Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

S12 Heart Rate Monitor

One-touch heart rate monitor Calorie-burn monitor Step and stride counter Max heart rate percentage indicator Laser-tuned stopwatch Countdown timer Digital time, date and alarm Speed monitor Distance tracker In-and-out-of-zone alarm Dual time display EL backlight
Average Customer Rating:
1.733 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation20%3 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Good for what you pay

12/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some other reviews rant and rave about what it doesn't have...mine was 40$, has a pedometer, a heart rate, and has dual times, so for the price its decent considering a decent watch costs around 20-30 in the first place. The problem many complain about is pedometer reset, and that is indeed their own fault (though also the companies) the way the buttons are, if you wear the watch on your left hand (and most right handed people do so it's not in the way) the buttons for going to pedometer, and resetting the pedometer are right there near your hand if your hand moves up a bit it can easily press the buttons, I've found wearing it a little high than I normally would fixes this problem easily. But all things considered for the price it's decent compared to things that conect for the computer etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Does not work as advertised

03/30/2011
By ,
Canada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First thing that I found odd was the way the settings are programmed in the watch. I had to dig into the manual to actually figure it out.
The biggest disappointment was to find out that other than a regular watch it is pretty much useless.
The pedometer wold work for a few hours at most and then it would stop. Even if I just put the watch down and do not touch it. In the manual it says that exercise time is up to 100 hours (minus one second). The primary intent of getting the watch was to calculate the number of steps I walk and how many calories I burn during the day. With this watch it is an impossible task.
After an intensive exercise if found at no surprise that the pedometer had stopped again. Another disappointment was to find out that it would not measure the heart rate when my hand was sweaty.
After a few days of use, there are scratches on the glass. Even though it is made of hard plastic, it protrudes the casing, and therefore is easier to scratch.
On the positive note, it uses a CR2032 battery, which should last for many years... somewhere in the returns department.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Really wanted to like it...

01/18/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Part 1
Today, I used it for the first time, and there were a ton of pros:
* It is significantly smaller than some of the big boys.
* It was pretty easy to set up. After determining my stride length, measuring my resting heart rate, and determining the ideal heart rate range I was aiming for, I was ready to go.
* While running, I could glance down and check my speed which was great for determining if I was pushing hard enough.
* It was easy to switch between speed, heart rate, and distance while running.
* It tracked my steps (which I love).
* You can stop the tracking process (stop the pedometer function) but you don’t have to clear the data right away, so you can track it/record it when you get home (see the cons list)
Now for the few cons:
* It uses my stride length to determine my distance, not GPS… So, if I was super wrong about my stride length, or if my stride length changes significantly then I’d need to make an adjustment.
* This little guy can’t compete with the computer interface of some models. It does NOT connect to your computer, nor does it keep track of all of the goodies that others do.
*The heart rate button sometimes doesn't work.
*The distance and pace functions do not seem to be accurate all the time.
Part 2
Well, here is part two of my review of the sportline s12 heart rate monitor.
It is with great disappointment that I share that I will be returning this device tomorrow. During the 5k I ran on Saturday, after about 1.25 miles, the watch just sorta… reset. It suddenly had a new date, new time, wiped all of my step, milage, and distance data. HALF WAY THROUGH MY RACE. I was livid.
There isn’t any particular reason to draw my review out longer, it just didn’t do what it needed to do, when I needed it to do it.
(on another note, I’m not sure it was entirely acurate as a HRM, calories burned tracker, or distance keeper. Even with specific measurements of my stride, it was occasionally -inexplicably- off.)
Sorry, sportline… I really, REALLY wanted to like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

BIG DISSAPOINTMENT

05/21/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This HR watch reset about 2 miles in to my run.
I actually planned on returning it for another one thinking this was just a fluke,however, after reading these reviews I believe I'll just get my $ back and go for another brand. The item is just not worth the money. Does not perform well AT ALL!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 5 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Read previous review too late!

04/22/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the exact same problem than previous review. The watch resets half way thru a race on the pedometer function. I'm returning the watch. I really like it until started to fail after a couple of days of use, you cannot rely on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

HRM Excellent

04/15/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this HRM and I love it. The review I read about it, and her taking it back, I don't use as a runner. But it is great for inexpensive and being able to track calories, HR, miles, steps. The steps is very accurate. I just love mine. Now if you want more soffistification, than this isn't it. But for doing the job that I need, calories, miles, steps, HR, it does a great job. Just make sure you don't bend your hand and hit the button and stop the little guy, or if inactive, he stops to save battery life, so check on him periodically to see if he be flashing. This isn't a body bug, but has been compared and the calories burned etc. match really close. I am pretty confident it works well!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Doesn't Work

07/30/2010
By ,
Plano, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After price comparing heart rate monitors at different sports stores, I saw this product in Wal-Mart and thought that for the price, it was a great deal. However, once I got it home and attempted to use it, it would not read my heart rate. I tried all of the trouble shooting ideas in the manual, and it still wouldn't read. My family members also tried it out to see if it was a user error on my part. It wouldn't read their heart rate either. I will be returning this product as soon as I can and will purchase a monitor that will actually work.
If you are someone who doesn't care about the heart rate readings, it seemed to do a decent job at recording my steps, but I didn't go very far.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 8 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Terrible watch!

02/18/2011
By ,
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it a few weeks ago, i have to admit the price was great, but i have always heard, cheap price, cheap product. HELLO!! It worked for a exactly a week, then after that, it would not even take a reading. Everything else works but the heart rate monitor. I noticed it when it would not pick up the HR while working out. I would have to stop working out and take the reading. After two days, the HR was gone. Took it off, left it on the treadmill and it worked 24 hrs later and i was sitting down. It just simply does not work. Dont waste your money or time with this product. I warned you!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Horrible product!

07/23/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get his and finally "splurged" last week. After a whole week of fighting with this thing, it's going back. It kept resetting and zeroing out for no reason. Mine had no instructions in the package, but it was pretty simple to figure out. I wished I had read the other reviews before I purchased. I'll be getting a Polar brand next, they seem to be a better product and more reliable. I have 5 kids and obviously a lot of patience, but this thing wore me out!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Reset during my run

06/25/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the watch on Monday and used it Tuesday morning for my run. I was so disappointed when it reset about halfway through (around 2 miles)...steps, calories, and distance all went to zero and the date went to 1-1-2008, time to midnight. I thought it was just a fluke, but after it did the same thing again today I got online and found all of these reviewers who had had the same experience with this watch. I will be returning it tomorrow. Very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Most Unreliable Product Ever

07/14/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never purchased anything that malfunctioned this quickly. The first day I owned it, I took it for a run and it completely reset (like other reviewers have experienced) in the second mile. Everything was reset - distance, clock, etc.
It has so many features at such a great price, I ignored the warnings from other reviewers and gave it a try. I really wanted it to work. Unfortunately, they were right. It's so unreliable it's a bad deal at any price!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Meets my needs

10/21/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for walking, then came home and read the reviews about the reset problem. This wasn't true for me. It works fine and performs as expected. It's accurate and easy to use. HR feature is great for monitoring my pace and it's easy to read while walking. I use it for my 30 min walks so I can log my distance in miles, my steps and my calories burned. I think it's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Disappointed

08/04/2010
By ,
Elkhart, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had other Sportline products with good results but the S12 let me down. I took it out of the box and pressed the button for the required 5 seconds and when I let it go nothing happened. I am taking it back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

DOA

08/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This watch doesn't work at all. The only button that works is the backlight button but all the rest of the buttons to set the time or mode don't operate at all.. bringing back tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for S12 Heart Rate Monitor

Resets itself

09/16/2009
By ,
Mission Viejo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very convenient operation, like it very much when I bought it. Worked well first time out running, resets itself the 2nd time, will return it soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points