Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Honeywell Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Honeywell Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Keep the lights on, the water hot, the fridge cold and the TV tuned in. In a power outage, we make it easy to reap the many practical benefits of your HW4000 Honeywell Portable Home Generator. The generator comes with everything you need to get started: never-flat wheels and a high leverage handle for easy mobility; and your first liter of oil with a funnel to pour it. Features include: a simplified power control center, color coded starting control, 24 hour instructions at 1-888-RECOIL-8, a sound filtered oversized muffler for quiet operation, low oil protection, fuel gauge, overload protection, automatic voltage regulation and a 3 year limited warranty. The HW4000 specifications are: 4000 continuous watts, 5000 maximum watts, 33.3 Amps @ 120 volts, 16.6 Amps @ 240 voIts, Big-Bore 242cc 9 HP OHV engine, 6.5 gallon fuel tank, 14 hour run time at 50% load, weighs 172 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%13 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Great choice

01/02/2009
By ,
north Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator on line and had it shipped direct to a store near me. Saved a lot on shipping that way. As for the operation of this unit, it is easy to start and runs about 13 hours on a full 6 gallon tank of gas,(almost twice the run time of most competitors products). Unit is quiet, and easy to move around. I have run a refrigerator and freezer, TV, and lights in 3 rooms of my house all at once, with no problems. I will be looking into a connection box to hook up to my house breaker box to eliminate all the cords I am having to use now. Over all this product has been very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 2 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

HW4000

04/15/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly instructions excellent. Filled the crankcase with the oil provided and filled the tank with gasoline using a fuel stabilizer. Turn on the fuel valve, pulled the recoil cord twice and it started immediately. I let it run for five or six minutes and plugfed a portable drill into it just to check it out. Works fine.
I'll be using it for powering a sump pump when the power goes out during stormy season. I also will use it to power my refrigerator. If I lose power during the winter, I will be able to plug in my furnace; an electrician will wire my furnace so that I can unplug it from the house breaker box and plug just the furnace into the generator without causing any feed back through the house electrical power system.
Exactly what I need for emergencies and a simple solution.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 3 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Good but not great

06/29/2009
By ,
Furlong, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Generator starts right up and is relatively quiet. The problem is in the 120/240V twist lock receptacle. It is also the main breaker and is only 20 amps so if you are using more than 20 amps on the other two circuits, you can't get full power. You only get 2400 Watts leaving 1600 Watts unused. I could barely run my camper ac without it tripping every 5 minutes. I'm going to use it until it quits and get something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 4 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Great product with minor problems.

06/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using this generator for the past two years, I have come across two small problems. The most aggravating is the rubber stoppers that are used on the support legs. The rubber is not strong enough to hold the weight of the generator and crack over time leaving exposed bolt heads. The exposed bolts dig into whatever surface the generator is on and the generator will not stay level. I cut two small pieces of 2x4 and counter-sunk the bolts to get the generator to sit level again. A small inconvenience.
The second problem is the power control center where the A/C plugs are. It is very flimsy. I would advise putting a hand onto the board before pulling any of the plugs from the socket or it feels as if it will break.
These are the only negative things that I can mention about this product. It is a bit louder than I expected, but it has run terrific over the past two years and I am happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Excellent Home Generator

06/22/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an area prone to floods and hurricanes. It is not usual for me to lose power 2-3 times a year. Instead of waiting for the next outage and incurring all the costs associated with losing power for several hours to several weeks I purchased this generator as a backup. It took 45 mins. to set it up and it worked immediately. It is also light enough to transport to other locations for use. I have had other generators but none worked as flawlessly as this one did right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

useful product

02/09/2009
By ,
Springhill,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my generator and had no trouble assembling it.
I found it to be quiter than I expected it.
Have only ran generator for about 20 min. and it seems to work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

What they dont tell you

10/25/2010
By ,
Media, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After purchasing this generator to protect my home when the power goes out in a rain storm or winter snow I learned in the brochure that it cannot be used in the rain and or snow you need to build a shed or some other protective enclosure ..garage wont do its not recommended to use it in a garage? .. rather wait ou the storm then build shed so I returned it ..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 8 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

good little generator

02/03/2011
By ,
beaver lake, ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we seem to have power interuptions from time to time and i wanted something to run the basics. have it set up where this thing can run my fridge & freezer and furnace in winter or with a window air in summer. also could run some lights and tv. havent lost power since getting it, but tried it every month or 2 on tools and saws, and it doesnt skip a beat. picked this 1 mostly because ive read it gives a strady constant 120v, and tested it w/ a meter and turning on a couple of things to load test, very nice smooth ide and handle of load spikes
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Excellant Choice!

05/13/2009
By ,
Dayton, Ohio, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching, studying and comparing various Portable Generators, I choose this model and from Wal Mart (of course!) This unit (in test stages) has performed wonderfully! I am utilizing it as a power supply for a lighting system for stage lighting (for a small staging enviorment. I plan on using it (well hopefully never will have too!) as a power back up for Loss of Eletricity in a storm etc..... for home...
Highly recommed it for serious consideration if one is looking.... 5 stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Great!!

11/13/2010
By ,
Ocean Shores, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this generator for use as an emergency backup because we usually have several power outages every winter. The unit was delivered on schedule, went together very easily, and started on the first pull. Sure enough, less than two weeks after it arrived we had an outage. The unit started right up and powered two refrigerators, a freezer, a pellet stove, a few lights, and a 19" HDTV. The only complaint I have is that the funnel supplied for the oil is too small.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Power When You Need It

09/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gen for when the power goes off. It has enough power to keep the lights, fridge, ty, and other appliances going. I belive for the money it is well worth the purchase price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

great product

09/06/2009
By ,
hammond la.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item at a great price pick it up at the walmart store save a lot on shipping .will use it for the next hurrcane when i got it home it started right up work good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator

Great Tool

04/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is well worth the money. Well built and runs first pull everytime. Runs as quite as a honda engine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Honeywell 4000 Watt Portable Generator
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5