Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Intex's Saltwater System is a natural way to treat your pool and destroy bacteria, viruses and algae. Install as directed, add inexpensive all-natural salt and the pools water is automatically converted to an effective algaecide. No more red, burning eyes, dry skin, or faded swimsuits. The pool's water salt level is undetectable by swimmers, so it feels like clear, clean, fresh water. Virtually eliminates the need to buy, handle and store pool chlorine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(736 Reviews) 654
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation94%694 out of 736reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Does its job

07/28/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used the saltwater system for a week, so I don't know about long term. So far it seems to be keeping the water clean and at the right levels. I do wish that it could connect to the filter pump so that when it was on the pump turned on automatically as well. I want to run it early in the morning, but I don't want the pump running all night. This is also inconvenient when I am away from home for a day or two. Other than that, I love not having to add lots of chemicals to the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 122 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/12/2009
By ,
West Central Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, I had my doughts about it but it actually works a lot better than I thought. I have heard a lot about saltwater chlorinators in general and everybody says "thats all you need" but you still have to treat the water as if you were using chlorine tablets. The good part is that you keep a constant level of chlorine in the pool which lowers the consumption of chemicals by a conciderable amount. Plus you dont have to handle or buy the chlorine. The unit is also very efficient and simple to use. For my pool the manual states to run it 3 hrs a day which is way too much for the amount of time we use the pool. It has an onboard timer which works pretty good. If you use a timer on your pump, you just have to make sure the pump comes on before the chlorinator starts. I give it 4 stars as there is always room for improvement. Whenever you start it up, it starts the same time the next day for the amount of hours you set it to run. I wish you could set the time in which it starts and stops but that would make it less simple to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 123 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Replacement Unit

06/24/2009
By ,
Ashland, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit replaced a combo unit that came with my pool when purchased 4 years ago. I was thinking of buying another combo unit but am so glad I didn't. Instead I purchased a new filter pump, (Walmart didn't carry the same brand), and the separate Saltwater system. They are both working great. Actually better than the original unit did. I shopped on-line for several months this past winter and no one could touch the Walmart price. Very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 124 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

No complaints the second time around.

06/24/2009
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my chlorinator at Walmart.com, and unfortunately, it stopped working about 2 days after I put it into service. Intex sent me a new one with no problems, which indicates to me that they have had this issue before. The only problem was that I had to wait for it to be shipped from CA, so I had to keep the pool under control with liquid chlorine till the rplacement showed up. The new one they sent has worked fine so far (it's only been a few days). I purchased one for my parents at a Walmart store, and theirs has worked great since day one. I have to conclude that I simply got a faulty unit the first time. Still, using this salwater system is far more convenient than traditional chlorine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/24/2009
By ,
New Orleans, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought our saltwater system at the end of the season last year. We have never had a problem with algae and always have crystal clear water. Would recommend a saltwater system to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/07/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been using this pump for a little over a week now and it is doing a great job at keeping our pool crystal clear! The only thing we don't like is that while the pump is running no one is suppose to be in the pool. But we just try to make sure we run it early in the morning for the 5 hours so that it is ready by afternoon time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 127 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

great product

06/22/2008
By ,
Tulsa Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been very happy with the saltwater pool filter. We have a 5,000 gallon pool that is about 4 feet deep and it does exactly what it says it will do! Our 9 year old daughter was always complaining with her eyes burning and blurring after swimming but not anymore. The pool seems to actually be cleaner than with chlorine! We highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Works great but it isn't plug-in and forget...

05/17/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After owning the system for 2 months, here are some operational thoughts:
The good: It works exactly as listed. My pool is as clear as sparkling clear as the day I filled it. I love that! Because it produces the proper amount of chlorine in the water at all times (converts it from the salt water) I am able to keep the pool chemically balanced much easier. That means it doesn't get so far out of whack where algae starts to form or become cloudy. In previous years I would run out of chlorine and before I got to the store to get more, the pool became chemically unbalanced and I spent the rest of the summer trying to get it back to normal but never could get it quite right. This unit solves that problem by generating its own chlorine from the salt in the water everyday.
The Bad: I've read the cover front to back and there is no instruction to put in a stabilizer (Cyanuric Acid) which makes the chlorine last twice as long. I was having to run the unit for 10 hours a day and at the end of the day just before sunset, test strips showed all the chlorine was gone. After the guy at the local pool store recommended I add some stabilizer, now the chlorine lasts 2x as long and I only run the Intex unit 4 hours a day saving lots of electricity. Speaking of which - in order for the unit to run the pump must be running. But unlike the chlorine generator, the filter pump has no timer on it so unless you attach an on/off timer to it you'll be running your filter pump 24/7. To solve this problem I purchased an electronic timer from Lowes for $20 and set it up to turn on 30 minutes before the chlorine generator starts, and stops 30 minutes after the cycle ends. See Lowes website - the model number is Item # 170427. But don't plug the chlorine generator into the timer - you'll have the problem below...
The Ugly: The timer mechanism on this unit sucks. The way it works is whatever time of day you set up the unit, that's the time of day it will start. So if you want the unit to start at 10pm and run overnight - that means you are out in the dark at 10pm setting it up. It will then run every night at 10pm but only as long as the power is constant. If you have an electric power interruption, the unit resets itself and you have remember to go back out at 10pm to set it up AGAIN!. Come on Intex - how hard would it have been to put a clock and a backup battery in this unit?
Overall: I would buy this unit again but don't just think you can just plug it in and walk away. It takes monitoring. But I'd much rather be monitoring the proper function of a machine that does what it is supposed to do than to be carting chemicals around or adding countless countermeasure chemicals once things got out of balance. After 4 years of normal chlorine pool headaches - this unit has made having a pool much less aggravating.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 129 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Time saver

06/25/2009
By ,
Huntingdon, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Krystal Clear system has been a real time saver and extremely easy to use. Have been using the system for 5 weeks and have had no issues with algae, cloudiness or lack of chlorine. No chemicals have been added to the water since I first added the salt. I run the system for an hour longer then recommended to maintain the chlorine level. The water is truely less harsh and easier on the skin and hair. There is however a detectable saltiness to the water. It does leave slight salt spotting on vinyl pool toys and floats. However, these are easily cleanable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 130 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Works well, when it works!

06/25/2009
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just purchased our pool for the first time this year. My son and I both broke out from the chlorine in the pool after the first swim and he complained of his eyes burning constantly. So, we plunked down the money and got the saltwater system. First of all, it was not intuitive to hook up. It comes with all these different attachments and I wasn't certain what went where. After I figured that out it wasn't that bad. We purchased 4 bags of 40 pounds of pool salt from Lowes for $7.88 each. We only used 2 3/4 bags for our 18' X 48" easyset pool. The salt dissolved well and was no problem.
At first we didn't add enough salt and got the low salt error code. We added more salt to the pool. I turned the system on and nothing happened. We unplugged it, reset the GFCI plug, we tried other things in the outlet and the outlet worked, but the stinkin' saltwater system would NEVER turn back on. It was completely dead.
I returned it to Wal-mart and swapped it out. I plugged that one and Voila!, we have beautiful, crystal clear water.
Also, the test strips that came from Intex don't appear to work properly. I had some that I bought at Wal-mart that test 6 items instead of 3 and they showed normal pH and 2ppm Cl. The Intex strips turned some funky color and didn't show anything properly.
While I like the water clarity and the easiness of the system, I would like to point out that this is the 2nd piece of Intex pool equipment that I have had to return and get replaced because of power failure. My pool pump quit working after 2 weeks and I had to return that today. I can't give 5 stars because I have had so many electrical problems with the pool filter pump and this saltwater pump, but I would still recommend it over chemicals that burn your skin and eyes. Plus the water clarity is amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 131 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good Product

07/20/2009
By ,
Hagerstown, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the Krystal Clear Saltwater (Chlorinator) System for about 1 month. My decision to purchase Krystal Clear Saltwater System was based on reviews from Walmart and Amazon websites. When I purchased my Ultra Frame Intex Pool (18' X 52") I never heard of Saltwater System and was skeptical of it even working. I have had other above ground pools in the past and I decided I didn't want to deal with the chemicles so I took the plunge - I bought the Saltwater System.
The Saltwater System performs great! The water is crystal clear. There are no red eyes like you get with chemical treated pools and you can keep your eyes open under water. I have two girls and they love it as well. The pool water has a slight (hardly noticable) taste of salt. So far, the system does exactly what it suppose to do.
Like other reviews there are some minor inconveniences with the system:
1) The system is set up to run at the same time every day. Would of been nice if you could program the system to run at different times.
2) The electrolytic cell needs cleaned at least once a week with high pressure water. This past week I acutally had to soak the electrolytic cell in vinegar to get the build up removed. From what the instructions states, this is do to the type of water I have.
3) Any type of power interuptions to the system requires the system to be reset.
Those are the only complaints about the system. I looked at other Saltwater Chlorinators and they are pricey but appear to be built to last longer.
Note: I have checked the price of replacements part to the Krystal Clear Saltwater (Chlorinator) System and if it is outside of the warranty period of time and needs new parts, depending on the part you get, it would be cheaper to buy a brand new system. I'm just hoping to get about 3-4 years of use out of the system, which would probably be a break-even point if I would have been buying chemicals.
So far the system is performing great. The true test is how long the system will last!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 132 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Salt water filter

07/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product failed in the first 2 days, called intex and they sent us out a replacement right away!!! it has made pool maintenance so much easier, well worth the money paid
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 133 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Product Works

07/20/2009
By ,
Wylie, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works good for an above ground pool real well. Easy to use. Plates clean easily. We have ours on another timer and have to reset it all the time. Its so easy my 10-year old does it. Timer is a little wierd. It runs at first setting every twenty four hours. If electricity is disconnected you have to reprogram. Could use a better timer, maybe with a clock for multiple runnings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 134 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Pretty good product

07/11/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty good product. Had to work out a few kinks with it, but eventually got it working good. It is pretty pricey but it if gets up and running pretty good like mine now, it is well worth the money in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 135 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great buy for the buck

06/08/2008
By ,
Mc Louth, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My neighbor has a large pecan tree that reaches across my pool. Every year, I have trouble keeping my pool clear and clean from all the leaves and blooms falling in the pool. The algea starts to build up and the chlorine dies out. This system seems to be able to keep up. My pool has been clear since I hooked it up. The salt is so much cheaper to buy than chlorine tablets and works so much better. My eyes do not burn and my skin is not all dried out. I would highly recommend this product. Keep in mind, it will only chlorinate the water, not keep it filtered. If you do not have an adequate filter system or water pump, it will not work as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 136 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great Product!

06/22/2008
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have found that the Intex saltwater chlorine generator system is really great. We have had a lot of rain lately and with regular pool chemicals you would have to keep up with it EVERY day. With the saltwater system it's not that way at all. Once programmed, it turns itself on at the same time every day and the chlorine level is maintained without having to babysit the pool. You will still need to check it regularly to maintain the ph and alkalinity levels, and periodically add an algicide. However, the cost of pool chemicals will decrease drastically! The system will more than pay for itself in one summer. Be sure when you are installing the system that you take your time and don't rush it. We tried to hurry through and had a few problems. When we went back a few days later and took our time with the installation, it went very smoothly and we have had no problems since. Very good product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
06/23/2008
By ,
St Joseph, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well, the pool water is crystal clear. I am glad I invested in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

So far so good

07/17/2008
By ,
Mena, ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we've had this product for about 3 weeks (we installed it when we installed the pool) and it is keeping our water crystal clear without any other products. it makes the water taste about like saline solution so there is no burning, red eyes, which is great! however, we have had a little problem with the test strips that came with the pool. the chlorine is always ok, but the ph and alkaline are a little off, but there is no algae problems or anything else. we have a 24 foot round pool, so it took almost 300 lbs of pool salt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 139 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

would not recommend for bigger pool

07/28/2008
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we have a 24' pool and according to the chart sent with the product, we are supposed to run the product for 10 hours each day!!! If i had known that i wouldn't have bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 140 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

So far so good

07/29/2008
By ,
Alvarado, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first researched this product I was skeptical if it could do what it said it could, after three weeks it has. It took longer to track down and get the salt than it did to install. Plus getting use to the taste of salt was another thing, but now nobody complains.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 655 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  33 Next