Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Mainstays Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Whether it is used as a sofa or a bed, this beautiful Wood Arm Futon Frame with a walnut finish brings classic styling and functionality to any room in your home. Combining a comfy sofa with an easy-to-convert bed, this wooden sofa frame is a practical choice for offices, dorm rooms, and apartments. This frame provides a comfortable and functional sleeping area. Constructed from sturdy wood, this futon frame provides long-lasting performance. Its wooden finish allows it to blend with almost any home dcor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%38 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

A lot more assembly required than expected.

11/13/2013
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took longer to assemble then was expected, worked on it over several evenings before completly done. Almost returned the item because part E would not fit into parts P and O. After having someone look it the parts, it was discovered that there was some soldering inside of parts P and O which prevented part E from going inside to where the two parts could be attached properly. Once the excess solder was removed, it came together well. Now that it is all put together and being used, it's a nice piece of furniture for the money. Delivery was in three boxes in case someone needs to know that ahead of ordering.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Easy assembly, attractive, excellent value.

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this futon as a complete unit so I don't think I will go through all of the pieces. All fit just fine in my Jeep Patriot. Assembly was easy-peezy and is very comfortable. Having had to sell my bed and just close-off my bedroom to store and protect gift items and daughter's 'stuff' from pets and to save on heating/cooling, the couch I had was uncomfortable to sleep on. Had a futon before (cheapest metal frame design) that I slept very well on, although I had to put much padding underneath because of the bar frame. This is a mesh type frame and and a different type of mattress - no padding needed! Had been researching inexpensive futons for about a year now and this was always coming in at the best value (I preferred the Mission-style to metal frame) and it just happened to be further reduced when I finally made plunge -yay!. Wood arms are very attractive and I am well-pleased with my purchase on a budget.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

nice looking, poor using

10/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frame is nice looking , takes a while to set up , wish the back could be adjusted it slopes to far back and feels like your in a half recline ..... very uncomfortable , I would definitely recommend you buy a decent futon mattress the 6 inch that comes with this is pitiful and soooo uncomfortable . for the price of this its an ok purchase , but I wouldn't recommend it if you plan on using it for full time seating and definitely not for sleeping on . but again it is good looking .
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Comfortable full size futon

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this futon in three separate boxes that arrived at different times over the course of a week. The parts and hardware were clearly labeled and organized, and it went together easily. I recommend using a ratchet and powered screwdriver to make installation easy. I put it together myself and only needed help once when putting the main frame pieces together as it is a long futon. I am pleased with its appearance and it appears to be exactly as advertised. My 14 year old son will be sleeping on this in the den when we have relatives visit as he will surrender his bedroom with the queen bed, and he really likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Looks Good all set up

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some places in the assembly instructions could be a little better. I'm 73 years old and I assembled it by myself so it can be done, just took longer than the instructions stated.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Great sofa/ bed for any guest room

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the wood arms and overall appearance of the futon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Metal frame

09/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The frame is not what I expected to have the name Better Home and Gardens on it. My 11 year old can sit down and the back goes further back. I am beyond disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Great for dorm room

08/26/2014
By ,
PENN YAN, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not sure if my daughter would have been able to assemble by herself, but fits great in her dorm room! Perfect for her!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Excellent for guests to sleep over

08/17/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice futon. Have been told by guests that it is very comfortable to sleep on and serves well as couch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Mainstays Futon

08/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks great, but came with missing parts, no instructions, and not all the hole were drilled. Made it very hard to try to put together and there is no place to go for help!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

great buy

06/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it works and looks great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Excellent Futon Excellent buy

04/24/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Futon was a great buy. It was easy to put together but one really needs a screw gun with a phillips head and an allen wrench attachment, otherwise it will take you much longer using the allen wrench and small stamped bolt head wrench that comes with it. It looks very nice in the room where we put it and the mattress is comfortable as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Greay buy

06/20/2014
By ,
Pahrump, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the right size for the room where needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

fits the room wonderful

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just love my Futon, it fits my sitting room and makes it look great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Assembly guide would have helped a lot!

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It would have been a help if an assembly guide had been included in one of the three boxes for this futon sofa. Other than that and the fact that one of the metal frame connecting pieces arrived bent out of shape, I am pleased with it. It's comfortable, attractive, and easy to convert to a futon bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Fun Futon!

12/03/2013
By ,
North Las Vegas Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this futon because it looks so nice with the mission style arms! My husband and Grandson put it together with no problems! Looks great in my Den! The Grandkids and husband were rolling all around it and the littler ones jumping on it and it held up great! And it is very comfy to sit and lay on! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Great Value

12/02/2013
By ,
Great Barrington MAss
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am mostly impressed with the fabric on the mattress and the wooden arms.. the metal parts are a little flimsy but all in all great for the money.. and I LOVE the Walmart free shipping!! I use it all the time..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

A grest futon sofa/bed for someone short on cash.

11/06/2013
By ,
Hialeah, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed relaxing on this futon while watching TV and then
taking a full night's sleep on n it. It was comfortable and cozy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Not happy with the product

04/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received one of the arm wrest with a crack in it. I re-ordered the arm wrest and they sent me with a different color and damaged. The polish on both of the arm wrest was damaged. It took me 2 hours to set it up. Overall not happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Wood Arm Full-Size Futon FRAME (box 2 of 3)

Good-looking & comfortable!

04/28/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the big selling points of this futon for me was the higher back. Trust me, it is worth the extra $50 or so! A pillow/cushion by the armrests, plus an ottoman/footrest, makes this a quite comfortable futon!
It took me two hours, by myself, to assemble this futon. This was relaxed-mode, having my materials organized, and a glass of wine nearby! You literally won't need more than a Phillips-head screwdriver, everything else is included.
Know that when they say "Right side", they mean as you are looking at it, NOT as you are sitting in it: This will help with your orientation. Also, you may want to take a minute and twist an appropriate screw into the holes as those assembly-sections come up: the pieces are drilled first and then powder-coated, so it is harder to insert the screws where they need to be while balancing longer pieces in place with screw-holes that aren't exactly 'pre-tapped'.
The transition from bed-to-couch is a little awkward at first: lift the bottom first a little (where your knees would be), then move to the side of the unit and pull the back toward the bottom, and vice-versa.
While the photo on walmart.com makes the mattress look thicker than it is, it is still a comfortable futon. I have been sleeping on it for just over a month now, and I feel fine with it. I am a healthy 48-yr old female with no back problems, and see this purchase as an affordable and versatile addition to my small apartment, especially since my pitbull sweetie can sleep with me, not like my old twin mattress!
BTW, twin sheet sets work fine on this futon. I wouldn't recommend it for regular sleeping for someone over about 5'8" tall, you might bang your toes on the (sustainable wood) armrests, unless you typically curl up on your side, or don't mind sleeping diagonally!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next