Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Spalding Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Hone your basketball skills and enhance your performance with the Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor Outdoor Basketball. Featuring a foam-backed design and full-ball pebbling, it offers excellent grip and enhanced feel. This composite basketball has been designed to offer better dribble control. The superior built of the ball makes it sturdy and durable. This 29.5 inch basketball features the official size and weight and gives you the real feel of the game whenever you play. You can use it both for practice sessions and for competitive play. This composite basketball has been created for both indoor and outdoor use. Its construction can withstand most surfaces. This versatility of the Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor Outdoor Basketball gives you more freedom and ease with which you can concentrate on the game.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation81%13 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Baketball

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for ball handling. Only have used the ball a little while outdoors but it seems to hold up well and flies true off the fingertips when shooting jumpers. For the money this is an excellent basketball.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Good All Around Ball

12/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just ordered my second one of this ball. It is a good all around ball. It feels a bit spongy and sticky at first, but offers good grip. The fact that it's indoor/outdoor sold me. I wanted a TF 1000, but I don't play indoors all of the time. I recieved my new ball from Walmart.com, but I noticed the rubber is pealing off at the seams. What the heck? I never had this problem with my old excel BB. I am sending it back to Walmart for replacement. Hopefully the replacement ball will not be pealing. I took one star off due to this manufacturing defect. If the next one I receive is pealing, I'll have to change my rating of the ball.
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Plastic Ball, looks and feels like a good ball BUT

05/11/2010
By ,
Spokane, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First I had no Idea how LONG it would take to get to the store. I guess thats what you get for free.
Also, this ball had all the attributes I was looking for, unfortunately I did not spend enough money, because this is a plastic ball. The quality of the sound of the bounce sings, or rings, almost like big rubber bouncy balls you use on the playground (4 square, wall ball, kickball the yellow or red ones). It has been designed to fool you into buying the right priced ball. I would not recommend this ball if you want a genuinely nice ball. This is not it. It feels ok, and the deep channels make it look like that's the ball I wanted but unfortunately I am disappointed. I knew when I got it and looked at the balls air fill valve it was a cheap ball. It was cheaply molded and didnt sit cleanly in its hole, almost seemed pushed in a bit. It came in a brown cardboard box with no specific packaging, a ball in a box....over promised, under delivered!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Good Basketball

01/24/2013
By ,
Okie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly, there isn't a lot to review on a basketball. I mean, the covering has been sturdy through outdoor play and that's about all I can say. I guess I could say it bounces and is good and round, but seriously, it is a very good ball for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Very good product - good value

07/27/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two basketballs I bought are a great quality for outdoor play. They were $10 cheaper than at Sports Authority - for the exact same ball.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)
10/20/2012
By ,
Lake Elsinore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice grip and bounce. Love the overall feel of this ball.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)
01/24/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great grip. Very good surface grain. Best outdoor ball available in my opinion, and I've played quite a few.
An excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Great development / indoor game ball!!!

07/21/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great indoor rock. It has good weight and grip. It is heavier than most balls but then again it is a Baller's Ball and not for the weak. It is not really made for outdoor play since it attracts dirt very easily until broken in. I've given away 5 of these already to young up and comers who want to develop a better jump shot and this is the ball for that.
Too bad every Walmart doesn't stock this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Best wearing outdoor ball available

08/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a few of these over the past several years. This is the best ball for overall wear and feel if you're playing outside on hardtop. If you're playing inside exclusively, there are better balls (Wilson Evolution, TF1000).
While it does take a little breaking-in, once it's broken in, it will hold it's feel, until it just gets too worn out to play with (the edges of the panels will start to peel away eventually with enough use).
I took one star off value because I have previously been able to find this item on sale for up to 30% off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Great basketball!

11/13/2013
By ,
West Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to dribble and shoot. I use it to play outside, and it has great grip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Not bad...im pleased after 2 weeks

10/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good...im pleased...have used it outside and inside...still has grip and need to be broken in yet. Seems a bit smaller in size box says 29.5 ill give it more time to loosen up. The gym I frequent has purchased several....keeping an eye on them and how they ware.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Great Ball, Priced a little High

08/30/2013
By ,
Fitchburg, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Ball but I found the $14.99 Official NBA size Indoor/Outdoor "Super Tack" Ball to be just as good if not better. The problem is when your hands are wet the Ball Slips. Super Tack Helps with this IMO. Save the money and get the "Super Tack" Ball. You can thank me later! -Collin
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)

Ball doesn't bounce properly.

04/24/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The ball just doesn't bounce as it should. Hopefully, with time, it will perform as it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spalding NBA Official Zi/O Excel Indoor/Outdoor Composite Basketball (Official Size, 29.5)
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5