Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ronco As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Ronco As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

A perfect gift for every fishing enthusiast, the As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman includes all fishing accessories, such as a hook, a swivel, a practice casting plug, a weight, and a bobber to ensure a good catch. Catch bigger fishes with the help of the tough double ended rod. The reel operates smoother and quieter. This handheld rod can be folded for easy storage. The As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman has a notch that can be easily attached to your belt or wrist strap. Go fishing with this pocket fishing pole and come back home with a great catch of fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%80 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Great deal

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gotta love walmart for these sweet deals and fast shipping too
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Excellent Fishing Poles!

06/09/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed some good quality fishing poles for my kids to use when we vacationed on a lake, but it had to be easy to deal with because I don't fish. The Pocket Fisherman was extremely quick for me to put together and the kids had a great time using it. They fished with these rods numerous times and we never had a problem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Ronco Pocket Fisherman

06/30/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these one for myself the other for my daughter. This pocket fisherman is great for fishing. We have went fishing twice. I just caught a fish using this. This is great for the beginner or the expert. It has a cord in which you can put around your wrist so you don't lose your pole. It folds up when you are done. The handle has a little compartment for your hooks. It comes with some extras which are great. I have to say I just learned how to cast again after years of not fishing and this made it easy to learn. The first time I went fishing I went through 5 bobbers. This last time didn't lose one bobber at all on the rocks and cast beautifully. I love that it is so compact. Other's were using big poles and I was using my Pocket Fisherman and I am the only one that caught any fish.
I will say though you do need to have a tackle box with extra bobbers and weights and line if you are a beginner. Also scissors and two gloves or mitts. As well a pair of plyers if you fish and put back the small fish. This is the best fishing rod. It is of great value. The cost is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

meh...

11/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This little rod had stellar reviews so we picked one up as a spare to carry along with our other gear.
We were disappointed. While it appears the reviews wax between "it's great" to "it was broken on arrival"...what I'm surprised by is the lack of description concerning the problem of casting a pocket fisherman.
If your kids use this rod with a bobber which is generally the case, you simply cannot set the depth any more than a foot or two at the most if you want to cast any real distance. Even with adding significant weight to the line, the small size of this rod makes casting nearly impossible. When using a bobber, with the line set at any reasonable depth, the bait/hook will drag so far behind the cast attempt that the result will be all but useless. Perhaps using a plastic worm or other weighted lures that can be cast from the actual tip of this tiny rod would be more useful but with the constant reference of this being "perfect for kids"...I would strongly disagree. It simply is not designed for bobber fishing unless the line is dropped over the side of a boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Missing strap

07/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The box had been opened, and the strap was missing. Called the company,,,they don't send out parts. I'd have to return the item, and reorder. I opted to make my own strap out of 550.
Normally the strap is not important, but for this item it is. When casting into the water it's a good idea to have a strap around your wrist. Hate to throw money away in the lake.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Works Great

07/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, so it's not huge...but it works awesome!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

good gift for dad

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this as a b-day gift to my Dad. he loves it. Well designed and well built. Got it on sale. Good stuff for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Classic Fishing Machine

07/29/2009
By ,
MT. SINAI HARBOR, PORT JEFFERSON, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say?, A time honored classic fishing tool.
Ron Popeil does it best. I use the pocket fisherman while fishing on my kayak. Compact, fits in my tackle bag, out of the way, yet catches the big fish.
Great for tossing tins or small to medium size poppers.Very exciting to catch a blue fish or striped bass on this. Definitely worth the money, costs less at WalMart than it does on the pocket fisherman website, highly recommended for the novice or pro fisherman.
After all, if it was junk, it would'nt be on the market after all these years. Thank you Ron and Wal Mart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Better than expected!

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfict, it came early and it is as seen on TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Great if you need a compact rig.

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am taking a long bike trip and will be around some great fishing. I can't take a full length pole. This thing will defintely fit my needs. I do recommend a line upgrade if you want to land the big ones!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Handy, Quality made, Great Value, Dual Tips

05/27/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caught a 24 inch Pike and both reel and pole worked just great. Wondered how it would handle a big fish. Dual Tips make a big difference. Keep it in my trunk. Always have a pole with me when a lake pops up along the road. Only pole thats easy to cast around tree's. Fish where you couldn't before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Great little fishing reel.

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Already caught 12 fish with this reel, all in a two hour period.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Love it!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 3 of these and they are great for the canoe and for trips because they don't take up so much room and they don't get tangled, etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Great Father's Day gift

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My dad went right out with it and caught a fish. It's perfect for a canoe or kayak trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Just right for a young fisherman.

06/24/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just fine. It was the perfect birthday present. My Grandson is looking forward to catching that 10 lb. bass.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Small Pole Big Fish

06/05/2010
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fishing pole is a good one i didnt belive it would be at first but i read the reviews and had to give it a try when i got it it seemed cool but the tackle box was small so me and my friend took it to a local lake and caught 19 fish with this pole alone the biggest was a 7lbs catfish proof on huntinhuntsman.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

perfect unit for young or old

04/17/2014
By ,
vancouver wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for fishing from a boat or fishing off a peir even from the lake side this is an awesome unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Sturdy / Compact

05/09/2011
By ,
Bodfish, CA (Near Lake Isabella)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen this "Pocket fisherman" advertized for over 20 years. I just retired, and live near a Lake, so I thought I'd try one out. I am extremely impressed by how sturdy this product appears to be. I haven't gotten to the Lake yet (even though it's only 4 miles away) due to health problems, but I have used its "practice weight", and am getting pretty good at casting with it. It also comes with a very well written "Owner's Manual". I'm considering purchasing two more of these fishing devices for my little grand daughters who will be spending some of their summer vacation up here with grandpa!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
????
Posted 06/01/2011
How big is the pole when it folds out?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

bring back memories

06/14/2014
By ,
alexandria va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my dad bought one for me when I was young great to take with you in the car never know when you will get a chance to wet a line kids love it easy to cast works well
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

multi purpose

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good item for a fishing kit (bob)
Good casting overhand alright casting sidehanded
overall great item for the money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next