Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carlson Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Carlson Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Carlson Extra Wide Gate with Pet Door. This baby safety gate has a convenient walk thru design especially for wide openings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(591 Reviews) 524
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
412
4 stars
126
3 stars
26
2 stars
16
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation94%557 out of 590reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
67 Questions | 555 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
412
4 stars
126
3 stars
26
2 stars
16
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

It does the job

12/27/2009
By ,
Granada Hills, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my six month old Rottweiler, to keep him out of the living room. I use it so I can keep the sliding glass door open for him. It's been a couple of weeks now and so far so good; it looks like this gate will last through his adulthood as well. The door was easy to install; I did not anchor it. I just used the tension to hold it up. If not for the sliding door and the frame of the door in the way, a large dog could probably push this gate down with its weight unless it is anchored to the wall. Also, the tension supports (works like a shower rod) tends to move and needs reposition occasionally. It's made of sturdy metal so the door cannot be chewed by the dog. The latch is made of sturdy plastic which usually needs two hands to operate (but I have learned to use one hand.) The cat door stays securely in place when not in use. The entry is a narrow 16 inches. I feel this is a excellent price for a good product. It's a keeper.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Nice pet gate -- my dog is too small though!

03/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this pet gate to keep my corgi from getting into the closet where my cat's food and litterbox resides. Unfortunately, corgis aren't that big, and my dog is kind of on the small side anyway. Much to my chagrin, he was able to walk right through the small doorway once I had the pet gate in place.
My husband took the pet door off and worked some magic to zip-tie and duct tape it in such a way to make a small square opening that the cat can squeeze through, but the dog cannot. Just be sure to check the dimensions of the pet door against the dimensions of whatever critter you want to keep out -- that door is bigger than I thought it would be.
Otherwise, the gate was easy to set up. I only had to use the smaller extension. The compression fittings hold the gate very firmly. That sucker has not budged. The people gate is easy enough for me to open, and is plenty wide to walk through. It doesn't look bad in the doorway either (except perhaps for our duct tape-rigged cat opening.)
Though we did have to modify it, we're very pleased with our purchase. There weren't many other options open to us as far as keeping the dog out of one room while letting the cat have free access to his facilities, and this one gets the job done at a good price. I like that if we move and need to block of a narrower OR wider spot, this gate can accommodate either scenario (assuming I don't lose my extra, larger extension.)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Nice gate

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered two gates. One was flawed in that the adjustment screw wouldn't go into the hole all the way. There was a blockage probably from the soldered joint on the inside. Fortunately the spot I needed it installed required an extension panel (included are two sizes) and that worked well - actually, because I ordered 2 gates I used two of the narrow extensions - one from each gate- instead of the larger one. The second gate worked perfectly in a regular doorway. The small pet door works both directions and can be latched closed. Note that the big gate only opens in one direction. AND that the gate does not APPEAR to close properly UNTIL you have the ends tightened enough. It really does work. You can do the gate with one hand but it isn't that easy to do. I have done it though. Takes a bit of practices. Really easy with two hands. Close and lock with one hand easily.
All in all a great gate for the money and does the job of letting adults through the gate, letting the cat get to the kitty litter and keeping the three year old out of the bathroom and kitty litter! I would definitely purchase a third if I found the need or if I needed a baby shower gift!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Daisy the Dyson

03/06/2010
By ,
clark nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanna let Walmart know what a great buy and how happy we are with this gate. We have a little Yorkie puppy and she tries to get into everything . It took me 10min. tops to put everything together and installed . Its been up for over a few weeks now and its doing a great job keeping together, and most important keepin our lil pup away from danger . Awsome product.......!!!!And best price with shipping
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Great value, very sturdy

07/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been a gate-free house for some time but with the addition of a second (young) dog, the cat finally needed a room of her own. Not sure why my husband had such trouble setting it up (manly inability to read directions?) but I had it up in about 5 minutes and it is very sturdy. I lured the cat through once with a treat and since then she seems to enjoy going back and forth. I've seen handles/locks that I've liked better (Evenflo), and since it's mainly made to keep dogs out don't be surprised if your toddler figures out how to open it within a couple of days. All in all it is a wonderful and well-priced product. And my cat approves.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

minimal investiment for great gate!

09/14/2010
By ,
Newport News, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have 2 black labs that i have been trying to keep out of the litter boxes in the spare room. this gate is perfect! it opens up smoothly and easily. it does have a locking mechanism but i don't need it locked, just closed and it works just great! the small door opening does have a ability to be close/locked as well. i use this door as a great tension rod type of gate it's perfect for my rental home...no permanent damage to repair! the cats instantly began to "tease" the dogs by laying on the carpet just on the other side of the gate, where the dogs can see them but not bother them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

great gate

10/28/2011
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant about ordering this but once it arrived was thrilled. A nice addition and have wondered why I had not ordered before. Trying to keep cats and dogs segregated is no easy task. This gate was a blessing. And Walmart's delivery was fast even arrived a week before it's scheduled date.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Great Gate

04/26/2011
By ,
Addison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 2 years, my toy schnauzer discovered she could jump over her old gate and met me at the front door one day after work. I then was on a mad dash to find a taller gate that would fit in my laundry room area. After searching many sites and seeing the same gate at different pet stores, Wal-Mart's price could not be beat. I opted to rush the order and it arrived in 3 days! It was easy to assemble and we haven't had any problems. Plus, I love that I can now walk through to the laundry room instead of removing the spring loaded gate each and every time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Am I doing something wrong?

09/10/2012
By ,
warren,nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe it's too wide for my doorway or I didn't put it in right.
But I purchased 1 gate from Walmart, The ASPCA Carlson Extra wide walk thru gate with pet door. When I took it out of the box it looked beat up. The bottom pin on the door was missing.
I returned that gate and picked another - The same kind hoping this one would be better.
This one had the pin the last box didn't. I put it up in the doorway... and maybe my doorway is too small for this but my dog pushed it right out in about 2minutes when I went downstairs to do laundry. It wasn't in the door tight at all.
Can someone tell me if I did something wrong? Looks like i'll be returning this too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PEmbroke Pines, FL
Posted 11/06/2013
I bought the ASPCA Extra Wide gate, but it doesnt say anything about Carlson, is the same brand? I dont think so... It only include half of the parts... and the box was sealed... I see your photo and is the same thing that happened to us. I think this gate has something wrong in its desing because we used a lot of brands in the past and this never happened, I know we are not doing nothing wrong... so... back to walmart... and our puppy is all over the house!!! Thanks ASPCA!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Wasn't good for our situation

02/04/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This didn't work for our situation. We have a 46-inch space at the top of our stairs to use it in. We thought it would be perfect for a child safety gate and able to let our cat upstairs without always opening the gate like we currently do. Firstly, the paint where part of the metal is welded together was already cracking and a light pick with my fingernail removed more of it. Not the hugest deal in our opinion, but with our 46-inch space, the space was too small for using both extensions, but too big not to use an extension. So, the screws that tension/attach the gate to the wall had to be nearly fully extended, which made the gate quite wobbly/unstable for our comfort level. So, it went back. But honestly, I was sort of happy it was unstable because, even for the price, the paint was chipping off of it right out of the box on a brand new item. We're going to go with a wooden swing gate instead for about 2.5 times the price. Yes, more expensive, but at least we know it will be stable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Greyt gate!

08/17/2014
By ,
Winter Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a gate for a large dog. My greyhound, Sawyer, loves to run to the front door, so as I was trying to un-crate him without creating anxiety, I saw that this gate was taller than most. When I first opened the box, I saw that there are cups to screw in the wall to keep the gate in place. Much to my surprise, I didn't need them and the gate, with extensions was able to stay up, without having to make a permanent mark on my walls. I have already tried it out and I love that I can now bring in groceries and items I buy without having to worry about the dog running out the door. I would recommend this gate to anyone with pets or children. The gate can be loosely closed when you are at home or locked when you leave and it's very easy to undo the gate when you come in or go out. This gate is reasonably priced and I love the Site to Store option for Wal-Mart products. Check it out, if you need a gate in your home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Excellent Value! Great Product!

06/07/2012
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have been using this same gate for almost 3 years now and it is a great value for the money. I didn't want to pay more than double the price for the same item, so i took a chance on this one and very glad I did! We have 5 dogs (three of which are very big Labs) and 4 cats and this gate has held up beautifully, even through 2 large puppy growth stages! Very sturdy, even with the extentions on and very convenient. The only thing that did go wrong was that the plastic handle did crack but that was because we had friends watch our kittys over vacation and they didn't realize how it latched and opened and must have pulled up on it with force. Even iwth the little crack in the handle that has been there for almost as long as we have had the gate, it is still sturdy, durable and an excellent value! Don't hesitate to try! A+ all the way!
PS... We also have two Pugs and even though they are chubby, they can fit through the kitty door if open, so we just let them jump over it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Great product

07/25/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this product at someone else's house and had to check it out. I read the reviews before buying and I agree with them all . It's a great product and it looks nice. We had plastic baby gates for the door ways along with a spring loaded curtain rod . We trained our labs not to go over curtain rod. Even when I leave the door open they will not go thru it the bottom white piece looks like the curtain rod. We have it so it open in the room we want and we don't latch it tight so we can still use one hand to open it. We took the smaller door right off the cats use it no problem and our labs are just way to big to even try to fit thu the opening. We like it so much we bought a second one for the other door way so now the dogs have another room to go into . No more taking the gate up and down or walking over a curtain rod. I haven't had the grandkids over to see if it keeps them off the stairs. I did site to store pick up it took about a week. It just looks so much nicer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Plastic piece (for extension) broke after 48hrs.

03/10/2013
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I need to cover a span of 42"...and this gate did that, by using one of the two included extensions. I know I followed the directions properly. (I had a friend double check me.) But the plastic piece that "holds" the extension to the main gate was thin, and poorly designed. Or, if it was designed properly, then it was just manufactured incorrectly, because the only thing "holding" one part of the gate to the other was the tension of the gate against this thin piece of black plastic. No "channel" for the pieces to fit together, no locking mechanism, nothing to hold the main gate and extension securely together. And in order to get the tension strong enough to keep the dogs from easily toppling the gate (they lean on the bottom of it) I had to tighten it pretty tight. With the gate that tight, the plastic piece gave way after 2 days. I returned the item and I'm still looking for something better.
I may just get the cheap child gate (with no "walk thru gate") that you have to hop over.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Great for Large Dogs

08/10/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 weimaraners one who is food obsessed and the other that learned to open the pantry door and raise the lid on the trash can when I left. In an effort to maintain my sanity while cooking and keep the dogs out of trouble, I purchased 2 of these gates for both entrances to my kitchen. I can only say I wish I had done it earlier. They were easy to install, and the dogs have been unable to knock them down or figure out how to open the doors. They open and close the small pet door and of course stick their heads through that small opening, but the gates have held up and been very sturdy. I will say that my gates are on hardwood floors so the dogs are not able to get enough traction to allow them to jump them. If they were on carpet, I definitely would have needed the tall gates. I also priced these gates at other stores and found that Wal-Mart's price was in some cases 50% less. I worried about the aggravation of having to open and close these gates when going into my kitchen. However, I don't usually lock them so I only have to lift the handle to open the door. Pretty painless. Another benefit: when people come over, I can stick the dogs in the kitchen so visitors can actually come in the front door without having the dogs all over them. For that reason my friends love these gates too. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Perfect gate for kids and animals!

09/28/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is the ideal gate for someone with little kids and pets. I keep my dog in the laundry room. The gate makes it easy for me to walk in and out. The dog door makes it easy to let the dog out while still keeping my little ones from getting to the dog food and water bowls!
The gate is made well and is very secure when installed with the mounting brackets. I would highly recommend this gate! Just note the dog door is small and would be a tight fit for a medium or large animal. It is the perfect size for my small terrier (around 12 lbs).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Just what I needed for my dog...

09/14/2014
By ,
Central KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have a yorkie that we like to keep in the kitchen/family room where we can see her. This Carlson gate works great. It was easy to install - took only a few minutes. If I had a suggestion, I'd try to make the latch a little easier to open. I have arthritis in my hands and cannot open the latch. We found a way around that though, and I can understand that some people would want the gate to be difficult to get out of - especially for "jail breaker" dogs. Has a small pet door that you could leave open to allow a small pet travel through while confining a larger pet. We are very satisfied. Was a tad pricey.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

Great value

06/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet doors that are extra wide often run in $75 or more, so this one is a great value if you have wide openings like hallways you want to block off. Metal gate seems to be quite durable.
Only confusing part was operating the latch - they put a whole page of instructions for the teeny cat door, which was just a spring loaded pin, but didn't mention the top latch at all! (Pull up toward the ceiling to open; push under the brown plastic tab to lock.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

good only for permanent use

03/01/2014
By ,
Bethlehem,Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gate is well made as far as sturdiness is concerned. It looks good and will go with any decor if that was an issue. For me, the gate would be used in a guest bedroom for my dog, to restrict him from the rest of the house when we were out. The gate comes down when we come home. The problem is that the extensions do not lock in in any way. They slide in and slide out. So every time we remove the gate everything comes apart if not extremely careful, especially with having a wood floor, worrying that something could and would fall onto the floor. If you want to leave the gate up permanently, without having to remove it, then I think this would be a great gate. The other problem is the small opening for the dog to walk thru. That little gate has a latch, that when pulled open for gate to open, falls out as well. Gate must be closed to secure that latch, or take it off completely till you want it closed again. Hope that makes sense. I did return the gate the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Carlson Extra-Wide Walk-Thru Gate with Pet Door 0930PW, White

works great

09/17/2014
By ,
biloxi, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the gate very much except I saw it on sale for less than what I paid. can I receive a refund for the difference?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 525 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next