Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cobra Electronics Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Cobra Electronics Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%24 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Nice Price.. Good Power!

11/12/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased during Hurricane Sandy. Was delivered a a few days later, where eventually I hard wired it to my truck, and left it idling and locked. This unit was able to power the fridge, boiler, circulation pumps, tv, dvd, surround, and lots of lights in the house by back feeding into the house once the main circuit was off. Loved that it worked so well. Kept the wattage under 1KW, and it worked really well. nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter
07/31/2013
By ,
West Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this inverter for the specific purpose of running a 5000 btu window a/c in a piece of un-air conditioned construction equipment based on one of the Q and A's. I mean the a/c label shows a current draw of 515 watts and this inverter is 2500 watts continuous. I returned it for the following reason. First off, to be fair, it did run the a/c unit with the fan on high and the compressor giving cold air for 3 - 4 minutes before giving the under current alarm and shutting down the a/c unit. The equipment in question has two very large 12 volt batteries in parallel and runs a 240 amp alternator. I used 2 ft of the 4 ga awg wire, 1/2 the max recommended, (cut up a good set of jumper cables), soldered the bare wire ends before attaching to the inverter ect so the connection was not the problem. Guess a small window unit pulls too much power for these inverters, but a 1000 watt gas generator runs it no problem. If you need it to run an a/c unit, pass, otherwise it seemed like a solid piece of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tulsa, Ok
The reason why it would not run....
Posted 06/06/2014
This is a modified sine wave inverter. I have run both an air compressor pulling 15A, and a 13A skil saw off of a 2500 watt pure sine inverter, and drawing from only ONE 50 Amp hour Deep cycle. The inverter will work great for what it is designed for, and it is not designed to power an electric motor. A pure sine inverter is.
0points
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
inverters vs a/c
Posted 01/07/2014
Inverters just are not made to run a/c's,, it can b done but u will need to have a large battery bank with alot of (ah) amp hours, like 6-8 big 12v batteries or even better a bunch of 6v golfcart batteries.,, they are built alot heavier with thicker lead plates than 12v batteries
if ur a/c runs at 515 amps ur going to need twice that much in ah's
Ur a/c running @ 515 amps will not run being hooked to ur 250 amp alternator,, ur alt wont charge fast enough to keep up with the amount of power being used,,, it just wont have enough power to run long enough to cool anything down except maybe a closet!
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Exactly what I needed.

05/31/2014
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to install in my new camper. After reading many, many reviews I ordered one.
Shipping was a few days quicker than advertised.
I also bought the remote switch and two of the installation cable kits (required if you are going to use this inverter for the maximum rated wattage.)
I mounted it in the front storage area of my camper and ran 3 hard wired outlets into the camper (2 in the bedroom and 1 in the living area).
I run two group 24 batteries in my camper. I am able to power two 40" LED tvs, a satellite receiver, IPhone charger a shop vac and a 500 watt halogen lamp all at the same time. The led display showed 1200 watts being used. I might be able to run more, but why?
I bought this to power a comfort items while camping and I am very impressed with its abilities. I highly doubt the 2500 watt/5000 watt surge capabilities but I knew that when I researched it and purchased it.
If you are needing something to power your light to medium duty items while camping or driving, this inverter provides excellent value and a quality product.
If you are looking for the cheapest inverter money can buy, this is not the inverter for you. It is very well made and has enough power for most jobs.
The LED battery voltage and wattage display are very nice features to help track your battery life and rate of discharge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Worked great the first time.

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new deep cycle battery to go with it. The battery wasn't fully charged, but I was anxious to try it. We had purchased a 3.5 cubic foot freezer for long trips, till we get to a camp ground. It started the freezer like there was nothing to it, and ran it for 22 hours straight. The freezer was not pre-cooled either. If it continues like that, I will be completely satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Very sturdy unit super fuel-efficient

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace a large transformer design UPS in a custom built cargo trailer of my own design. I have a microwave, a 55 inch computer screen, an electric refrigerator, electric cooktop, and 110 volt lighting, 1000 watts of solar panels ,and 8 AGM batteries. So far it has totally exceeded my expectations. The built in wattmeter is handy, though, for some reason it only displays when the load is above about 400 watts. The pleasant surprise is the efficiency is unbelievable, the no-load draw is almost nothing, this was a huge problem with the other unit. Be sure to wire it with at least (2) two. #4 gauge wires if you want anywhere close to the max power, disregard the little voice in your head that says you can run an a/c unit off it with a single 8 gauge wire. It will run an a/c it runs my 12,500 rooftop unit just fine but you have to have a massive battery bank, and a massive solar panel bank, in addition to large feed wires.. The wave form is strange as evidenced by my vintage clocks all running fast, but I knew about that....more important it has never failed to run any appliance, computer, power tool etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Great item

05/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this in our tractor trailer. Run a microwave and electric skillet off of it. It saves you money cooking in the big truck. Works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Does what was expected

08/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is important I found out to limit the connection length of the 4 gauge wire to 3-4 feet. I was able to buy jumper cables from Home Depot for $17.00 and used the aligator clips on one end and cut to length on the other. So far, it has powered a Ryobi Power Head trimmer and an air compressor in the woods. Exactly what I bought it for...next I will try to power my portable LG air conditioning unit to see if when a hurricane hits it will keep us cool in the power outage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Unit failed out of the box. O

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit failed out of box only puts out around 80 volts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Very usable inverter

12/30/2013
By ,
Tyler,Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This inverter will power a microwave, drill, shop vac, computer, printer, small electric heater and I dont know what else,as long as you have the correct input. It is fairly easy to install be sure and use big enough cables (4 gauge or bigger) depending on length. And be sure to have enough space for air circulation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Pretty powerful

06/02/2014
By ,
Livonia, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need a good battery and alternator to produce full power! Amazing unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Very Good Inverter For The Price

08/27/2013
By ,
Boyertown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This inverter is great for our hunting cabin. We have it hooked up to to 12 RV batteries which are wired into solar panels, it runs pretty much everything. The only thing to remember when purchasing this inverter is to also purchase the cables for it as well. They are sold separately and don't come with the inverter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Great product

03/30/2013
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooked this up in my sons truck for his detailing business and it works perfect. So much better then buying a generator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

dependable

05/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strong unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter
11/20/2012
By ,
alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works well on water pump and refrigerator, but the washing machine caused it to overheat at the beginning of final spin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Very good Inverter

07/27/2012
By ,
Lagrange, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this inverter. It has met all of my demands and that is saying something seeing how I normally expect things to do more then they say they will when you by them. I is worth every penny and the price is cheaper then I could find on any other shopping site. May be cheaper if you go through the Cobra company, but this worked just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

great product so far!

01/29/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as intended, installed in a semi truck. Easy to use and quiet when it runs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W,

11/01/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful inverter. I run an 1500 watt electric space heater in the capped bed of my truck. We have a three dog kennel built in the back to take our dogs to field events, dock dogs, agility training, fly ball, and lure course racing. I ran two sets of Cobra cables to run the high load. I put a 250 amp breaker on the hot side for safety. This inverter is priced very good for the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

for the diy

11/12/2012
By ,
tunkhannock pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is for the DIY take 2 deep cell marine battries wire thm into 12 volt take a charger with 10 amp rate off the power inverter loop the charge back and ull have power for a very long time !!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Flagstaff, AZ
Toooo funny
Posted 09/16/2013
Some people might think you are serious. The power loss doing this will shorten you battery life not make it longer. Try it, probably one half of the watt hours of just the batteries.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cobra CPI 2575 5,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5