Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Intex's Saltwater System is a natural way to treat your pool and destroy bacteria, viruses and algae. Install as directed, add inexpensive all-natural salt and the pools water is automatically converted to an effective algaecide. No more red, burning eyes, dry skin, or faded swimsuits. The pool's water salt level is undetectable by swimmers, so it feels like clear, clean, fresh water. Virtually eliminates the need to buy, handle and store pool chlorine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(736 Reviews) 654
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation94%694 out of 736reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

workswell

08/07/2008
By ,
spo wash.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great alternative to using chlorine in the pool.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 122 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Almost Perfect!

08/07/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This saltwater system is almost perfect for someone looking for an easy-to-use, low maintenance pool chlorinating system. To initiate the system, I simply added the recommended amount of salt, set the timer, and locked in the settings. The only two faults I have found with this system are that the control buttons are not very responsive (you have to push them a number of times before they register a change), and the timer system cannot be delayed. This means that you have to set the timer at the EXACT time you want to system to start running. Because I like to run the system at night when we're not swimming, every time the system needs to be reset (power outage) I have to stay up until midnight just to go outside and start it so that the chlorinating cycle will complete by six in the morning. Despite these two minor flaws, the system makes keeping your pool clean much, MUCH easier than traditional chlorinating methods!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 123 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

salt

06/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good .. only in use 4 days .. seems to work well.. you still need to test water but easily adjusted using the system
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 124 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

good product

06/27/2008
By ,
watson, la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product and hooked it up about a week or two ago. Chlorine levels have stayed consistent and water is clear as a bell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

not a bad product

06/19/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
but not an excellent one either. It does what it says (generates chlorine from rock salt), but it is very picky about things like water flow speed and amount of salt present. This is understandable, and the unit will still function if the flow speed is a little off or if the salt content isn't just right, but it will beep continuously until the proper conditions are met. The only way to make it stop beeping is to either correct the problem (sometimes easier said than done) or just turn it off, which kind of defeats the purpose. The instruction manual is vague about the amount of salt needed, so I am still tweaking it a week after setting up the unit.
With that said, the unit is very good at generating chlorine, and I found setting it for 5 hours/day is perfect for my pool. My chlorine levels are spot-on, my pool water stays crystal clear, and the addition of salt to the water has other beneficial effects such as softening the water and making cleaning easier.
Pros:
Product works as advertised
Comes with adapters to fit most above-ground pools
Price is less than I would spend on chemicals for 1 year of pool service
Cons:
Set-up is not intuitive
Product is very picky about certain things
Manual is vague on several important points
No way to disable beeping alarm
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good for the price

06/30/2008
By ,
Burleson, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the 24' X 52" Intex above ground that I purchased last year ( summer of 07). The intex pump that comes with that pool is almost to small , so we have to run it continuosly to make it work effectively. We bought the salt water generater and added it to that it seems to be working great. We still have to shock and add alge stop but do not have to add additional chlorine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 127 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Sparkling Clear!

07/01/2008
By ,
Richlands, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product because I was having a problem with very cloudy water during Spring opening. I had tried every chemical I could find to try and clear the water. I was unable to see the bottom of my pool. I received the salt water system, installed it as directed between the filter pump and the return hose, added the disired amount of salt for a 24' x 52' round pool, and set the timer. The pump ran for the required amount of time and by morning, my pool was clear. It has been clear since. I would highly recomend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Very nice!

07/01/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this system has lived up to its promise quite well. Once I had the saltwater system up and running, I could smell the chlorine coming from the pool. Since I live in the sunny southwest, my saltwater system runs about four hours a day. I have also found that I can shock my pool every week or so by running it for a 12-hour cycle.
Setting up the saltwater pool system was a snap; everything just worked right out of the box. The trickiest part was finding the pool salt -- Wal-Mart didn't carry any in the store, so I had to go find a pool store that had supplies for saltwater systems.
Helpful hint: don't underestimate how much salt you will need to buy! Use the calculator in the book -- DOUBLE-CHECK your work -- and buy an extra bag of salt, just to be safe. It's not like it's expensive: each 40-pound bag cost me just under eight dollars. But I slipped up and under-calculated my salt needs, thus I had to go back to the pool store for another bag. Be safe and get an extra just to be sure. Take the extra time and find REAL pool salt -- NEVER buy water softener salt. It will take forever to dissolve, and if you get the wrong kind of salt, it will mess up your chlorine generator.
Saltwater pools aren't maintenance-free, but they are far lower maintenance than traditional pools. The #1 thing you will need to watch carefully is the PH. It is literally *the* difference between the system working or not working. Get the PH as close to 7.2 as possible before salting your pool. Otherwise, you will be making lots of chlorine that will break down and turn right back into salt within an hour or so.
So how is swimming in a saltwater pool run by this chlorine generator? Wonderful. Your skin feels smooth and soft after getting out -- almost like after a spa treatment. You can open your eyes in the water without any stinging whatsoever. If you calculate your salt correctly, there's no briny taste at all. There's a little bit of chlorine smell and taste (especially if you get water up your nose), but it's nowhere near as bad as a chemical-based pool.
All in all, this has been a fantastic purchase, and I am really pleased with how pleasant our pool water has become with this saltwater system.
The one thing I think this system needs is a bit friendlier programming controls, and perhaps a weekly schedule (to where I can set it up to automatically run a 12-hour cycle one night a week, for example). But as far as pure function goes, this one is a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 129 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

wonderful product

06/30/2008
By ,
West Fork, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great system! We will never use chlorine again! The chlorinator has met all of our expectations! We hope it is a long lasting product and continues it wonderful performance!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 130 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/01/2008
By ,
Statesboro, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to set up right out of the box. The only problem that we had initially was that it turned the water green, but water would be crystal clear with the pump off. we talked with the company and they didn't know why. But we continued to run it and the water is crystal clear both ways and we have proper chlorine levels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 131 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Better than the alternative.

06/20/2009
By ,
Stillwater, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the chlorinator now that I figured out how to make the most of it. I wasted tons of test stips and time trying to figure out how to get my chlorine level up.
Three calls to Intex, with a wait time on each call of about 20 - 30 minutes to get to a person, but I could not get anyone to tell me anything that I didn't already know. It appears that they just read out of the same book/manual that comes with the chlorinator. I can do that myself. I called them hoping to get information that CAN'T be found in the book.
All they had to tell me was to run the chlorinator at night instead of during the day. The sun and wind evaporates the chlorine as fast as the chlorinator can make it if it is very sunny, hot and windy. I figured this out on my own. Three separate Intex "specialists" (who all three even asked their supervisors) could not tell me this.
I was running the chlorinator up to twelve hours per day, even thought the book said I only needed 5 hours per day with the given air temperture and pool size, but could not get the chlorine level up high enough. Now that I'm running it at night, My chlorine level is up hight, too high, but that is good, because that means I can cut back the hours that the chlorinator operates and save electrcity and wear and tear.
This is a GREAT product, but the book leaves alot of unanswered questions and the Intex specialist have not been any help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 132 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Worth the money but watch out!

05/05/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product works as advertised and can be easily setup by someone with average skill. I have minerals in my water so mineral buildup caused it to stop working toward the end of the season last year. Soaking the plate section in a VERY diluted solution of muratic acid got it working again (vinegar didn't work) this year and it's still going strong. I don't like the timer setup in that it's not in a regular clock format. You set it to run and it comes on that time of day again 24 hours later. It would be nice to be able to determine what time the unit starts without having to be standing next to it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 133 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

saltwater pump

05/07/2009
By ,
laurel ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it makes the water in your pool real clear
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
0points
Review 134 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Pretty much does what it's supposed to

06/22/2009
By ,
Modesto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had our 15' x 42" metal frame pool for almost 2 weeks with no chemicals or anything added. We stopped swimming when the water just didn't seem right and thought it better to wait for the saltwater system to come. A few days later it did and we added a little less salt that required, about 10lbs less like other people had said they did.
It cleared the pool right up. Unfortunately since algae had already started to grow that we didn't know about after a week or so the pool was green all over. Went to a pool store and had to get a package of "shock" treatment for the pool and wait another 24 hours. Now the pool is clean and fairly clear.
As with any pool it requires attention and common sense.
It's a great product for the money and better on the environment, and with kids. The water is barely salty and doesn't burn like powerful chlorine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 135 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

it eats electricity

05/08/2009
By ,
florida west palm
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT WORKS GREAT. and for the price you cant beat it. however we have a 24' above ground. and it requires to run 11 years. which means the pump NOW HAS TO RUN 11 hours. we used to just run it 4 hours a day and it kept our pool fine. but now that we have this salt water thingy i have to run the pool half a day. every day. SO, if you run your pump constanty then get it.... there are other models that hand over the wall and are not part of the pump. if this should break i think iwill try that next unfortuatenly they cost more like 300.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 136 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/23/2009
By ,
Waunakee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far we have had this system in place for about 3 weeks and are satisfied. A little disappointed that we had trouble finding such a large quantity of salt to put in the pool. One drawback so far is that the water still tastes "salty" and we are not sure if we are doing something wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/01/2008
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My water is very soft and clean. There is alittle strange taste to it but this has been one of happiest purchases. I haven't had to add anything to my pool since I set it up at the end of May and we use the pool almost everyday. Great buy for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Replacement Unit

06/24/2009
By ,
Ashland, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit replaced a combo unit that came with my pool when purchased 4 years ago. I was thinking of buying another combo unit but am so glad I didn't. Instead I purchased a new filter pump, (Walmart didn't carry the same brand), and the separate Saltwater system. They are both working great. Actually better than the original unit did. I shopped on-line for several months this past winter and no one could touch the Walmart price. Very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 139 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

No complaints the second time around.

06/24/2009
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my chlorinator at Walmart.com, and unfortunately, it stopped working about 2 days after I put it into service. Intex sent me a new one with no problems, which indicates to me that they have had this issue before. The only problem was that I had to wait for it to be shipped from CA, so I had to keep the pool under control with liquid chlorine till the rplacement showed up. The new one they sent has worked fine so far (it's only been a few days). I purchased one for my parents at a Walmart store, and theirs has worked great since day one. I have to conclude that I simply got a faulty unit the first time. Still, using this salwater system is far more convenient than traditional chlorine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 140 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/24/2009
By ,
New Orleans, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought our saltwater system at the end of the season last year. We have never had a problem with algae and always have crystal clear water. Would recommend a saltwater system to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 655 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  33 Next