Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Johnson Outdoors Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Johnson Outdoors Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

The Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 4-Inch Waterproof Fishfinder and Dual-Beam Transducer is an ideal choice for fishing enthusiasts. Featuring an 8-level grayscale display, the built-in fish ID allows you to choose the screen display format, and to custom tune a variety of other settings. It features a dual-beam transducer that can cover a wide area of 60 degrees. With its dual beam system, it is ideal for both deep and shallow water conditions. This Humminbird fishfinder can recognize fish even at a depth of 800 feet. Enjoy use even in low light conditions with the backlit display. The depth range can be easily adjusted using zoom controls. Tilt and swivel mount allows for easy adjustment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%21 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

PMAX 170

05/27/2009
By ,
Scotia NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big bang for the money. I just came back from a weekend fishing trip in Lake Placid N.Y. The PMAX 170 worked flawlessly. Put me on fish all weekend most of them @ depth of 90 to 130ft. I really could have used a downrigger, but I did have some success.
Installation takes awhile. I suggest reading the manual before you start.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Review 2 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Great..

05/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my Skagit Classic fishing pontoon boat.
It was the perfect size for my boat.
I finally got to use it this week in waters up to 12 feet. It detected to terrain in the pond plus detected both bait fish and larger fish.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 3 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Great Fishfinder

04/10/2010
By ,
Russellville,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pmax 170 because of the low price,not to mention the brand name I was going to be getting,and a dual transducer that is unheard of at $95.00.I`m glad I went with this one you get a good picture of the bottom in deep and shallow water,caught 3 bass,4 crappie,and 2 sunfish first time out with it.I am very pleased with this fishfinder and will buy another when I need one again,good job Humminbird.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 4 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

More than money's worth

03/24/2010
By ,
Metropolis, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the 170. Last weekend I used it on Reelfoot Lake in northwest Tennessee. The lake is very shallow....the 170 worked flawlessly from 3 ft to 16ft. For the money, you won't find a better dual angle depthfinder with water temperature. Unfortnately, it did not help us catch fish. The wind was blowing 20mph and a front was coming through. The fish were not biting. My fishing partner (RP) has been rumored to be bad luck, maybe it is his fault!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Review 5 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

works great

05/21/2009
By ,
Grand Rapids MI>
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fishfinder works great for the price, I like the display and the ID depths of fish.Also the water temp. reading. If your looking for a low cost unit this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Review 6 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

170 Fish finder

06/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this product in very shallow waters max so far to 6 feet, it shows the contour of the bottom, depth and water temp, it does not however, in this shallow water, show images of fish, but that is understandable. The water temp and depth are the two major items and it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Review 7 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Great, inexpensive fishfinder

06/22/2009
By ,
St. George, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed to replace an older fishfinder that was failing. This one needed to be powerful enough to show 600 ft depths in Lake Powell, and sensitive enough to handle rapidly changing shallows -- and show fish. It worked as well as my friend's new fishfinder that cost over twice as much. The only problem is some bubble interference at high speed and that has to do with placement issues on my boat. It ain't perfect, but it's a steal for the price and I'd purchase again in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 8 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Very Good For Price

09/01/2009
By ,
Santee, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this is probably the very best fish finder you could possibly buy. Very simple & easy to set up. Works very well. Wanted something cheap, simple to use, yet reliable for my 14' jon boat. This filled the bill perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 9 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

top notch

12/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quick shipping, a very good deal on a very good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 10 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

A product that won't disappoint

01/15/2011
By ,
Muskegon, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this fishfinder to put on my Hobie Outback Kayak. It comes with all necessary equipment to make it very functional. You will have to decide upon the size of your power source as in any other electrical needs your boat may have. I'm using 8 AA Batterys but it also can be used with a 12 Volt Battery. Put some thought and time into the location of the tranducer and the fishfinder as the wiring may limit or extend your ideas. I'm very confident in this product as I also have another Humminbird Graph on my Bass Boat that works great. Ease of use and functionability will make this product very rewarding..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 11 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Great Depth Finder

12/08/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really pleased with the ease of operation and the value that you get with this depth finder. The screen isn't as large as some depth finders but that did not pose any problem. It worked great the first time out. It is easy to install and showed all the structure that I needed to see. I like the idea of the 1x1 ratio of the wide beam that shows allot more of the bottom. A great price for a very good piece of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 12 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Good for the price. Not for a bass tournament.

07/03/2012
By ,
Fenton, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed easily per instructions. Depth and water temp. work perfectly. Bottom structure and fish finder work perfectly while trolling, but not at planing speed. Screens small, but I can see the depth readout from ten feet away, even in full sun. Keeps me from draggin' the bottom. One thumbscrew and two wire plug-ins and I can take it off to foil would-be thieves. Great unit for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Excellent value

06/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use my unit mainly as a depth finder to keep me from running aground while fishing the shallows.
I'm very pleased with with the clear graphics, and the fact that it can read depths at high speed (most of the time).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 14 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

nice and easy install

12/03/2012
By ,
Discovery bay
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought at Walmart installed it in 30 mins
1 button start up and easy menu access,
its small and works nice on my 12 ' aluminum boat
I do have to say if you have a chance to buy it at walmart, u should
they offer an extended warranty with a 90 day return no questions asked , with receipt
I had a bad one that i installed and had great service returning it, i guess mine was dropped
during shipping, Now i have a another one that works great with water temp and fish ID
Has chart speed, zoom, Battery alarm, depth alarm, unit swivels and screen has adjustments, so u can see it from front or rear of boat sitting or standing, install was a 2 wire power lead that plugs in the rear and wires up to your battery, then plug in the transducer and mount at bottom of boat i had a wood piece under my motor transom and mounted it to that 2 screws
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 15 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder
05/06/2012
By ,
Scottsville,Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome fishfinder went fishing today and without the 170 i wouldve passed up some good crappie it showed the crappie under the limb in the water with the dual beam transducer this fishfinder is amazing and cheap too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 16 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder
11/21/2009
By ,
Springboro, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product for the cost!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder
05/02/2012
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install first trip out wife caught 2 stripper bass, 2 cat fish. Yep real nice fish finder for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

good value for the money

07/17/2012
By ,
eastern Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit works as expected was easy to install, and for the money was a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder

Great product

01/14/2011
By ,
Muskegon, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves it and can't wait till summer to use it on his kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Humminbird PiranhaMAX 170 Fish Finder
07/23/2012
By ,
Spearfish, S.D.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little baby works pretty good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next