Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Arkon Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Arkon Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

The Arkon GN047 Air Vent Mount is the ideal mounting solution for your Garmin nuvi portable navigation equipment. In addition, this unit can be used with a few selected models of Garmin StreetPilots. This easy-to-install GPS air vent mount has 17mm swivel ball pattern. It is very simple to detach the Arkon removable air vent mount from one vehicle to another without causing any damage to the vents. However, this Arkon windshield mount can be used only with vehicles that have horizontal air vent louvers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%86 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Terrific Product

07/10/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not mind the windshield mount, but hated leaving it in my car to annouce "GPS was here!"
This vent mount is more discrete and closer to driver for viewing/adjusting. Unit mounted to vent easily and solidly, sturdy as a rock. Keeps GPS unit out of sun and cool. Great design....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 2 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

very good product

06/05/2009
By ,
Sterling, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. Much better than having the Nuvi stuck to your windshield where it blocks your view. This is in the vent....convient and out of the way and you can see the full view of the road.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Review 3 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Garmin Accessory

05/27/2009
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is quite helpful primarily because I do not like to leave the GPS unit in plain site when we leave the vehicle. By using this attachment to the Garmin GPS unit we are able to see the unit easily while driving, and, remove it from site when we park. It fits the a/c air vents on the dash quite well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Review 4 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Much better then the supplied mount

05/29/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easily clips on to the air vent without putting weight on it. Easy to assemble. Places GPS unit in a great location. Far superior to the dash or window mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi
05/28/2009
By ,
smithville,tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it was a little aggravating to get it clipped because my vents are half mooned shaped i have a f150 truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

It does the job

11/15/2009
By ,
NH - FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An inexpensive answer to an alternate place for mounting the Garmin Nuvi. Much better than mounting on the windshield, and with no flat surface to use the alternate method provided by Garmin, it does the job. The only complaint is that it is not as stable as other methods, but it rides pretty good. For the price its a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 7 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Great Product

10/25/2010
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap option to hold my GPS other than sticking to the glass or dashboard (cause I am always too cautious of things sliding off the dashboard)
This product takes care of worries off the dashboard. Now I have it installed on the air-vent and don't have to worry.
Been using it for about a month and would recommend anybody who care to ask.
It feels smaller when you hold than the image. The material also looks doubtful.
So when I got it, I was not impressed and felt as if yet another product that does not do justice to online shopping.
But when I installed and used, I changed my opinion. I am very-very impressed, I may even jinx it ;-)
Also great ease at taking out and putting back, as we were advised by our community -- not to leave GPS and even the holders in the car. This gets the job done -- efficiently.
Go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Great Product, Great company!

08/30/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this is my Chevy Tahoe; it works pretty well in the vent. It is not very solid, but it is connected to the vents so you can imagine it moves a little side to side but I don’t think it would ever fall off. Well taking it an out over the last 15 months I actually broke the clips that hold it down. I called Akron directly and in 2 minutes the guy I spoke to was mailing me out new clips at no cost. It’s great to see excellent customer service like this. I will consider Akron products every time they are applicable to my application needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

great solution to a blocked view

05/12/2009
By ,
Coatesville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product works great in my 2009 scion tc
it frees up my windshield from being obscured by the suction cup mount and because its placed over the air conditioning vent you never have to worry about the gps unit over heating.
i bought this mount for my garmin nuvi 755T
only problem i have with this mount is the arms that hold the unit to the air conditioning slots would be better if they were rubber coated
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Good little item - good little price!

11/28/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not expecting much for an inexpensive item, I was pleasantly surprised when this Vent Mount for my Garmin GPS actually did what it was advertised to do. It's in perfect view and so much better than the suction cup provided by Garmin. When I want to hide my GPS, it is so easy to remove and re-connect as often as necessary and the mount stays "mounted." Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

A good alternative to the bean bag

09/24/2010
By ,
Trumbull,CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ability to have my GPS at the same level as my speedometer. This product allows that by clipping onto the vent. The only drawback is that I don't think it will survive repeated clipping and un-clipping. If you are willing to leave this holder in place, it is a great alternative to the bean-bag style holder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 12 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi
06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Item shipped on time with no issues. So far it has worked great and has worked out perfect for the wife. Just make sure that you have vents with the horizontal flaps, because I dont think it will fit anything other kind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 13 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

happy, but----

04/10/2010
By ,
Eunice, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works excellant on my car, but I have a F150 also and the clips are not long enough to get a secure fit on the air vents of the truck. still works, but have to be a little more careful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi
11/19/2009
By ,
Forest Park, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works wonderfully ! Good Product for it's price...Comes in Handy on the road
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 15 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

great bargain

08/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost bought one of those $20-35 beanbags or other fancy devices for my GPS, but I didn't like thte idea of having to move the beanbag from my dash everytime I leave my car.
The vent device is not totally secure and it does wiggle around some, but at least I can leave it installed and just remove the GPS for easy hiding. The vent mount isn't very obvious when left hanging in place by itself. And, the GPS doesn't sit in the hot sunlight and it doesn't get any glare on the screen.
I like the location in the center of the car and it doesn't get in the way on my Equinox. Hey, can't beat the price for getting the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Does what it claims

11/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vent-mount for Garmin GPS puts my device where I can reach it. Compared to the original windshield-mount which forces one to remove seatbelt and lean wayyy forward just to touch the GPS device.
Additionally, I can see my GPS better and it is not in my line-of-sight like when it is stuck to the windshield. At night, this vent-mount places the GPS device in a location where it does not affect my nighttime vision. (because of the GPS brightness)
The clips on this product are kind of tricky to grab onto and squeeze to get it mounted on the air-vent. After that, it stays put even over bumpy roads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

good buy.........

07/11/2009
By ,
Richmond,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work's great easy to change to other vehicles.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

WORKS 4 ME

03/13/2010
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have a 99 Suburban and installed clip in center lower vent and works great. Stable because also rests on cup holder. GPS unit is out of the way and have a clear view thru the windshield while driving. THe GPS is also out of view if looking thru the windshield by passerbys. With the GPS removed from the clip it is out of the way and still get air flow thru air vent. It also makes it easy for both driver and passenger to view GPS. It works for me
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi

Its an OK product

05/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For all intents and purposes the vent mount works as described. When I first saw the vent mount however, I thought it would install a little more solidly than what it did.
It would be nice if there would be a slide lock of some sort to prevent the mount from tipping over sideways when the NUVI gets installed, or when the touchscreen gets pressed near the sides.
Other than that a capable product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Arkon Removable Air-Vent Mount for Garmin nuvi
09/21/2011
By ,
Mid-Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a new mount to replace the original mount for my GPS and ordered this mount. Works great. Daughter used it in her PT Cruiser for a 1 week roadtrip and had no problems. Used it in my S-10 and now it's in my HHR. Hold's GPS very well, no issues with slipping or wobbling. Now just have to get daughter her own GPS so she'll stop taking mine (Garmin, of course)!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next