Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carlson Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson extra tall gate with pet door features a convenient walk-through design especially for large dogs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(303 Reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
69
3 stars
23
2 stars
12
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation90%272 out of 303reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 248 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
69
3 stars
23
2 stars
12
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

BUYER BEWARE

01/19/2010
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are owned by a large and powerful mastiff PUPPY. This gate fits OUR needs until he is out of his "training" stages. ONLY because he has been taught NOT to jump up on anyone or anything, for ANY reason. HOWEVER, if he did choose to jump on this gate, it would fall easily.
The gate was easy and quick to assemble and arrived quick with site to store option. The BOTTOM portion on the pressure mount is great. The problem is the TOP pressure points. because of the gap in this gate to allow a walk through. u can only put so much pressure to hold it secure before u loose the option to open and close the gate. i added a picture to give u an idea of what i mean.
u could make this work if u decided on screw the mounts tighter or looser before and after u needed to walk through each time. but thats ridiculous.
in summary, i would recommend this gate to those whose dogs would NOT jump on this gate or who have the patience in tightening the mounts with each use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Almost perfect

04/21/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using this to keep 4 cats out of a section of the house upstairs. The gate isn't very wide, but you can get an extension if needed. It's very expensive for what you get, but tall pet gates are rare. The only issue I had was that even though the bars are narrow enough to keep the cats from getting through, the 2 spaces on either end are much wider and I had to rig it with some additional wood strips. However, the ability to walk through it is fabulous.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

gate to keep dog and cat separate

04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this gate on a website somewhere and picked it due to price and height, i'm 5'10' and it's waist length. It's been working great, turns out my cat, who is 10lbs (maybe more?) can fit through the bars so I don't even open the cat door. The extension would have been good, but as it's all or nothing, it was about 1 inch too wide with the extension, so we screwed the cups in the wall and I feel totally confident with it. Occasionally the dog will put it's paw on it, but as not tried to do anything else (thankfully...and mostly he would be in giant trouble if he did).
For someone integrating 2 adult (3 year old) pets who have not been around any opposite cat or dog before, this gate is awesome, the cat feels safe, the dog knows he can't go in the bedroom, which is also good bc he smells like a dog and has long hair.
Pros - feels really sturdy
-Cat can fit thru the bars without the cat door open
-Great height
-easy to open the gate to walk through
-Good price
Cons - the extension is one size, cannot be adjusted (still keeping it in case the next place needs it) but you can unscrew the grips pretty far and it still feels sturdy
The picture is me at an odd angle, but you can see with the wrapping paper just how tall it is. And also you can see how the extension would have been nice, but not a big deal in the end.
Definitely recommend if you are trying to keep a dog out of a space and if you are integrating new pets!!...if you are trying to keep a cat out, probably just want to close the door :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Very Disappointed

02/08/2012
By ,
Wadsworth, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this could be a decent gate, and the bottom secures nicely, there's no possible way to get a secure fit across the top and still be able to open and close the walk thru door. We've tried everything...even making sure our walls were even.
We ordered this gate because we don't want to screw into our walls, yet without screwing the "surprise" cups and screws that were included, it WILL NOT fit securely across the top. I feel the product information was misleading.
The walk-thru door is also very narrow, making it difficult to carry much of anything through, and as many people have commented in their reviews, the cat door is way too large, allowing even medium sized dogs to pass through. This defeats it's purpose.
I was looking so forward to receiving the gate, unfortunately I will be returning it. There doesn't seem to be many options out there for a pressure mount, extra tall, walk thru gate with a cat door.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Small door too large, nice gate

08/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality and price. Two issues: "Small" door is almost 8" wide x 10" tall. Won't work for our original purpose as "small" pet door allows our large sized (35 lbs) dachshund right through. We bought it to keep her on one side with us and to let our 6 lb Yorkie come and go. We need a gate with a small door. I would not want to tangle with the "cat" that this door was sized for when they made the "cat" door.
2nd issue - The unlatch and lifting process requires either a very big hand to reach across the latch to slide the lock, or, two normal hands to open as well as securely close the gate. Unless the locking step is taken when closing the gate, the gate is not secure and can be bumped open by a pet.
While it is not a problem, be careful when installling this unit, the door opens ONE WAY so check the swing path before installing.
Other than the size of the NOT small "small" door, I like this gate. Easy installation, easy to clean and the gate looks very nice. I may try to rig a header and weld it over the top of the pet door to make the opening LESS than 10 inches tall. If that's a cat door, I do not want to meet that cat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Good Construction

04/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The construction far exceeded anything I expected. I purchased this gate to keep my pet cat out a couple of rooms. It didn't work; she was able to figure out how to fit between the bars (the space between the gate and the fixed section and also where the fence fit against the door jamb). It just wasn't narrow enough. My cat weighs 11 pounds so if you want it for a cat I recommend it for a bigger cat than I have.
The description doesn't mention it but the gate comes with an extra 6" section. I did not use it but I did need the 4" extension which I had to order separately.
Unless you permanently use the supplied "cups" and attach them to the wall or jamb where you are installing the gate, the tension at the upper part of the fence is insufficient to keep it in place if a dog or person pushes on the fence. The cups are screwed into the wall or jamb and the rubber tipped tension screws are placed into the cups to prevent the gate from shifting. I believe the cups are a must if you are using the fence for dogs or children.
Overall a great product but not for small cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Good but not perfect

12/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Height is great but gate a little flimsy at 38.5 " due to screw adjusters. Worse part is that a 6 month 55 lb dog can still get through the cat door with ease. Defeats the purpose of having one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

very nice product

06/03/2009
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my cats out of the kitchen and dining room. I tried everything but they always managed to get over or around it, so I figured they couldn't get over this gate and we would be able to walk thru it, and it worked.
My cats can't get through it except one little cat that can fit through the bars but she is the only one, all the rest just sit there and look in. Thank goodness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
How little is your little cat?
Posted 02/20/2012
Girth, weight?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Not made very well

12/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would have worked out well if it was made better. Two of the screws were stripped and could not maintain pressure. I had to return it to my local Walmart. Did not purchase another one. I felt that if the screws stripped that quickly, it was not well made & didn't want to risk it. Very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Nice gate

12/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate has finally kept out jumping shepherd contained in our hallway. We had a low regular gate for babies which was a joke to him. This gate does seem flimsy at that threshold of. needing the adaptor. If our dog figured things out he could probably push this over. But he hasn't and it's all good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

the best

08/12/2009
By ,
Clackamas Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Irish Setter jumps like a deer, when I was getting home from work, I'd find a mess in my bathroom, cat litter everywhere. Since I have had this gate I don't find any more messes and the cat is happy too!! He can also escape from the dogs.
I am so happy with this product, Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

doggie off limit

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this gate to keep our new rescue dog out of the bathroom where we have the litter box and food for our cat. We did discover the small door was perfect for the cat but the dog, 30 lbs, was able to squeeze through. We modified the small door and is now very effective. The spring opening to open full gate is also very easy to use. Plus, the fact that they also include extensions for wider door opening is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Nice Pet Door

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The door operates very well. I really like the latch design. The tall door is great. I do wish the door itself were a little wider.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Cats are smarter than the designer

11/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well made and easily assembled. But a normal size adult determined cat was able to squeeze through the bars.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Looks and works!

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an axcellent gate that is well built and unobtrusive. Will be with us a long time!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Great gate for leaping dogs

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The height of this gate is great, my puppy who thinks she is a gazelle was clearing the 28" baby gate like it was nothing - not with this one! Even if you don't need so much height it is still a great walk through gate because you don't have to bend down to unlatch it. It is well made, very sturdy and mobile. I'm buying another one for upstairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

perfect dog gate

09/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is very durable...enough to withstand both of my dogs! My dogs are 65 lbs. and 40 lbs..they both have jumped up on the gate, but failed to knock it over, and the gate is tall enough so that they can't get over it..I haven't even screwed the braces to the wall yet..I might not have to. This is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

keeping the furry ones happy

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate works great if you hard mount it to the wall. It would be easy for a large animal to push it over if just pressure mounted. Remember this is intended for large animals .so yes the small access door could allow a small dog thru. But perfect for cats , and keeping their large furry brothers out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

This Pet Gate is Pet GREAT!

05/16/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was moving into a new place and wanted to keep my two boxers from roaming free throughout the new condo. I needed something tall and durable since anyone who knows the boxer breed knows they are jumpers. I also needed something to with stand them jumping up on their hind legs and putting their weight on the gate with their front paws. This gate does both! It fits most all my common "door" spaces and the height is PERFECT. I also love that it has the walk through door so I don't have to constantly take it off and put it back on the wall. This makes my life easier! I don't have a cat so I'm not quite sure how workable the small door at the bottom is. But the dogs don't even notice it and neither do I. Worth the buy and the online price you just can't beat it! Most pet stores sell similar products for over $100 bucks a pot! And I also know this gate has extensions which you can purchase separately if you need to gate off a longer space!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Big Doggy Gate

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy duty gate that keeps 90lb. GSD confined. Has a cat gate which is perfect, also! Love It!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 270 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next