Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Memorex Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Memorex Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Using the Memorex 8x DVD+R Double Layer 50-pack Spindle, backing up personal videos, business presentations, sporting events, and any other video footage of high importance is easy. Available in 8x write speed, the Memorex 8x DVD+R Double Layer Media can store up to 8.5 GB of data and 240 minutes of video clippings on one single disc. The write once DVD+R is compatible with most home DVD players and DVD-ROM drives. The DVD+R Double Layer disc has a unique feature of write-once and burns at two depths on one side of the disc for increased storage capacity in less writing time. Be prepared to manage your data effectively using this double-layer media and work smarter.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation80%24 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Great product

09/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have not lost a disc due to product quality. Must have DVD writer that works with +R discs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 2 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Burntastic!

03/11/2010
By ,
Salinas,CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have purchased several spindles of the Memorex 8GB 8X/Dual Layer DVD's and have succesfully recorded on over 200 discs, with no playback issues whatsoever.
I've read the other reviews shown here, it seems that these people with issues need to look more towards there software and hardware then the blank media...there are countless settings that create writing troubles.
Good luck and happy burning!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 3 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Unsatisfied Frustrated Consumer

06/20/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle
What a Waste of money and time!!!
My experience.....DVD will only record (if your lucky) 1 video/dvd recording with a time limit of 240 minutes. Then as you view dvd recording it stops....and guess what its not the end of recorded show. I use Windows Media Center to record TV shows for educational, movies, Live concerts such as Austin City Limits, Soundstage. Sometimes an individual just likes to have a collection library just incase.....an individual may have to downsize and do without the luxury to view TV.
Yes, I know how bizarre/rare this may seem for an
individual to NOT have TV....Who wants to give up TV? Right! Here you go..ZBARGINHUNTER has had the opportunity to experience this situation without TV for better than 3 yrs. One never knows what the future may bring.
I wouldn't wast my time, effort, or money on this
product. My expectations of this product were shattered. What A Waste!!!
From here, I will most likely complain to the manufacturer. I have used MAXWELL products before this experience and have had no problem.
GO FIGURE?? Just my luck, I GUESS?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-20points
Review 4 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

A Not To Buy Item

06/17/2009
By ,
Miami, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a good priced dual layer dvd-r but wound up getting a good price but a bad product... some disc's were defective and most of the time they would fail half way through burn process. I had later found out that memorex dual layers are one of the weakest type of dual layer in today's market. I would not recommend this product. You should put a little more money into the product you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 5 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Good for longer movies but costly in price

09/23/2009
By ,
Mechanicsburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this product to record longer movies from TV. It is great to not be limited to the 2 hour recording time of the DVD+R. Although, unfortunately this product costs alot more than the DVD+Rs. I hope they eventually come down in price. I found that when I put this product in my machine, it indicates 3 hrs & 40 minutes of recording time available instead of the 4 hrs that it says on the package but if I use a special feature of my machine I can record up to 4 hours if it is just one recording session. If it is multiple recording sessions than I am limited to the 3 hrs & 40 minutes which usually isn't a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle
01/22/2010
By ,
laredo, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
there is some wrong with this product. I try to burn and it stop half way. Then need to throw alway and use a new one. Then repeat and repeat the some thing happen again and again. I the disc are wrong some way and the computer can't burn it correctily.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 7 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Memorex DVD DL 50 pk does the job

05/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have burned over 500 DVD DL discs, using Memorex, Sony, Verbatim, etc. Memorex 50 pk DVD DL from Walmart is the MOST cost effective DVD DL product I've found.
Have used Memorex for the last 200+ discs. Have had only 3 bad discs. And, all may have been a result of my own software issues.
DVD burning is NOT a precise process. As others have said, there are MANY settings and everything is SOFTWARE dependent.
Have just ordered another 50 pk MEMOREX DVD DL spindle. Recommend to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Terrible quality

06/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed to back up my data before reformatting/refreshing my computer. I know the basics of burning to blank media and have done so fine for many years. The failure rate with these discs is ridiculous. 1 in 7 DVDs burned correctly while the other 6 were coasters. These weren't exactly cheap when I bought them either. I do NOT recommend memorex brand DVD+Rdl discs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Very Good Buy

09/03/2011
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the reviews I had read, I bought another brand, as a back-up, in case these didn't work. (Site to Store) Turned out these worked flawlessly, every time, while the so called better brand, with better reviews failed on every attempt at use. Have already order more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

DVD copies

08/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these DVD+Rdl because I wanted to make copies of my DVD's so in case I lost one of them or one of them reached the end of its shelf life, I would still have a copy. I looked everywhere for cheap, good quality dual layer DVDs and I found these. Great deal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Pretty Good

07/28/2009
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the double layered disks for the 8 gigs of storage. That makes it better for me when I create my videos, I can make higher quality videos without worrying about running out of space on a DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Great Price, but could not use at all

06/07/2010
By ,
PA 18421
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bought this a month ago and tried to burn navigation DVD for 10+ times, none of them are working. bought other brand DL DVD work on first try. DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU ARE GOING TO BURN NAVIGATION DVD
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Great deal!

07/02/2009
By ,
Hudson, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding these DVD-R DL discs was nearly impossible in our area. Walmart.com offered the item at a great price. It was delivered as expected. I was grateful to find them here! Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

More Memory

05/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is excellent. It was shipped to my house very fast and very cheap (less than a dollard)!! This type of DVD can save up to 2 times more than regular CD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle
05/17/2010
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Memorex 8x DL are great for saving those long vids or large files of pics you may have on your pc. and Walmart had them at the lowest price I could find.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Double layer DVDs

06/24/2010
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price for this commodity product. I shopped all other vendors for a better price. They work as advertised and cost less than anywhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

What a great value!

12/27/2009
By ,
Northwood OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best price for the 50 count I saw all year and they are not some off brand with half of the disc's unusable and soon become coasters!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Great Deal

04/12/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great deal from Walmart.. DVD's work fine.. Priced way better then any of the compitition.. Thanks Walmart..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Works for Me

06/07/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these DVD's because they are priced way below any similar product, and have had no issues whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Memorex 8x Double Layer Write-Once DVD+R - 50 Disc Spindle

Memorex DVD+R DL

07/06/2009
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't to many coasters with Memorex. I think they are a good value and reliable product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next