Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aroma Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Aroma Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Take the guesswork out of rice preparation! This sleek appliance does it all for you at the touch of a button. There's no need to monitor your rice over a hot stove because it senses when the rice is perfectly cooked and automatically switches to warming mode, keeping your rice ready to serve for up to 12 hours. The removable inner pot makes serving and cleanup quick and easy. The attractive white finish with black accents makes it stylish enough to leave on your counter, while its compact design makes it convenient to store. Aroma rice cooker includes serving spatula and measuring cup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.861 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation70%30 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

LOVE this rice cooker

07/31/2011
By ,
Orchard Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this rice cooker a year and a half ago for our anniversary. We were a little worried about the quality of it, since it was a $25 rice cooker, and had heard several horror stories of how low quality rice cookers would boil over onto the counter while cooking. It was a good deal though, and we figured that if it didn't work, we could always return it.
In the year and half that we've owned it, we regularly use it at least 1-3 times a week. It's incredibly easy to clean, and we've only had it boil over once (to prevent this, make sure that you only use the recommended amount of water for the rice, and make sure that the hole the steam comes out of is well cleaned). We've used it for making both short grain sushi rice and long grain rice. Has worked perfectly with both white and brown rice. It even comes with a rice paddle and rice cup. We absolutely love it, since my husband and I live alone and we don't have to worry about having a whole ton of extra rice left over.
Only complaints:
~There is no "Off/On" button. When you plug it in, it starts heating up. The only way to turn it "Off" is to unplug it. This is easily remedied by not plugging it in until the rice and water are all ready to go, and unplugging it when you take the rice out. Still, it's a little annoying, so it loses a point for "features"
~Cleaning all the little nooks and crannies on it can be annoying, and gunk will build up under the seal, along the edges and in the vent if you don't. This is probably true for all rice cookers, so I didn't remove any points on my rating for this.
SO... If all you want is a small rice cooker that cooks rice and does it well, then I would suggest this little guy in a heartbeat. Its got a LOT of bang for $25 bucks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

good rice cooker

11/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little iffy about purchasing this. But I'm glad I did. This rice cooker works perfectly. I only cook Jasmine rice and it cooks it perfect everytime. Once you hit "Cook," it will pop to "Warm" when it is done.
This rice cooker does feel cheap but it still performs. The rice cooker pot is nonstick. Once the rice gets all dried out, it just slides around in the pot, making cleaning a breeze. The inner lid can pop out and be cleaned. This cooker is definitely only for one or two people.
I've used another brand of glass lid rice cooker and it never cook correctly. This is a fantastic rice cooker and very recommended.
To address some of the negative comments:
Rice can't stay on warm for too long: This is with any rice cooker. Put it on warm too long it turns yellow. Suggestion: once you're done cooking the rice, unplug in. It'll still stay warm and won't turn yellow. Who needs rice hours in advance?
Hard to clean. Gunk in the outer plastic rim: If you don't make rice fall on the plastic rim, it won't get dirty. Might wanna clean it right as it falls.
Overall, very recommended product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

NOT Just a Rice Cooker !

09/05/2009
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most verstile appliance .. I use it several times daily. At night I fill the pot with oatmeal; apple juice; raisins; walnuts & cinnamon and put it in the refrig. In the morning - I put the pot in the rice cooker, hit the switch and take my shower. When I am done .. so is my oatmeal. YUM
I use the "rice" cooker to steam my vegetables; make soup; or cook an entire meal. Just add rice (or barley) a frozen veggie and your choice of protein. Add the right amount of water or broth for the grain .. hit the button and PRESTO ... a complete dinner without standing over the stove. Oh yeah .. and only one pot to clean. It is a breeze ...a simple non-stick pot.
There are many high tech - digital - programmable fancy rice cookers ... however, I have owned rice cookers for over 20 years. Simple is best and the results are always perfect.
HIGHLY recommend ~~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Wonderful cooker...

01/09/2010
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not the most feature laden rice cooker on the market, but for cooking rice it can't be beat. I use it exclusively for long grain brown rice and once cup of rice in two-and-a-half cups of water will cook in about 40 minutes and comes out perfectly each time. Quite satisfied with the product. Easy to clean and maintain also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Really good for the price

01/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low priced and simple to use rice cooker. Only one button, and didn't come with a steaming tray like I wanted, but it's still a very good item. They didn't have the $29 Aroma rice cooker with the steamer at my local walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Great Cooker If Controlled Manually

10/22/2011
By ,
NA,MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've used this for 2 or so years. It makes perfect rice... only if you manually turn it to warm at the exact moment before it reaches steaming point from the vent. The auto-turn to warm does not work properly, and the water inside will bubble out, make a puddle of water under the handle, and flow down the back of the cooker like a volcano. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you don't mind turning it to warm at or before 12 minutes after you've turned it on, unless you want a big starchy puddle all over your counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Excellent results in an affordable appliance!

08/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My parents purchased this rice cooker for me as a gift recently and I have been loving almost everything about it! The only thing I've been disappointed about was when I tried to cook steel cut oats in it (I know...it's a RICE cooker, not an oatmeal cooker. I was just hoping...). It boiled over all over the counter. Other than that one incident, though, I have had no problems with anything I've cooked in it. I have used it for brown rice, white rice, and quinoa so far, all with perfect results. I LOVE the fact that it doesn't spit and sputter all over the place like rice cookers with the glass lid that has a little hole in it to vent the steam. All this baby releases is a mild amount of steam...not even enough to cause condensation on my overhead cupboards if I forget to pull it out from under them before turning it on. I also really like the condensation collector that catches the drips of condensation from the lid when you open the cooker. I do get the tiniest bit of browning on the bottom layer of rice, especially with brown rice cooked in broth, but all that does is add a little extra flavor. It's not burnt...just a little browned. I would definitely recommend this cooker to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Not good at all

05/18/2010
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had the rice cooker for months, and at first it was great but after a while it started making the rice mushy. No matter what i do the rice comes out mushy. And it is not easy to clean. The inner rim of the outer plastic gets a bunch of stuff stuck in it...so you have to stick the thing in the sink and dig out all the grime from all the little crevises it gets stuck in....all while not getting water in the electrical parts. I recommend going with the rice cooker with the glass lid that is removable so that you can wash everything without it being attached. Overall it wasnt worht it for me...had it like 8 months and now have to get a new one....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Poor poor poor

11/30/2010
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item about 3 weeks ago and only used it for about a week. It would not work and the lights were very deem about a week later, and now i am left without a rice cooker. I am back to cooking my rice on the stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

First Rice Cooker

07/15/2009
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this item for the first time today, and the rice was cooked perfectly; not a single grain was crunchy or brown. I put just a small amount of non-stick spray into the main pot to be safe, and the rice did not stick whatsoever. However, mine will automatically go into 'cook' mode when it's plugged in regardless of the switch's position. It will also go back and forth between 'warm' and 'cook' after the rice is done, but I assume this is so the rice won't get too cold. It is the perfect price, and holds enough rice to feed me, my sister and my parents with plenty of leftovers for breakfast or lunch tomorrow. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker
03/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The rice cooker made really good rice till it stopped working on a day just 2 months after purchase. It would not power on at all. I would not recommend this to anyone who look for a product that lasts for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Great

06/12/2012
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $20 bucks this rice cooker is great and it steams, tray comes with it, my son loves to steam chicken breast, broccolli and rice and its ready in no time, I love to cook my jambalaya in it, only vice it have with it is the cleaning part the nooks and crannies thats hard to get cause when its real steamy and you open the lid the juices goes down the sides, back, and inside the machine, theres a little drippy cace on the back but it isnt worth much, just remember to clean all the little nooks and crannies and you'll be great. Great machiene!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Rice musher more like it.

04/22/2012
By ,
hsv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've tried multiple types of rice, various water levels, and no matter what, this thing over cooks the rice EVERY time!!! I follow the books instructions, mush, I follow the directions on the bag of rice, mush, so the item should be called rice over-cooker!! good thing it was cheap, I'm throwing it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Works perfectly!

06/24/2009
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this rice cooker! Perfect for the two of us and makes perfect rice everytime. I use it much more than I even thought I would. Love the smaller size of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

I'm Hooked!

12/21/2009
By ,
Stone Mountain, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product from a co-worker as a Secret Santa gift, used it over the weekend and was excited and surprised....it was well over what I expected and of great use to me.
I have a rather large family (5) and this product fed us all with more to spare.
The rice came out perfect and superbly delish!! The warmer kept the rice from becoming cold as the other food cooked. Yet, didn't make it mushy or sticky!!
I will recommend this product to ALL my family/friends and continue to use it in the near and distant future. Can't really speak on the durability because of only using it once, but in the case that it wears I will definitely, from now on always have a rice cooker in my home.
A Special thanks to "OhMeOhMyILoveToBuy" for the tips/ideas/recipes!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Great ricecooker!

03/31/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this before Christmas 2008, and use it almost every day. It's performed great, and the rice does not stick to the bottom, and every grain is cooked just right. Make sure you use the little cup that comes with it to measure your rice, and it helps if you wash your rice until the water comes fairly clear (about 6 times). Make sure you use the paddle that comes with it, or a bamboo spatula to serve the rice out of the pot, as it is a non-stick interior. I love this ricecooker, and now wish this one came in a larger size, in this style.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Mushy, undercooked rice

02/18/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this thing for a few months now. No matter what I do, when I cook regular long grain white rice in it, the grains come out mushy and exploded and undercooked in the middle. Sending the rice through additional cooking cycles does not solve the problem, nor does adjusting the water. Basmati rice comes out beautifully, but if I leave the warming cycle on, every type of rice comes out invariably scorched on the bottom. We prefer basmati rice so it works fine for us, but I would not recommend this product to anyone trying to cook regular rice. It also seems pretty flimsy and is not as convenient to clean as other models.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Problem with product

04/03/2009
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had friends who have this one and love it, however, the one we received was defective. The machine would turn on when plugged in and heat empty. It would then cook the rice too hot causing overflow and burning. It would never switch off of cook and onto warm no matter how long the machine was plugged in. We are returning it today and will get another model or order another one of these and hope it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

All my friends wanted one.

01/04/2013
By ,
Norfolk
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received one a couple of years ago and love it and all of my closest friends love the dishes that I have created using the Aroma rice cooker. For Christmas I have purchased three of them and all recipients are really excited about it. I was also happy with the price at Walmart, as I priced it online with the manufacturer and it was $10.00 more! Also, the delivery time was great, in plenty of time for Christmas!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aroma 8-Cup Rice Cooker

Aroma rice cooker

08/23/2009
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to use a light-lid 10 dollar rice cooker and it broke within a year of using it.
After cooking rice for a several times with this aroma rice cooker, I was very satisfied with the product. It's such a reasonable price - actually incredibly cheap - and I can leave it on warm for a several hours without rice going too dry. but I would not recommend leaving it on warm overnight.
Hopefully I'll be able to use it without it breaking down at least 2 years. Thanx to Aroma, I can have good old rice of asian home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next