Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Intex's Saltwater System is a natural way to treat your pool and destroy bacteria, viruses and algae. Install as directed, add inexpensive all-natural salt and the pools water is automatically converted to an effective algaecide. No more red, burning eyes, dry skin, or faded swimsuits. The pool's water salt level is undetectable by swimmers, so it feels like clear, clean, fresh water. Virtually eliminates the need to buy, handle and store pool chlorine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(736 Reviews) 654
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation94%694 out of 736reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good Product

07/14/2008
By ,
Columbus IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the salt water system for our 24' round pool. It was easy to set up and works well. We have well water and a water softener. Because of we have a water softner, we expected to need a little less salt. Also our the water in the pool had a slight yellow tint to it. After adding all the salt and running the filter for 24 hours, we still had the low salt reading so we jumped in and "agitated" the water. The system ran, and the water was clear, but it tasted salty though it was still easy on the eyes. We had a problem with a pool leg sinking so we had to drain and reset the pool. This time we added one less bag and "agitated" the water and the system ran without a hitch. Also when we reset the pool the water became green before we ran the system. We ran the system overnight and the water was clean in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 122 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/14/2009
By ,
Jennings, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble & use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 123 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
05/26/2008
By ,
Antioch, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fairly easy setup. Only problem I had was hooking the Saltwater System to the filter pump. The hose fitting at the filter pump continued to leak, and tightening actually made it worse. After much tinkering, loosening and tightening I finally was successful in stopping the leak. Since then the system has run fine.
I recommend starting with less salt than is called for, because it's much easier to add salt than to drain water! I ended up putting in about 75 percent of the salt called for, and all my numbers are right on..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 124 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Worked great in the beginning

07/15/2008
By ,
Medford, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This salt water filter is cool because you dont have to deal with the itchiness, or hair turning green from regular chemicals. We've had it for 3 months and everything was going good until last week when our pool got an algae problem. Its getting worse and it clearly states that with the salt water filter, this isnt supposed to happen so it does not do 100% of its job... Otherwise its nice and the water feels smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

good but....

07/19/2008
By ,
Walla Walla, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Water is crystal clear but... salt water leaves a film at the water line or if you leave items in the pool. Not a replacement, you still have to maintain your pool i.e. vacuum bottom, sides. I have a above ground pool 24' round. I like eliminating the chlorine and the system is easy to set up and run.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Salt Chlorine generator

07/16/2008
By ,
Duluth, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent product. Not only do you not need to add chlorine to the pool anymore, but we use about 1/10th of the other chemicals now (algacide, etc). We started the chlorine generator after we had the pool up for a week already; this created an algae buildup. It took about a week to get things stabalized and it has been crystal clear ever since!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 127 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

a pool lover's dream

07/20/2008
By ,
MASON WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT MADE SUCH A DIFFERENCE IN THE QUALITY OF OUR WATER IN OUR ABOVE GROUND POOL. WE HAVE HAD OUR POOL FOR THREE YRS., AND WE HAVE ENJOYED IT SO MUCH MORE THIS YEAR WITH THE SALT GENERATOR. IT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND TIME TO INSTALL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

no more harsh chemical

09/09/2008
By ,
St. Croix, VI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this product is working great, was easy to connect, adjust and best of all no more chemicals or strong chlorine smell! just salt in the pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 129 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

So far so good

07/17/2008
By ,
Mena, ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we've had this product for about 3 weeks (we installed it when we installed the pool) and it is keeping our water crystal clear without any other products. it makes the water taste about like saline solution so there is no burning, red eyes, which is great! however, we have had a little problem with the test strips that came with the pool. the chlorine is always ok, but the ph and alkaline are a little off, but there is no algae problems or anything else. we have a 24 foot round pool, so it took almost 300 lbs of pool salt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 130 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great product

07/21/2008
By ,
Colorado Springs, Co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product! I would and have recommended this product to friends and family with pools. You save so much money in the long run with not having to by chemicals all the time. This salt water pool system will pay for its self in a matter of weeks. We are very happy with our purchase and have enjoyed our 1st pool all summer long so far. Its a great family investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 131 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/23/2008
By ,
SoCal, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with this product and it works as stated. The only issue I have is that you need to have two electrical plugs available, one for the pump and one for the Saltwater system. If I were to do this again, I think I would spend a little more money and get the all-in-one Saltwater Filter/Pump combo unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 132 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

filter

07/16/2009
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't used it long enough yet, but the water was pretty salty at first and needed to be adjusted and also the chlorine level.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 133 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/02/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
am very happy with results of this product was easy to set up and works well even with bunch of kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 134 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great concept/bad design

09/15/2008
By ,
Marrero, Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the 8110 model for 3 months and the power supply went out. I just recieved a new unit and so far (after three days) it has brought my levels back to normal after one cycle. I must say after going through two hurricanes (lots of rain water) my pool continued to be crystal clear. This salt water solution is the best thing for pools. I simply vacum the pool and after the power came back (after 5 days of being out) I cycled the pool with the new salt water converter with my intex pump and my kids were swimming within know time. Now I will wait to see how long this power supply will hold out. Over all I love this converter. It makes maintenance on a pool very easy for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 135 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good Product

07/20/2009
By ,
Hagerstown, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the Krystal Clear Saltwater (Chlorinator) System for about 1 month. My decision to purchase Krystal Clear Saltwater System was based on reviews from Walmart and Amazon websites. When I purchased my Ultra Frame Intex Pool (18' X 52") I never heard of Saltwater System and was skeptical of it even working. I have had other above ground pools in the past and I decided I didn't want to deal with the chemicles so I took the plunge - I bought the Saltwater System.
The Saltwater System performs great! The water is crystal clear. There are no red eyes like you get with chemical treated pools and you can keep your eyes open under water. I have two girls and they love it as well. The pool water has a slight (hardly noticable) taste of salt. So far, the system does exactly what it suppose to do.
Like other reviews there are some minor inconveniences with the system:
1) The system is set up to run at the same time every day. Would of been nice if you could program the system to run at different times.
2) The electrolytic cell needs cleaned at least once a week with high pressure water. This past week I acutally had to soak the electrolytic cell in vinegar to get the build up removed. From what the instructions states, this is do to the type of water I have.
3) Any type of power interuptions to the system requires the system to be reset.
Those are the only complaints about the system. I looked at other Saltwater Chlorinators and they are pricey but appear to be built to last longer.
Note: I have checked the price of replacements part to the Krystal Clear Saltwater (Chlorinator) System and if it is outside of the warranty period of time and needs new parts, depending on the part you get, it would be cheaper to buy a brand new system. I'm just hoping to get about 3-4 years of use out of the system, which would probably be a break-even point if I would have been buying chemicals.
So far the system is performing great. The true test is how long the system will last!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 136 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Salt water filter

07/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product failed in the first 2 days, called intex and they sent us out a replacement right away!!! it has made pool maintenance so much easier, well worth the money paid
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 137 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Product Works

07/20/2009
By ,
Wylie, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works good for an above ground pool real well. Easy to use. Plates clean easily. We have ours on another timer and have to reset it all the time. Its so easy my 10-year old does it. Timer is a little wierd. It runs at first setting every twenty four hours. If electricity is disconnected you have to reprogram. Could use a better timer, maybe with a clock for multiple runnings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

No More Chlorine

07/23/2008
By ,
Kennett, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful product, so simple to use. It keeps my pool water very clean without any burning eyes, bleached clothing, smelly chlorine. Just put the salt in the pool and turn it on. I like that a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 139 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great product

07/22/2009
By ,
Central California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love it! It cleans up the water and keeps it sparkling clear! Very easy to use and well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 140 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

An easy install

06/05/2008
By ,
Houston,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs very easily with the instructions. Works as advertised. Used only one week so we will see over the season. Really like the fact that no chlorine will be required. Recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 655 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  33 Next