Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Intex's Saltwater System is a natural way to treat your pool and destroy bacteria, viruses and algae. Install as directed, add inexpensive all-natural salt and the pools water is automatically converted to an effective algaecide. No more red, burning eyes, dry skin, or faded swimsuits. The pool's water salt level is undetectable by swimmers, so it feels like clear, clean, fresh water. Virtually eliminates the need to buy, handle and store pool chlorine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(736 Reviews) 654
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation94%694 out of 736reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Nice and easy

04/19/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We installed this filter about a week ago. It works real well. The alkalinity, ph, and chlorine levels are perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 122 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/08/2009
By ,
Granite Falls, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This system saves alot of hassles compared to chlorine tablets and shock. I like the ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 123 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great Product!

06/22/2008
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have found that the Intex saltwater chlorine generator system is really great. We have had a lot of rain lately and with regular pool chemicals you would have to keep up with it EVERY day. With the saltwater system it's not that way at all. Once programmed, it turns itself on at the same time every day and the chlorine level is maintained without having to babysit the pool. You will still need to check it regularly to maintain the ph and alkalinity levels, and periodically add an algicide. However, the cost of pool chemicals will decrease drastically! The system will more than pay for itself in one summer. Be sure when you are installing the system that you take your time and don't rush it. We tried to hurry through and had a few problems. When we went back a few days later and took our time with the installation, it went very smoothly and we have had no problems since. Very good product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 124 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/23/2008
By ,
St Joseph, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well, the pool water is crystal clear. I am glad I invested in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was impressed with the ease of installation even though I was a little concerned with the fittings being to light weight. But they held and not one drip leaked past them. Do not over tighten and it is easy to do. Pump needs a 24 hour timer. What time you start is the time it will start 24 hours later. As a whole it seems to be well worth the money.
Note: If your pool calls for 300lbs. of salt to begin with...........use just 2/3"s or 200lbs. It just might be enough and if not it's easy to add more if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/08/2009
By ,
Douglass, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had our 24 ft intex pool for two years and love it! This year we went with the saltwater option because we were tired of the chemicals. Make sure that you have your water levels correct, our calcium is to high and we have massive build-up on the metal plates in the system. (It is not a quick clean) We are enjoying the redless eyes and not smelling like a pool after swimming!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 127 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Highly Recommend

06/23/2008
By ,
Conyers, Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only been using this product for about a week but so far it's everything it was advertised to be. It makes the swimming pool water very soft and sure beats using all the chlorine chemicals in the pool. The digital display is a little hard to read in the sun but that's to be expected. So far, so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Like the saltwater system

06/10/2009
By ,
Topeka KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The setup of the system is a bit time consumming and after purchasing the 310 lbs of salt I needed the overall cost of the system was more than I expected. The season cost of the system should be a little less than buying the tablets. Kids like the eye burning free water.
Like another reviewer said, it would be helpful of they could somehow add an outlet to the system so that the filter pump could be cycled on with the salt system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 129 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Easy to use, but has some flaws

06/11/2009
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've been using this for a couple of weeks now and it performs as advertised. My only complaint is that it clears its programming whenever the power is out, even for just a second. Our neighborhood has short power outages, a few seconds to a few minutes, on a fairly regular basis. Every time it happens, I have go out and reset the programming on the device. It seems that a battery backup would be an easy thing to include in the unit, but it does not have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 130 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/12/2009
By ,
West Central Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, I had my doughts about it but it actually works a lot better than I thought. I have heard a lot about saltwater chlorinators in general and everybody says "thats all you need" but you still have to treat the water as if you were using chlorine tablets. The good part is that you keep a constant level of chlorine in the pool which lowers the consumption of chemicals by a conciderable amount. Plus you dont have to handle or buy the chlorine. The unit is also very efficient and simple to use. For my pool the manual states to run it 3 hrs a day which is way too much for the amount of time we use the pool. It has an onboard timer which works pretty good. If you use a timer on your pump, you just have to make sure the pump comes on before the chlorinator starts. I give it 4 stars as there is always room for improvement. Whenever you start it up, it starts the same time the next day for the amount of hours you set it to run. I wish you could set the time in which it starts and stops but that would make it less simple to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 131 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

WORK'S WELL

06/24/2008
By ,
ELIZABETH CITY, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE SALT WATER INTEX POOL PUMP SEEMS TO
BE WORKING WELL. IT IS SO MUCH EASIER
THAT USING CHEMICAL'S & IT IS EASIER ON YOUR HAIR & SWIMSUIT'S. WE ARE ENJOYING THIS PRODUCT SO FAR !! I RECOMMEND THIS OVER USING CHEMICAL'S ANYDAY !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 132 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

salt water pump

06/24/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it seems to be working well. Once it's set up it is a done deal, it keeps working at the same time everyday. It kinda took a long time to get but it works well!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 133 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Works well

08/18/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this because the wife and I are busy and sometimes would forget to chlorinate the pool.
This device once setup eliminates the mistakes.
Monitor while it is on for alarms other than that it does all the work. It beeps to let you know if an alarm exixts. But not loud enough to bother the neighbors.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 134 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

great salt water system.

06/25/2008
By ,
York, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to follow instructions, easy to use. Cheaper and healthier then clorine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 135 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Simplify pool maintenance!

04/23/2008
By ,
Morgan City, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has simplified pool maintenance for us! No more chemical rebounding; I was never able to get the chlorine balances just right. If this wasn't enough, no more stinging eyes, dried out hair, and faded swimsuits!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 136 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good Product

06/26/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After receiving the product from site to store, I added salt to the pool and hooked up the salt filter. I got the code saying to add salt. I added salt and went through the other recommended troubleshooting and the problem persisted. I called Intex at the # listed in the owner's manual and received a new filter one week later. I now have the filter installed and it works great. You can smell the chlorine, but it's not offensive or eye burning. I think I may have too much salt in the pool, since I added per the error code on the original filter...the kids say the water tastes like salt although the filter does not give a too much salt code. I'm glad not to have to deal with the chemicals and think we'll love it once we get the bugs worked out from the original failure. Intex does stand behind the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

good product

06/27/2008
By ,
watson, la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product and hooked it up about a week or two ago. Chlorine levels have stayed consistent and water is clear as a bell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

A great alternative

06/27/2008
By ,
Richland WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this filter system because when we stopped to think how many chlorine tablets we were using and the money it cost, it just made sense. Not only will we save in the long run, but we believe because the biproducts in chlorine tablets are not running through our pool anymore, damaging everything from our skin,swimsuits, eyes and the pool itself it's just better for our health. I highly recommend looking into this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 139 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good for the price

06/30/2008
By ,
Burleson, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the 24' X 52" Intex above ground that I purchased last year ( summer of 07). The intex pump that comes with that pool is almost to small , so we have to run it continuosly to make it work effectively. We bought the salt water generater and added it to that it seems to be working great. We still have to shock and add alge stop but do not have to add additional chlorine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 140 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

wonderful product

06/30/2008
By ,
West Fork, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great system! We will never use chlorine again! The chlorinator has met all of our expectations! We hope it is a long lasting product and continues it wonderful performance!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 655 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  33 Next