Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Even Flo Best For Baby Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Even Flo Best For Baby Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Ensure your baby's safety with the Evenflo Baby Mount Gate. With its easy installation and convenient storage, this baby gate by Evenflo is great for traveling or playdates!
Average Customer Rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(443 Reviews) 354
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
275
4 stars
122
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation92%406 out of 442reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
275
4 stars
122
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Best gate for wide openings

07/29/2010
By ,
Salisbury, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We first purchased a metal gate that was pressure mounted with a gate and almost 3 times the price of this gate. When we installed it in order to get it tight enough that my daughter could not shake it the door would not open, when we had it so the door would open it was not tight enough. This product was less expensive, easier to install, and I find it easy to step over. It is in a 48 inch opening. It took me all of 3 minutes to set it up after reading the instructions and I bet it will take even less time the next time I install it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 2 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Love It!

01/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for keeping three of my 18 months-24 months old grandchildren out of my computer room (they love turning my computer on and off!) The doorway is 5 feet wide and I didn't expect to be able to find anything for it. This is perfect and sooo easy. I just leave it extended at the length I need it and release the edges so it folds sort of like an accordion, then just store it in some out of the way corner til I need it and then it's already the right width. Piece of cake...love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Great for kids, bad for pets

12/30/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was easy to set up and great for keeping my son out of the kitchen. We have a fairly wide space to block off (48") and this was the best gate for the price. If we just needed it to corral our son it would have been perfect. I gave it 3 stars because it's not great for pets. When they jump up on it, the mesh material snags very easily and my dog was able to pop several holes in it and come right through. I would highly recommend it for keeping toddlers at bay. For pets, I'd opt for a metal or wood gate.
Also, I tried to get a replacement pad and Evenflo was not the easiest company to work with. I'm just buying a new gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 4 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

If you are looking to get a wide area gate and don

03/16/2010
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a very big review shopper...... I value the word of the customer over what a company has to say anyday..... So in return I voice my 100% honest opinion on the products that I buy.
I bought this product with the hopes that it would keep my very active 2 year old in her room. She has double doors that go to her room and I was worried that I was not going to find something that worked and didn't cost an arm and a leg. I will admit that when I brought this product home I was a little worried about how long it was going to take to put this gate up. Once I read the dirrects (I recomend doing this..... some useful information that will save you time) I was able to get the gate installed. It is very easy to do so once you do it the first time..... It works very much like a pack-&-play so if you can put up and take down a pack-&-play you will be just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Awesome baby gate!

09/30/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate to keep our baby from getting to stairs and it's working perfectly for us. Our needs were pretty specific and we found exactly what we needed. We needed a gate that would adjust to different widths on the top and bottom to accommodate for some moulding at the bottom of our banister, we needed something that would stretch to fit exactly a 50.5" opening, and it had to be pressure mounted (we can't put screws in the banister). Many other wide gates we looked at adjusted in 6, 8, or 12 inch increments and would never work for us, but this one adjusts in small increments (it's hard to tell exactly but it appears to be less than an inch at a time). It was very easy to set up and we had it installed in less than 5 minutes. It is also low enough to walk over without any problems (28") but easy to take down if needed. My 9 month old has tested its strength many times by trying to push and climb it and I'm happy to say that it's still holding strong. A great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Disappointing Gate

05/12/2009
By ,
Port Orange, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have a 39" opening where we wanted to install the gate. According the directions, this was possible, but when we adjusted it to that length, the fabric netting of the gate had to be very bunched up. It still seemed taut, but it was overlapped a lot in most places. This was supposed to be easy to set up and remove. The directions say to just pull back on the spring-loaded tube to put it in place. I couldn't get the spring-loaded tube to budge at ALL, and my husband really struggled to get it to move a little. This might be because we had it set up for one of its smallest settings, but it was definitely impossible for me to do. This was something we purchased to have up during nap times and at night, but to take down during the rest of the day. Obviously it was going to be a huge pain to take down that often, if it were even possible at all! We took it back to get one with a gate that we could leave up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 7 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

very helpful product

08/18/2007
By ,
tulsa, ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this gate about 2 months ago and it works great, my son is 1 year old and likes to go to the kitchen and this is perfect size for big areas. also you can remove the side bars and adjusted at whatever high that you like. good product and great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 8 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

awful product!

02/18/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cant imagine how this gate would be a useful item to use. You'd have to set it up every time you pass by, and that is no easy feat! My husband and I had a TIME trying to figure out how to get it up the first time. You have to measure each end against a part of the wall where you can extend the sides a half inch, then put it up using the tension, then screw the knob so it gets tight. OK great but there is no locking mechanism or way to keep one end from moving while you are doing this on the other side (id, like if you have baseboards they are different widths). Its just a fiasco and extremely frustrating. Its a bit too high to step over in a heavy traffic hallway and just forget about taking it down because you have to do all the steps all over again because there is no way to keep it set on a certain width. This is a very poorly designed product. We returned it the next day, still looking for an appropriate wide gate that doesnt cost a fortune....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Perfect

09/03/2007
By ,
Kingwood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This baby gate was purchased to corral our grandchild. She learned to walk before she learned the meaning of the word NO. Our doorway separating the den from the foyer and livingroom is extra wide. It is a snug fit and does absolutely no damage to our doorframe. It is quickly removed by an adult when our precious one is not around. Perfect fit and economical price. We are ready when she comes to visit Grammy and PawPaw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Great product, set up a bit confusing

01/16/2010
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I have to say that I love Walmart shipping! My gates weren't even supposed to be here until the 19th but here it is the 16th and they are here. This seems to be the norm when I order something from Walmart. Now onto the product. I set these up immediately and so far I love them. They aren't too bad of an eyesore like an all plastic gate usually is. My daughter is only 8 months and not standing yet so I really can't tell how it holds up to a toddler hanging on it but it seems pretty sturdy. It really all depends on how tight YOU make it too. The only real complaint I have is the the instructions make it more complicated to set up than it really has to be. It took about 15 minutes for me to set up the first one following the instructions, but then I set up the 2nd very easily without so many unnecessary steps. After spending days trying to decide what type of gate I should get because of our large entries, I am very happy with these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Did the trick!

03/31/2009
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have twins that will be turning one year old soon, and one of them is walking. The other is on the verge. They are extremely mobile now, and our living room connects to several other areas of the house, without traditional doorways. We needed a gate between the LR and the breakfast nook, but the space is larger than most standard gates will accommodate. My husband and I refuse to drill holes into the wall, and so this gate was perfect. It extends plenty wide enough to fit our 52in opening, and it is a tension mount, so we don't have to worry about hardware. It was pretty easy to install (read the directions) and is very sturdy. Several reviews say that its not good for pets because of the mesh center piece. We have a 25# beagle/heeler mix that is 3 1/2 years old and she has never tried to scratch at it, stand up to it, or otherwise permeate the gate. She just finds another way to get where she wants to go. If your pet/s are well trained, you should be fine with this gate. We've had it up for a little over a week now, and it is working GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate
10/29/2010
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate because it blocks off wide doorways. I used one to block off my kitchen (those safety latches for the cabinets were driving me crazy). I liked it so much I purchased a second for our newest addition. My two older boys have small toys, so we decided it would be a good idea to block off the toy room too. It is essentially two tension rods with netting. I like it because it does no permanent damage to the walls, unlike other gates that need to be screwed in. It is sturdy. My boys launch themselves over it without it falling off the wall, but it keeps the baby out. I also like the color since messy fingers tend to touch the top. Any fingerprints wipe off easily. It services its purpose well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Bought two of these

11/06/2008
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product- I bought two. They blend in with your decor, fit in wider spaces, baby can see through the gate, and the top and bottom "rails" can adjust to different widths. This was great, because I place one between a staircase railing and wall with molding, so it was very uneven. No problem. I can't tell you how wonderful this product is, and WalMart had the cheapest price by far, evencompared to eBay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Love this gate!

06/28/2010
By ,
Bremerton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is sturdy and well made. Its a little tricky the first time putting it up, but once you know how to do it, its pretty easy after that. I have it in our entry way, so its stationary for now. Our entry way is 58" and it easily and securely spring mounts with extra width to spare to accomodate wider doorways. Once its in place, it doesn't wiggle at all. Its very sturdy, even when my daughter tries to hang on it. Another bonus is the spring mount feature, and not having to use screws in our walls! Even without screws, it is so secure! I love the see through mesh and the fact that it doesn't have anything on the sides that my daughter can use to climb up it. Another well made Evenflo baby product. It even comes with a nice travel bag, so you can bring it to hotel rooms, family homes, etc. We will be using it for travel this summer to corrale our daughter in our hotel room! I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Great until.....

02/02/2011
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product was recieved quickly, went up easily and seemed great, until the locking mechanism on the bottom rail broke without any contact. i bought two of these and they both lasted a few months, but both of them broke in the exact same way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Just OK, will buy a new one

12/18/2009
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this gate for a wider hallway opening. We live in an apartment, so I liked the fact that we didn't have to damage the walls by installing this gate. Unfortunately, this gate is so hard to get into place. You are supposed to twist the handles on the side to make it move, and they are very difficult to budge. In fact, I cannot move this gate at all, and have to wait for my husband to get home from work if I need it taken down to get the vacuum in the living room. The rubber stoppers fall off all the time, so the gate slides right off the wall. It's also a pain in the butt to step over all the time. We are having another child in April, so we are going to buy a new gate that you can walk through. I am almost 6 months pregnant and can barely get over this thing. The POSITIVE side to this gate...it is very durable. My 2 year old likes to try to climb it, and my 4 year old nephew has kicked it and pushed it and it stays in place and doesn't break. If you don't mind walking over this gate every five seconds and twisting the top until your hands are sore, than it will work fine for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Easy to use safety gate

01/09/2009
By ,
Chippewa Falls, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this safety gate to fit a stairway with a wall on one side and a newel post on the other after reading another review discussing the same kind of physical setting. It worked very well, kept our grandson from climbing the stairs, was easy to lift and put back into place, and seems to be of sturdy construction. We were pleased with the price and the free shipping to the store. The only reason I gave it a good for durability is because we have only used it for a few days and won't use it again for quite a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 18 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Versitile Gate

02/01/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect gate for my family!!! We used this in our Kitchen entryway that is 55.5 inches. This fits great and is very durable. My daughter pulls on it and my cats jump over it just fine. It can be tricky to put up but that's no big deal. Directions are easy to follow.
Perfect gate for odd openings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Exactly what I was looking for

11/05/2010
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gate. I needed something for an awkward opening at the bottom of our stairs. My 4 1/2 year old can get over it to get up and down the stairs but my 11 month old can't get around it -- no matter how hard he tries to pull it down :) Great product and very easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Evenflo - Crosstown Soft & Wide Pressure Mount Gate

Good Until it Breaks

11/06/2010
By ,
West Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this gate less than three months ago. It was great in my extrawide door opening until I broke. The peg that holds the pressure mount on the top completely broke and now the entire gate is useless as it cannot be replaced. This happened after only taking the gate down for the second time. I loved it for the 2 1/2 months before it broke, but I was expecting to be able to get more use out of it before it breaks. Don't get this gate if you need it for more than a few days.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next