Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

From image quality to a 24fps D-Movie Mode, this black Nikon D90 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera has plenty of options for both the amateur and pro. This camera is packed with features for capturing the moment as it happens with the ability to shoot up to 4.5 frames per second. The black Nikon D90 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera can be adjusted to fit your needs, with exposure control that will cut unwanted effects, even if you are in settings that are dark or bright. Record movies with this camera using its D-Movie mode. This mode can record movie clips up to 720p HD in Motion JPEG format. Using manual settings to get the focus just right will be a distant memory with this camera, which has an 11-point AF system with Face Priority. The in-camera photo editing makes this 3" LiveView LCD 24fps HD-Movie Mode Nikon D90 SLR Camera suitable for those who like to correct photos as they are taken.
Average Customer Rating:
4.669 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(4726 Reviews) 4712
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3,616
4 stars
850
3 stars
128
2 stars
68
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation95%4,501 out of 4,726reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3,616
4 stars
850
3 stars
128
2 stars
68
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Fabulous Photos

12/20/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera has everything you want, from serious amateur to semi-pro photographer. The built-in AF motor (major difference between this and D5000) allows you to use any Nikon lens made since the 1950's.... As a result, you can find excellent used autofocus lenses that are as good, and in many cases better than, those currently manufactured. Wife uses the full 'auto' setting which makes it a fancy 'point and shoot' to get great photos without any futzing with a setting. Any advanced amateur will find plenty to learn with this camera, and I know of many pro's who prefer to shoot the D90 over their D300's for it's ease of use. Live view and info, as well as programmable buttons make this the most versatile Nikon body to date. The only drawback is it's weight, but the D5000 is just too small to fit comfortably in my hands, so I'm happily willing to lug an extra few ounces for the superior build quality, versatility and feel. Using this for over a month now, I cant praise it enough. Buy it. You will be tickled pink, and guarantee it won't disappoint or let you down in any way!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 2 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Nikon D90

09/09/2009
By ,
Gresham, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a convert from the D50. This camera is superior in too many ways to list. If you have read a review on the D90 you can trust when it says it is a great Mid DSLR. Big screen, easy menus, clear pictures!
Walmart had the lowest price of trustable on line sources. No shipping charge and camera arrived a day earlier than the projected date.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 3 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Great Camera

12/24/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a terrific camera. It has far more capabilities than I have, but I hope to keep learning new ways to use it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 4 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

D90 - The Right One!

08/09/2009
By ,
Huntington, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had quite a few cameras over the last 15 years, including some film cameras, but many digital cameras. I really think Nikon has hit a homerun with this camera. The photos are fantastic, silky smooth colors, but nice and vivid that really pop out at you. But, this camera can adapt to your style of shooting and what you like to see in your photos. The menu is very configurable, it handles great and feels good in your hands, the lcd screen is just fantastic and all the controls you need when shooting are easily accessed on the outside of the body for easy manipulation while you are shooting. There's no need to fiddle around in the menu. And, if you are into video, this camera does video and while it lacks any type of manual control over the video control, I find it is very adequate and I've shot some amazing videos that have great DOF. It doesn't really take long to conclude that the Nikon D90, with the sum off all it's parts, makes for one very nice camera.
I'm very satisfied with my purchase and this is by far the best camera I've ever had. I'm a very happy Customer and as always, Walmart had one of the best prices on it as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Great camera

07/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart beat all major retailers by $100 on price and still get USA Nikon w/full warranty! Ordered w/overnight delivery and delivered without a hitch. The packaging of the shipment was very poor. When delivered, the outer box had caved in due to lack of packing material. Contents were fine.
Love this camera. Compared to the D5000, I am very pleased with my choice. D5000 has a neat swivel screen. However, with the included screen protector, I don't have to constantly flip it around. Stays protected always. That's without mentioning that the D90 LCD has much higher resolution. Movie capabilities are okay. 24fps looks a little choppy even compared to my Canon SD450.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 6 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Fabulous Buy

01/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this camera as my holiday gift after doing much research. I found the Nikon D90 to be especially good in low-light, and with the 18-200mm lens - it's the perfect camera for all-around use.
Recently I took a photo of the full moon at full 200mm zoom in the middle of the night, and the quality was truly telescopic. I believe there is no better all around digital SLR for the price than this Nikon D90 with the 18-200mm lens - and Walmart had the best price for this combination. It shoots excellent quality low-light indoor action shots, outdoor night scenes, as well as beautiful outdoor day shots. I'm still playing around with the various settings, and hope to continue to be pleasantly surprised at the image quality. The video works well - although not what I would deem as it's primary use case.
If shooting family, friends, children playing sports, or going on a photo Safari - it's the best one size fits all choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Top camera for advanced amateurs

05/20/2010
By ,
Weston, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nikon D90 is (as of 5/20/2010) the best camera for advanced amateurs. It has excellent image quality with outstanding low-light performance (the holy grail of digital photography). The controls are logical and easy to use. All the important settings have buttons and dials, no need to scroll through clumsy menus to set your camera. The body is light yet sturdy and it has a built-in focusing motor so it can use older AF lenses (the lower priced model's can't do that). The battery will give you more than 400 photos on a single charge (That's as far as I've tried).
This camera also takes 720p HD video, which is nice, but not the main purpose of this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

things happen

05/08/2010
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased the d-90 on line from wallmart, my wife is a profesional photographer and really likes the d-90. however right out of the box it had a hot pixel and the paper work was out dated. we sent the camera to California Precision in sacramento for warrianty, yes the do great work that is why we didnt send it back to nikon. the d-90 is a great camera and we would buy another one. we still arent sure why the paper work was so old when we got the camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Excellent product, slopping shipping

06/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this camera for our daughter when she outgrew her D60. It was the next logical step and she loves it. Great value compared to the D300. However, the product comes in a box about 9" square. It was shipped in a large book box about 18" x 12" x 12" WITH NO PACKING MATERIAL placed around it. Unbelievable that it made it here without being smashed. If you order this, be sure to request adequate packing material around the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

A great camera

12/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera for myself for Christmas and I've been very impressed. I upgraded from a D50, and really did a lot of research before purchasing the d90. I considered strongly the D40, D3000 and D5000, but when the smoke cleared the D90 was the way to go. Deciding factors included lens compatibility and the cameras ability to act as a flash commander.
Still trying to figure out everything on the camera, but so far it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Great SLR

10/12/2009
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Nikon D90 for about a month and I love it! This is my first DLR, I bought the camera because I am taking photography classes. I received the camera before the classes started and it is so easy to use I was able to use ot right out of the box. However, to really understand the camera and all of its potential I would reccomened some type of photography lessons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Exceeds expectations

05/17/2010
By ,
Estes Park, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have shot film since 1966 and was very satisified.
This is my first digital camera and my G & D lenses are full function with the D90.
The D90 is amazing! I have only had the camera for two weeks and have a lot of reading to get a grasp on all the functions. Very versetile. Looking forward to many years of service based on my 44 years of Nikon cameras.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

NIKON D90

03/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT, BUT VERY SOPHISTICATED. HOWEVER, BY JUST USING THE PRESET MODES YOU CAN GET OUTSTANDING RESULTS. SPORTS MODE IS GREAT. INVEST IN A GOOD LENS TO GET THE MAXIMUM QUALITY OUT OF THE CAMERA. I ALSO GOT A PHOTO BOOK SPECIFIC TO THE D90 TO HELP WITH THE SETTINGS AND HOW TO BEST USE THEM. THERE ARE MANY BOOKS AVAILABLE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Nikon D90

05/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera, does all that I expected. My only complaint is regarding the very poor packaging of an expensive camera. The camera box was thrown into a much larger box with a very small piece of packaging paper, which did nothing to prevent the boxed camera from bouncing around inside the large shipping box. Luckily it arrived intact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Great Camera

12/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera. I went from a point and shot to this and REALLY love the pictures. I also got the 35mm f1.8 and I m enjoying the experience... Lots to learn of course being my first real camera. Walmart had the best price and was able to add the bing cashback for even more savings! Great Buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

AWESOME!!!

03/03/2010
By ,
Bonney Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't decide between a D300s or this one. I'm glad I decided on this one becuase it ROCKS! And, for the price I was going to spend on a D300s, I was able to get this, PLUS a couple lenses and a flash unit! And the photo quality is unbelievable! I love it, love it, love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

LOVE THIS CAMERA!

11/02/2010
By ,
Eastern, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best camera I have EVER owned...I also purchased the 55-200 mm VR Nikkor lens and the pictures are unreal...My whole family brags on these pics and everyone wants a camera like this! Its pricey but worth EVERY penny...LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

I had to upgrade...

12/18/2009
By ,
St Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a N90s and the D90 will use the same lenses. The D5000 will not work with my old lenses. Too bad the SB-28 flash would not work, the SB-900 seems rather costly. I have found iPhotos works better then the included Nikon software.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode
01/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good camera. With every bell and whistle that even a pro photographer needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Nikon D90 Black 12.3MP Digital SLR (Body Only) Camera, DX-format CMOS sensor, 3" LiveView LCD, 24fps HD-Movie Mode

Good Good Good

03/24/2010
By ,
Wilsonville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price, good quality, fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next