Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Fellowes Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Fellowes Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

This Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder features a jam-proof system that eliminates jams by preventing overloads and powering through misfed paper. This Fellowes PS-79CI Shredder is designed to immediately turn off when your hands are too close to the paper opening. This Fellowes Shredder features a sheet capacity indicator that measures paper as you shred to ensure maximum capacity at every pass. This Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder also has a 6-gallon, pull-out wastebasket to hold the shredded debris.
Average Customer Rating:
4.743 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%98 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Love it.

06/02/2013
By ,
Davenport, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Am in the middle of getting rid of years (and I mean years) of accumulated old household paperwork, including copies cancelled checks, receipts etc. that I had stored away. I have shredded 8 full lawn garbage size bags of old papers of varying sizes using this shredder so far without problems and have a couple more to go.
This shredder's performance has been terrific with no jams and I only had to turn it off to cool down one time after three to four hours of non stop shredding.
I find it easy to empty and squeeze a few drops of oil along the shredder opening each time I empty the container. I bought a couple of small bottles to keep on hand since I had so much to shred.
When I was setting up the shredder initially I had trouble trying to install the castors (they kept falling off). I called the company and they suggested I use a hammer to tap them in which fixed the issue.
Am extremely pleased with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Fellowes intellishred ps 79ci

04/06/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice shredder very quite compared to my old cheap one and it is smart if you put your hand near the opening it will shut down which is good if you have little ones around. It also lets you know your shredder is full and it lets you know if your feeding to much paper in and unlike my old one you don't have to turn it on every time you want to use it you just feed it and having wheels makes it easy to move around it's a bit pricey but if it last it's worth it thanks fellowes and walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Awesome Shredder!

01/23/2010
By ,
Hudson, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value. Does exactly as it claims. Finally a shredder that doesn't break after only a week! Much recommended. Easy to empty, easy to move.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder
12/09/2009
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shredder is for home use. I have had no problems using it and it is very quiet. I find that I am able to use the plastic bags more than once.
The price was the best around also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Great shredder for home use

12/09/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a shredder that was large enough so I would not have to keep emptying it and powerful enough to handle a lot of shredding for at least ten minutes of continuous use. The PS-79CI was just what I need it. The six gallon container is okay since the paper is shredded into really small confetti pieces. The power of the shredder is great. I have been shredding old bank statements and junk mail with no jamming problems. Just keep oil each time you empty the bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

A bit noisy

01/26/2014
By ,
Central California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good shredder and lives up to its name and function. I have confidently shredded several documents that were personal, and I am pleased with the result. Just not sure yet on how to use the credit card/CD shredder.... working on that one.
I would recommend this to someone who wants a decent product. It is a bit noisy, but as soon as the shredding is done, the shut off is automatic, so not going to complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Good choice for home!!

01/02/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave mine a good workout the first day. Shredded for 2 1/2 hours with breaks long enough to empty the bin. No problems. Like all shredders they never handle the stated amount, but this one comes close. I over loaded one time and it backed up and took a second try to finish. When shredding large amounts like I was, the bin fills up very fast, you can pack it down and keep going for a while longer. For normal use the bin size is fine. So far I think its a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Fellowes 79CI quiet 14 sheet capacity small bin

02/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Fellowes 79CI after trying to clear a paper jam in my old shredder (which I really liked). The Fellowes is quiet, and works very well. The sheet capacity is 14, which really helps with the load I have put through it. I have "put it to the test" by shredding almost two full file cabinet drawers. The basket is easy to remove for emptying but it is smaller than my old one and needs to be emptied more often. Overall, after only using it for a very short time, I am pleased with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Awesome!

07/25/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ths paper shredder costs a little more, but it is solidly built, and super quiet. The jam proof feature is worth every penny as is the sensor for little fingers. We also appreciate the larger bin size so we don't have to empty the bin so frequently. If you are looking at an $80.00 shredder with lesser features and quality I recommend shelling out the extra cash for this one because with the cheaper shredders you are just going to end up buying another one anyway once the motor burns out from being overstuffed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

no way

02/25/2014
By ,
Cocoa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This shredder was more expensive than many others and worked after it was put together. however stopped working the same day. The light on the power button turns on then immediately off like there is a short. Now I have to go through the process of returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Excellent Buy

02/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was initially reluctant to spend this much on a home office shredder, but I think that it is well worth the money. I have had it about a month and have shredded a ton of stuff without a single problem. Sometimes, if I put in a little too much it stops but always self-reverses and then gobbles the stuff up. I have never had to clear a jam. Basket capacity is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Disappointed in Fellowes

04/19/2009
By ,
AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My last Fellowes was a workhorse and admittedly i broke it by accidentally putting in something metal. My old model is no longer around so i chose this one. Not only is it not worth the $200, it would be disappointing at half teh price. Don't believe the 12 pages per minute, it would choke on a a thick envelope. And you can't put a trash bag inside because whoever designed it put these horrible plastic things in the bin that completely rip open a trash bag when you pull it out. as a result my carpet is full of shredded paper and i have to vacuum now. I will be returning the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Excellent Product in every way

06/07/2010
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid, Quality, surprisingly quiet, small & secure pieces, does what it claims in "Jam-Proof". Includes easy maintanance supplies and instructions to maximize product life and performance. Have a feeling this may be the last shredder I ever need to purchase. Highly satisfied. Well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Very quite shredder

12/20/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many shredders and this is by far the best quality and the most quiet shredder I have ever had. Lots of safety features. I also like that you cant put to many sheets of paper in at one time. It simply wont run if there are to many pieces. Its a bit pricey, but with the quality of Fellowes shredders I expect it to last a long time.
Well worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Great Product!

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We highly recommend this shredder to anyone in the market for a quiet, easy to use machine. Very happy with the price when compared to comparable models. Does a great job chopping through multiple sheets. We discovered that if you were trying to shred light weight paper (ie: credit card receipts) you needed to add a sheet of regular weight paper to help it feed into the machine, but didn't find it a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Well Made

02/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned Fellowes shredder before. This is another well made shredder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

good tool for high volume shredding

02/04/2014
By ,
Charlotte NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had years worth of old paperwork to shred so I decided to try this higher end product. Worked very well right out of the box with no issues. I really like the full bin feature as it stops shredding and continues once you empty or compact the paper bin. It handles multiple pages up to 18 sheets with no problem and staples go through easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Very Good home office shredder

02/03/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price point at Walmart was less that other suppliers; quality is very good for home offices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

I love this shredder!

02/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After going thru 2 different home office shredders, I finally broke down and decided to shell out the extra bucks for something sturdier. This shredder does not disappoint! It is exactly what I was looking for - it shreds quickly and quietly, is easy to clean and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fellowes Intellishred PS-79CI Shredder

Best shredder and worth the money

06/13/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best shredder I have used. I love it!!!! I love how fast it is and cuts such a big chunk of papers at the same time. I also love the fact that it cuts up CDs and credit cards. Easy to use and just plug up and go to town. Very good product and a a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next