Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

The new Mongoose XR75 mountain bike can tackle just about any terrain. Its dual-suspension frame is powerful, yet lightweight enough for young riders to maneuver. The Mongoose mountain bike has 21 speeds, linear pull brakes and a quick-release seat post.
Average Customer Rating:
3.907 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation80%69 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

You get what you pay for...

12/13/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this bike for a year. I bought it for my son at Christmas last year. When I assembled it there was a problem with the front tire.
I took apart the tire to find a weak section in the inner tube. I went to walmart and bought another inner tube put it back on the bike and the front wheel still did not spin correctly.
I then bought a new tire and took the wheel apart again to put the new tire on. After installing the new tire with the new inner tube I turned the tire only to find out that the wheel itself was bent side to side so it wobbles slightly. I have also found the back wheel is also slightly bent side to side.
After making adjustments to the postion of the axle I was able to keep the wobble from hitting the break pads and stopping the wheel.
Since my son moved away I started using the bike. It rides okay but if you are tall like me (6'2") you can not get the seat up high enough and the pedal length is to short.
It has been ridden on dirt trails and pavement. I tried to ride it on rough terrain but it does not do well.
It is worth what I paid for it but don't expect a bike that performs like the mongoose name, it doesn't. If you plan on doing any kind of mountain biking get a better quality bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

BAD REVIEWS ARE CORRECT!!!

05/25/2009
By ,
Springfield, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this bike today (5/25) at my local store. I took it home started to ride. Immediately the chain slips off the front gear and jams while changing gears. 30 minutes later the right pedal cracks down the middle and falls off the bike. I called my local Wal-mart and the said to bring it in. When the assembly guy sees the bike at the counter he hung his head as to say" Dear God. Not that bike again!!!" The customer service rep agreed to refund my money and i went a purchased the Schwinn Sidewinder. The first time I picked up the Schwinn, I could tell it was built better. Please do not waste your time buying any other bike but the Schwinn Sidewinder. Go look at the reviews. They speak for themselves!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 23 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

TheBestBikeEver

08/09/2009
By ,
Youngstown, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this bike. i went to walmart wanting a new mountin bike. i live near a park with lots of hills with i love to ride throu. the 21 speed works great with the hills. when i bout the bike it had a littile bit of scratches on the wheel but that dont bother me. the dulbble suspention is really smooth. i would really perffer this bike. i think this bike is best for ages 13 and up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Great Bike For The $$$

07/26/2009
By ,
Door County USA Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just returned from maiden voyage, things went great!!! No issues like others had. the chain did not fall off or break, I did not break a pedal or a hand brake. Bike was assembled at a wal mart store, and I also did not have to make any adjustments as of yet to the brakes or shifters. For all the features this bike has you just cant go wrong for the price. I rode on gravel road,& blacktop as wellas off road the bike handled it all very well. The only thing i want to upgrade is the seat. Enough said from me, I am out the door for another ride. Could not be happier with my purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 25 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Great bike for a Great price!

07/24/2009
By ,
Jamestown, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike for my Fiance, as he needed something that didn't use GAS to get him too and from places around town. We are a low income family so this bike, for us, was extremely affordable. He's owned other Mongoose mtn bikes in the past and simply LOVES this one. It sits higher and the shocks are fantastic. (He's 6'3" 200 lbs.) He also raves about how light weight it is and so if he ever needs to toss it on his back, it's a total sinch for him. I was afraid it would look cheap, but the bike is actually very sleek. My ONLY complaint is that he's ridden it for all of about 2 weeks and some of the stickers are already "bunching" up. Not sure why. Overall, I would def. recommend this product and I'm really glad I made the investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 26 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Expected more

02/14/2009
By ,
Chico, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bike because I had just brought back a NEXT that had not been put together properly and broke when I started pedaling. On this bike I only had it less than 24 hours when it broke also, I had made three trips to school and on my way home at the end of the day I began to pedal when I felt that I was free pedaling and when I looked down there was NO chain anymore. It had broke as though one of the links had come apart. This was the last bike I am buying at Walmart. I went back to my parents house over 70 miles away to get my old bike which I knew I could depend on.
I would not reccomend the low end Mongoose bikes anymore now that they were bought out by some big bike manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Good and Bad

06/03/2009
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I both bought the XR75 yesterday. Her bike is awesome, except that the seat is a little stiff. Mine on the other hand isn't nearly as good. The seat is hard and the main problem is in the chain. It keeps slipping off. We counted the links in the chain and mine has two more than hers which could be the reason for the slippage. But it is a good looking bike and once I get the chain fixed and a softer seat it should be a nice bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

falling apart

08/22/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product in the hopes on getting some outdoor exercise but after the second time riding the handle bars started to slip forward making it unable to ride after i had taken the bike out about 2 miles from home. After fixing the handle bars the third time riding they began to slip again and this time when I got home I decided to have a friend weld them into place. The bike rode find for a few weeks until the arm holding the pedal and the pedal itself fells off. This is not a sound product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 29 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Not bad!

10/03/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned this bike for about 2 months, and I ride it everywhere. To and from work, 3.1 miles each way, and around on the weekend. I love it. I bought it off the rack for $129.00. I will say that it has develped an annoying little tick, which is constant and cannot be eliminated with shifting. Of course, it only started that after I had it tuned up. I had it tuned because it wasn't shifting through all gears initally. Now it is, but now it ticks! I hope to upgrade to the Snare before too long. Very impressed with the brand. This is kind of a cheap bike, but for the money, it's pretty good. I would recommend it for anyone looking to buy for under $200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Works well across the board!!!

07/09/2009
By ,
Beaumont, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had mine for about a two months. Of course it'll have to be dialed in; gearing, seat, all the usual stuff. For the price and what it's got you can't go wrong. If you're not mechanically inclined to work out the few kinks it has, take it to a shop. I'm a mechanic and former Sam's employee so I know the bike isn't gonna be stellar right off the shelf. (there's no training for puttin' stuff together)Mongoose makes great bikes and the xr-75 is no exception. I took it on several trails as well as road some paved roads, works great everywhere. I'm a 170 adult and it works for me. If you're looking for an inexpensive bike to do it all, this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Good for light use

05/27/2009
By ,
Menifee, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bike would be good for a day of family bike riding... but that's about it. Less than 100 yards out of the driveway while riding uphill on a street the gears were all over the place & the chain kept falling off. The gears pop & shift on their own making it very hard to get a pace going. When I came to actual up hill in dirt... forget about it. I had to get off & walk it up. I returned the bike & got the XR 200 for $70 more. I have not ridin it yet.
Bottom line, if you want to take this thing on dirt up & down hills... you won't be able to. If you want a cool looking bike to cruise around with the family... it will work out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Not Very Good

07/22/2009
By ,
Conneaut Lake, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I dont know if i got a horrible bike because i bought it on the 1st of April, but when i got it and first rode it, it was very smooth in 1-3rd gear, front brakes worked best, and the suspension was awesome. But after a couple hours of just riding, up and down the street (no hard biking), the wheels were slightly bent, back brakes dont work well and are hard to pull, gears 4-7th were very loud and hard, and the next day, the gears were off (when you were in 1st, you were really in 2nd). my dad had to adjust this bike so much, and seat is rough on your bottom. I recommend only if you know how to make adjustments on almost all parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike
08/07/2009
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike for the cost. In my opinion, this bike is best suited for light-medium trail riding. This bike is quite heavy weighing about 40 lbs. After completely looking the bike over and adjusting to make the bike perform properly, i noticed one key feature that i noticed most bikes in the price range don't have.....the ability to adjust the toe of brake pads. But something i noticed as soon as i sat on the bike is that the seat if rock hard. To fix that i suggest Bell's Mountain Bike Saddle, which is in the bike accessory section. But overall this bike is a great starter bike for trails.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 34 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Fantastic Bike

02/20/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research on this bike and the company before I bought it pre-assembled at Wal-Mart. Mongoose brand had an overall good reputation so I thought "What the heck?" I bought the bike. The bike is well built and sturdy. It handles my mountainous roads like they are nothing. I did have to make a few adjustments: tighten rear brakes, align gears, replace bicycle seat. After it was all said and done, I could not be happier, as much work as I have put into this bike, it really feels like it is mine. I love it and would recommend to anyone looking for a great mountain-riding experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Decent Bike

02/14/2009
By ,
Oakdale, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent bike for the price.
Sized for a guy my size (6'1"), but maybe not my 235# weight. The front forks bottom when I load them.
The brakes are ok, but not fond of the plastic at the spring adjusters.
The factory seat was replaced before I got on it at home.
Check the bike at the store. After I decided this was the one I was getting, I had to check through 3 to find one that didn't have parts broken (see plastic brake parts) or bearings way over tightened during assembly .
A few adjustments at home, & I have put 50 miles on it in the past couple weeks without issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Awesome bike for the money!!!

10/21/2009
By ,
Joliet,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike for my birthday almost 4 monthes ago and overall it has been a very good reliable bike. The only problem I had was that after doing some true off-roading the wheels start to bend pretty easily. I'm not saying that it is always gonna happen because I was pushing it a little bit with jumps and big hills. That is the worst pr5oblem that I have faced with this bike but I can go on Amazon and buy 2 wheels for $40 so no big problem. I would strongly reccomend this bike because if it can survive with a curious 14 yr. old boy than it is reaaly tough!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Not worth the money

04/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big waste of money. Had to replace both brake levers on first ride, none of the bolts will stay tightened as far as the handle bars & seat. The brakes stay engaged and will have to repair that also. Only had for little over a week & all this has already happened...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 38 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

CHAIN

03/09/2009
By ,
dallas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first a little skeptical about such a low price bike. But with not really wanting to spend the money decided what the heck. The ride is great. suspension is soft when hard pedaling. And the chain seems to fall off everytime I ride during shifts going uphill. Easy to fix but must stop everytime. Have had for two weeks and chain has fallen off every ride. Seat is very hard. Recommend seat cushion. and adjust chain. other than that great for novice rider. Overall looks alot better than it rides but for the money spent Can't complain to much.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

:[ this is a cheap bike

04/10/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a peice of junk. i hav goten mongoose bikes b4 but they were all bmx. i did not care 4 them cause the brakes were junk and they r extreamlyyyy heavy. same 4 this mountain bike. it was nice till i got it home then i relized i made a HUGE mistake. IF U WANT TO HAVE FUN ON A BIKE PLEASE GET A SCHWINN, THEY ARE WAY BETTER AND JUST AS CHEAP.
CONS> hard to pedel, makes noises no matter how much u do to it, feels week, brakes r really really bad, HEAVY(that is a big no no 4 mountain bikes)
PROS> ok grips, shifts gears easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 40 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Could be better!!!

03/27/2009
By ,
Raymond,NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike last night took it out without really adjusting anything to see how well it would work under not so nominal conditions. The bike worked good i have to adjust the brakes and the derailers and it will be fine. My only real gripe is the seat and the pedals. I did'nt even get 50 feet and the pedal broke right off. I knew that they would be a problem there only flimsy plastic so i'm going to buy some metal ones, and a new seat. the seat on it feels like your stradling a brick, but for the price its o.k.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 81 total reviews