Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ronco As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Ronco As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

A perfect gift for every fishing enthusiast, the As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman includes all fishing accessories, such as a hook, a swivel, a practice casting plug, a weight, and a bobber to ensure a good catch. Catch bigger fishes with the help of the tough double ended rod. The reel operates smoother and quieter. This handheld rod can be folded for easy storage. The Ronco fishing rod has a notch that can be easily attached to your belt or wrist strap. Go fishing with this pocket fishing pole and come back home with a great catch of fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%62 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Excellent Fishing Poles!

06/09/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed some good quality fishing poles for my kids to use when we vacationed on a lake, but it had to be easy to deal with because I don't fish. The Pocket Fisherman was extremely quick for me to put together and the kids had a great time using it. They fished with these rods numerous times and we never had a problem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

good price for this item

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this item was well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

protable

04/12/2014
By ,
Lincoln
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is a great littler fisherman, I can carry it in my car at all times, in case we just decide to go fishing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

bought it for hiking

04/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
have not tried it. I hope slip bobbers work. It might need some oil
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

meh...

11/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This little rod had stellar reviews so we picked one up as a spare to carry along with our other gear.
We were disappointed. While it appears the reviews wax between "it's great" to "it was broken on arrival"...what I'm surprised by is the lack of description concerning the problem of casting a pocket fisherman.
If your kids use this rod with a bobber which is generally the case, you simply cannot set the depth any more than a foot or two at the most if you want to cast any real distance. Even with adding significant weight to the line, the small size of this rod makes casting nearly impossible. When using a bobber, with the line set at any reasonable depth, the bait/hook will drag so far behind the cast attempt that the result will be all but useless. Perhaps using a plastic worm or other weighted lures that can be cast from the actual tip of this tiny rod would be more useful but with the constant reference of this being "perfect for kids"...I would strongly disagree. It simply is not designed for bobber fishing unless the line is dropped over the side of a boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Classic Fishing Machine

07/29/2009
By ,
MT. SINAI HARBOR, PORT JEFFERSON, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say?, A time honored classic fishing tool.
Ron Popeil does it best. I use the pocket fisherman while fishing on my kayak. Compact, fits in my tackle bag, out of the way, yet catches the big fish.
Great for tossing tins or small to medium size poppers.Very exciting to catch a blue fish or striped bass on this. Definitely worth the money, costs less at WalMart than it does on the pocket fisherman website, highly recommended for the novice or pro fisherman.
After all, if it was junk, it would'nt be on the market after all these years. Thank you Ron and Wal Mart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Still the same

03/11/2014
By ,
Lake Lanier
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Ronco Pocket Fisherman is still the same after these many years. This unit stills offers the dedicated fisherman the opportunity to go fishing anytime and anywhere. It's compact size allows it to be stored in any vehicle or backpack, ready at a moments notice. It's not a 6'6" ugly stick with a yamano reel and won't perform like one, but then you can put those in a suitcase.
Do I really like it? I bought several....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Small Pole Big Fish

06/05/2010
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fishing pole is a good one i didnt belive it would be at first but i read the reviews and had to give it a try when i got it it seemed cool but the tackle box was small so me and my friend took it to a local lake and caught 19 fish with this pole alone the biggest was a 7lbs catfish proof on huntinhuntsman.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Sturdy / Compact

05/09/2011
By ,
Bodfish, CA (Near Lake Isabella)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen this "Pocket fisherman" advertized for over 20 years. I just retired, and live near a Lake, so I thought I'd try one out. I am extremely impressed by how sturdy this product appears to be. I haven't gotten to the Lake yet (even though it's only 4 miles away) due to health problems, but I have used its "practice weight", and am getting pretty good at casting with it. It also comes with a very well written "Owner's Manual". I'm considering purchasing two more of these fishing devices for my little grand daughters who will be spending some of their summer vacation up here with grandpa!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
????
Posted 06/01/2011
How big is the pole when it folds out?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

GREAT!!

08/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw it on TV and thought it was just cool so i bought one for my nephew and me. We went out fishing and it works like a charm its so easy to use and to carry. Now I keep one in the center counsole of my F150 its so easy to just get pull over get out and fish it takes all the hastle of having to get 1 of my poles out of my boat. I think its worth way more then what you pay for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Popeil Pocket Fisherman

08/02/2009
By ,
Lexington, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my bother-in-law in Newfoundland, Canada. He is an amputee who has only the use of one hand. He loves this fishing rod, it's compact light and he can maneuver it without too much trouble. I would recommend this for anyone who love to fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Worth the Money!!!!

01/31/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this rod online i thought it would be a piece of junk plastic. But it is defiantly not that! It is very sturdy, but i would carry extra tackle with you because the tackle box in the handle is not very big. The reel action is very smooth, and it casts really far. I have yet to go fishing because it is the middle of winter but i can't wait to try it out! It is only like 18 bucks and is a lot of fun, But overall I would recommend this rod to anyone of any skill level.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

handy to carry in auto

12/27/2008
By ,
Hudson Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one for my husband and one for my son. They both were very pleased and can hardly wait for summer to try out. Played with outside and think they will be a lot of fun to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Satisfied

09/28/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the "original" Popiel's pocket fisherman over 20 years ago which worked fine.
My mistake was trying "cast" as hard as I could one day and did not have the wrist strap on.
The whole thing went flying. I just purchased 2 of the new ones. They are nice, however
the plastic/rubber "pole" material seems to bend to easily. I would have preferred a fiberglass
type with more stiffness. I am R handed and would prefer the reel handle to be on the left side.
The product seems to cast well, but I have to switch it from my R hand and hold it in my left hand to reel the line in. This product is nice and easily stored and Great for when Kids
are around to use. The price is right. I plan to buy (6) or more of them as gifts. Dan
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

excellent!!

07/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product! i went fishing and it was excellent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Great tool for fishing on a whim

02/17/2012
By ,
Las Vegas NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool for fishing on a whim or planning an overnighter. perfect for my motorcycle saddlebags or truck storage. Works great and directions are included for changing string. The wife and I each have our own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

perfict

08/15/2009
By ,
medford oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one as a child, and it was the best fishing pole I ever had trouble free and so very to use, I just bought 4 more for my grandkids, you must try it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

This Rod n Reel combo ROCK

06/13/2011
By ,
Lewisville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These "As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman" are awesome!!! I own many high end rod and reels, but wow for a quick portable, they ROCK. They cast very far, and reel in easily. We have caught numerous fish with these. They easily pack in my 150cc scooter and Kawasaki Motorcycle. I have purchased additional for gifts, and Walmart has the best price. I had them shipped to store for FREE!!!.
I was surprised to see the quality of the float and hook, as well as two very very nice spoon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Crank on wrong side for me

10/14/2013
By ,
Lakeland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I should have paid more attention when I ordered this. The crank is on the right side and I cart with my right hand. This means I cast then have to switch hands to crank a bit, then switch back to hold and set hook, then switch back to reel it in. My bad, not theirs. I didn't realize the wrong sided crank until I had destroyed the original packaging so I will keep it and try to learn to cast and set the hook with my left hand, while using my right hand to crank. Probably good to be ambidextrous anyway. Just my 2 cents. Great product, always with me, surprisingly great for casting. Always in the van with me when an opportunity comes up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman

Absolutely fantastic handy tool

08/17/2010
By ,
Pacific Grove
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic four just keeping in the car, on impulse finds a good location to drop your line. For such a small toy handles deep-sea fishing. Absolutely a great value for fishing addictions.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next