Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

South Shore South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

The South Shore Traditional Jefferson Cherry Two Door Floor Cabinet is a traditional piece of furniture that lets you organize your things fairly easily. With shelves that can be adjusted, this storage cabinet gives you the freedom to adjust them based on the items you want to place. The two deep rectangular storage compartments and four smaller square shaped compartments provide enough storage space. This wooden storage cabinet can be used for storing anything, including clothes, blankets, office supplies, small appliances, or even be used as an additional pantry space. It comes with a set of instructions for assembling it and is easy to assemble.
Average Customer Rating:
3.874 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%73 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Comes as advertised

12/20/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is exactly what is is advertised as. Pressed board material with a laminated cover. All the parts wre there. Most of the assembly is straight forward, but during the process the cabinet has to be turned over and the instructions don't say to do so. I had to remove a couple of pieces and put it back together. Just look at the pieces and put it together with common sense and not specifically follow the instructions. Once I did this it went together as expected. It is heavy, solid and functional. It looks pretty good also. The spacing of the shelves is highly adjustable. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Seriously Damaged

09/02/2010
By ,
Elkins, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is unfortunate that I must write that this piece of furniture arrived with damage on just about every piece. It is crushed, dented, scratched and down right distroyed. I believe it is a result of poor packaging. I have received many furniture items recently, from other manufacturers and they were packaged better and arrived by the same carrier in perfect condition. This cabinet box exterior packaging had no damage. All of the damage was concealed.
Please do not order this product from this manufacturer. It can't be sent back because the return shipping fee is high because it weighs so much.
I have 9 pictures of the damages, but this review only allows 2 pictures to be published.
It was a total waste of my money and I am very upset.
I have always been satisfied with other purchases from Walmart, but not with this vendor. They need to use more and better packaging materials.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Good low-end storage solution

11/04/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a good low-end storage solution. A real wood cabinet like this would cost 5 times as much and this is nicer looking than the inexpensive metal cabinets. Appearance is nice, just don't bang into it with anything as it is pressed wood and will gouge easily. I was able to assemble this myself, but am a big guy - definitely recommend you have two people to pick it up and assemble it. It took me about 1-1/2 hours to assemble, but I've put together a lot of products like this. If you install the catch to be able to lock this, you will always have to open right door first to open left and close in reverse order or you will damage door. I left the lock catch off so it won't lock, but there are also magnetic catches to hold the doors closed. The product did come with a few dings, luckily not in obvious places. Overall I am satisfied with the appearance and function of this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY

05/08/2010
By ,
BELLEVUE WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ORDERED THIS PRODUCT ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND IT HAS HELD UP GREAT. I FOUND OUT THE HARD WAY THAT YOU DON'T PUT HEAVY ITEMS ON THE TOP SHELF--ESPECIALLY COOKBOOKS. THE SHELF STARTED TO BEND, BUT RECOVERED WELL. I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND PUTTING ALL YOUR HEAVIEST ITEMS ON THE MIDDLE SHELF BECAUSE IT HAS SUPPORT. ALSO, DON'T PUSH THE ITEMS BACK TOO FAR INTO THE BACK BECAUSE YOU CAN PUSH THE BACKING OUT, BUT JUST PUSH THE THIN NAILS BACK IN AND YOUR GOOD. IT IS PRESSED WOOD AND GLUE, BUT FROM THE OUTSIDE YOU CAN'T TELL. DEFINITELY, DEFINITELY, DEFINITELY THE MONEY. I ALSO HAD IT SHIPPED SITE TO STORE AND THAT SAVED ME A LOT OF MONEY, JUST MAKE SURE YOUR CAR IS BIG ENOUGH. THIS PRODUCT ALSO COMES WITH A "MARKER" THAT FILLS IN ANY SCRATCHES THAT MAY HAPPEN. BELIEVE ME-- YOU WILL LOVE, LOVE THIS PRODUCT.
ALL AND ALL I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE THAT NEEDS EXTRA STORAGE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Poor Quality Control

03/26/2011
By ,
Wauconda, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received product today from Walmart.com and when I opened the box I found several damaged parts. Looks like these parts were inserted into the box knowing they were damaged. Spoke to the manufacture they will send new parts out but will need to wait another 10 days for parts to arrive. Manufacture need to do better quality control job when putting these kits together, or Walmart needs to do spot inspections on there product they are selling.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Very Satisfied

07/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item meets all my expectations. Very well made, lots of storage space, and a great overall appearance. It was easy to assemble and I assembled it alone. The lock and doors all lined up with ease. I am using it as additional pantry storage space. It's perfect for all my canned goods and with the adjustable shelving, also stores my KitchenAid Mixer which is a pretty bulky item. I avoided the delivery costs by having it shipped to the store and it was delivered in less than week; pickup was easy. Packaging was a little damaged but the product was intact. Am highly recommending this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Cabinet Great - Shipping Painful...

07/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no problems with the cabinet itself. Looks nice and is easy to put together. As other reviewers have said, the cabinet does scratch easy, but the included marker covers up blemishes really well.
The main difficulty I had was with the Ship to Store. The first time I ordered it, the box arrived with a large chunk on the side that damaged many of the panels. I did not notice this until after I got home, so I had to haul it back to WalMart to return it. I checked the second cabinet more carefully at WalMart and the packaging looked OK. However, after unpacking it at home, it too had a panel that had a corner damaged. Thankfully, it was the bottom backside corner - so I glued the broken piece back on and it is not noticeable. If this was on the front, I would have had to return this one as well.
So in summary, good product, but be prepared for shipping hassles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Impressed !~

09/16/2011
By ,
Lost in California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a bit overwhelmed at first by the instructions but once I got started it only took me 2 hrs to complete. I did all the assembly myself and I'm a small woman. I am impressed by the look of it and the weight! For this price (and I shopped around for over a month!) this is the best buy around. I can put everything I need to into this pantry. I love it. It not only looks great but it's heavy and won't tip over! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the top facade wasn't glued on properly and I had to glue it. There were some small scratches (be careful when assembling because it's not real wood and scratches easy) but I took care of it with the neat pen they supply. Over all I'm recommending this to anyone who needs a great looking pantry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

As I expected

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cabinet based on good reviews. I have to say it is exactly what I expected. For the price, this is a really nice cabinet. I bought to put jeans and pajamas in. Holds them nicely, and, it blends right in with my cherry canopy bedroom suit I had as a child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Perfect size for a pantry

11/04/2011
By ,
North central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this cabinet. I have built many furniture pieces, but this is my first by South Shore. I found the directions complete and concise. The parts were easy-to-fit and there were no missing pieces. This is a heavy piece of furniture, and was not easy to get into the house. I got a strong man and a dolly to handle that. Once in, I had no problem putting it together by myself except for hanging the doors. That required an extra pair of hands. (I should note that I am a 58 year old woman in average shape)
The cabinet is simple, but attractive. The shelves are sturdy and hold all my canned goods and baking products easily. It has plenty of space and fits in with my decor nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Solid Product, Shipping was Disappointing

01/15/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this product to place in my den/4th bedroom, so that guests would have somewhere to store their clothes and items. I ordered it through Walmart's Site to Store feature. Shipping was fairly quick; about a week and a half to get to the store. But when I picked it up, the packaging was a little beat up. When I got the large and heavy box home, I opened it up and found that some of the pieces had been slightly damaged. Most of the damage is on side panels that are hardly noticeable, however the worst damage happened to be on the very center of the top panel, directly at eye level! I was not pleased, but after lugging this large box home and unpackaging it, I wasn't about to lug it all back to Walmart for a refund or replacement. So I just kept it. The touch-up marker than comes with the cabinet helped to cover up the damage somewhat.
If you do get this, check to make sure the contents are not damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

meets my storage needs

01/19/2011
By ,
Orange County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked up the item from the local Walmart store. The store employee used a dolly to carry it outside for me (Thanks!). There were a couple of minor dents, which I had expected, but they didn't warrant an exchange or return. The furniture took me about two hours to assemble. It can be assembled by one strong person but better to have someone to help out. Be careful assembling the pieces, as the boards are brittle and can easily break off. After completion, I'm content with the furniture for its clean look. If the floor is uneven, the furniture can twist and cause the doors to misalign. Overall, it met my need for storing extra pillows and blankets. Just don't inspect it too closely, otherwise you'll be disappointed at its shortcomings (weak structure, paper-thin backing, brittle boards).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

HORRIBLE QUALITY!!!

06/06/2012
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The "positive" reviews of this product baffle me and I wish I wouldn't have based my decision off of a "88%" positive rating. Obviously the negative ones are not being calculated with the rest. First of all, yes, it showed up damaged as others warned. Box was torn and ripped open and there were gashes and chunks missing from the wood pieces, not simply just scratches. You should also know you cannot contact Walmart for returns or replacement parts (I knew this upon ordering) - however, when you contact Wayfair, they direct you to South Shore directly. I've yet to have this issue resolved and my husband and I will not be ordering from Walmart.com again if an outside company is involved in the shipping and/or returns.
:Wayfair
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

It was all right

07/08/2009
By ,
Coon Rapids, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cabinet was a pain to put together (the instructions were not the clearest), and some of the pieces didn't fit quite right, but now that it's together and up it looks quite nice and fits a lot of stuff. The key lock works well, which is one of the features we were specifically looking for (to keep the kids out). It's the flimsy presswood stuff, but that's what I expected for the price. It isn't the most fantastic piece of furniture, but for what we paid for it, it was okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish
07/24/2011
By ,
east tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arrived and was as described except for the fact that rough handling by delivery company caused dent and dings all over one side and the top overall quality is good and it meets requirements i had for it heavy items can not be placed on top shelf because it will bow i found out overall for inexpensive storage solution it is a good buy with that being said to recommend to a friend i would note the shortcomings and advantages of it for storage and let them decide on their own
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Great Pantry for Extra Storage!

05/01/2011
By ,
Burnsville, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I live in a two bedroom townhouse with a smaller kitchen, thus, limited cabinet space. We wanted a nice look pantry that could sit in our dining room right off of the kitchen for extra storage of dry and canned goods and snacks. This fit the bill perfectly! I was surprised at how truly nice it looks and just how much room it has. We left the locking mechanism off, because if it's on you have to open the doors in a certain order and we didn't anticipate the need to lock it.
It did take quite a bit of time to put together, and it's definitely a two person jobs. The directions weren't the greatest, so we found ourselves having to switch a few pieces around at the last minute, which was a bit frustrating. However, once we got it all together, it seemed quite sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

what i expected

08/28/2010
By ,
little rock, ar (thanks to katrina ugh)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The free ship to store was a great savings. Product came in good condition and after reading some other reviews I was dreading spending 3 hours putting it together. A client didn't show up so I had some free time and figured I would start on it and not worry about completing it in one attempt. Turns out in just under 2 hours, I a 55 yr old woman, had no difficulty at all getting it all together and set up. Now it is a great storage cabinet in my office filled with all the art supplies I need for my work. I may get more for my studio, certainly beats those ugly metal cabinets! The one "complaint" I may have is that the instructions are picture only and the diagrams are very small and you have to look carefully to make sure you have things facing the right way to get the right parts in the right places. Would have helped for some written instruction or for the illustrations to be a bit larger with heavier detail on the way things fit. But with careful examination and lots of forethought, I was able to make it right the first time but could have finished faster if I didnt' have to keep checking and rechecking to make sure I had everything lined up correctly, at least in the beginning of the process.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

Exactly what I needed

07/23/2010
By ,
Waukesha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a great value for the money. It is a great size and it was delivered in perfect shape. But, be wary, it takes a LONG time to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish
09/01/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product was damaged in shipping but we had already unboxed everything. Too much trouble to return so we assembled with the damaged piece. Also, we only got 15 not 16 pins so we are missing some hardware. Overall for the price it's a nice cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Two-Door Cabinet, Royal Cherry Finish

beautiful

10/17/2010
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived very well packaged and heavy! Directions were kinda confusing, but the pictures helped. I actually put one piece in the wrong place trying to go with my gut (lol) but it turned out not a big deal and I left it that way (it was the piece of wood accross the front and back top...I switched them by mistake).
I got the dark wood color and there were quite a few dings in it right out of the box. It came with a marker to shade nicks and it worked surprisingly well at hiding them. They are there but not obvious.
I love this piece. Looks like something you could hold onto for many years. Not as heavy once put together either. I'm using it for a pantry in kitchen. The lock is great for keeping the kids out. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next