Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kodak Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kodak Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Photography is more fun when you have the power of a 12x optical zoom lens. You can also get creative with advanced settings, including program, aperture and shutter priority as well as full manual mode (PASM). Take stunning HD pictures, too. And you can capture stunning shots with ease because smart scene mode automatically selects the best scene mode. High ISO settings (up to 3200) are perfect for low-light conditions and fast-action situations. Additional highlights include optical image stabilization, a 2.5-inch LCD screen, video recording capability, and SD/SDHC memory card slot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(390 Reviews) 347
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
231
4 stars
101
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation87%339 out of 390reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
231
4 stars
101
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

worth every penny and more....

06/14/2009
By ,
tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tried different cameras and almost bought an SLR but my neighbor had this camera and was so happy with it I decided to try it, and let me tell you i am glad i did because it is my new favorite toy. i have had it for a month and i use it almost every day. the picture quality is great and the software that comes with it is great too, there are so many things you can do with it, cropping, red-eye remover, it even fixes the minor blemishes on someone's face in the picture. The zoom on this thing is amazing, I couldn't believe it. I am super happy with this camera. I did read all of the reviews and yes the batteries are an issue, but i bought re-chargeable batteries with the wall charger and the car charger, so no matter where i go they can be charged and also the flash comes up everytime you turn the camera on but all you have to do is push it back down, no big deal. If you ask me this camera is great and I am glad I bought it, if your on the fence, just do it, you won't regret the buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Capture The World..Up Close

11/30/2008
By ,
Washington, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent image quality
Image Stabilization works even up to 20X optical/digital zoom combo
12X Optical zoom is great
Flash power can be controlled and is more than enough power for fill or indoor flash
Build quality is good for a camera of this price point
Pop-Up Flash comes on when power on switch is pressed..minor nuisance.
Would recommend this camera to anyone who wants to get up close and personal with the action.
See image from this camera attached.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 3 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

amazing.

07/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the camera for my sixteenth birthday. i got it on sale, and I'm really glad I found it. picture quality is fantastic, the quality when zoomed in is amazing, especially since it's got the autofocus. The internal memory is really limited, but it's working just fine with my SD card.
Video quality is great, too. Except that if the sound is too loud or too close to the mic it makes a loud buzzing noise on playback. Other than that, it's a really excellent camera. I haven't been able to put it down.
I love that it comes with a strap and a lense cap, it keeps it a lot safer from damage. And the easyshare technology is amazing, too.
I wouldn't even concider myself an amature photographer, just someone who enjoys taking pictures, and this camera is really simple to use, but it's also got more complicated features that you can use if you want to.
I'm kind of in love with it.
(the pictures i have with this are the first two i took with the camera. Like, litterally right after I got it out of the box and put the batteries in.)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Pretty Darn Good

12/04/2008
By ,
Oklahoma City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To get a camera like this for $149 was shocking to me. When I shop for a camera, I want a camera with the highest optical zoom and good features for the lowest price. I found it!!!
It takes very clear pics. I attached some of my dog.
The 1st thing I don't like is the fact the flash pops up when you turn the camera on. The 2nd thing I don't like is the video volume. The subject has to be pretty loud in order to hear the sound on playback. I'll have to test it some more.
I recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Overall a good camera for the price

12/16/2008
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera the day after Thanksgiving. My husband and I both owned Kodak digital cameras that we were still using (and pictures are still great), but they are getting older so we were looking for a newer model. It was not the intention to buy when we did, but it was a good price and we reasoned that we could return it if we were not pleased. I took the first photograph in a poorly lit area of the house and the camera auto-corrected (can be used without). My husband was skeptical at first since it seems more plastic and lighter than our other two Kodaks, however the corrected low light picture and others to follow sold him. We were disappointed that the camera was offered for $20 less after the mad rush of the after-Thanksgiving sale. The both pictures of Santa Claus were taken from across a large school lunchroom.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Is More of a Camera than I expected

01/08/2009
By ,
Bainbridge Island, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to buy myself a good digital camera right before Christmas. I didn't really know or understand digital camera's. I liked the looks of this camera, and I liked the Zoom lens, and it had the # of pixels I thought that I would need. But it was the price that really grabbed me, the price was better than great! In my novice hand, this camera does way more than I expected! I took 1 star of the overall rating because there is so much to learn with this camera! It not only does pictures, it can shoot a picture that is poster sized! It also has video with sound, and you can time it. The camera actually auto corrects your mistakes! I am loving this camera, but I wish that the instructions on how to use the camera were better, as I seem to be learning through my mistakes, but that's okay! It's only been a couple of weeks now, since I bought the camera, and there is so much more that I can do with this camera, amd am still learning how. This is a great camera, and I am glad that I bought it. However, I think if you're just looking to take snap shot's of the kid's, you don't need this much camera!
To me this is no longer just a digital camera, it's a hobby!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

full size at compact price!

12/23/2008
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
to the Boss 0803; I purchased 2 KLIC 8000 rechargeables w/charger for $20 online. (the sight of the rechargeables may throw you off, but they are the ones that work. When you view one, you'll see what I mean) You can get lithium batteries any place they sell batteries (CVS). Also Walmart does sell the same one that came with the camera. So does Target and any other place that sells camera batteries (Best Buy, etc)
NOW, MY REVIEW--
I have been into photography since my teen years (40+) and have a Kodak C863 (3X zoom). I've taken all sorts of photos already with this one (macro, scenic, close up, motion, portrait, inanimate objects, distance, panoramic, group and sunlight, night time, darkness, low lighting. So far, I have had no issues with the quality of the photographs. Can't beat that!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

The Best In Zoom For Starter Series

01/14/2009
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera I bought for my friend but I thought of giving it a test and the camera was brilliant in terms of the picture quality and ease of use. The ultimate thing was the zoom, it works amazingly and does not granulate. The drawback that I found was the camera when in full zoom was taking time adjusting the stabilization and in ISO mode the zoom was fading, but apart from that the camera was simply brilliant in the pictures that it delivered. I would recommend it strongly if you are not into a very sleek design and want value for your price that you paid. The camera is a bit odd in shape but its mainly because of the lens with which it delivers this amazing zoom. Overall a very good camera for amateur and a level of professional use as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images
01/22/2009
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!! My old EasyShare CD40 wasn't cutting it anymore and I found the bundle for this one. I take alot of sport action shots and this camera is wonderful! Perfect size-not too big/small to take anywhere. I had to get my first one replaced because the focus button was sticking. I bought the 2yr warranty and had no problem at the store replacing it. I use my camera almost on a daily basis right now and I have had no other problems with it. Zoom is wonderful...I can now zoom in on my daughter doing karate and get the action shot with the sports scene function. The pictures shown were taken in an auditorium and I was about 15 rows from the front. It looks like I was in the front row!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Wonderful but battery issue

01/06/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I LOVE my new camera. It takes excellent photos and video as well. See the attached photos 1 was from 20 ft away and the other caught motion without any minipulation on my part.
As I am a novice this camera would be for family, friends, party type photo shooting. I wouldn't recommend it for someone who's more advanced as it might not meet their expectations.
I recently found that after the Kodak battery dies if you replace the battery with 2 AA's you can only take an additional 16-17 photos before the camera dies. I'm looking into a rechargable Kodak battery, but haven't found time to search for one.
All in all, I still LOVE my new camera and the price was absolutely reasonable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Just Right!

02/02/2009
By ,
State College, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shot over 100 shots so far, almost all in very difficult lighting - skiing on bright days, twilight and night, and, Blue Grass band in a poorly lit venue (no flash allowed). Not every shot was perfect, however, the camera allows tremendous latitude in adjustment, not "freedom from choice" offered by many other cameras in this price range.
I read many reviews before I purchased and the two biggies - lens cap pops off when you turn it on and the flash always comes up and has to be manually pushed back down when you are done - are no big deal.
Solid value and performance.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Not what I expected

01/10/2009
By ,
Bridgton, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had Nikon cameras before and decided to purchase this Kodak mainly because of the zoom and price. That is the only good thing about it. The camera only takes Lithium or crv3 batteries at $10 a whack and as shown, the pictures are terrible. This renders the zoom useless. There is no redeye reduction as stated and I couldn't take a good picture in over 100 attempts. Maybe 5 total. There is no depth perception or clarity to the pictures. They appear "grainy." I used it for a week and then traded it in for a Fuji S1000, which I highly recommend for the $60 more.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

extremely pleased

04/18/2009
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my camera for several months now. I purchased the rechargeable battery at walmart for about 40ish dollars. I use the camera from everything from sports to when we go trail-riding. I have great quality...even better than my friends professional series camera. I love the functions. It is great for scenery too because you can focus on 1 object and the rest is a little fuzzy(on purpose). They look wonderful!! I would recommend this to anyone. The only thing I would change is make the shutter speed even faster but it works just fine how it is.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Great product

05/17/2009
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes excellant pictures that can be cropped and blown up without noticable loss. Great panoramic shots as well. Got more than I thought I was getting at a reasonable price. Takes very good video shots as well. Haven't used but looking forward to using the Burst picture taking and the timer. I don't go anywhere without it. Recommend getting the rechargable batteries. The lithium is a long lasting battery(I am in the third month) but I prefer li-ion rechargable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

wonderful quality, better price!!

04/14/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this camera several months ago. I also own the smaller Kodak EasyShare that comes in alot of different colors.
The quality of pictures with this one is incredible. I'm no professional, but my pictures sure are looking that way.
I highly recommend this product.
The only thing that might be better, is if the lens cap stayed on better.. mine falls off easily if bumped. However, a good protective case was a great investment for such a wonderful camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

THE BEST $$$$ PRICE VALUE AND QUALITY

05/21/2009
By ,
CENTRAL CALIFORNIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE SD8612 IS is the best thing you can get in electronics for 100$-120$ This camera should be worth more then that . to tell you the truth it should be in between the price range of 250$to350$. the camera is able to get close in personal to your subject 12x optical zoom wow. it is just powerful. you would not regret this model the only thing if you are used to a view finder not one here then This is not your camera. but i love it and im sure you will too. :D
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images
12/29/2008
By ,
Sweetwater,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this camara for Christmas as a gift from a friend i caried it with me evreyware i took pictures
of evreyone and showed them to them
i love this camara it is easy to use it has all kinds of setings like the pros use or you can put it on auto
and just take pictures it is the best camara i have ever uesed i love it great camara for the beginer
that wants to learn to take pictuers like a pro
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Great Camera!!!

01/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As expected a great camera by Kodak, and in good price too. Excellent clarity, image focusing, and handling.
but before purchasing this product few things you should know, it doesn't have a view finder, takes 2-3 seconds to process a image, you can not zoom in video mode.
I bought this camera in a combo deal( SD card, case, and camera) but I received only camera.
Camera is excellent!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Extreme Value

06/09/2009
By ,
Spring, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchases this camera to use for business. I make and install signs and have always had trouble getting good pictures. That's where this cameras great lense comes into play. The lense is amazing and the zoom is the best for anything close to the price range. Word of advise, make sure the camera is off when you store it or next time your battery will be dead.
Great buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Kodak EasyShare ZD8612 Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera, 12x Optical Zoom & 2.5" LCD, HD Still Images

Excellent Buy!

12/19/2008
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera on Black Friday. I am VERY HAPPY with the results! I attended a wedding in which no flash photography could be used ~ at the videographers request. It took excellent pictures w/o the flash, indoors with low lighting. We recently had an ice storm and I got a few good shots with this camera...note my uploaded samples. I highly recommend this camera!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next