Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cobra Digital Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Cobra Digital Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

The Cobra CPI 1000 Power Inverter is designed to provide household power while you are on the road. A good choice for RV camping, this 2000W, 12V DC Power Inverter converts automotive battery power to 120V AC household power, so that you can power electronic devices in your vehicle. The 12V DC to 120V AC Power Inverter provides 1,000W of continuous power with 2,000W peak power. It also includes a USB output for computer devices. The LED function/status meter makes it easy to monitor the Cobra CPI 1000 Power Inverter. This 12V DC to 120V AC power inverter can supply electricity for laptops, televisions, CD players, cell phones, DVD players, kitchen appliances and more. The Cobra CPI 1000 Power Inverter comes with direct-to-battery cables.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation76%13 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

XALENT product

07/21/2012
By ,
Leavenworth,Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Cobra CPI 1000 will do what it say's it will do. I hooked it up to my truck battery & grounded
the Inverter to my truck chassey & tried out my electrical 1/2 impact & a small air compresser with an xtention cord & it worked GREAT.Good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

awesome!

07/18/2013
By ,
BF, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought a 1200w converter from harbor freight but it did not come with wires and was the same price as this one. I took it back and got this one from walmart because it was advertised to have the proper wires included. It does have the two battery wires BUT does not include a grounding wire, which you will have to buy. I ended up buying a 6 awg battery wire that walmart carried and i drilled a hole in one end (you'll see why), cut off the other end and used one battery charger clamp that walmart also had for a few bucks. So for $8 i got the ground wire hooked up and tested out the unit with a lamp and small fan. It powered both without flinching. This thing is awesome!
FYI, you have to press and hold the on button for a second for it to turn on. I'm sure a few people just press it fast and it does not turn on and they think it's defective (which i almost did). So be sure to press and hold the button a second to power it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

No Good

10/18/2014
By ,
Hueytown, al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had it a year and I first used it yesterday and the wattage reads 70-80 on a 14 watt bulb, and it constantly climbs up in wattage and then sounds an alarm and indicates overload protection and then shuts off. This thing is junk so far.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Good choice

08/05/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this to run two laptops and charge various pieces of test equipment in my truck. Its display flashes between the voltage and the current draw which is a nice feature. I accidently plugged in something that was too much for it and the Cobra shut down and displayed an error code. I looked up the code in the manual and found it was overloaded, I unplugged the equipment and the Cobra resumed working. I also purchased the remote on/off button for this. Works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Cobra 1000w Inverter

03/15/2009
By ,
Oklahoma CIty, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this product to replace a 400w inverter that I've moved to my automobile. I use the 1000w inverter in my truck to power the laptop and printer I use in my day to day contracting work. Needed more watts to handle larger capacity, laser printer.
WOrks just fine as I expected it would. My mechanic hard wired the inverter to the engine compartment. Would purchase this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Cobra CPI 1000 Inverter

07/26/2013
By ,
Lincoln, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the process of hard-wiring this into my motor home in conjunction with the batteries and solar panels. It operated both of the TVs with no problem
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Good output.

01/01/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an inverter which would allow me to use an air compressor anywhere. The compressor I use draws 8 amps. This converter powers it with no problems. I have to use it with the truck running but that is not a problem. Smaller power tools are easily powered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Works great - easy to use.

01/27/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use this with our camping trailer when we are not plugged in. Easy to hook-up with the cables and clips that come with it. Have had it running at 900+watts for as long as 15 minuets with no problems on my dual battery system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

So far, so good.

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used it once so far to run a 27" color TV for 2 1/2 hours. It worked perfectly and didn't interfer with the TV signal. The battery drain was minimal and I was able to fully recharge the battery (12 volt RV/Marine group 24) at 8 AMPS for 3 hours.
Nice product based on the one use I've had so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

it works to get power fron 12 volts dc to 120 ac

01/12/2014
By ,
gillett pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product works great on a solar battery pack to tell you the volts and drain on it too the battery pack is charged by solar panels and wind turbines i replace a 800 watt one because it was the same make!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Does what I needed it for!

05/08/2013
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work in the field and run computers all the time, I can run two at a time and also run my printer when needed. For the price and uses I would recommend to friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

I will return this item and go for a different one

05/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor wont even keep two set of lights running without beeping, but the lights stay on the beeping drives you crazy. When I re-set it it still starts beeping within five minutes and the voltage is their from the batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

wow

04/03/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Higher wattage will run more electronics
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter
01/25/2009
By ,
baton rouge louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this inverter to use an electric impact wrench from my truck works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

wish it was carried in the store

05/20/2013
By ,
yulee, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ordered this from walmart.com site-to-store, Unfortunately this unit did not work ,so i returned it.
if it was carried in the store, i would have exchanged it and tried another one.
However since i needed it before i could order and get another one, i purchased a similar unit manufactured by a different company from another retailer which had it in stock.
Maybe it was just a bad unit.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter

Loud

08/12/2013
By ,
howard ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Didn't know what size to buy for gaems video game travel case g155, way over kill, 1000watt unit, with ps3, 15in LCD, and iPad plugged it, only drew 180 watts, gonna return it for smaller one and moun it further back in truck
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra CPI 1000 2,000W, 12V DC To 120V AC Power Inverter
05/11/2013
By ,
Woodland Park, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performs well. Appears to be well made and rugged .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.