely love it! It is my first dehumidifier, but I noticed a difference in my bedroom the very first day. Over the weekend, it even got really full so I know it's doing it's job. My room is a larger sized bedroom (16 x 12 maybe?), I'm thinking about buying another to put in the common area:) It's a mini, so I am not sure how it will do in a bigger room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Good for Small Area

07/21/2009
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using it in an alcove within a larger office. It has dropped the humidity by 10 - 15%. The noise is fairly low and I have had no trouble with the 12V transformer. Nice design and it does what it says.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Waste of money...

09/18/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in a small single dorm Room in UF. The humidity levels are really high due to different factors such as : old building design, window insulation problems, and an old central AC that does not work efficiently. I borrowed two types of Dehumidifiers for my room. the first one worked very well; then I borrowed the mini dehumidifier that my friend bought recently in wallmart; I let the mini-dehumidifier work for 8 hours, and when I checked the humidity levels I did not noticed any difference!!!
I have a digital Hygrometer that helped me take temperature and humidity levels. When I took the humidity levels of my room while the mini-dehumidifier was working, nothing change!!! the humidity levels were still the same after 8 hours!!!!!
This mini-dehumidifier is very inefficient; it does condensates water at a very low rate,but it allows humidity to build up continuously.
Finally, I just want to say that the humidity level control of this mini-dehumidifier is really poor!
please hire better Engineers!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

great for small spaces

06/08/2009
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my room, which is about 17' X 17' because I was having allergy issues due to the humidity and couldn't sleep well. In order to get the best sleep, I have to keep the dehumidifier near my bed. This product is definitely for small spaces, such as closets or smaller rooms than 17' X 17', but it definitely works in its surrounding area. I saw and felt results within the first hour it was running. It is a little louder than I expected, but it's white noise, so it's okay. It has a great design so it looks cute and doesn't look odd in the room. So far so good so I definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

great little dehumidifier

12/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great little dehumidifier. I had one for years in my trailer. Does a great job and is quiet and uses very little power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Good for the proper application

10/11/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using this in my small (8x10) workshop which is outdoors separate from the house and requires reducing humidity due to tools and bicycles stored out there. It puts out some heat so that needs to be considered (for a living space) but otherwise there is always water to discard and the humidity level is lower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Perfect solution

02/01/2011
By ,
Siloam Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had water oozing from the ceiling and walls of our master closet, mold, mildew, ruined boxes and clothing: a disaster. We repainted with mildew resistant paint, but still had that water dripping from the ceiling and running down the walls. The attic was dry and clear. We ordered this product and within 12 hours, the closet was dry. It works wonderfully. We have had no more problems with mildew or moisture since. It was an answer to prayer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Worths it value

06/12/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price is a terrific item. I have been using this item, with no problems, for up to 8 continual hours, when I decide to turn it off, y collect a lot of humidity. probably about a cup every 8 hours, it is worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Works great

02/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product with little faith. I live in Hawaii and the house that I am in has a mold problem due to the moistyre in the air. It says it is ideal for a small room. I have placed it in my hallway upstairs and it amazes me daily how much moisture is pulled out of the air. I have to dump my unit every other day. I am going to buy anotherone for the downstairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Slim, trim and does the job

11/20/2010
By ,
Lancaster, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dehumidifier is working quite well in a small room. Mom has issues with clothing feeling damp, especially in winter, and this one is pulling moisture out of the air and is reasonably quiet. It's best for a closet or a small room; you'd need more power to work well in a living room or such. Very pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

expectations performance

10/04/2010
By ,
New Orleans, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product description, on line was found to be accurate upon placing the unit in service. It also proved to be efficient in a 12'X12' area. Well satisfied with performance and found to be cost efficient, in both purchase and operation as well. Thank you again Walmart for quality cost effective products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

disappointment

07/02/2010
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't realize it was so small. It advertises it's good in a small room or a closet. Maybe a closet, but not a small room. My bathroom is always very humid, I left the dehumidifier in there overnight (with the door closed) and there was only a tiny bit of water in there. Another room is pretty small but it just didn't work in there at all. What's too bad is that it is so small then you have the much larger ones which cost at least $200. 00 and are heavy and bulky, there is nothing in between. I saw, I tried, I was disappointed, I'll still look up things online from time to time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Does the job

08/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
small, compact and does the job. Having moisture problem in storage rooms and this started working right away. Know it's working as I have to empty it every 3-4 days. Convenient and not too clumsy to empty. Just ordered another one for another office room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Good Humidifier for Small Space

03/21/2013
By ,
Dunedin, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have only used it once and tested it in the humid bathroom. It took down the humidity by 10 points so we are satisfied that it works. We plan on using it in our travel trailer so I will have more feedback at a later date. I would warm that the transformer gets hot so there is a need to put something like a coaster under it to keep the counter from getting discolored due to the heat it puts out. We will be putting a ceramic coaster under our unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350
02/17/2010
By ,
Davis, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product did exactly what it is designed for - remove moisture in the air. You can hear the noise coming from the running fan at night. I use the product in my bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Really works!

11/25/2012
By ,
Gray, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this product if you have a lot of moisture in your home. It really works! I was skeptical at first, but after seeing the water in the tank, I'm a believer. It reduces the bad moldy, musty smell in your house and keeps the mold from returning. I believe our house is too tightly insulated and that is what is causing the mold and bad smells. But with this product, it's gone! We will most surely be buying a larger one for the rest of the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown Mini Dehumidifier SD-350

Not as good as Expected

05/11/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This does not work as well as I had hoped. Using it for a very, very, very small bedroom and humidity gauge still says over 75% continuously. Def does not work as well as a larger size dehumidifer. Wouldn't waste the money on this - might as well buy a large one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next