Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Intex's Saltwater System is a natural way to treat your pool and destroy bacteria, viruses and algae. Install as directed, add inexpensive all-natural salt and the pools water is automatically converted to an effective algaecide. No more red, burning eyes, dry skin, or faded swimsuits. The pool's water salt level is undetectable by swimmers, so it feels like clear, clean, fresh water. Virtually eliminates the need to buy, handle and store pool chlorine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(736 Reviews) 654
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation94%694 out of 736reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Chlorine generator

07/08/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is based on very sound technology. I have worked with it in the past and was glad to see it being used in this way. You just add the same salt that is used with water softening systems to your pool water and set the timer to run for the size of your pool. The salt level is so low you wont even taste it yet it will generate enough of the chlorine needed for your pool to keep it crystal clear. This cuts the cost of pool maintenance by at least 80% in my experence. Your pool will be clear and you won't have all the chemicals around your house or the cost of them. It's simple to run and very good at it's job. I would highly recomend it if you are setting up an above ground pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 122 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

It works!

07/08/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The GOOD:It makes chlorine! Just add the recommended amount and type of salt and it makes lots of chlorine to sanitize my pool!
The BAD: no manual on, if it is really hot out and you need to make a little more chlorine to bring the level up, you have to reset the whole system. Needs a manual over ride when a little extra chlorine is needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 123 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Nice filter

07/08/2008
By ,
illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful product if you're looking to get rid of all your chemicals. You need to run it for as long as they say to not any less. The only problem I've found with it is that my water is sorta hard and the sensor in it gets all grimed up but all you have to do is soak it in vinegar for 2-3 hours and its great. Your eyes and skin don't hurt and it saves you lots of money with the chemicals. I've only had to put the salt in the pool once and its been fine. I put a little less than what they recommended 'cause I figured it was easier to add a little more salt than drain the whole pool.Don't hesitate on buying just get it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 124 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

great pump

07/09/2008
By ,
Conyers, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the saltwater pump. It has eliminated the use of the chlorine, shoch, etc. We put salt in one time and the pump runs off a timer each day. So we don't have to turn it off every day. The only negative is how long the pump does have to run each day but it is alot more efficient than adding chemicals every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Saltwater Pool Flter

07/09/2008
By ,
San Antonio TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product...makes pool maintenance very simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Well worth the purchase

07/09/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very easy to install in our above ground pool. It works very well. Highly recommend it over clorinating with chemicals. It leaves your skin soft and salt does not hurt eyes at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 127 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

no more harsh chemical

09/09/2008
By ,
St. Croix, VI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this product is working great, was easy to connect, adjust and best of all no more chemicals or strong chlorine smell! just salt in the pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Wow Wow Wow

07/11/2008
By ,
Provo, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this product and would recomend it to anyone who owns a pool! The water is so clear and stays clean no more hours cleaning the pool just to swim.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 129 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Works great but it isn't plug-in and forget...

05/17/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After owning the system for 2 months, here are some operational thoughts:
The good: It works exactly as listed. My pool is as clear as sparkling clear as the day I filled it. I love that! Because it produces the proper amount of chlorine in the water at all times (converts it from the salt water) I am able to keep the pool chemically balanced much easier. That means it doesn't get so far out of whack where algae starts to form or become cloudy. In previous years I would run out of chlorine and before I got to the store to get more, the pool became chemically unbalanced and I spent the rest of the summer trying to get it back to normal but never could get it quite right. This unit solves that problem by generating its own chlorine from the salt in the water everyday.
The Bad: I've read the cover front to back and there is no instruction to put in a stabilizer (Cyanuric Acid) which makes the chlorine last twice as long. I was having to run the unit for 10 hours a day and at the end of the day just before sunset, test strips showed all the chlorine was gone. After the guy at the local pool store recommended I add some stabilizer, now the chlorine lasts 2x as long and I only run the Intex unit 4 hours a day saving lots of electricity. Speaking of which - in order for the unit to run the pump must be running. But unlike the chlorine generator, the filter pump has no timer on it so unless you attach an on/off timer to it you'll be running your filter pump 24/7. To solve this problem I purchased an electronic timer from Lowes for $20 and set it up to turn on 30 minutes before the chlorine generator starts, and stops 30 minutes after the cycle ends. See Lowes website - the model number is Item # 170427. But don't plug the chlorine generator into the timer - you'll have the problem below...
The Ugly: The timer mechanism on this unit sucks. The way it works is whatever time of day you set up the unit, that's the time of day it will start. So if you want the unit to start at 10pm and run overnight - that means you are out in the dark at 10pm setting it up. It will then run every night at 10pm but only as long as the power is constant. If you have an electric power interruption, the unit resets itself and you have remember to go back out at 10pm to set it up AGAIN!. Come on Intex - how hard would it have been to put a clock and a backup battery in this unit?
Overall: I would buy this unit again but don't just think you can just plug it in and walk away. It takes monitoring. But I'd much rather be monitoring the proper function of a machine that does what it is supposed to do than to be carting chemicals around or adding countless countermeasure chemicals once things got out of balance. After 4 years of normal chlorine pool headaches - this unit has made having a pool much less aggravating.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 130 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools
07/14/2009
By ,
Jennings, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble & use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 131 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good Product

07/14/2008
By ,
Columbus IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the salt water system for our 24' round pool. It was easy to set up and works well. We have well water and a water softener. Because of we have a water softner, we expected to need a little less salt. Also our the water in the pool had a slight yellow tint to it. After adding all the salt and running the filter for 24 hours, we still had the low salt reading so we jumped in and "agitated" the water. The system ran, and the water was clear, but it tasted salty though it was still easy on the eyes. We had a problem with a pool leg sinking so we had to drain and reset the pool. This time we added one less bag and "agitated" the water and the system ran without a hitch. Also when we reset the pool the water became green before we ran the system. We ran the system overnight and the water was clean in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 132 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Met my expectations...

07/13/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am very satisfied with this product. The set-up was mildly confusing, but we finally figured it out. The pool is sparkling clear, and clean. With our first swim I wondered just how the water would taste. And I did notice the salt. It wasn't bad though. It was more like, "Hmmm, yeah...there's salt in here." I would recommend this product, especially since it is better for our environment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 133 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Worked great in the beginning

07/15/2008
By ,
Medford, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This salt water filter is cool because you dont have to deal with the itchiness, or hair turning green from regular chemicals. We've had it for 3 months and everything was going good until last week when our pool got an algae problem. Its getting worse and it clearly states that with the salt water filter, this isnt supposed to happen so it does not do 100% of its job... Otherwise its nice and the water feels smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 134 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Salt Chlorine generator

07/16/2008
By ,
Duluth, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent product. Not only do you not need to add chlorine to the pool anymore, but we use about 1/10th of the other chemicals now (algacide, etc). We started the chlorine generator after we had the pool up for a week already; this created an algae buildup. It took about a week to get things stabalized and it has been crystal clear ever since!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 135 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Great concept/bad design

09/15/2008
By ,
Marrero, Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the 8110 model for 3 months and the power supply went out. I just recieved a new unit and so far (after three days) it has brought my levels back to normal after one cycle. I must say after going through two hurricanes (lots of rain water) my pool continued to be crystal clear. This salt water solution is the best thing for pools. I simply vacum the pool and after the power came back (after 5 days of being out) I cycled the pool with the new salt water converter with my intex pump and my kids were swimming within know time. Now I will wait to see how long this power supply will hold out. Over all I love this converter. It makes maintenance on a pool very easy for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 136 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

So far so good

07/17/2008
By ,
Mena, ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we've had this product for about 3 weeks (we installed it when we installed the pool) and it is keeping our water crystal clear without any other products. it makes the water taste about like saline solution so there is no burning, red eyes, which is great! however, we have had a little problem with the test strips that came with the pool. the chlorine is always ok, but the ph and alkaline are a little off, but there is no algae problems or anything else. we have a 24 foot round pool, so it took almost 300 lbs of pool salt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Good Product

07/20/2009
By ,
Hagerstown, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the Krystal Clear Saltwater (Chlorinator) System for about 1 month. My decision to purchase Krystal Clear Saltwater System was based on reviews from Walmart and Amazon websites. When I purchased my Ultra Frame Intex Pool (18' X 52") I never heard of Saltwater System and was skeptical of it even working. I have had other above ground pools in the past and I decided I didn't want to deal with the chemicles so I took the plunge - I bought the Saltwater System.
The Saltwater System performs great! The water is crystal clear. There are no red eyes like you get with chemical treated pools and you can keep your eyes open under water. I have two girls and they love it as well. The pool water has a slight (hardly noticable) taste of salt. So far, the system does exactly what it suppose to do.
Like other reviews there are some minor inconveniences with the system:
1) The system is set up to run at the same time every day. Would of been nice if you could program the system to run at different times.
2) The electrolytic cell needs cleaned at least once a week with high pressure water. This past week I acutally had to soak the electrolytic cell in vinegar to get the build up removed. From what the instructions states, this is do to the type of water I have.
3) Any type of power interuptions to the system requires the system to be reset.
Those are the only complaints about the system. I looked at other Saltwater Chlorinators and they are pricey but appear to be built to last longer.
Note: I have checked the price of replacements part to the Krystal Clear Saltwater (Chlorinator) System and if it is outside of the warranty period of time and needs new parts, depending on the part you get, it would be cheaper to buy a brand new system. I'm just hoping to get about 3-4 years of use out of the system, which would probably be a break-even point if I would have been buying chemicals.
So far the system is performing great. The true test is how long the system will last!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Salt water filter

07/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product failed in the first 2 days, called intex and they sent us out a replacement right away!!! it has made pool maintenance so much easier, well worth the money paid
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 139 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

Product Works

07/20/2009
By ,
Wylie, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works good for an above ground pool real well. Easy to use. Plates clean easily. We have ours on another timer and have to reset it all the time. Its so easy my 10-year old does it. Timer is a little wierd. It runs at first setting every twenty four hours. If electricity is disconnected you have to reprogram. Could use a better timer, maybe with a clock for multiple runnings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 140 for Krystal Clear Saltwater System for Above-Ground Pools

A Must Have

07/20/2009
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased in June 2009. Seems to be a great product but the first one I purchased worked for one day and suddenly quit working altogether. Returned to Wal Mart (Note: Intex wants you to deal with them directly but you know Wal Mart will look out for the customer) and had to order another on line and pay for overnight shipping since I had a pool with 5000 gallons of water in my backyard in 95 degree heat.
Once the new system was delivered and hooked up, water has been perfect. You have to be dilligent in running this system daily or chlorine levels will drop below recommended levels. All in all, a good system for the value and no chlorine mess to deal with. Takes care of my 15' x 4' pool very well. I would recommend to anyone with an Intex pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 655 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  33 Next