Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Intex's Saltwater System is a natural way to treat your pool and destroy bacteria, viruses and algae. Install as directed, add inexpensive all-natural salt and the pools water is automatically converted to an effective algaecide. No more red, burning eyes, dry skin, or faded swimsuits. The pool's water salt level is undetectable by swimmers, so it feels like clear, clean, fresh water. Virtually eliminates the need to buy, handle and store pool chlorine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(736 Reviews) 654
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation94%694 out of 736reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Does not work on all pools

06/24/2009
By ,
Tucson, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product if it works on the pool. We bought this for our above ground pool and find that our pool with the clorinator and pump does not work with the Krystal Clear Salt Water System. According to Intex this works for all above ground pools but we found that it doesn't. Very disappointing to spend this much money and not have it work. So make sure your pool works with this before you purchase it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 122 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

The only way to chlorinate!!

08/08/2009
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your looking for a low maint., low cost way to chlorinate your swimming pool, look no further!! This is one of the best inventions ever created. I bought my pool to enjoy it, not maintaine it with dangerous, expensive chlorine tabs. The upfront costs will pay for themselves in less than one swim season. My pool makes its own chlorine at night ready for swimming the next morning without any delay!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 123 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

So far, so good!

06/24/2009
By ,
Newport, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to setup, but read the manual a couple of times to make sure you understand everything.
The lack of a clock or timer to set the On and run-length times is annoying. It forces you to change settings during the the time of day you want it to run, which may not be convenient (i.e. if your filter runs at night, you can't set it up during the day, you have to wait until night and the pump is running to change settings).
Be prepared to tweak run length a few times until levels are balanced and consistent. This of course means turning it off, and then back on to reset the settings while the pump is running.
Other than that, seems to be working fine. I added some cyuranic acid to stabilize the Cl, and had to add a little Ph+ but those is the only chemicals I have used in a month. Chlorine has been a little high for my 4000 gal pool, probably because it has been cloudy and cool for weeks, so the Cl isn't being consumed as much as it normally would.
I put 80 lbs of Morton's water softening salt (the blue bag) in to start. The generator indicated that wasn't enough (Salt Low alarm). So I put in another 40 lbs, which was probably too much. It had been running 3 hours per night, which caused Cl to get up to 10 or so (the water was turning light orange in the test tube instead of the normal yellow). So I will turn it off for a few nights, and then try 1 hour per night, then 2 hours etc until it's more consistently around 5ppm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 124 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/12/2009
By ,
West Central Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, I had my doughts about it but it actually works a lot better than I thought. I have heard a lot about saltwater chlorinators in general and everybody says "thats all you need" but you still have to treat the water as if you were using chlorine tablets. The good part is that you keep a constant level of chlorine in the pool which lowers the consumption of chemicals by a conciderable amount. Plus you dont have to handle or buy the chlorine. The unit is also very efficient and simple to use. For my pool the manual states to run it 3 hrs a day which is way too much for the amount of time we use the pool. It has an onboard timer which works pretty good. If you use a timer on your pump, you just have to make sure the pump comes on before the chlorinator starts. I give it 4 stars as there is always room for improvement. Whenever you start it up, it starts the same time the next day for the amount of hours you set it to run. I wish you could set the time in which it starts and stops but that would make it less simple to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/08/2009
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had the generator for a month now and so far so good. Our son is our pool man and he says its quite easy to use. Don't miss the chemicals at all?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Works great but it isn't plug-in and forget...

05/17/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After owning the system for 2 months, here are some operational thoughts:
The good: It works exactly as listed. My pool is as clear as sparkling clear as the day I filled it. I love that! Because it produces the proper amount of chlorine in the water at all times (converts it from the salt water) I am able to keep the pool chemically balanced much easier. That means it doesn't get so far out of whack where algae starts to form or become cloudy. In previous years I would run out of chlorine and before I got to the store to get more, the pool became chemically unbalanced and I spent the rest of the summer trying to get it back to normal but never could get it quite right. This unit solves that problem by generating its own chlorine from the salt in the water everyday.
The Bad: I've read the cover front to back and there is no instruction to put in a stabilizer (Cyanuric Acid) which makes the chlorine last twice as long. I was having to run the unit for 10 hours a day and at the end of the day just before sunset, test strips showed all the chlorine was gone. After the guy at the local pool store recommended I add some stabilizer, now the chlorine lasts 2x as long and I only run the Intex unit 4 hours a day saving lots of electricity. Speaking of which - in order for the unit to run the pump must be running. But unlike the chlorine generator, the filter pump has no timer on it so unless you attach an on/off timer to it you'll be running your filter pump 24/7. To solve this problem I purchased an electronic timer from Lowes for $20 and set it up to turn on 30 minutes before the chlorine generator starts, and stops 30 minutes after the cycle ends. See Lowes website - the model number is Item # 170427. But don't plug the chlorine generator into the timer - you'll have the problem below...
The Ugly: The timer mechanism on this unit sucks. The way it works is whatever time of day you set up the unit, that's the time of day it will start. So if you want the unit to start at 10pm and run overnight - that means you are out in the dark at 10pm setting it up. It will then run every night at 10pm but only as long as the power is constant. If you have an electric power interruption, the unit resets itself and you have remember to go back out at 10pm to set it up AGAIN!. Come on Intex - how hard would it have been to put a clock and a backup battery in this unit?
Overall: I would buy this unit again but don't just think you can just plug it in and walk away. It takes monitoring. But I'd much rather be monitoring the proper function of a machine that does what it is supposed to do than to be carting chemicals around or adding countless countermeasure chemicals once things got out of balance. After 4 years of normal chlorine pool headaches - this unit has made having a pool much less aggravating.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 127 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/30/2010
By ,
wadena minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well it works great but i seem to have to clean out the inside fins every other day it dose the low salt alert very annoying i test it it says salt ok called company they said add more salt i did and still every other day i have to pull the hoses off and rinse them of put it together and it works fine i do like the fact that no cems are in my pool so i will put up with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

would not recommend for bigger pool

07/28/2008
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we have a 24' pool and according to the chart sent with the product, we are supposed to run the product for 10 hours each day!!! If i had known that i wouldn't have bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 129 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

So far so good

07/29/2008
By ,
Alvarado, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first researched this product I was skeptical if it could do what it said it could, after three weeks it has. It took longer to track down and get the salt than it did to install. Plus getting use to the taste of salt was another thing, but now nobody complains.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 130 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/14/2009
By ,
Jennings, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble & use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 131 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

An easy install

06/05/2008
By ,
Houston,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs very easily with the instructions. Works as advertised. Used only one week so we will see over the season. Really like the fact that no chlorine will be required. Recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 132 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

awesome!!

06/06/2008
By ,
Spring, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this would be a lot harder to set up, but it was a snap! It keeps the pool sparkly clean unless there is heavy swimming.. I don't know if I can still shock it or not, gotta check into that!! I am impressed and would highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 133 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good investment!

06/12/2008
By ,
Central Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the Intex salt water chlorinator so far. Extremely easy to hook up. Minor glich in the beginning. Pool flashed green the first day after I ran it. We filled pool on day one and two, ran filter only on day three for 24 hours to disperse salt, then ran chlorinator. Maybe too long of timespan to wait on chlorine. Cleared up in 24 hours after shocking. Pool has been crystal clear ever since and maintaining chlorine level and pH nicely. I do seem to need to change my filter more often with this system. Filters turn a brown color within a day or two. As far as salt is concerned, we just used pelleted water softner salt that is 99.8% pure. I did also treat water with a stabilzer to help maintain chlorine levels. The chlorinator has an internal timer to run every 24 hours. However, you don't get to choose what time it runs. It will just run every day at the time of day you originally programmed it. Therefore, if you want the chlorinator to run at 5am each day, you have go out and program the chlorinator at 5am.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 134 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

a good product

06/08/2008
By ,
san miguel,calif.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
read the reviews got a good feeling for the product. the only problem i had was when putting it together the flow sensor got turned a little. it was turn just enough to cause a low or no flow alarm to go on. then tried redoing the connection and still had an alarm tried 4 times the found the sensor was turned. other than trouble shooting it has been great. have not had to add any thing else other than the salt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 135 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good

07/06/2007
By ,
Marengo,IN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Power supply gets to hot for a product that was made to sit out in the sun.( won't last long) Bad disign. The built in 24 Hour timer needs a battery to keep running if power to it ever goes out. And this product could be a alot better if you could plug the pump into it. Tp where when the generator starts the pump would start with it.So you won't have to have a seprate timer for it.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 136 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great buy for the buck

06/08/2008
By ,
Mc Louth, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My neighbor has a large pecan tree that reaches across my pool. Every year, I have trouble keeping my pool clear and clean from all the leaves and blooms falling in the pool. The algea starts to build up and the chlorine dies out. This system seems to be able to keep up. My pool has been clear since I hooked it up. The salt is so much cheaper to buy than chlorine tablets and works so much better. My eyes do not burn and my skin is not all dried out. I would highly recommend this product. Keep in mind, it will only chlorinate the water, not keep it filtered. If you do not have an adequate filter system or water pump, it will not work as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Easy Clean Pool Water

06/09/2008
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This saltwater chorine generator works great with our Intex Ellipse 20' x 12' pool. It is very easy to attach to the filter that came with the pool. The first addition of salt dissolved in just a few hours instead of the 24 hours stated in the manual. The water says clear with minimal maintenance. Only draw back is the timer built into the unit. It cannot be set to run automatically more than once per day and you cannot use an external timer for the unit. The pump must be on when this unit starts. Minor inconvenience.
Overall much easier and cheaper than adding chemicals.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

seems good so far

06/09/2008
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Saltwater system seems good so far. I have only had it hooked up for about a week. The pain is that you have to have the pump on to, so you need to buy a timer for the pump to be on when you have the chlorinator set to come on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 139 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Pretty good product

07/11/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty good product. Had to work out a few kinks with it, but eventually got it working good. It is pretty pricey but it if gets up and running pretty good like mine now, it is well worth the money in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 140 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/07/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been using this pump for a little over a week now and it is doing a great job at keeping our pool crystal clear! The only thing we don't like is that while the pump is running no one is suppose to be in the pool. But we just try to make sure we run it early in the morning for the 5 hours so that it is ready by afternoon time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 655 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  33 Next