Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Carlson extra tall gate with pet door features a convenient walk-through design especially for large dogs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 287
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
72
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation90%288 out of 321reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 259 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
72
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

BUYER BEWARE

01/19/2010
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are owned by a large and powerful mastiff PUPPY. This gate fits OUR needs until he is out of his "training" stages. ONLY because he has been taught NOT to jump up on anyone or anything, for ANY reason. HOWEVER, if he did choose to jump on this gate, it would fall easily.
The gate was easy and quick to assemble and arrived quick with site to store option. The BOTTOM portion on the pressure mount is great. The problem is the TOP pressure points. because of the gap in this gate to allow a walk through. u can only put so much pressure to hold it secure before u loose the option to open and close the gate. i added a picture to give u an idea of what i mean.
u could make this work if u decided on screw the mounts tighter or looser before and after u needed to walk through each time. but thats ridiculous.
in summary, i would recommend this gate to those whose dogs would NOT jump on this gate or who have the patience in tightening the mounts with each use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Almost perfect

04/21/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using this to keep 4 cats out of a section of the house upstairs. The gate isn't very wide, but you can get an extension if needed. It's very expensive for what you get, but tall pet gates are rare. The only issue I had was that even though the bars are narrow enough to keep the cats from getting through, the 2 spaces on either end are much wider and I had to rig it with some additional wood strips. However, the ability to walk through it is fabulous.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

gate to keep dog and cat separate

04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this gate on a website somewhere and picked it due to price and height, i'm 5'10' and it's waist length. It's been working great, turns out my cat, who is 10lbs (maybe more?) can fit through the bars so I don't even open the cat door. The extension would have been good, but as it's all or nothing, it was about 1 inch too wide with the extension, so we screwed the cups in the wall and I feel totally confident with it. Occasionally the dog will put it's paw on it, but as not tried to do anything else (thankfully...and mostly he would be in giant trouble if he did).
For someone integrating 2 adult (3 year old) pets who have not been around any opposite cat or dog before, this gate is awesome, the cat feels safe, the dog knows he can't go in the bedroom, which is also good bc he smells like a dog and has long hair.
Pros - feels really sturdy
-Cat can fit thru the bars without the cat door open
-Great height
-easy to open the gate to walk through
-Good price
Cons - the extension is one size, cannot be adjusted (still keeping it in case the next place needs it) but you can unscrew the grips pretty far and it still feels sturdy
The picture is me at an odd angle, but you can see with the wrapping paper just how tall it is. And also you can see how the extension would have been nice, but not a big deal in the end.
Definitely recommend if you are trying to keep a dog out of a space and if you are integrating new pets!!...if you are trying to keep a cat out, probably just want to close the door :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Very Disappointed

02/08/2012
By ,
Wadsworth, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this could be a decent gate, and the bottom secures nicely, there's no possible way to get a secure fit across the top and still be able to open and close the walk thru door. We've tried everything...even making sure our walls were even.
We ordered this gate because we don't want to screw into our walls, yet without screwing the "surprise" cups and screws that were included, it WILL NOT fit securely across the top. I feel the product information was misleading.
The walk-thru door is also very narrow, making it difficult to carry much of anything through, and as many people have commented in their reviews, the cat door is way too large, allowing even medium sized dogs to pass through. This defeats it's purpose.
I was looking so forward to receiving the gate, unfortunately I will be returning it. There doesn't seem to be many options out there for a pressure mount, extra tall, walk thru gate with a cat door.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Small door too large, nice gate

08/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality and price. Two issues: "Small" door is almost 8" wide x 10" tall. Won't work for our original purpose as "small" pet door allows our large sized (35 lbs) dachshund right through. We bought it to keep her on one side with us and to let our 6 lb Yorkie come and go. We need a gate with a small door. I would not want to tangle with the "cat" that this door was sized for when they made the "cat" door.
2nd issue - The unlatch and lifting process requires either a very big hand to reach across the latch to slide the lock, or, two normal hands to open as well as securely close the gate. Unless the locking step is taken when closing the gate, the gate is not secure and can be bumped open by a pet.
While it is not a problem, be careful when installling this unit, the door opens ONE WAY so check the swing path before installing.
Other than the size of the NOT small "small" door, I like this gate. Easy installation, easy to clean and the gate looks very nice. I may try to rig a header and weld it over the top of the pet door to make the opening LESS than 10 inches tall. If that's a cat door, I do not want to meet that cat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Pet door needs to be smaller

05/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second gate like this I have purchased and I really like it. It is easy to install and works well even without permanently connecting it to the doorway. My standard poodle and border collie both respect it and it keeps them in the bedroom with me at night while allowing my two cats to come and go.
My only complaint is that the pet door is too large for most cats. My friend's smaller border collies squeeze right through it. If I could make it perfect I would either just make it smaller or design it so it can be made smaller (cut door into two thirds and one third sections) if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Perfect for our needs

05/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this because we adopted a large dog we wanted to be able to separate him from the cats if need be. Also, we wanted something we wouldn't have to keep putting up and taking down and still be able to get in and out of our room.
I like that it can be latched and unlatched with one hand and is tall enough that we don't have to worry about him trying to jump or climb over it.
Only con is that I wish it was a little more sturdy. I'm afraid if it was pushed hard enough, it would come down.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Great Priduct

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gate is exactly what I was looking for. It keeps my dog out of the room with the cat litter boxes and stops her from eating the cats food also. Very sturdy and reliable product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Good Construction

04/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The construction far exceeded anything I expected. I purchased this gate to keep my pet cat out a couple of rooms. It didn't work; she was able to figure out how to fit between the bars (the space between the gate and the fixed section and also where the fence fit against the door jamb). It just wasn't narrow enough. My cat weighs 11 pounds so if you want it for a cat I recommend it for a bigger cat than I have.
The description doesn't mention it but the gate comes with an extra 6" section. I did not use it but I did need the 4" extension which I had to order separately.
Unless you permanently use the supplied "cups" and attach them to the wall or jamb where you are installing the gate, the tension at the upper part of the fence is insufficient to keep it in place if a dog or person pushes on the fence. The cups are screwed into the wall or jamb and the rubber tipped tension screws are placed into the cups to prevent the gate from shifting. I believe the cups are a must if you are using the fence for dogs or children.
Overall a great product but not for small cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

very nice product

06/03/2009
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my cats out of the kitchen and dining room. I tried everything but they always managed to get over or around it, so I figured they couldn't get over this gate and we would be able to walk thru it, and it worked.
My cats can't get through it except one little cat that can fit through the bars but she is the only one, all the rest just sit there and look in. Thank goodness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
How little is your little cat?
Posted 02/20/2012
Girth, weight?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

the best

08/12/2009
By ,
Clackamas Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Irish Setter jumps like a deer, when I was getting home from work, I'd find a mess in my bathroom, cat litter everywhere. Since I have had this gate I don't find any more messes and the cat is happy too!! He can also escape from the dogs.
I am so happy with this product, Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Shoddy at best

02/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously purchased two Top Paw brand extra-tall gates at Pet Smart (manufactured by Carlson) and was very satisfied with their quality. After recently moving I needed two more and saw that Walmart sold the same item direct from the manufacturer and at almost half the price. The two I received are definitely not the same quality as the two I purchase a year ago. The welds are sloppy and the latches are loose. Even the decals are applied haphazardly. Either quality control has slipped since my first purchase or these two gates were made on a Monday morning after a holiday by a person witha drinking problem. I called the Carlson customer service desk (952-435-1084) to ask if the gates made for the Top Paw brand were manufactured to a higher standard and was blown off by their representative. In this case the phrase "you get what you pay for" is proven to be true.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

This Pet Gate is Pet GREAT!

05/16/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was moving into a new place and wanted to keep my two boxers from roaming free throughout the new condo. I needed something tall and durable since anyone who knows the boxer breed knows they are jumpers. I also needed something to with stand them jumping up on their hind legs and putting their weight on the gate with their front paws. This gate does both! It fits most all my common "door" spaces and the height is PERFECT. I also love that it has the walk through door so I don't have to constantly take it off and put it back on the wall. This makes my life easier! I don't have a cat so I'm not quite sure how workable the small door at the bottom is. But the dogs don't even notice it and neither do I. Worth the buy and the online price you just can't beat it! Most pet stores sell similar products for over $100 bucks a pot! And I also know this gate has extensions which you can purchase separately if you need to gate off a longer space!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Keeps our dog out of the cat litter!

04/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our German Shepherd suddenly developed the bad habit of getting into our cats' litter boxes, and we needed a way to keep him of the room that still allowed the cats in. This worked perfectly and was easy to install. The only downside is that the little cat gate can swing shut when you open the big gate, so we tied it back so it stays open no matter way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

perfect dog gate

09/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is very durable...enough to withstand both of my dogs! My dogs are 65 lbs. and 40 lbs..they both have jumped up on the gate, but failed to knock it over, and the gate is tall enough so that they can't get over it..I haven't even screwed the braces to the wall yet..I might not have to. This is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Fits every need I had

02/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a cat and 2 dogs. My dogs LOVE kitty cookies (the used litter). I bought this gate because the cat is getting older and has earned not having to jump over gates anymore. But one of my dogs is a border collie mix and can jump very high. While the opening on the gate is far too wide and I had to make some adjustments (perhaps Carlson should sell a kit in the future that allows for adjustments to the door...?), it suits our needs quite well. My one dog cannot jump over this. It's simple to open. And with adjustments, my other dog can't get through the opening. Meanwhile, my old arthritic cat is sooooo happy to not have to jump over a normal baby gate anymore. It's well-made and I am rather pleased with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Well worth getting, coming back for another...

03/07/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We adopted a very strong mixed breed dog. He's about 60 lbs of all muscle. He was supposedly okay with cats, but in reality he was not happy with my two. I had a baby gate at my bedroom door to keep him penned in at night, but I know he only stayed in there because I was in there, as he jumped the gate with ease one day. I was able to easily install this gate (I did use the mounting cups). The dog is not able to jump it or push it over, and the door is easy enough for my 5 yr old to come and go as she pleases. I am purchasing another today to replace the old swinging baby gate in the stairs.
*As an aside, I am working with him daily towards desensitizing to the cats using positive reinforcements, gates are needed for the safety of all involved.
*Also, I think the other reviewers complaints about the cat door being too big are ridiculous. The cat door is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

Should Have Bought It Sooner

12/21/2009
By ,
Pawtucket, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful. I have a bright dog visiting me who sees the room with the carpet in a way that is naughty.
This gate is metal except for latch, and 40" tall, which keeps the dog from chewing or jumping it. It has a very nice swinging door to pass thru with a latch that's almost incomprehensible to open unless you know how. The gate even has a kitty door in the middle at bottom, so the cat can come and go; it can be shut closed.
Installs pretty easily with four pressure pads that screw out to brace against the sides of the doorway. I had to use one 'cup' for keeping pads from slipping, and a longer screw(provided screw was too short) to insure the gate would not budge once installed. Extra metal panel provided for larger opening door way.
This is my second Carlson extra tall gate, and this is by far the cheapest I've found it. HIGHLY recommend this gate for anyone with large dogs they want to keep out of a room, etc. You probably WILL have to drill a hole or two to properly secure it so keep that in mind. I did on both gates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

My Cats Hate it!!!!!, I love it!!!!

12/07/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received and installed this well made gate door. WOW! I am going to need to order another one for another room. Much easier than keeping a door closed and having no circulation through the house. It installed easily, the cats tried to get past it but no way. It being so tall we will see if they eventually attempt to jump over it. Guess who gets to sleep a bit later tomorrow morning!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with Pet Door

BEST PURCHASE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I would have bought this years ago! I have big dogs....G. Shepherds....four. It holds them out when I need them to be. I placed in between kitchen and living room. So if they are wet and muddy, at least I can narrow it down to one room. Also, stops trouble at feeding time. I have a Doggie Door installed on my back. Now, if I have to be gone for whatever reason over night, I can leave the doggie door open and let them come inside to kitchen. And use the pet door to stop from going any farther......(not like there isn't shelter outside)...LOL It is well made, sturdy and I was worried it would not hold them. Works great and my smallest is 65 lbs.....
Only issue I had was to remember to STEP over the bottom piece. My toes have now learned. LOL Love this Extra Tall Pet Gate!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 288 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next