Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carlson Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson extra tall gate with pet door features a convenient walk-through design especially for large dogs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(291 Reviews) 257
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
65
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%263 out of 291reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 248 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
65
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

BUYER BEWARE

01/19/2010
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are owned by a large and powerful mastiff PUPPY. This gate fits OUR needs until he is out of his "training" stages. ONLY because he has been taught NOT to jump up on anyone or anything, for ANY reason. HOWEVER, if he did choose to jump on this gate, it would fall easily.
The gate was easy and quick to assemble and arrived quick with site to store option. The BOTTOM portion on the pressure mount is great. The problem is the TOP pressure points. because of the gap in this gate to allow a walk through. u can only put so much pressure to hold it secure before u loose the option to open and close the gate. i added a picture to give u an idea of what i mean.
u could make this work if u decided on screw the mounts tighter or looser before and after u needed to walk through each time. but thats ridiculous.
in summary, i would recommend this gate to those whose dogs would NOT jump on this gate or who have the patience in tightening the mounts with each use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Almost perfect

04/21/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using this to keep 4 cats out of a section of the house upstairs. The gate isn't very wide, but you can get an extension if needed. It's very expensive for what you get, but tall pet gates are rare. The only issue I had was that even though the bars are narrow enough to keep the cats from getting through, the 2 spaces on either end are much wider and I had to rig it with some additional wood strips. However, the ability to walk through it is fabulous.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

gate to keep dog and cat separate

04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this gate on a website somewhere and picked it due to price and height, i'm 5'10' and it's waist length. It's been working great, turns out my cat, who is 10lbs (maybe more?) can fit through the bars so I don't even open the cat door. The extension would have been good, but as it's all or nothing, it was about 1 inch too wide with the extension, so we screwed the cups in the wall and I feel totally confident with it. Occasionally the dog will put it's paw on it, but as not tried to do anything else (thankfully...and mostly he would be in giant trouble if he did).
For someone integrating 2 adult (3 year old) pets who have not been around any opposite cat or dog before, this gate is awesome, the cat feels safe, the dog knows he can't go in the bedroom, which is also good bc he smells like a dog and has long hair.
Pros - feels really sturdy
-Cat can fit thru the bars without the cat door open
-Great height
-easy to open the gate to walk through
-Good price
Cons - the extension is one size, cannot be adjusted (still keeping it in case the next place needs it) but you can unscrew the grips pretty far and it still feels sturdy
The picture is me at an odd angle, but you can see with the wrapping paper just how tall it is. And also you can see how the extension would have been nice, but not a big deal in the end.
Definitely recommend if you are trying to keep a dog out of a space and if you are integrating new pets!!...if you are trying to keep a cat out, probably just want to close the door :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Very Disappointed

02/08/2012
By ,
Wadsworth, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this could be a decent gate, and the bottom secures nicely, there's no possible way to get a secure fit across the top and still be able to open and close the walk thru door. We've tried everything...even making sure our walls were even.
We ordered this gate because we don't want to screw into our walls, yet without screwing the "surprise" cups and screws that were included, it WILL NOT fit securely across the top. I feel the product information was misleading.
The walk-thru door is also very narrow, making it difficult to carry much of anything through, and as many people have commented in their reviews, the cat door is way too large, allowing even medium sized dogs to pass through. This defeats it's purpose.
I was looking so forward to receiving the gate, unfortunately I will be returning it. There doesn't seem to be many options out there for a pressure mount, extra tall, walk thru gate with a cat door.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Small door too large, nice gate

08/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality and price. Two issues: "Small" door is almost 8" wide x 10" tall. Won't work for our original purpose as "small" pet door allows our large sized (35 lbs) dachshund right through. We bought it to keep her on one side with us and to let our 6 lb Yorkie come and go. We need a gate with a small door. I would not want to tangle with the "cat" that this door was sized for when they made the "cat" door.
2nd issue - The unlatch and lifting process requires either a very big hand to reach across the latch to slide the lock, or, two normal hands to open as well as securely close the gate. Unless the locking step is taken when closing the gate, the gate is not secure and can be bumped open by a pet.
While it is not a problem, be careful when installling this unit, the door opens ONE WAY so check the swing path before installing.
Other than the size of the NOT small "small" door, I like this gate. Easy installation, easy to clean and the gate looks very nice. I may try to rig a header and weld it over the top of the pet door to make the opening LESS than 10 inches tall. If that's a cat door, I do not want to meet that cat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Good Construction

04/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The construction far exceeded anything I expected. I purchased this gate to keep my pet cat out a couple of rooms. It didn't work; she was able to figure out how to fit between the bars (the space between the gate and the fixed section and also where the fence fit against the door jamb). It just wasn't narrow enough. My cat weighs 11 pounds so if you want it for a cat I recommend it for a bigger cat than I have.
The description doesn't mention it but the gate comes with an extra 6" section. I did not use it but I did need the 4" extension which I had to order separately.
Unless you permanently use the supplied "cups" and attach them to the wall or jamb where you are installing the gate, the tension at the upper part of the fence is insufficient to keep it in place if a dog or person pushes on the fence. The cups are screwed into the wall or jamb and the rubber tipped tension screws are placed into the cups to prevent the gate from shifting. I believe the cups are a must if you are using the fence for dogs or children.
Overall a great product but not for small cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

very tall

10/19/2014
By ,
Gettysburg,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gate when you want a large pet to stay on one floor!Very tall and sturdy.Pleased with the gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

very nice product

06/03/2009
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my cats out of the kitchen and dining room. I tried everything but they always managed to get over or around it, so I figured they couldn't get over this gate and we would be able to walk thru it, and it worked.
My cats can't get through it except one little cat that can fit through the bars but she is the only one, all the rest just sit there and look in. Thank goodness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
How little is your little cat?
Posted 02/20/2012
Girth, weight?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Great Gate at a Great Price!

09/27/2014
By ,
Northridge, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the gate a couple of weeks ago and I was amazed at how easily I got it up and into the doorway. It fit perfectly and all I did was follow the directions and put the 4 end pieces in place. Then I tightened them so that it fit snugly and it was done! I stored the extra panel that came with it because I didn't need it now. I tried the door opening into the room but like it better with the door opening to the hallway and into the wall so it's not in the way at all. It's nice and high so there's no way my cocker spaniel can jump over it. It's made out of really sturdy materials and I LOVE it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

the best

08/12/2009
By ,
Clackamas Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Irish Setter jumps like a deer, when I was getting home from work, I'd find a mess in my bathroom, cat litter everywhere. Since I have had this gate I don't find any more messes and the cat is happy too!! He can also escape from the dogs.
I am so happy with this product, Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

perfect dog gate

09/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is very durable...enough to withstand both of my dogs! My dogs are 65 lbs. and 40 lbs..they both have jumped up on the gate, but failed to knock it over, and the gate is tall enough so that they can't get over it..I haven't even screwed the braces to the wall yet..I might not have to. This is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Great gate

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these off Craigslist and liked it so much I searched online for another one and found it at Walmart. It shipped quicker than said it would. So it serves the purpose of keeping my bigger dog gated when needed but my cat can still get thru without jumping over it..I have recommended this gate already and my boss got one for her house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

nice gate - very tall

10/01/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the gate ended up being taller than I needed (didn't work where I originally intended to put it, because of my railings, so I ended up returning it for a shorter one - that is my fault for not thinking it through before I ordered it! It is a nice sturdy gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Working out great

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're using the gate to keep the new puppy out of the laundry room (the "cat's room"). We read reviews on how the people walk through gate makes the gate unstable, but for us works great. Cat's happy, easy for us to access, dog stays out. All good. Great value as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Absolutely Perfect for Our Needs...

10/07/2014
By ,
Saint Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate has everything! We have an 8 mo. old giant breed aggressive GSD (already 91 lbs and still growing steadily). We are actually using the two we just purchased to protect our living-room windows and those unsuspecting visitors on the outside that our pup wants to eat, from the inside! They fit perfectly in the window frames and nearly cover both of the entire windows.
I was able to put both of them together and in the windows myself within 15 minutes. I didn't need the instructions to tell me how they worked or how to put them together, and for me that's an accomplishment as I'm not the brightest bulb in the pack. They were/are easy to adjust.
We like them so much, we're going to order a third gate for our son's bedroom door where he keeps his cat. These gates have a nice cat door on the bottom that's the perfect size for our cat, who is a larger, taller gray and white tuxedo. You can lock the cat door so that it can't be opened or leave it "unlocked" so that it swings one way or the other. The lock on the cat door is spring loaded, so if you open it, the part that locks into the gate itself pops back out. That's what I mean when I say it will swing one way or the other depending on what side you open it out to.
The walk-thru part of the gate system is perfect. I don't understand the reviews saying that it's too small to walk thru, unless they've improved them since those reviews...I'm 5'5" and 184 lbs...I walk through just fine. Yes, it takes two hands to open the walk-thru part of the gate, one to operate the safety lever and the other to lift the latch to open the gate, but that does make it more secure, since there are clever dogs out there, ours being one of them.
The gate does work on a "pressure" system, which to me seems just as secure as any of the others that consumers typically use, but you can also use the screw in cups provided for added security, which is what we will do in the window frames, just as a safeguard.
Aesthetically, the gates were in perfect condition, packed well...no scratches, dings, broken or missing pieces. Everything arrived exactly as it should. Yes, you can see weld marks under the white paint, but that's how it's put together, no big deal and you can't see them unless you get right on top of it.
Overall, we are very, very pleased with the gates we received from Wal-Mart and the price we paid for each. Yes, a little pricey, but well worth the quality and security. We recommend these gates to everyone now, especially if they have a large/giant breed enthusiastic/aggressive pup or dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Exactly what we needed.

09/19/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was thinking about building something like this but we found this one and it saved him a lot of time and money. It works perfectly and he installed it in probably 15 minutes total. He didn't need to use the screws provided because they weren't needed which eliminated the need for any tools at all. It is very secure without them. We have a Chocolate Lab and it prevents her from going in the "cat room".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

This Pet Gate is Pet GREAT!

05/16/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was moving into a new place and wanted to keep my two boxers from roaming free throughout the new condo. I needed something tall and durable since anyone who knows the boxer breed knows they are jumpers. I also needed something to with stand them jumping up on their hind legs and putting their weight on the gate with their front paws. This gate does both! It fits most all my common "door" spaces and the height is PERFECT. I also love that it has the walk through door so I don't have to constantly take it off and put it back on the wall. This makes my life easier! I don't have a cat so I'm not quite sure how workable the small door at the bottom is. But the dogs don't even notice it and neither do I. Worth the buy and the online price you just can't beat it! Most pet stores sell similar products for over $100 bucks a pot! And I also know this gate has extensions which you can purchase separately if you need to gate off a longer space!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with small pet door

06/07/2014
By ,
Eastern LI, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional Product - REALLY easy to set up and take down.
I bought this to introduce the dog to the cat. The small pet door (for the cat) can be kept open so the cat can come and go. It's perfect, it's a well made product and when set up correctly is strong enough to do the job it was meant for.
The gate is easy to open, easy to pass through and easy to close. There's a safety latch so the door cannot accidentally open. Again, when installed correctly, this door gets the job done!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

GREAT PET GATE

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT PET GATE FOR THE PRICE AND EASY TO INSTALL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Awesome

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for Both cats and dogs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 258 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next